BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Wesson Energy, Inc. offers heating fuel oil and propane gas, as well as heating and air conditioning services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Wesson Energy, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Wesson Energy, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Wesson Energy, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 20, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1935 Business started locally: 01/01/1935 Business incorporated 12/19/1996 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
http://www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Craig Snyder, President Mrs. Jane Jaques, Financial Officer Mr. John Lucera, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. John Lucera, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Craig Snyder, President
Business Category

Oils - Fuel Energy Audits Electric Companies Heating Equipment Contractor - Home Performance Heating Contractors Contractor - Insulation Heating & Air Conditioning Gas - Propane Fuel Dealers (NAICS: 454310)

Alternate Business Names
Wesson Energy

Additional Locations

  • 165 Railroad Hill St

    Waterbury, CT 06708 (203) 756-7041 (203) 264-0880 (860) 496-1956

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/31/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wesson Energy had sent me an advertisement to receive a new energy efficient water heater including installation for which part of the price would be subsidized by the utility company. The total cost to me as a "co-pay" would be $300. I called to take advantage of the offer. I spoke with Jane B****** on several occasions (Arrox 10 times). I was told that the water heat would be installed ASAP the first time I called. From that point, I never heard back from Wesson Energy. I called to follow up several times, each time I received an excuse why the installation would be delayed. Then about 5 months into waiting, Jane called and stated that the water heater would be installed. I stated to her that I needed to check my work schedule and I would get back to her in a couple days. I called back in a couple of days, at which time I received the news that there would be an additional delay. I called a few more times to follow up, each time I received a new excuse. As of late, I have been trying to call to follow up, and they are ignoring my phone calls. I have left multiple messages for a call back and I have never received a call back. Other owners in my condo complex have had water heaters installed by Wesson Energy. I am not sure why there is an issue with having mine installed. If Wesson Energy is going to send advertisements via First Class mail to prospective customers, I think it would be appropriate for Wesson Energy to produce what they are advertising.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the water heater installed according to the offer extended by Wesson Energy.

Business Response:

In regards to the complaint filed by *** ***** * *******  Wesson Energy would like to apologize for the delay in not getting back in touch with the customer and not doing the install he requested in a timely fashion.  We spoke with *** ******* on 2/29/16 and notified him we would do the install on a date and time that would work for him and we would do this as soon as he wanted.  We also discussed the price of putting the unit in and *** ******* agreed to that price.  After the conversation we had with the customer he was satisfied with what we offering to do.  If you should need any further information on this issue please reach out to us.

 

Sincerely,

John D. L*****

VP Sales & Marketing

Consumer Response: I spoke with Wesson Energy. They verbally offered me a satisfactory compromise. But, I have yet to see anything happen.
I'm supposed to receive a contract or something in writing, but have not seen anything as of yet.
I'd like to leave the complaint open until I actually receive the water heater and it is installed.
I just emailed them now to follow up as well.
Thanks,
*****

Business Response:

The contract has been sent to the customer.  We are arranging for the install to be done this Thursday the 17th.  If there should be any other questions or concerns in this matter please let us know.

6/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wesson Energy, our propane supplier, was called regarding a recurring problem of soot on the house siding above the vent. Wesson was told this siding had been replaced b/c of the soot problem and was now dirty with soot again. This was the reason for the request for service. On 11/18/14 a technician came to the house. The invoice gives a charge of $516.86 for "Cleaned Boiler". No details were given. Soot continued to dirty the siding. A second call was made to correct this problem. Another service call was made on 12/05/14, with a charge of $530.69. No statement and no details were given. Soot continues to dirty the siding. In discussions with ***** *******, the service manager, who came to the property after the second service call, he blamed the ********* building inspector for allowing the vent to be placed too close to the house. His technicians did not move the vent, and the problem with soot continues. ***** refuses to give a detailed statement of parts installed or hours worked. He maintains that $1200 is a fair charge for cleaning the boiler. I have been to his office to discuss this, and we have had numerous email contacts requesting a detailed statement. I believe the parts installed were not necessary. I have worked in the oil business for 25 years. I believe the only service necessary was to clean the boiler and to move the outside vent away from the house. We have made numerous, numerous requests for a detailed statement of the work performed, both in person and in numerous emails. As you can see from the invoices, the yearly charge for tank rental is shown (we have a new company, and they have installed their tanks), and finance charges are being added. They are threatening to take us to collection

Desired Settlement: We should be billed only a fair charge for cleaning the boiler. Since nothing they did repaired the problem, and they will not give details on any other work done, the remainder of the charges should be dropped.

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

We do agree we provided serviced on 11/18/14 but the next service date was on 12/1/15 on this Propane Gas Heating system.  We do not agree to the reason why we were called.  We show the customer called in stating they had No Heat and requested that we arrive after 1 PM but if they were not home by the time we got there that the ***** door would be open. Upon inspection of the system technician found two items 1, the unit needed to be cleaned, 2, the unit needed a gas valve that we needed to order from our vendor.  We received permission to do the cleaning and get the heating system back on and told the client we would set up a 2nd appointment to do the install of the gas valve.  We billed this as a Time and material billing so the total to cover the 2.17 hours that we were there and up to 30 minutes of travel totaled $516.86.  We arranged to come back and install the valve on 12/1/14 and also billed that as t\TIme and Material so it was the labor, part and shipping that totaled $530.69.  The next item we billed was the yearly Propane Gas Tank rental on 12/26/14 for $150.00.  We sent out invoices for each of these items and didn't hear back from the customer until after these items fell past due and our Collections Department became involved and starting placing calls to each of the 4 numbers on the file and sending letters.  After multiple attempts to call for over a month our Credit Department found each number was either out of service or rang busy.  Finally our Credit Department had to send a Tank Removal Notice due to non-payment of the account.  It was then that Mr. ******** came into our office and spoke to our Credit Manager and Service Manager and stated there was a problem that he felt there was soot after each delivery and he had been cleaning the siding for a long time but at one point he couldn't do it anymore and had to replace the siding.  Our Service Manger agreed to go to his home to see what the problem was.  We told Mr. ******** that the problem was with the venting and we can fix if he would like but the cost would be $365.30.  Mr. ******** did not proceed with this.  The total for both service calls is $1047.55.  On 4/7/15 *** ******* sent an email to Mr. ******** stating the invoice that he was sent is detailed for a time and material billing and offered to help with a payment plan if needed.  On 4/29/15 Mr. ******** responded via email "I don't need a payment plan.  What I need is what I have been asking for -- a list of the parts used, model and serial number, and supplier's name, along with the hours,  I'm not new at this.  **** will tell you I have been in the oil business for 25 years in the past.  I am disputing this bill and the way it was handled.  You refuse to give me an itemized statement."  *** responded that we can do a manuel invoice "for those two calls with the names of the parts listed, the total labor hours and the travel time>"  We did request he give us until the following week to provide this and also that he send confirmation that he received the  information.   The next day we received information  that he filed with the BBB and we never heard back from him if this offer was acceptable.  We would like to work with Mr. ******** and the above offers still stand.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  On the first service call on 11/18/14,  the furnace was cleaned, and it was determined it needed a gas valve.  Competition charges $168 to clean a propane furnace b/c they are easier to clean than an oil boiler.  This service call was essentially a furnace cleaning, which should have been billed in the range of $168, not $516.

On the second visit the gas valve was installed.  This job port-to-port should be one and one-half hour to 2 hours, maximum. With labor in the range of $98/hr, this comes to $150 to $200, plus the cost of the part.   Both these visits were extremely overcharged.  I would still like to see the itemized invoices for both visits.
I also asked them to resolve the problem of the soot on the siding before the first visit.  This never was checked.

Sincerely,

******* ********

Business Response: While we do not agree with what  Mr. ******** has stated we are willing to work with him to close this matter out.  We are wiling to reduced the cost of the first service call from $516..86 to $300.00.  If he accepts this we will credit $216.86 toward the existing account balance of $1,280.57.  Further we are willing to remove the finance charges that have been billed from 4/31/14  to 4/20/15 totaling $83.02.  So if Mr. ******** pays $980.69 once we receive this payment we will process those credits to leave his account balance with a zero balance.  As for the soot problem (as we stated with our last reply) the first time we hard about it was when he came into our office 3/24/15 and we agreed to go out to that location with him to see what the problem was.  We told him what we felt the problem was and what we would charge to fix it but Mr. ******** did not go forward with the work.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I had complained about the soot problem numerous times.  **** told me the new gas valve would correct the soot problem.

The first service call was essentially a cleaning, which should be in the range of $168, which is what the competition charges.  In the course of the cleaning, it would have been discovered that the gas valve needed to be replaced, so this would not require any extra labor or time.
The second service call should have taken no more than one and one-half hours, for a cost of approximately $150.  The valve should cost no more than $100.  That call should have come to no more than $250.  That is a total of $418.  I am sending you a check for this amount as payment in full.

Sincerely,

******* ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Wesson Energy, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)