BBB Accredited Business since

Restoration Lighting Gallery, LLC

Phone: (860) 493-2532 Fax: (860) 249-5330 167 Brainard Rd, Hartford, CT 06114 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Restoration Lighting Gallery, LLC offers vintage and new reproduction lighting, period lighting, vintage table and floor lamps, custom lighting and accessories, replacement and custom made lamp shapes, home decor products, alterations of lighting and home decor products.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Restoration Lighting Gallery, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Restoration Lighting Gallery, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 16, 2006 Business started: 12/07/2005 Business started locally: 12/07/2005 Business incorporated 12/07/2005 in CT
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. David Director, President/Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Director, President/Member
Business Category

Lighting Fixtures - Retail Lighting Fixtures - Supplies & Parts Antiques - Repair & Restore Lamps - Repair Lamps - Supplies & Parts Lighting Fixtures - Repair & Maintenance Lamp Shades - Wholesale & Manufacturers Lamps - Wholesale & Manufacturers Lighting Systems & Equipment Lights Bulbs & Tubes Lighting Consultants Lamp Shade Frames & Supplies Antiques - Dealers Antiques - Reproductions Furniture - Retail Housewares - Retail Lamp Shade Covers Lamps & Lamp Shades - Retail All Other Home Furnishings Stores (NAICS: 442299)

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Su: 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Additional Locations

  • 167 Brainard Rd

    Hartford, CT 06114 (860) 493-2532


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband in December brought a lamp to the Light Centering to be fixed. At the time he picked up the lamp, he saw two lamp shades that he thought I would like but noticed their return policy that all items could only be returned for store credit only so he was hesitant to purchase them due to if it wasn't something I liked he wouldn't be able to get a refund. The salesman made him a deal he could buy them to take home and show me and if I didn't like them and he brought them back within 7 days he would get a full refund. He purchased them for $155.71. When he went to return them because I did not like them, they went back on their deal and would not refund the money. We had another lamp that also needed to be fixed but were going to bring it at a later time. He was basically forced by the manager that if we got the other lamp fixed he would take off the difference and refund that back. I feel this is unfair business practices and we pretty much had to have the other lamp fixed in order to get part of our money back.They refunded us $86. Thank you. ****** *****

Desired Settlement: See above

Business Response:

In response to the complaint we received on 3/12/2014.

My name is **** **** and I am the General Manager at Restoration Lighting Gallery.  The ownership and management at Connecticut Lighting Centers & Restoration Lighting Gallery take customer service very seriously. Each customer is made aware of our lamp shade exchange policy during the selection process and it is also printed on the customers receipt and reiterated by the salesperson to the customer at the conclusion of the transaction.

Upon completion of the first repair of (1) lamp, (2) lamp shades were purchased for (2) lamps that the customer had and it was said by the customer that a second lamp would be brought in for repair. 

When the second lamp was brought in on 1/25/2014, for repair, the lamp shades were also brought back. After reviewing our policy on lamp shade exchanges with the customer, we issued a full merchandise credit with the understanding that the new repair would be paid for with the merchandise credit and the full balance of that credit would be refunded.  We made that refund on 2/8/2014

We are wondering where we fell down in helping this customer; our store policy is “seven (7) day exchange or merchandise credit”, we broke our policy and took back the lamp shades as well as refunded the customer’s money. We did retain a portion of the refundable amount ($30.26) to pay for a repair the customer brought in to have done.    

 I am attaching the copies of all the receipts & correspondence that are associated with this complaint. All included attachments were sent to the customer via email & USPS.

If there are any questions or I can be of any assistance to you please contact me directly.

**** ****

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******
-----Original Message-----
From: ***********
Sent: Tuesday, March 18, 2014 3:56 PM
To: *******************
Subject: ** Lighting Complaint Ref # *******
Importance: High

Dear ********,

In response to the letter sent to me on Friday, March 14, I would like to indicate that **** **** claims to take customer service very seriously but actually does not.   The agreement between my husband and the salesman was I quote " if you wife does not like the lamp shades bring them back within 7 days and I will give you a full refund NOT a store credit or merchandise credit."  They are practicing unfair business practices and this is unacceptable.  Mr. **** indicated in his response that there was an understanding that we would bring in the second lamp for a "new" repair.  There was NEVER an understanding regarding that matter.  We were FORCED to bring in the second lamp for repair in order to receive the credit refund on our account.  

Please validate this complaint on ** Lighting.   It is apparent that Mr. **** is trying to cover up the fact that the company deceived us with providing a refund on the lamp shades and intent was to make a sale no matter what the cost.
I am providing this information as to be truthful and knowingly been taken advantage of by CT Lighting.

Thank you.

****** *****

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Restoration Lighting Gallery, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)