BBB Accredited Business since

Didato's Oil Service

Phone: (860) 347-1764 Fax: (860) 347-6383 151 William St, Middletown, CT 06457 http://www.didatosenergy.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Didato's Oil Service is a Fuel Oil Dealer offering Heating and Air Conditioning contracting as well as Sheet Metal contracting.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Didato's Oil Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Didato's Oil Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Didato's Oil Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 12, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1948 Business started locally: 01/01/1948 Business incorporated 12/31/1992 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Kathleen Didato, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kathleen Didato, Office Manager
Business Category

Oils - Fuel Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Fuel Dealers (NAICS: 454310)


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/21/2015 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had been buying oil from Didato Oil for at least 7 years. Recently I have not been home much and burning a lot of wood. I was not taking automatic deliveries from Didato any longer because I did not need fuel. I have a service contract with them for my furnace which I paid for. They recently sent me a letter telling my the service contract will no longer be valid since I am not getting automatic deliveries. The contract is something I already paid for. Can the BBBB help me with this issue? thanks *** ********

Desired Settlement: The service contract should still be upheld until I believe April of 2014

Business Response: Website Complaint Response:

Our company has been reaching out to our customer without a returned a phone call since November 8, 2013, we cannot relay properly our policy without a returned call. On January, 9 we sent a letter stating our policy, the customer called our office and was told that she can't have a service plan unless she is on autmoatic delivery and we explained that it is in our terms on our policy literature. Once told of the policy, the customer stated that "she has to think about it". Next thing you know, we are in receipt of this letter from BBB. In the interest of fair and equitable business practices we will honor the service plan for this customer through April 30th of this year. Going forward, service plans will not be available to this customer uinless on automatic delivery. It is regrettable that BBB had to be involved, we hope this satisfies this case.

Sent on: 1/27/2014 3:39:31 PM