BBB Accredited Business since

Fichman Eye Center

Additional Locations

Phone: (860) 649-9973 Fax: (860) 647-7424 View Additional Phone Numbers 178 Hartford Rd, Manchester, CT 06040 http://www.fichmaneyecenter.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers general ophthalmology, laser vision surgery center and eyewear products and services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fichman Eye Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fichman Eye Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Fichman Eye Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 24, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1984 Business started locally: 01/01/1984
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Health, Dept. of
410 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
http://www.dph.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 509-8000
webmaster.dph@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Dr. Richard A. Fichman, MD- Owner Ms. Mary Hernandez, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Richard A. Fichman, MD- Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Mary Hernandez, Office Manager
Business Category

Physicians & Surgeons - Ophthalmology Contact Lenses Optometrists Offices of Physicians (except Mental Health Specialists) (NAICS: 621111)


Additional Locations

  • 1232 Corbin Ave

    New Britain, CT 06053

  • 1500 Albany Ave

    Hartford, CT 06112

  • 178 Hartford Rd

    Manchester, CT 06040 (860) 649-9973 (877) 342-4626

  • 881 New Harwinton Rd

    Torrington, CT 06790

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/29/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/17/15 I had services at the Torrington, CT location, paid my $15.00 copay as required by my insurance company and verified by the receptionist at that location. When I picked up my glasses, I paid the difference from the total bill, after what was covered by my insurance company was deducted. This was verified by the optometrist based on again, verification of eligibility of my insurance. On 11/18/15 I received a bill for $70.00. The summary of charges on the bill made absolutely no sense and the figures do not correspond with the figures that I paid. I called the billing department and received voice mail. I left a message including my account number, name, telephone number and requested someone call me to explain the bill and the statement. I did not receive a call back. On 11/26/16 I called again and again received voice mail. I again left another message. I did not receive a call back. On 12/11/15 I wrote a letter to Dr. ******* ** ******* at the Manchester, CT office indicating my predicament and asked him to look into the matter and contact me. I have not received a response. On 12/22/15 I received another bill the same as the first bill. On 1/11/16 I paid the bill to avoid any late fees or collection activity.

Desired Settlement: I would like first of all an explanation of these charges and why there is an amount due. The statement of charges do not appear to apply to my account but I cannot get anyone at this business to discuss this with me. I would like my $70.00 returned.

Business Response:

Good morning 

We have found the  discrepancy in  the billing amounting to the $70.00. I spoke to Dr ******* and he's willing to refund the $70.00 plus an extra $70.00 to  Mr. ******* for the aggravation. Our Optical Manager  is going to call Mr. ******* to explain the breakdown of the charges for his glasses and process the refund immediately.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *******