This business is not BBB accredited.

Audubon Strings, LLC

Phone: (203) 772-4722 Fax: (203) 772-0376 63 Audubon St, New Haven, CT 06510

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Audubon Strings, LLC offers full service violin shop - retail.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Audubon Strings, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 11, 2007 Business started: 04/15/2005 Business started locally: 04/15/2005 Business incorporated 04/06/2005 in CT
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Harland Christofferson, Owner/Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Harland Christofferson, Owner/Member
Business Category

Musical Instruments - Dealers Musical Instruments - Repair Musical Instruments - Supplies & Accessories Musical Instrument and Supplies Stores (NAICS: 451140)

Additional Locations


    63 Audubon St

    New Haven, CT 06510 (203) 772-4722


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/10/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I order a set of ****** viola ******* on 10/30. At the time their web page indicated it was in stock and would be shipped in 2-3 business days. Then I got an e-mail 4-5 days later saying again it would NOW be shipped in 3-5 business days. Then yesterday (Monday, 11/9) I contacted them, having heard nothing, and finally got an answer back saying it would ship yesterday and they would provide a tracking number, but no tracking number has been provided. I should say on looking for reviews of them online, ******, ****, ****** *****, this seems to be standard for them, and I'd guess, as someone who worked in retail, that what they are doing is claiming everything is in stock and then just ordering from a supplier themselves, hence the delay. There are a lot of complaints online about their numerous delays and also lack of contact with customers. All they had to do with me is send a note saying "It turns out that item is not in stock, but we will have it two you in two weeks." It's really the lack of contact and plus the sham of acting like it'll ship in a few days from when you order it and then refusing to notify you otherwise. It's extra frustrating in that I have ordered ******* many times and could have had these a week ago if I'd ordered from **** or ********* *******.

Desired Settlement: Again, simple refund. What I do NOT want is them now RUSHING to fill the order two weeks late because I've filed a complaint so they cough up a **** shipping number and then wait yet another 4 days to get the ******* in themselves. Based on online complaints, that seems to be their S.O.P. Please help. I feel stuck because if I go ahead and order with someone else, my guess is Audubon will NOW do whatever it takes to hang onto my money. How sad, because if they'd just communicated honestly in the first place, we wouldn't be here now.

Business Response: We'll refund the order. The person handling the order had an unexpected health complication and needed to go to the hospital today. Unfortunately, I was unable to resolve yesterday and the urgency of this matter was not properly conveyed to the employee filling in for her.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

He's a smarmy turd and has quite a wide reputation for his liberal interpretation of reality, but I thank you for being here. Many on the violn BB are saying it's almost unheard of to get them to actually give you your money back once they have their grubby little mitts on it, so I thank you for being here. I'm certainly going to encourage everyone to use you if they have the misfortune of TRYING to do business with Audubon. Plus he might get further if actually got his customer's names right, lol. Dud.


* *****

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Audubon Strings, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart