This business is not BBB accredited.

Future Finish LLC

Phone: (203) 234-6260 1347 Middletown Ave, Northford, CT 06472 http://www.futurefinish.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Future Finish LLC offers exterior and interior general home improvements, specializing in painting wallpaper removal and hanging, and carpentry.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

“This business has a history of violating BBB name and logo policy and has falsely stated BBB accreditation (or membership) or referenced the BBB name in an unauthorized manner, despite BBB’s efforts to get the business to cease using the BBB trademark.  The business was contacted on April 30, 2015, May 4, 2015, June 24, 2015, and July 8, 2015., and has not removed the logo from the website.  This use of the BBB trademark constitutes trademark infringement and is a violation of trademark rights of the Council of Better Business Bureaus, Inc.”

“This business has a history of violating BBB name and logo policy and has falsely stated BBB accreditation (or membership) or referenced the BBB name in an unauthorized manner, despite BBB’s efforts to get the business to cease using the BBB trademark. This use of the BBB trademark constitutes trademark infringement and is a violation of trademark rights of the Council of Better Business Bureaus, Inc.”


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Future Finish LLC include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved
  • Unauthorized use of BBB name or trademarks

Factors that raised the rating for Future Finish LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Future Finish LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 05, 2007 Business started: 06/01/2006 Business started locally: 06/01/2006 Business incorporated 12/07/2006 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
http://www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. James W. O'Brien, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James W. O'Brien, President
Business Category

Painting Contractors Commercial Painting Contractor Painters - Commercial or Residential Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Spray On Siding Wallpaper Removing Wallpaper Hangers Basement Waterproofing Basement - Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling Windows & Doors - Installation & Service Windows Wall & Ceiling Texturing Contractor - Sheetrock Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Kitchen & Bath Design Carpenters Contractors - Ceiling Contractors - General Basement - Contractors Basement - Finishing Drywall Contractors Drywall Taping and Texturing Home Improvements - Additions


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1347 Middletown Ave

    Northford, CT 06472

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/8/2015 Delivery Issues
10/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My house was "painted" , in 2008,with a plastic coating, guaranteed to last as long as I own my home. We have a copy of the warranty. (warranty company, ****** ********, ***, is out of business.) I, also, had gutters, and "gutter guards" installed. The gutters began to overflow almost immediately. The water began to run into my living room. I called Jim O******, the owner and installer. He came out and removed the guards from the rear gutter. The water continued to come into the room-causing floors to buckle and the door to warp. Meanwhile, the paint was fading and peeling off the house. I called my daughter in December of 2014 to help with contacting Future Finish. We finally got to talk with Jim. He told us that he could do nothing until Spring: Call then. We called many times, always leaving messages (they do not answer the phone). Finally in August we made an appointment and Jim came to the house. He was very late for his appointment, and cleaned some debris from the gutters, ran the hose in them, and said that there was nothing that he could do about them. He said that everyone had trouble with ice dams last winter. When asked about the paint, after much hesitation, and talk, he said that he would e-mail a quote to my daughter as to what he said that he could do. This was on September 2, 2015. He said that he could spot paint-which would not match color, for $800, or he could paint the back of the house, which is the worse problem, for $1500. My daughter requested the quote in writing. He would only agree to e-mail the quote. He never sent it. After more messages to Future Finish, asking for the quote, We decided to contact you. We had hoped to get the paint and gutters repaired before another harsh winter, and additional damage. I paid $7000 to have my house coated, so that my family would not need to worry about it. I am 90 years old.

Desired Settlement: I wish to have my gutters work correctly and to be the correct color. I want my house to be all one color, and to be protected from the weather. I do not feel that I should need to pay any additional charges to repair poor workmanship, that was guaranteed. My business, and trust was with Future Finish, not with the warranty company that went out of business. I want to have what I paid so much for.

Business Response:

We have been out to Mrs. *******'s house at least 4 times possibly as many as 6 times, We did paint her home, which came with a warranty from the manufacturer who has since gone out of business. We also installed basic gutter protection with no warranty. We went to her home on Sept 2, 2015, we had an earlier appointment but her daughter needed to cancel it, and discussed these issues with her as well. 

After we painted the house, Mrs. ******* had some work done to her home by family members and called us to come out because the new door that was installed by them was hitting the front gutter and caused the pitch go the wrong way. On the next occasion, her back gutters were frozen, as were almost every house in CT at that time, causing water to back up into her house. If water is going to freeze it will freeze with or without gutter protection, the gutter protection is not causing it to freeze, its caused by having snow on your roof with heat escaping and melting the snow on your roof, once it hits the gutters it freezes. There is no way to prevent ice dams unless you have heated gutter protection, she blamed the gutter protection and insisted that the gutter protection be taken out so we removed it for her. The gutters froze again the next winter and she had more issues.
This current time out there she called about the water going right over the back gutter, I asked her daughter if it was clogged and she said no, I went out there and the gutter was clogged, this is the same gutter she had me remove the gutter protection from. I spent over an hour out there and unclogged the gutter at no charge. The gutter was fully clogged at the elbow and has probably been clogged since about a month after she had me remove the protection which will lead to severe ice dam situations in the winter. The gutters were working 100% perfect when I left her house, they will clog again in the fall because she has no gutter protection and in her wooded area they should be cleaned at least 2 times a year.  Mrs. ******* is elderly and over the years we have gone above and beyond to help her, never at any charge, with many issues she has had with the house that were not by our doing or covered by any warranty.  Her daughter has now come into the picture, calling about the house because she said she will eventually be getting this house and is now complaining about things her mother had asked us to change years ago, that she was never a part of during our visits and conversations with Mrs. ******* throughout the years.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Future Finish would not have needed to return to My home "4 times possibly as many as 6 times" had the work been completed correctly from the start. I have been living in, and caring for my home for over 50 years. I try to make wise investments to protect and improve my home.  I believed that I was doing that when I hired Future Finish to "permanently coat my home." Their promises turned out to be untrue.

Future Finish has not responded as to how to resolve the problem of the coating (paint) that is peeling off my house.  My agreement was with Future finish: I was told that I would "never need to paint my house again."  I understand that the warranty was with another company, that is now out of business.  However, my agreement was with Future Finish, not the warranty company that they chose to use.  The coating on my house is fading and peeling off, leaving my house exposed to the weather.  I asked my daughter to help, when I became frustrated and could not get response or resolution from Future Finish. We have documented the numerous times that we called-never getting a person to answer-only a machine. Calls are rarely returned.  This has gone on since December of 2014. Only when my daughter called and left a message, saying that the next call was to the Better Business Bureau, did we receive a return call.  That is when Future Finish told my daughter to clean the gutter and call back in the Spring. Future Finish came out and looked at the ice dam, behind the rear gutter, and said that they could do nothing until it thawed. Meanwhile, my floor buckled and I was not able to open my back door. I was concerned for safety, and further damage. So, I called a carpenter to make repairs.  I had never had trouble with my gutters before Future Finish installed gutters on my home.

After the winter, we called Future Finish again, and our calls were ignored.  When we finally received a return call from Future Finish, they left a message telling us when they would be out to my house.  They never gave a choice of day or time.  I wanted my daughter to be there, and to handle the situation. She has a full schedule, and I had an appointment on the day that they said that they would be at my home. Therefore, my daughter needed to reschedule the appointment. 

When Future Finish did come to my home, he asked my daughter if the gutters were clogged. She said that she did not know. She had not been up there. The man from Future Finish asked to use the hose, and went up on the roof.  He and my daughter got some stuff out of the gutter and down spout. Then Future Finish tore a large piece of peeled coating off the back of my house and said that he would try to match the color.  That is when he told my daughter that they could "spot paint" the house on the bad spots, but it would not match exactly. Or, they could paint (coat) the entire back of the house. My daughter asked for everything in writing so that we could think about it and decide what to do. Future Finish told my daughter that they would send an e-mail stating what the cost would be to repair the coating on my home.  We never received anything.

Here we are again, late into the Fall, when temperatures are too cool to paint, and I am facing another winter with my home exposed to the coming winter weather.  I paid Future Finish a great deal of money to protect my home.  They did not meet their side of the agreement.  I believe that most home owners try to protect their home, whatever the reason.  My daughter's concern for my home, is because my daughter is concerned about me.  I am 90 years old. Future Finish should concern themselves with operating a reputable business, doing good work, and honoring their agreements. 

I am simply asking Future Finish to honor their promise to me.  I want my house to be protected from the elements and to look good.  I have asked for nothing from Future Finish, that they did not agree to, from the time of our original contract.



Sincerely,

****** *******

Business Response:

We did not choose a "warranty company" to use, the warranty for their home was not from us but from the coating company of the product put on their house.  As the customer has stated, the company is no longer in business, as per contract the warranty was from the manufacturer.

The only time the water overflowed into the living room was when the gutters were frozen, we cannot prevent gutters from freezing, no gutter protection that does not have heat tape that is being properly operated by the homeowner will prevent gutters from freezing. All gutter protection requires maintenance and the homeowner has failed to do any maintenance. I also need to mention that the ice dam happened over a room where a wood stove / fireplace is burned which will increase the melting of the snow on the roof into a frozen gutter. I did suggest getting heated gutter protection which is the only way to prevent frozen gutters.

As stated I went out there and removed the gutter protection at the homeowners request and the gutters still froze, and over time the gutters became clogged which will happen when you have a full canopy of trees.

I cleaned the clogged gutter at no charge and the gutters are flowing properly and the house is protected from the weather. I can mail a written estimate to repaint the sections of the home that are not covered by warranty because the company who gave the warranty for the product used on this house in 2008 is out of business.

Business Response: I was the person up on the ladder and cleaned out the gutter and removed the downspout to find it solid full of dirt. I was there with her daughter who was turning the hose on and off for me. The gutter flows just fine now because I fixed it.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
The gutter was not "completely" filled with dirt.  It was running very slowly. The downspout portion of the gutter was split on the side that faces the house. Future Finish re-hung it with the split in it.
As I explained in my last reply, we have paid someone to re-adjust the gutter and my daughter recently got up on the ladder and cleaned all of the other gutters on the house.  These are the gutters that, I was told, would never need to be cleaned, because the gutter guards would keep debris out. The gutters are not our concern at this point: Future Finish has, once again, said that they would put into writing a proposal to repair the coating on the house. Once again, they have not done that. This is how Future Finish has dealt with our complaint from the beginning.  They have made promises, and not kept them.  We are waiting for their written proposal as to what they will do about the peeling and fading coating.  The gutters are not the issue in question now.

Sincerely,

****** *******