BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Wrought Iron Works, LLC offers the design, fabrication, and installation of iron fences, gates, indoor and outdoor railings, balconies, straight and spiral staircases, welding, repairs, restorations and custom small items.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Wrought Iron Works, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Wrought Iron Works, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Wrought Iron Works, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 24, 2004 Business started: 01/01/2000 Business started locally: 01/01/2000 Business incorporated: 05/28/2009 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Romer Fernandez, Owner Sandra Koper, Office Manager Mr. Luis Rodriguez, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Romer Fernandez, Owner
Customer Contact: Sandra Koper, Office Manager
Business Category

Iron Work Railings Stair Builders Fence Contractors Gates Welding Fence - Sales, Service & Contractors Other Foundation, Structure, and Building Exterior Contractors (NAICS: 238190)

Service Area
Connecticut
Products & Services

Wrought Iron Works, LLC is made up of second generation wrought iron workers, and has been in business since 2000. We offer traditional designs as well as custom designs and will work with you every step of the way to create the exact design for you.


Additional Locations

  • 2575 Albany Ave

    West Hartford, CT 06117 (860) 523-4457

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We commissioned Wrought Iron Works to make an arched (eyebrow) storm door with security lock and screens. The initial construction and installation was to take place in mid-September. Romero came to our home and assured my husband and I he could manufacture a door I had designed. I gave him drawing of the door and he stated the only problem would be finding a glass company to manufacture the glass. I found a glass company in Middletown, Middletown Plate Glass who guaranteed they could make the glass as long as the door company gave them the exact measurement. Due to unforeseen problems with the manufacturer of iron, according to Phil the office manager, our door was delayed. (SEE EMAIL BELOW) After the manufacturing delay the door needed to be taken to Middletown Plate Glass for fitting a tempered glass inserts for the top and bottom of the door. Because Romero, the artistan, did not install sleeves for the door, again there was a delay.We were promised several different installation dates. We were promised on December 26, 2013, our door would be installed, it was first on his list, the first of the year. On January 12, 2014 we called again demanding our deposit back. We were assured the door would be installed within a couple of days. Our door was installed and the quality and fit are an embarrassment. There are a number of gaps in the door (2 inch gap from the bottom of the door to the ground, and 1 2 inch gap around the frame), the windows are not fitted, we only received the top portion of screens for the door not the bottom, the lock is of a poor quality and could easily be broken, there isnt a hinge mechanism, the paint was not cured, and the door was welded not screwed into the frame.I emailed the company and I have not received any response. I asked that the door be removed and I receive a full refund for the deposit and the glass that is worthless.Inboxx Wrought Iron Works LLC wroughtironworksllc@yahoo.com 9/23/13 to me Hey Maureen,Just wanted to give you an update. Part of the material is in back order, which will slightly delay the fabrication of the gate. We are expecting to get the rest of the material by the end of the week. We will contact you as soon as it is delivered to give you a more accurate idea of the day of installation. Sorry for any inconvenience and thank you for your patience. Philip L. Office Manager WROUGHT IRON WORKS, LLC

Desired Settlement: I want the door and frame removed and a full refund for the door, glass, and labor.$450.00 for the deposit on the door plus tax and 423.94 for the glass (includes tax and labor).

Business Response: My name Romer(not Romero) I'm a member from wrought iron works my apologies for any inconvenience that I might cause

I try to accommodate every possible thing that I could to satisfy my customer this was a custom-made Wrought iron door build to the customer specification
Unfortunate  the end result of the wrought iron door  she was not happy  and for that I feel very sorry
Wrought iron works will refund the amount  of $873.94
 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

Maureen Depierro

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service