BBB Accredited Business since

Bristol Paving, LLC

Phone: (860) 589-6177 355 Farmington Ave, Bristol, CT 06010

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Bristol Paving, LLC offers paving services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bristol Paving, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Bristol Paving, LLC include:

  • 11 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Bristol Paving, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bristol Paving, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 09, 2006 Business started: 01/01/2004 Business started locally: 01/01/2004 Business incorporated: 06/15/2004 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Glenn Bossie, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Glenn Bossie, Owner
Business Category

Paving Contractors All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)


Additional Locations

  • 355 Farmington Ave

    Bristol, CT 06010 (860) 589-6177

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bristol Paving completed a less than adequate paving job on my driveway on October 26, 2012.Upon getting home, I noticed he left an area of asphalt that was crumbling and not level with the abuttment of the cement base along the garage door. Also, there was a large area in the middle of the driveway that looked as though the workers had left dripping asphalt.On 10/26/12,I called the owner about this. He called back and said the tar may not have been heated enough in that area and said he would come back to fix that and address the crumbling tar at the top of the driveway near the garage. On November 2, 2012 his wife or girlfriend came out to collect the final payment. She promised in good faith that he would be back to fix the problems. He never came out and did not return my calls.In the spring of 2013 I called him again and he did not return my call.I noticed that water was also pooling in several areas at the top of the driveway and I noticed areas that were eroding away and where large stones were coming up through the asphalt. This spring(2014),I noticed the edge of the driveway breaking away and an area of "darkened discoloration" in the middle of the driveway in the area where the asphalt was left dripping. About 6 weeks ago, I noticed a sudden horizontal crack that runs along my driveway from one side to the other in that area of discoloration.I called and told him if I didn't hear from him I would report him to BBB and he called me right back and said he would be out to fix the problem. He has not come out even after two more calls to him. Instead, he makes excuses and empty promises. When I called to let him know for the last time that I was going to file a complaint, he called me back and yelled and bullied me for my intent to file with the BBB.

Desired Settlement: Because I don't believe a patch job would solve the overall problem of a poorly paved driveway I would like to have the driveway repaved. If it is too late in the season (too cold at night) to pave the driveway, I would like a refund so that I can have the job done properly next summer by another contractor.

Business Response: We paved this coustmer 10/12 and did a small repair on 11/12 due to a area which had a area with congested with stones. This coustmer never called me in April of 2013. I spoke to this coustmer in September of 2014 when she made a complaint of this crack. I explained that she just had her entire yard lanscaped which had heavy equipment and dump trucks driving on her driveway. We paved in this area and I noticed this work being preformed. The warranty for her driveway is one year which I explained to her. I also explained her driveway was installed in 2012 but she insisted it was 2013. I explained that were paving in her area and will repair any issue that there is when we pave these driveways.. She left a message with a threat of a bbb complaint if it wasn't repaired to her demands. 

 
In summary I will repair this area even tho its no longer in warranty as I explained to her. This shall be  Preformed within the next two weeks or by 11/2/14. These conversations were recorded and can be downloaded and sent to the BBB if needed.
 
Sincerely,
***** ******

Consumer Response:

 Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me with the following added terms or conditions:

I don’t know why Bristol Paving claims I insisted the installation was in 2013 because in my complaint to the BBB, I clearly stated that the installation was done in October of 2012.

My landscaping work was performed 20 months after the driveway was installed which is long after the “cure” period.  The equipment was not sitting on my driveway but rather using the driveway as an access point in order to get to the yard.  The equipment was lawn equipment and was used on the lawn, not on the driveway. The contractor made it sound as though I had continuous runs of dump trucks going up and down my driveway which was not the case.  The dump truck did not park on the driveway.  The truck carried a load of topsoil and drove up the driveway onto the lawn; dumped the topsoil and then left. I have several neighbors who had their driveways installed by Bristol Paving this year and last year and they have large mobile homes parked on their driveways with no cracking.  I would expect that my driveway would hold up just as well as theirs given that I don’t “park” equipment on my driveway, let alone my car which is always garaged.

The crack in question is a transverse crack and these types of cracks are not typically load-associated.  Transverse cracks are single cracks perpendicular to the pavement’s centerline or laydown direction.  They can be caused by reflective cracks from an underlying layer, daily temperature cycles, and poor construction due to improper operation of the paver. My driveway is noticeably raised up in that area.

The contractor states that he did a small repair on 11/12/12 due to an area congested with stones.  I don’t know what he is talking about.  He never told me he was making that repair and I don’t know what area of the driveway he made that repair to because I never saw it nor did he advise me to stay off the driveway until it cured.   More importantly, Connecticut had a nor’easter snowstorm on November 7, 2012 leaving several inches of snow which would have made it unlikely for that repair to have occurred given the snow/ice covered driveway and frozen ground.

Conclusion:

I am agreeable to the contractor making the repairs or redoing the driveway only if the work is done to a professionally acceptable appearance and quality and only if such work will fix the underlying problem that caused the problems with the driveway appearance in the first place.  I paid a lot of money to have a driveway that is installed correctly and that lasts more than 20 months.  I don’t want a patch job or a repair that looks “obvious”.  I also don’t want to be faced with repairing the crack every 2 to 3 years because of a temporary fix. If he cannot promise this, I want a full refund.  If the weather does not permit the repairs, I want it in writing that that he will return in the summer to properly address the driveway.

Sincerely,

******* ********

10/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After numerous phone calls, e-mails, and follow ups, business has not provided agreed upon repairs in a timely manner.

Desired Settlement: To make the agreed upon repairs in Spring/Summer of 2015

Business Response: I'm embarrassed and extremely apologize for forgetting to resolive Mr. ******** complaint. I will call Mr. ****** to resolve this complaint at his convience. . 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

I have received a phone call from the business and agree that the necessary repairs occur in the Spring/Summer 2015, when the weather is more suitable

Sincerely,

**** ******

8/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Bristol Paving in March 2014 to extend my driveway. The owner, ***** ******* and his crew completed half the job by laying gravel, and *** ****** stated that they would return at the end of April when it was warmer to lay the asphalt. *** ****** didn't return until the end of May to complete the job, and at that time he returned at the end of the day with a crew that appeared ready to quit. The driveway was done in a less than professional manner with a crooked edge line, noticeable gaps between the existing pavement and the new, raised sections of asphalt, and several uneven areas which pool with water when it rains. In addition to the phone calls placed to *** ****** at the end of April and into May to get him to come back and complete the job he was hired to do, I have and am currently trying to reach him so he can repair the unsatisfactory job that his company completed in May. *** ****** does not answer calls, does not return calls, and if I do reach him he gives me excuses and promises to complete repairs but has not returned as of yet.

Desired Settlement: I request that *** ****** repair my driveway to a professionally acceptable appearance and quality or refund my money.

Business Response: This complaint was repaired on July 27,2014. ** ***** inspected this repair as his wife and stated everything was satisfactory. Sorry the issue took so long to get repaired.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** *****

8/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Bristol Paving to pave my driveway in April of 2013. The old driveway was torn out in early April, and was paved in late May. A large gap was left between the street and the end of the driveway, and I immediately notified the owner, ***** ******, about this problem. I told ***** that I was concerned that in the winter, water would get into this large gap and freeze and cause the end of the driveway to heave. ***** agreed with this assessment and assured me he would be back to correct the problem. As the Summer passed I called ***** numerous times and left messages reminding him that he needed to come back to my house to correct this problem, however, he never returned my calls and never came back to fix the problem. Winter eventually came, and sure enough water seeped into the gap, froze, and caused the end of the driveway to heave and crack. I began calling ***** again when winter ended, and he had completely forgotten who I was and what the problem with my driveway was. I refreshed his memory, and he assured me he would be out to fix it. ***** even told me to send him a text message to remind him. I have sent him multiple text messages, all unreturned, and he still has not come back to fix my driveway, nor has he provided me with any explanation as to why. At this point the damage is minor, and I would like ***** to keep his word and come back and fix the problem. If he had done the job right in the first place, we wouldn't have this problem now. When I hired *****, he assured me that he would stand by his work, and would take care of any future issues with this driveway.

Desired Settlement: I want ***** ****** to come back to my house and repair the damage that was caused by his incorrect driveway installation, and then correct the problem that caused this damage in the first place. A large gap should not have been left between the end of my driveway and the street. It should have been obvious to ***** that this was going to cause problems.

Business Response: I spoke with the customer and will complete repairs this week6-26-14.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me, as long as he actually shows up to complete the repair. 

Sincerely,

****** ******

Consumer Response: -----Original Message-----
From: ****** ******
Sent: Thursday, July 24, 2014 10:36 AM
To: *******************
Subject: Comp# ********

Hi ********,

I filed a complaint with the BBB back in early June (comp # ********) against Bristol Paving. The owner responded and said he would fix my issue, however I knew he wouldn't, and he hasn't. I last heard from him on Friday, June 27, 2014 when he texted me and said he wouldn't be able to get the job done due to a medical emergency, but he would come on Monday, June 30 to fix the problem. He did not show up and I have not heard from him since. I would like to reopen this complaint. At this point, I have serious doubts that he will ever come back and do the job correctly, so I certainly do not want this complaint to show as resolved on the BBB website.

Thank you,

****** ******

Business Response: I sent my employees over in late June they didn't see any issues with driveway. 

I went on personally on Friday July 28, 2014. The customer complained of a crack on the city street not his driveway and along the curb. This was repaired with hot crackfill and the curb issue was rectified as well.  

1/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bristol paving dug out our driveway on 8/6and then paved it on 9/12. On 9/17', I emailed a picture of standing water on the driveway with a phone call asking to have this repaired. Once a week past there, either my husband or myself called the owner, ****** and left voice mails which he didn't return. We finally got him on the phone and he stopped over. He said the water was a result of my car wheel being in the driveway, which was stupid because that's where the car will always be parked. He said he came over and sprayed water in the driveway (while we weren't home) and couldn't see any collection of water. On 10/27' I again emailed another picture on water settling in a dip on the driveway, without my car near it. He replied, saying he would have repairs complete by 11/1. We then informed him that his equipment had hit our brand new porch (installed in July) and we gave him the brand and color of the material. He said he would have it replaced by a carpenter. On 11/8, another email was sent to him, and another call. He said he would be over on Sat 11/16 to repair the board on the porch, and never showed up or called. We left him 2 voice mails and never heard back from him. We were away on 10/28 to 11/4. He claims we discussed the porch and driveway being fixed during the time we were away. We did not agree to that, and said we wanted to be home when the repairs were being done. We do not trust him at all at this point.

Desired Settlement: We want the money to fix the porch (material and labor -150.00), and have the dip in our driveway repaired. If he can't repair it in a timely fashion, we want the money to have someone else come in and clean up his mess.

Business Response: To whom it may concern,


Im sorry for the delay but I was on a 3 week vacation in Europe.


On several different occasions I have gone to ** ****** ** to test the water on ***** *******'s new driveway. On each occasion I have gone there and neither of the homeowners were not home. On one occasion they were home.
I have water tested on each occasion and tested it with the homeowners home and did not duplicate there complaint. I then explained to both ***** and her husband that I did not see any issues. I also told them that I noticed in the pictures she sent me that where she parks her vehicle the tire is blocking the water flow in the water channel.
She did not feel that that was the case so I agreed to come back and rectify the issue by raising that elevation. I have attempted to set up a date as ***** stated in her complaint. Unfortunately I have never dealt with a customer where I needed to put things in writing. ****** stated she did not want me on her property while she was not home and we needed to meet on a different date.
 It then started to get cold rapidly and the temperatures need to be in the excess of 65 degrees to repair her concerns even though I was not able to duplicate any puddling.
On our last conversation I told ***** we needed to wait to the spring to rectify the area because in the cold weather it would leave a bad cosmetic appearance. And she agreed. I am shocked to see a BBB complaint because are stories are so different. I just don't understand how there is such a communication difference.
I will have this issue rectified in the spring when temperatures reach 65 degrees.


Thank you,
***** ******
Bristol Paving LLC
###-###-####

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

From: ***** ******** *******
Sent: Wednesday, February 12, 2014 3:07 PM
To: *********************
Cc: ***** ******
Subject: Re: You have a New Message from BBB Serving Connecticut Regarding Complaint #*******

 
As i just received this reply (vacation, etc.) i need to reopen it  this first of spring .  Also nothing was replied to as the damage of my front porch.  No words were exchanged with him since his last missed appointment.

Sent from my ****

*****

Consumer Response: From: ***** Rossitto *******
Sent: Tuesday, May 06, 2014 5:24 PM
To: *********************
Subject: Re: You have a New Message from BBB Serving Connecticut Regarding Complaint #*******

I would like to reopen this claim.  It is now warm enough for him to fix my driveway, and repair my front porch.

Business Response: The weather has finally broke.... I will be there today between 4 and 6 to repair ***** *******'s driveway... Any questions please feel free to contact me..

Thank you,
*****

12/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bristol Paving was hired on May 17, 2013 to install a new driveway, rear cement sidewalk, recap front and rear cement porches, install metal railings to both porches and replace the metal posts that supports a heavy metal awning over the rear porch. The owner, ***** stated that he would sand and paint the railings and support beams. The owner was paid $4000.00 on the first day to start the job. On June 18, 2013, *****, the owner finished the driveway and porches and requested the rest of the money. He was paid in full. ***** stated he would be back to install the railings to the front and rear porches (sand and paint where needed)and install the support beams that support the awning. ***** also agreed to power wash the new driveway after his workers in bedded dirt in the driveway from the wheels of their ****** machine. The dirt stains left a very undesirable look to the driveway. ***** stated the dirt would wash out but it never did as of 12/10/13. **** promised on at least (5) occasions that he would finished the work on a particular day but failed to show or call. Many additional calls were ignored. My main concern is the support posts that holds up the heavy awning were never reinstalled by ***** the owner as promised. I fear a heavy snow or ice may cause the awning to come crashing down on my 82 year old mother and visitors to the residence. These concerns were given to ***** on a number of documented occasions.

Desired Settlement: Install the railings on the front and rear porch as promised, installed the support beams to the rear awning as promised, power wash the driveway to remove dirt stains as promised and sand and paint rusted areas to the railings and support beams as promised.

Business Response: My deepest apologies.. They have called several times and I keep forgetting to place them on the work schedule.. This will be resolved within 7 days.

 
*****

Consumer Response:

 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me, only if **** completes the work as promise.  Unfortunately **** has proven in the past that he cannot be trusted.  **** promised in July, August, September, October and November 2013 to finish the work and each month he was a no show, not even a phone call.

Sincerely,

**** ******

10/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My drive way was paved in late September 2012. When it was paved it was done with a less than adequate paving mix (bad mix) & as a result there are some areas which are eroding away. I have contacted Mr. ****** several times via both email and phone call. He came over to my residence in early April 2013 saying he would take care of the problem in May 2013. He said that any earlier and the weather would not support the repairs. This seemed to make sense. May came and went, no activity. I emailed and or called Bristol Paving in May 2013, June 13th, & July 17th. On July 18th, I heard back from Bristol paving saying they would try for early next week that they were paving a driveway in my area Early next week came and went with no call or action. I called and/or emailed again on Aug 30th, Sep 20th and Sep 30th all with no responses. I was told back when the driveway was paved that if there were any issues to call and they would be taken care of. To date, this is not the case.

Desired Settlement: I would like my drive way repaired correctly, even sealed correctly to further limit the damage of the bad paving mix applied to my driveway/ Re do the paving job or a refund.

Business Response: First off... I never stated this was a bad asphalt mix... I was questioned why the asphalt has alot of stone by *** ?   Asphalt is made from computers which add stones, sand, oils and glue.. At times they are stonier but his driveway mix is within the Connecticut dot standards.

 
I recieced a phone call this may form ***. He stated that his driveway was damaged by a large truck that made a delivery.. He also stated that he wanted a estimate to repair this damage and that there was a area near rock ledge that I needed to address. I gave *** a empty esti
Estimate form and stated I'll repair the area for free and fill out my form for his reimbursement form the delivery company. I also stated was working in the area and will stop over in a couple of weeks.. Sorry I overlooked my free service. I'll repair this area this week.. 
 
There is nothing wrong with the asphalt composite.. *** my request core samples to test the asphalt. This will leave 4 six inch holes in the driveway which will be patched by the company that made this asphalt and lab tested. I assure the asphalt is within the Connecticut Dot limits. The cost to repair the holes is not covered if the material is within the standards. The company may also reverse the material testing fees if the test is in within dot standards.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   I do not feel it is necessary to test the driveway or take samples at this time.     

Sincerely,

***** *********

8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: when my drive way was paved it was done with a bad mix. I have been promised for almost 2 years that my drive way would be fixed. I have contacted him several times and every time he tells me he would be at my house to fix it in the next couple of days. Back in november 17 2012 he stopped at my house and left me a note stating he would take care of the problem before may 31 2013. the last time i talked to **** he told me he would take care of me when he does a drive way on ************** (which is near my house) and when i called him when he was doing that drive way on Friday July 19 2013 he said it was too late and would do my drive way by wednesday July 24 2013. I have tried to call him a few times since and have gotten no response. Product_Or_Service: drive way

Desired Settlement: I would like my drive way fixed, redone or a refund

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/16) */ This matter will be rectafied on or before Wesnday August 21,2013. Business Response /* (-10, 7, 2013/08/23) */ This matter has been resolved as of Wensday August 22,2013

6/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to install promised curbing at end of driveway. Have been waiting for 1 year Glen installed my driveway and was to install a curb at the end to keep the soil away from the driveway. Promised he would return to complete but never did, have called numerous times he promised he would be here to take care of it but never did.

Desired Settlement: Install curb as promised

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/30) */ I am sorry there was a comunication error. The curb was installed on May 23, 2013. This issue has been resolved.

8/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service