BBB Accredited Business since

Brooks Energy

Phone: (860) 585-1515 Fax: (860) 585-7902 PO Box 1954, Bristol, CT 06011 http://www.brooksenergy.net/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Brooks Energy offers heating and air conditioning services, as well as diesel and oil fuel, liquid propane and heat pumps.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Brooks Energy meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Brooks Energy include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Brooks Energy
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 31, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1989 Business started locally: 01/01/1989 Business incorporated 05/07/1990 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
http://www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Brooks, Owner Ms. Deb Schur, Customer Service
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Brooks, Owner
Business Category

Oils - Fuel Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heat Pumps Heating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Fuel - Diesel Gas - Propane Fuel Dealers (NAICS: 454310)


Additional Locations

  • PO Box 1954

    Bristol, CT 06011

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaint 1) Owner, **** ******, replaced a boiler block his company installed for me (about 15 years ago) about a year ago. The repair work was completed and paid for and he has never removed the old block from my basement. His first excuse waa that he was very busy and would get to it. His next excuse was that his lift was broken. I recommended he rent a lift for the rental place around the block from me and he said he would and would have his neighbor help him and never did.Complaint 2)Today, 05/22/15, I had service work done on my central air conditioning unit installed by his company also about 15 years ago. His company called me and offered me a A/C special for $129.99 which also I have taken advantage of in the past. Today, his technician, ****, came over to do the work. **** never went up into my attic to check the unit and only worked outside on a part of the unit. In the past, owner of Brooks Energy, **** ******, did my work and he always spent about 35-40 minutes in my attic working on my unit up there. I called Brooks Enery while the technician was working outside on my unit and spoke to **** ******. I told **** that the technician did not go into my attic and asked if the service plan changed. He said the service plan did not change and that the Technician should have gone into my attic and take the cover off the unit and check it. I told **** that this technician was a large man and I didn't know if he could fit his body through the opening in my ceiling. **** said It had to be accessable. I explained to **** that this was the same entry his company has been going through for the past 15 years. **** said if anything goes wrong he would take care of me. However, my faith in **** as diminished since he has made me wait so long to get rid of the boiler and gave me excuse after excuse and has just ignored me. I wondered if it is because I am disabled with no husband to yell at him. I asked **** to give me back half of my money for the special since only half the job.

Desired Settlement: Complaint 1) Remove old boiler from my basement or pay me $1,000. for half the cost of the job.Complaint 2) Have **** or a technician return to my house and finish the rest of the job in my attic or pay me for half of the incomplete job of $65.00.

Business Response:

To Whom it may concern,

Regarding the complaint filed by ***** ******* of *** ********* ****** in *******, on Thursday evening, June 11th I tried to contact the customer and when I was unable to reach her I went to her home to speak with her. The next day, Friday, June 12th in the morning, we completed the AC work and credited her, for her troubles, the 1 pound of freon that we put into her system. The old boiler block was removed from her premises on the same day. I had a nice conversation with ***** and apologized for any oversight on our part. She has been a long time customer and we would never have neglected her intentionally. We still maintain a good working relationship, as she ordered oil first thing on Monday morning and confirmed with our office that all work had been completed. Please confirm this with Ms. *******.

Thank You.

**** ******, ****** *** *******

 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. **** ****** apologized to me over and over again.  I am very happy that he resolved both complaints on the date mentioned.  I am very happy with the results and will continue to be a Brook's customer.

Sincerely,

***** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Brooks Energy
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)