BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Kasden Fuel Company offers heating oil, diesel fuel, kerosene, burner service and installations.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Kasden Fuel Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Kasden Fuel Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 8
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 9

Additional Complaint Information

Since Kasden Fuel Company's assets only were purchased out of bankruptcy, Star Gas, LP currently doing business as Kasden Fuel Company is not responsible for providing refunds owed by the previous owners.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Kasden Fuel Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 16, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1912 Business started locally: 01/01/1912 Business incorporated: 12/08/1995 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Business Management
Mr. Michael Matarese, General Manager Ms. Lynn Mathiews-Felici, Administrative/Customer Service Mgr.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Matarese, General Manager
Business Category

Oils - Fuel Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Kerosene Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Heating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Fuel - Diesel Gas - Propane Fuel Dealers (NAICS: 454310)

Business Management

In June 2011, Kasden Fuel Company's assets were purchased out of bankruptcy by Petro, Inc. and is is currently being operated by Star Gas LP, a wholly owned subsidiary of Petro, Inc.


Additional Locations

  • 340 Tolland St

    East Hartford, CT 06108 (860) 289-5431

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had inquired about becoming a new customer to Kasden Fuel back in November. I was contacted by an employee, ******* ******* who was apparently in charge of new customers. The worst person that could be in charge of new customers. After submitting my information for application to a budget program and being approved, I had to wait 5 days to hear back from ******* to schedule when we would have our furnace inspected for oil delivery. His reply to my email was as follows, "I have been in the middle of starting up our propane division here and let that get the best of me it is not an excuse and I am sorry."- from *********************** on 11/18/2013Furthermore, we finally got our furnace inspected and then came the next phase of waiting and awful customer service. I sent SEVERAL emails (4), three phonecalls and voicemails to set up what my budget plan will be. In the meantime, ******* had oil delivered (approximately $1300 worth) to my house. Weeks later after this oil is delivered to my house, ******* has yet to set up my budget plan, and now I have received phone calls from the credit department saying that I have no choice but to pay it off or else I will get no more oil delivered. This certainly feels like a con to me. When I spoke with the woman and supervisor, they were just as bad as *******. They didn't care that I threatened to leave Kasden and wanted no more business with them, they just told me I needed to pay off this bill that was NOT my fault and had piled up because their employee was stupid and had it delivered without settling business with the customer. Either that or Kasden has a reputation of con-ing their customers. I cannot believe that I am now stuck with no oil and instead a bill that I had continuously been in contact to set a budget plan for with. This was NOT my fault, and Kasden did not care about the customer, they only cared about getting their money. I was responsible enough to calculate my own usage and constantly contact *******, who never got back to me.

Desired Settlement: The business and employee in charge of this matter, who had not responsibly finished communicative, thorough customer service should be held responsible for the bill the developed. If I had known I would be held responsible for all the oil and not have my budget plan planned and scheduled, I would not have had it delivered and I would have gone elsewhere. Now I am stuck. I want my bill retracted and the business held responsible.

Business Response:

All issues have been resolved with Mrs. ******* account.

9/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kasden Fuel Company keeps sending us bills for a false contract (claimed as annual service agreement) that has never been signed or approved by us. After we moved to our new house in October 2012, we ordered a full tank of oil from this company. They did the first delivery. Without us asking for a second delivery, they sent a truck to fill up our tank. Right after noticing that this company is delivering oil to our house without our request on a pretty high price I called them and request them to stop delivering oil to our address. I souled emphasize that, I payed for the cost of two oil deliveries in full. Around the same time we received a package from them in mail, including a service agreement/contract that indicated that they they automatically deliver oil to our address based on a computerized system and they perform annual burner tune-up. We never signed and returned this contract and assumed we are done with this company that was trying to obligate us to purchase oil from them at a high price. After a while we started receiving monthly bills from them for "service agreement fee". I called a after I received the first bill and several time after I kept receiving this bill. I requested them to remove us from their system since there is no service agreement in place and we have never received anything from them beyond two oil deliveries that we had already payed for that. From a month a go they have started harassing me by threatening me that they will send this overdue payment to the collection agency. We would like Kasden shows any signed agreement signed and approved by me.

Desired Settlement: We would like Kasden to stop sending us these bills for what we never asked for and completely remove us from their system.

Business Response: Our sales representative spoke with this customer and established an automatic delivery account with them and also a service agreement. Apparently there was a misunderstanding because this customer appears to have believed they were ordering a one time delivery. They have not had any service done under this agreement, so it has been removed from their account.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me, provided that Kasden Fuel Company stop sending us bills and notices. If I receive another bill or notice from them, I will immediately file another complaint.

Thank you very much.

Sincerely,

***** ******* *****




















1/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
9/10/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/15/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
4/16/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/23/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
2/3/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/11/2012 Billing/Collection Issues