BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Hat City Pawn, LLC offers pawn brokerage services, including gold, precious metals, electronics, and musical equipment.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hat City Pawn LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hat City Pawn LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Hat City Pawn LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 11, 2012 Business started: 05/24/2010 Business started locally: 05/24/2010 Business incorporated 05/24/2010 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
http://www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Anthony Mineo, Partner Mr. Douglas Mineo, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Anthony Mineo, Partner
Business Category

Pawnbrokers Sporting Goods - Retail Tools - Electric Video Games - Dealers Jewelry Buyers Coins,Stamps & Precious Metals Dealer Gold, Silver & Platinum Dealers Gold Buyers Gun Dealers Musical Instruments - Dealers All Other Nondepository Credit Intermediation (NAICS: 522298)


Additional Locations

  • 17 Federal Rd

    Danbury, CT 06810 (203) 748-2274

  • 314 Westport Ave

    Norwalk, CT 06851 (203) 939-9500

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I pawned my watch at this ***** shop and during the intake process of my watch I explained to the broker that I wouldn't be able to pick my item up until 12/1/15 to which he said that was fine and he would notate the account. As it was getting closer to 12/1/15 I phoned this business to make sure we were both still on the same page. Whoever I spoke with looked up my account and said my account wasn't notated to be picked up on the first of December but he will give me until 12/5/15 to pick my item up and he said the account was now notated. I picked my watch up yesterday on 11/30/15 and the broker I dealt with provided me horrible customer service. The loan was for $250 and the finance charge was $50 so I had $300 cash to get my watch back. To my surprise there was an additional $35 tacked on to the finance charge because he said I was late picking up the watch. I explained to him that at the time I had originally came to the store to get the loan I was NEVER told at ANYTIME I would have to pay an extra fee for picking up my watch on 12/1/15 even though I picked it up on 11/30/15. So then he threatened to keep my watch because he said I was late picking it up and said in his words (quote on quote) "that if he wanted to be a real DICK he could charge me an extra $50 dollars). So I was at his mercy with the way he treated me because I was afraid he was going to keep my $1700 watch. So instead of it costing me $300 it ended up costing me $335 on a $250 loan for 40 days. Thats 34%! Are you kidding me? I feel like I was ripped off and this was some kind of bait and switch type of transaction.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund check mailed to me in the amount of $35 because I was never informed of ANY extra charges at ANYTIME for picking up my item on the 1st.

Business Response: Customer signed an agreement stating they had 30 days to loan and redeem their item.  They picked it up outside that thirty days which was acceptable to us but they were going to be charged a late fee.  Customer was irate and rude about the transaction.  We tried to help them by extending the terms with no payment upfront.  We cannot loan money and extend out terms with no additional payments.  In all rights we could have retained and sold said item but instead we tried to work with the customer and get them back their property which apparently wasn't to their liking.   We try and maintain our A+ rating with BBB by being reasonable with our customers and we expect the same in return.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: There was no transparency or disclosure about having to pay additional fees for picking up my item late besides them telling me it was fine and me singing the loan agreement. They then disclose the extra $35 fee when picking up my item but not before. Not very ethical in my opinion. Furthermore, I would never do business with them again nor would I recommend them to anyone. It's not about the money it's more about the principal of them agreeing to something and saying sign here. Then trumping up an extra fee and saying "well you signed but didn't read the fine print." I was upset because I was treated like crap and they were in total control of my item worth a lot of money and were using that to their advantage to control the situation.

Sincerely,

******* ***

Business Response:

The maturity date of the pawn contract was 11/20/2015 and the total payment for redemption was $300.  If the item was not redeemed by 11/20/2015 the ownership of the item would be transferred to Hat City Pawn for salable merchandise.  These terms were all stated clearly in the pawn contract, for transparency and disclosure, which you signed.  In the spirit of business ethics it is store policy to have flexibility when customers are redeeming their merchandise.  Generally speaking if a customer's pawn contract rolls into the next month another monthly charge is realized.  

In your case it would be another $50 to use the additional month.  Since the item was redeemed on 11/30/2015, (ten days past the maturity date) it is store policy to charge an additional adjusted fee of $35. To just dismiss this adjusted fee would be unfair to customers that pay on time every month.  To be even more accommodating we lower are charges if a customer only needs money for one week instead of a month.

It is unfortunate you feel this way and it your right as a consumer to choose which place of business to do business with.  

12/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Hat City Pawn LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart