BBB Accredited Business since

Tools-Plus.com

Phone: (800) 222-6133 Fax: (203) 753-9042 View Additional Phone Numbers 153 Meadow St, Waterbury, CT 06702 http://www.tools-plus.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Tools-Plus.com offers hand, power, cordless, woodworking and automotive tools via internet.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tools-Plus.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Tools-Plus.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Tools-Plus.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 23, 2001 Business started: 09/15/1979 Business started locally: 09/15/1979 Business incorporated 04/04/1986 in CT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Eric B. Savelle, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eric B. Savelle, President
Business Category

Machine Tools Tools - Cutting Tools - Electric Tools - Hand Woodworking Tools - Retail Tools - Pneumatic Internet Shopping All Other Miscellaneous General Purpose Machinery Manufacturing (NAICS: 333999)


Additional Locations

  • 153 Meadow St

    Waterbury, CT 06702 (203) 573-0750 (800) 222-6133

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/19/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order with this company approximately 6 to 7 months ago and haven't received my order yet. I've been given the runaround from day one, first it was on back order, then the backorder was late, then told I was told it was sent out. Anyway I haven't gotten one yet.

Desired Settlement: Send my order or refund my money. PS, since it's been taken so long I should be given a discount.

Business Response:

Customer placed the order on 4/10– shipped on 5/28/15 due to backorder.  It was delivered (see tracking below)  - **** Rep traced the package through GPS which showed that it was delivered.      

Mr. *******, are you saying that the items were stollen from your mailbox or your mailman took them?

 

DELIVERED

Last Scan:

Mon 1 Jun 2015 1:29 PM Delivered, In/At Mailbox ****** ** *****

Delivery Date:

Mon 1 Jun 2015

Delivery Location:

****** ** *****

Carrier:

** ****** *******

US Postal Service Tracking Number:

**********************


Scan History:

Mon 1 Jun 2015

1:29 PM

Delivered, In/At Mailbox ****** ** *****

9:20 AM

Sorting Complete ****** ** *****

5:47 AM

Arrived at Post Office ****** ** *****

Sun 31 May 2015

7:19 AM

Departed **** Facility *** ***** ** *****

Sat 30 May 2015

11:30 PM

Arrived at **** Facility *** ***** ** *****

Fri 29 May 2015

4:03 AM

Departed **** Facility ************ ** *****

Thu 28 May 2015

9:08 PM

Arrived at **** Origin Facility ************ ** *****

7:53 PM

Accepted at **** Origin Sort Facility ********* ** *****

 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

******* ******    attention I reject the response by the vendor. Number one I live in a private house not a tenement house, my apartment is on the first floor and when the mail person brings any package they always ring my bell. Now up to date I have not received any packages from tools plus. Anyway at this point in time and all this back and forth with this company the tactics are very familiar. This is what I meant when I said I got the runaround, it's happening again. So I would appreciate if they would refund my money back to my credit card. Yours Mr. ******* ******. 

Business Response:

Hi Mr. ******:

Certainly not giving you the run around. Even people that do not live in tenement housing get packages stolen off their porch, or front door, or mailbox.

The fact is the package was delivered (**** GPS scanned tracking) and it must have been stolen. You might have not heard your bell ringing or were not at home. In the future, I would be careful having packages left, as it appears someone is watching your house. Criminals travel to better neighborhoods and follow *** or **** trucks just waiting for the package to be dropped off.

That being said, I would be happy to refund you the total amount of your purchase, as I would not feel secure in attempting to deliver another package to your location. Also, I feel bad for you that this apparent crime has happened to you.

 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

******* ******       attention to whom it may concern I have been very patient in terms of waiting for this for order, and you all have the nerve to make it seem like it's my fault. If the order was sent in a timely fashion I may have gotten it,I would have been looking out for the order. Anyway I would appreciate very much if you just refund my money as soon as possible . And by the way if this is ****** I would like to say this is the way to run a company, you have really bad attitude.    Your Mr. ******

11/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Oct 26 2014, I purchased a ********* *** Grease Gun for $179.10 from Tools Plus.com (Order # *******). I received the product on October 28th and the packaging was severely damaged. I have photos to share if helpful. I called Tools Plus requesting a new product sent to replace the damaged packaged product. Tools Plus requested photos and then refused indicating that packaging damage was not their concern. I requested that they pay for return shipping for a product return. Tools Plus refused to provide return shipping for the damaged product. I then initiated a product return, in which I paid for return shipping. The product was shipped *** tracking # ****************** and was received on November 6th 2014 by *****. As of November 15th, 2014 **** confirmed that I have not received a refunded payment of any sort. It is my belief that I am entitled to a full refund including 2 way shipping, which now totals $179.10+$16.25 shipping back = $195.35 It is ironic and unethical that Tools Plus debates this request, as their own policies charge for damaged packaging upon return. Why should a consumer expect to receive a damaged package on a new purchase? See the Tools Plus return policy below. I am a handicapped individual, and nearly exclusively shop on the internet. I have hundreds of web purchasing experiences, with dozens of returns. I have never been treated this way before. The most recent contact individual is ******* ******, ********tools-plus.com. Return Policy: 100% SATISFACTION GUARANTEE! Returns are quick and easy when you do business with Tools Plus. Just call us at ###-###-#### to get your return authorization number. See below for details that apply to your specific purchase. 30-Day Satisfaction Guarantee (you can return an unused item for any reason!) Tools Plus will credit you or provide an exchange for any item returned unused in original carton for any reason within 30 days of original purchase or within 30 days of Christmas or Hanukkah. Items must be in resalable condition, in the original carton, unused.* As a bonus, Tools Plus honors all power tool company satisfaction guarantees! If a manufacturer’s satisfaction guarantee for the item you purchased is longer than 30 days, we will match it! Please read your owner’s manual for details.* If you return an item that is offered with free shipping, the original outbound shipping costs will be deducted from your refund and the return shipping is the responsibility of the customer. Performance Issues In the unlikely event that the item you purchased is defective, the manufacturer will provide a remedy according to its own warranty. Tools Plus makes it easy for you by providing the contact information on our website for each manufacturer. Just click on "All Brands We Carry" on the left-hand side of the screen, and then click on the manufacturer of your product to instantly get their phone number.* Damaged Items We take care to assure your order arrives in excellent condition. If your purchase arrives with any damage, please call us. Hold the item and the packaging aside just as you received it. If the item was shipped from our warehouse (versus directly from the manufacturer to you, see "Drop-Shipped Items" below), we will start a claim on your behalf with the shipping company. The shipper may contact you regarding the damage. Please note that it might take them up to 2 weeks to complete the claim. Tools Plus cannot provide a refund or exchange until the claim reaches conclusion.* Drop-Shipped Items *** Industries (***, **********, ******): Because of the cost involved in transporting many of these items, returns will only be approved for return after you contact the manufacturer directly and speak with their technical support department. If they are able to resolve the issue or have replacement parts sent, they will do so and they will not approve the item for return. If the item is deemed to be defective and not repairable, *** Industries will work with us to arrange the return of the defective item. *** Industries can be reached at ###-###-####.* Returns / Damaged items: If you need to return an item which was purchased from us and which was shipped directly from the manufacturer, please give us a call. We will find out if we can accept the item from you or if the item needs to be returned directly to the manufacturer. In most cases, the manufacturer charges a restocking fee. This fee will vary depending on the manufacturer. You will also be responsible for the return shipping charges unless the return is due to an error on the part of Tools Plus or the manufacturer. If a drop-shipped item arrives damaged, do not sign for it. Please call us immediately with the deliverer present and we will assist. The restocking fee will not apply if it can be proven that the item was damaged before it reached you.* Cancellations: Requests for cancellations on orders placed through Tools Plus, that contain items that were shipped directly from the manufacturer ( drop shipped ) are subject to a 25% restocking fee and all return shipping is the customers responsibility - this includes shipped items that are refused at the shipping destination.* Lost Packages Lost packages are usually located by the carrier and delivered. To avoid duplicate shipments, replacements will be sent after the claims process is complete. Although we are unable to expedite replacements, please be assured that Toolsplus.com will work diligently with the carrier to resolve these matters in the most efficient way possible. Engine Powered Equipment (Gas or Oil) Engine Powered equipment, such as but not limited to, compressors, generators and power washers cannot be returned once it has been gassed or oiled. It needs to be taken to an authorized service center for any repair or technical assistance which may be covered under warranty. Factory Shipped Items and Special Order Items May be subject to a 25% restocking fee, as these items are typically not stocked at our store or warehouse and have been shipped by the manufacturer. Also, any shipping costs associated with the delivery or return of the item will be at the customer's expense. Incorrect Shipping Information If a package is returned to Toolsplus.com due to an incorrect shipping address provided by a customer, the customer will be responsible for any additional shipping costs or the return shipping cost as well as the redelivery cost. Toolsplus.com is not responsible for packages delivered incorrectly due to incorrect shipping information. If the item qualified for our "Free Shipping" promotion, it will not be valid due to the error on the customer's part, and the customer will be charged for all actual shipping costs. *If there is an error on our part, we will gladly pay for return shipping. In no event will Tools Plus pay for return shipping otherwise. Additional: Customer is responsible for sending items back to Tools Plus, including shipping charges. If receiving a replacement item, Tools Plus will charge $8.50 to send a replacement item to customer. Your refund will be in the same form that was used for the original payment. Please allow up to 15 days for your refund to be issued. We will refund you the amount you paid for the item only, excluding shipping. Tools Plus reserves the right to either deny a refund/exchange or to charge a 25% fee for returned items that: Appear used or damaged Have been engraved or personalized in any way by the customer Were returned more than 30 days after original purchase Are on closeout Were special-ordered for the customer Were sold as reconditioned items Have cut or damaged packaging The customer ordered wrong voltage or phase If an item is returned incomplete, Tools Plus reserves the right to deduct the price of the missing items from your credit. We are not responsible for manufacturer changes in product or specifications.

Desired Settlement: It is my belief that I am entitled to a full refund including 2 way shipping, which now totals $179.10+$16.25 shipping back = $195.35 due to receiving a damaged product, that was in no way my fault.

Business Response: Customer was refunded entire amount, including return shipping. Item was in perfect condition when we received it back.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 
Regarding the condition that the item was received , I have uploaded photos.  Thank you BBB for your help.  

Sincerely,

****** *****

10/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a ball joint tool to do a job on my vehicle. During the very first use of the tool the clamp bent. I was unable to use the tool and had to rent a tool to complete the job.The next day I went to tools plus web and used the contact up form to ask for a refund. I waited a few days and never received any response. I then tried to contact them agin through the form and from the original email address again with no response.A week later I have not heard anything from the business and would like this resolved.

Desired Settlement: I was not able to use the tool for the job it was purchased for so I would like a refund.

Business Response:

Our Customer Service Department did not receive an email from this customer.....sorry do not know what happened.  We also have an 800 number and can be contacted by phone.

Now to get to *** ****** problem: He ordered an ***** **** Ball Joint Service Tool on 9/26 and received the item on 9/27.  According to this complaint the tool failed on him. If *** ****** had called we would have asked him the following questions, as this is manufacturer warranty issue and a requirement:

1) Please provide us a picture (if possible) of the the bent clamp.

2) Please let us know the specific application the tool was being used for (ball joints or universal joint or truck break anchor pins, etc.)?

3) What is the make and model of the vehicle the tool was being used on.  

All of the above information is required by the manufacturer and this will help us assist this customer with *****. Each manufacturer has their own Warranty Requirements and we are here to assist this customer. Since there was some sort of an issue with the email address *** ****** originally used, please send this information to my direct email address: ********************

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Tools-Plus.com
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart