BBB Accredited Business since

The Kasden Fuel Company

Phone: (860) 289-5431 Fax: (860) 289-2133 340 Tolland St, East Hartford, CT 06108

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Kasden Fuel Company offers heating oil, diesel fuel, kerosene, burner service and installations.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Kasden Fuel Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Kasden Fuel Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Additional Complaint Information

Since Kasden Fuel Company's assets only were purchased out of bankruptcy, Star Gas, LP currently doing business as Kasden Fuel Company is not responsible for providing refunds owed by the previous owners.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on The Kasden Fuel Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 16, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1912 Business started locally: 01/01/1912 Business incorporated 12/08/1995 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300

Business Management
Mr. Michael Matarese, General Manager Ms. Lynn Mathiews-Felici, Administrative/Customer Service Mgr.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Matarese, General Manager
Business Category

Oils - Fuel Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Kerosene Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Heating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Fuel - Diesel Gas - Propane Fuel Dealers (NAICS: 454310)

Business Management

In June 2011, Kasden Fuel Company's assets were purchased out of bankruptcy by Petro, Inc. and is is currently being operated by Star Gas LP, a wholly owned subsidiary of Petro, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 340 Tolland St

    East Hartford, CT 06108 (860) 289-5431


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kasden fuel made an oil delivery on April 9 and spilled/leaked large amounts of oil on our driveway. They have since refused taking responsibility for the repair costs for our driveway even when it clearly states in our 2 page contract to not park their truck in our driveway. This negligence is in addition to an initial incident on December 24, 2014 when their employee spilled oil down our driveway requiring extensive clean-up costs and repair that their insurance adjusters (******* ********* *********) has denied.

Desired Settlement: Repair and clean up costs for damage that Kasfen fuel caused to our property. Our children play on that driveway and Kasden does not seem concerned.

Business Response:

We have given the information to our insurance company to follow up regarding customer complaint.


**** ********

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Kasden fuel has demonstrated negligence with their response to spilling oil on our driveway, on two (2) separate occasions. A professional company would take responsibility for their employees actions. We are forced to pursue litigation.

***** * ***** ********

5/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kasden fuel responded to an oil spill in our basement on Dec 24, 2014. One of the Kasden employees decided to try to remove oil out of our home in a dollar store bucket that belonged to the homeowner, spilling the oil down our driveway. That resulted with an Environmental Company (*** ** * ******** **) spending part of Christmas Day cleaning up the oil on our driveway. Kasden has refused to take responsibility even though we have pictures and witnesses to support the claim. Their insurance company (******** has denied the claim, refusing to pay the clean up costs of $1613.80 as well as the cost to seal the damage of $387.

Desired Settlement: Kasden to pay for the negligent damages done to our driveway of $1613.80 and $387. Kasden also delivered oil on April 9, 2015 and spilled oil down our driveway again. This has started a second claim with *******.

Business Response:

We are looking into *** ********* claim that there was  damage done to the driveway.  t this time, it has been assigned to our insurance adjustor for further investigation. Our insurance adjustor will contact the customer for resolution.


**** ******** ********************** ************

2/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had inquired about becoming a new customer to Kasden Fuel back in November. I was contacted by an employee, ******* ******* who was apparently in charge of new customers. The worst person that could be in charge of new customers. After submitting my information for application to a budget program and being approved, I had to wait 5 days to hear back from ******* to schedule when we would have our furnace inspected for oil delivery. His reply to my email was as follows, "I have been in the middle of starting up our propane division here and let that get the best of me it is not an excuse and I am sorry."- from *********************** on 11/18/2013Furthermore, we finally got our furnace inspected and then came the next phase of waiting and awful customer service. I sent SEVERAL emails (4), three phonecalls and voicemails to set up what my budget plan will be. In the meantime, ******* had oil delivered (approximately $1300 worth) to my house. Weeks later after this oil is delivered to my house, ******* has yet to set up my budget plan, and now I have received phone calls from the credit department saying that I have no choice but to pay it off or else I will get no more oil delivered. This certainly feels like a con to me. When I spoke with the woman and supervisor, they were just as bad as *******. They didn't care that I threatened to leave Kasden and wanted no more business with them, they just told me I needed to pay off this bill that was NOT my fault and had piled up because their employee was stupid and had it delivered without settling business with the customer. Either that or Kasden has a reputation of con-ing their customers. I cannot believe that I am now stuck with no oil and instead a bill that I had continuously been in contact to set a budget plan for with. This was NOT my fault, and Kasden did not care about the customer, they only cared about getting their money. I was responsible enough to calculate my own usage and constantly contact *******, who never got back to me.

Desired Settlement: The business and employee in charge of this matter, who had not responsibly finished communicative, thorough customer service should be held responsible for the bill the developed. If I had known I would be held responsible for all the oil and not have my budget plan planned and scheduled, I would not have had it delivered and I would have gone elsewhere. Now I am stuck. I want my bill retracted and the business held responsible.

Business Response:

All issues have been resolved with Mrs. ******* account.

9/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kasden Fuel Company keeps sending us bills for a false contract (claimed as annual service agreement) that has never been signed or approved by us. After we moved to our new house in October 2012, we ordered a full tank of oil from this company. They did the first delivery. Without us asking for a second delivery, they sent a truck to fill up our tank. Right after noticing that this company is delivering oil to our house without our request on a pretty high price I called them and request them to stop delivering oil to our address. I souled emphasize that, I payed for the cost of two oil deliveries in full. Around the same time we received a package from them in mail, including a service agreement/contract that indicated that they they automatically deliver oil to our address based on a computerized system and they perform annual burner tune-up. We never signed and returned this contract and assumed we are done with this company that was trying to obligate us to purchase oil from them at a high price. After a while we started receiving monthly bills from them for "service agreement fee". I called a after I received the first bill and several time after I kept receiving this bill. I requested them to remove us from their system since there is no service agreement in place and we have never received anything from them beyond two oil deliveries that we had already payed for that. From a month a go they have started harassing me by threatening me that they will send this overdue payment to the collection agency. We would like Kasden shows any signed agreement signed and approved by me.

Desired Settlement: We would like Kasden to stop sending us these bills for what we never asked for and completely remove us from their system.

Business Response: Our sales representative spoke with this customer and established an automatic delivery account with them and also a service agreement. Apparently there was a misunderstanding because this customer appears to have believed they were ordering a one time delivery. They have not had any service done under this agreement, so it has been removed from their account.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me, provided that Kasden Fuel Company stop sending us bills and notices. If I receive another bill or notice from them, I will immediately file another complaint.

Thank you very much.


***** ******* *****

1/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues