BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

Venture Photography

Phone: (203) 861-9100 Fax: (203) 354-9134 View Additional Phone Numbers 48 W Putnam Ave, Greenwich, CT 06830 http://www.venturephotography.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Venture offers a unique family photographic experience which is fun and interactive, designed to provide informal images which capture the personality and relationships of your family.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Venture Photography meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Venture Photography include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Venture Photography
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 15, 2008 Business started: 11/07/2007 Business started locally: 11/07/2007
Business Management
Mr. Neil Hamilton, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Neil Hamilton, President
Business Category

Photographers - Portrait Photography Studios, Portrait (NAICS: 541921)

Refund and Exchange Policy
Venture Photography guarantees satisfaction with every aspect of our service. If one of our custom framed artwork pieces is not produced as described in the order, we will replace the artwork at our own cost. We are unable to offer exchanges due to the custom nature of the artwork we produce. Each piece is framed specifically to satisfy individual customer orders.
Products & Services

Venture Photography is a unique family oriented photographic studio offering a unique photographic experience and style.


Additional Locations

  • 48 W Putnam Ave

    Greenwich, CT 06830 (203) 861-9100

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (203) 286-1093 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fifteen months ago my son and wife who live in ******** Ct had a child and Venture Photography phone # ###-###-#### contacted them about purchasing a photo package at which my son told them he was not interested. This company continued to call them for months on end and then they began calling me, the mother who lives 1700 miles away in **** ******* *********. I have been getting calls from this company almost every day for 6 months. I have called the company several times and actually have spoken to several people requesting that these calls be stopped as my son did not purchase a photo package from them and I am not interested in hearing from them ever. I was assured that the calls would stop but they continue. Right now I have two calls from Venture Photography requesting that my son or his wife call them regarding this photo package they purchased a year ago. They live in Ct. not Louisiana and my son says he would never give out our home phone #; but it could be easily gotten over internet. The calls are always from women who have high pitch fast talking voices and always refer to the $500 package my son or wife purchased and they ask that he or she call them. It is the same two voices on all of the calls and one is named ****** and the other who is talking so fast we can't understand hardly a word she is saying except for very few and then call venture photography and they give the phone #. These calls are so annoying and troubling. A family member who lives out of town had cancer surgery and that person always leaves us a message so when I come home and see I have two new messages I assume it is from her but no it is Venture Photography! These call have gone on and on daily for at least 6 months and this company has disregarded any request that they not call me or my son again. I believe this company uses the sales tactic of saying that someone has purchased a photo package from them so that they can "legally" make sales calls when in fact there was never any purchase at all. Today November 26, 2014 there is another sales call from this company and there was one yesterday as well and there was one on Monday too. Today after getting another call from Venture I had my husband call them from another phone # telling them that I was reporting them to you. The person he spoke with was **** at the ********* location. Once off the phone with my husband, **** called our home phone just to make sure that we wanted the sales calls to stop! I told him yes stop the calls as I would never ever purchase anything from them nor would my son because of all the problems they have created. In the past I have told them that our number is on the National Do not call list. He told me that my son or wife purchased a photo package from them at a side walk sale in *** ****** **. which they did not. I have asked my son to contact Venture and ask that if a purchase was made, what method of payment was used to purchase their products as they should have that info on hand if it was actually purchased. They won't be able to call that info up as no purchase was ever made. They certainly went to great lengths to find my phone number 1700 miles away. **** with Venture Photography told me today that I could contact him at ###-###-####. This company is using unethical calling tactics simply to make sales calls. I am hoping that this time the sales calls will stop and that the Better Business Bureau will see to it. I sincerely appreciate your time and efforts.

Desired Settlement: I am hoping that Venture Photography will stop calling me!

Business Response:

Firstly as the owner of the studio (**** ********), I would like to personally apologies to the ***** family. I assure you that there was no intent to cause concern or inconvenience. I do however need to explain exactly what happened in response to this complaint lodged with the BBB. At the *** ****** sidewalk sale in July 2013, the ***** family were offered a complimentary Venture experience package valued at $500, as at the time, (nothing was purchased or offered for sale). Our studio offered a complimentary shoot and framed image of their choice as we were looking for clients to showcase newborn baby shoots and Mrs. ***** was expecting at that time. At no time were we looking to sell anything to this family. Unfortunately, when the information taken at the event was entered in our system, it was done in such a way that the record showed that they had actually purchased a package, not been offered one complimentary. We were therefore calling to honor the offer of a free shoot that had been made, not to sell anything. Having mentioned this, hopefully Mrs. ***** will now remember this.

I would also like to note that we log all calls made and can confirm that a number of calls were made in an effort to contact the ***** family - approximately every two weeks, not daily. Also, the call that I personally made and is referred to in the complaint, was not to "make sure they wanted the calls to stop" but to personally apologize for the unwanted calls (which I did) and to assure them that this had been taken care of and that no further calls would be made. As the studio owner, I can not see how these calls were allowed to continue after requests for no more calls to be made and I am equally upset by this as the ***** family. There is absolutely no sense in us wasting our time making calls to people who have no interest in what we were offering. I will make every effort to establish why the client was not closed and the calls stopped and will also speak to out diary managers (who are actually responsible for scheduling appointments for families who have already purchased a Venture Experience package, and NEVER make ANY sales calls, cold or otherwise). Clearly the whole situation was handled badly and we got it seriously wrong on this occasion.

Once again, the calls were not to make a sale but to honor what I believe was a nice offer made to the ***** family at an important time in their lives, with a new member of the family on the way, but I once again offer my sincere apologies.

Sincerely,

**** ********

Studio Owner

1/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service