BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Academy Marble & Granite, LLC offers marble, granite, natural stone, quartz countertops, vanity tops, tub surrounds, fireplace fabrication and installation services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Academy Marble & Granite, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Academy Marble & Granite, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Academy Marble & Granite, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 09, 2007 Business started: 08/17/2006 Business started locally: 08/17/2006 Business incorporated: 08/17/2006 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Sinan Sepkin, Member Ms. Kim Mortensen, Operations Manager Ms. Ayse Sepkin, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sinan Sepkin, Member
Business Category

Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication Kitchen Remodeling Granite Countertops Countertop - Fabrication Fireplaces Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Tile and Terrazzo Contractors (NAICS: 238340)


Additional Locations

  • 101 Wooster St Unit C

    Bethel, CT 06801 (203) 791-2956 (203) 798-1014 (203) 947-6903

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (203) 798-1014(Phone)
  • (203) 947-6903(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Academy Marble & Granite in ******* *********** came out to my home where they measured, prepared, and a couple of weeks later installed a granite countertop for an outdoor countertop. Within a very short period of time the granite cracked. I contacted ***** ******* the owner of Academy Marble & Granite and asked him to come take a look to see what could be done. He sent out his repair team, who took a look and then indicated that the granite had a "vein" in it where the crack was forming, accordingly it was defective and could not be repaired. ***** ******, the owner, then sent me a bill for repairs. I advised him that his team indicated that the granite was defective and I asked him to replace the defective granite. He agreed that I did not need to pay the invoice since his repair team did not do anything, but he refused to replace the defective granite (Note: I find it odd that he sent me a repair bill to begin with given that his repair team did not do any repairs). ***** ****** then turned around and blamed the cracked granite on me saying that the surface must have not been flat, or perhaps the exposure of the granite to extreme temperature changes was the cause, or perhaps I caused the crack in the granite, and then he indicated that for an outdoor countertop you should never use granite. I advised him that he was the expert and that he and his team came to my house to template-out and then install the granite countertop, accordingly he and his team (a) knew that the granite was going to be installed outdoors and (b) knew of and approved the surface that the granite was being installed on - and if either the granite was not an acceptable stone to use for an outdoor countertop, or the surface the granite was to be installed on was not acceptable, then as the experts in this field they should have said something to me at that time as I am not an expert in granite. I further advised ***** ******, the owner, that his team informed me that the crack in the granite was taking place along a vein in the granite and that given the existence of the vein, this piece of granite was defective and should never have been used - He then re-blamed the crack on me indicating that it was my fault. I asked him a final time to please make this right and replace the granite. I indicated that I am not looking for anything but what I paid for and that if he did not make things right I (a) had an opinion from an expert in the field of stone countertops who looked at the granite and indicated that it was defective, and (b) had received multiple quotes to replace the granite, so if I had to I would pursue this legally. ***** ****** then told me that it wasn't about the money, he advised me on how to find a real expert, and then he indicated "let's see what the judge has to say."

Desired Settlement: All I have ever asked for is what I paid for. I paid for a granite countertop that was free of defects - all I want is for ***** ******, the owner of Academy Marble and Granite in ******* *********** to come take out the defective granite countertop his company installed and replace it with an identical defect free piece of granite.

Business Response: Dear ********

Below I did a copy paste of the part of the complained. Just the part when the product was sold and when the problem occurred. 
 
Complaint Background:
Product/Service: ***** ******** ******* ******r
Purchase Date: 1/21/2013
Problem Occurred: 7/31/2014
Model: 
Account Number: 
Order Number: 
Talked to Company: 7/31/2014
Talked to Company (2nd): 8/29/2014
Talked to Company (3rd): 11/17/2014

A YEAR AND A HALF !!!!!

I guess only  that is enough to remove the complaint from your database.
Regards
*****


Consumer Response: To whom it may concern,


The issue at hand is that Academy Marble and Granite installed a granite countertop that was defective from day one.  As per both (a) the installation technicians from Academy Marble and Granite who came to see the cracked granite countertop as well as (b) a separate expert that I had come look at the countertop, the defect is that the piece of granite that was installed had a "vein" in it and veins are highly susceptible to cracking.  In short, the piece of granite installed by Academy Marble and Granite should never have been installed.  I paid Academy Marble and Granite for a non-defective granite countertop to be installed and all I ever asked from the owner of Academy Marble and Granite is for him to install the non-defective granite countertop I paid to be installed.  I'm sorry to see that the owner is focused on the fact that the time-frame in which he was notified of the defect was longer than he would have liked.  Having said that, the bottom line is that the particular piece of granite he installed should Never have been installed in the first place - as per both his very own technicians and a separate expert, it is only a matter of time before a piece of granite with a "vein" in it will crack.  Furthermore, per both the technicians at Academy Marble and Granite and the separate expert, veins do not develop over time, they are embedded in certain cuts of larger pieces of stone right from the beginning, and normally the areas of stone with veins are discarded due to the fact that they are highly susceptible to cracking.

In short, given that we are talking about a granite countertop that had a defect in it that could only have existed from the day it was installed, I have asked the owner of Academy Marble and Granite to make things right and install a new piece of non-defective granite.  The owner of Academy Marble and Granite has refused to make things right, and has repeatedly berated me (in e-mail messages I have saved) in hopes that I will go away.  This approach to customer service, under any circumstances, is utterly unprofessional.



Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

****** ******

Business Response: The defect in the stone does not come out 18 months after the installation. It is produced by nature in thousands of years.

It comes out day 1.
There is no written or verbal warranty for that much of a time.
Please do not waste my time anymore otherwise I will have to go to court for my lost sales.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

As the owner of Academy Marble & Granite has correctly indicated, the stone was created over thousands of years, and the existence of the vein (which is considered to be a defect) did not happen after 18 months.  As the owner has implied (and as an independent stone expert who has viewed the stone countertop has articulated to me), as stone is created over thousands of years the vein defect had to have existed on the day that the stone was installed.  Unfortunately, unlike the owner, I am not, and have never been a stone expert.  Accordingly the existence of a vein would never have cought my attention or be something I would have known to be concerned about on the day the stone was installed.  It was only once the vein defect began to crack that I sought out an explanation for what was happening (including reaching out to both the owner of Academy Marble & Granite, as well as the independent stone expert).  Once I sought an explanation for what was happening I learned that a piece of stone with a vein defect, which had to have existed on the day the stone countertop was installed (which the owner has also just acknowledged), is a piece of stone that should never have been installed.

As the owner of Academy Marble & Granite is an expert in stone - and not me - I believe that he should have known better than to have installed a piece of stone with a vein in it.  This vein has now cracked, and the owner, as the expert in stone (not me), should accept responsibility for having installed a defective piece of stone.  All I have ever asked for is for the owner to replace the defective piece of stone with a new piece of the same stone without defects (which is what I paid for - but still have not received).  This is not an unreasonable request - So please ask the owner to stop insulting and threatening me (Note: His latest reply closes by indicating that I am wasting his time and that if I keep wasting his time he will sue me.  Threatening a customer who is trying to be reasonable is unproductive - and unprofessional).
Sincerely,

****** ******