BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

SureSource, LLC creates and manages official online sores of recognized, global brands that choose to remain focused on their core competencies of product development, manufacturing, and distribution of product through retail channels.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that SureSource, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for SureSource, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 23 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 5
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 15
Total Closed Complaints 23

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 18, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1989 in CT Business incorporated: 07/02/2007 in CT
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Christine Boucher, Director, Customer Contact Center Ms. Stella Harris, Accounts Payable Supervisor Ms. Deborah Maciog, Senior Manager, Human Resources
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Christine Boucher, Director, Customer Contact Center
Business Category

Internet Shopping Appliances - Major - Wholesale & Manufacturers Appliances - Small - Supplies & Parts Kitchen Accessories Shavers - Electric Advertising - Direct Mail Fulfillment Services Electronic Shopping (NAICS: 454111)

Products & Services

SureSource, LLC sells the following brand(s): 5-Hour Energy, Aladdin, AMBI, American Plumber, ASPCA, Balance Bar, Biscoff, Bodycology, Boots US, Boyd's Bears, Brita, Browning, Budweiser, Built NY, Bushnell, CaseIH, Casio, Caterpillar, Cerwin-Vega!, Clif Bar, Coca-Cola, Conair, Crayola, Cuisinart, Culligan, DeCleor, Delonghi, Emjoi, Eton, Everpure, Ford, Fruitabu, Fuji, Hershey, Hitachi, Hugo, Hunter Fan, Igloo, iSi, Karcher, Kashi, Krups, Lafuma, LARABAR, Meguiars Direct, Memorex, Meyer, Mr. Coffee, Nexgrill, Nicorette, Omni, Oster, Pentax, Pull-ups, Rowenta, Saeco, Senseo, Shop-Vac, Sigg, Simplex-Grinnell, Snowshack, Softsheen, Stanley-PMI, Sunbeam, T3 Micro, Thermos, Tom's of Maine, True Lemon, Vermont Castings, Wahl, Waring, Waterpik, Yamaha

Alternate Business Names
Brand Variety CCA Industries ConsumerLink

Additional Locations

  • 20 Constitution Blvd S

    Shelton, CT 06484 (203) 922-7500 (800) 231-8793 (203) 385-5700 (203) 922-7549

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (203) 385-5700(Phone)
  • (203) 922-7549(Phone)
  • (800) 231-8793(Phone)
  • (203) 922-7590 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a watch and was sent the wrong watch. I called them. They were rude and very unprofessional. I was asked to take a series of pictures of the wrong watch I received. They told me I would be emailed a label, then I am called and said I have to wait for one to be mailed. I am out 400.00+ dollars waiting for these people to refund the money and send the label. Their service is terrible. They messed up, but the consumer is treated terrible and made to wait!

Desired Settlement: Email the label! I sent the pictures. The ********* people messed up. Refund my money! I simply want to return this watch and get my Money back! Refund my money. You have the pictures! Email the label!

Business Response: In reviewing Mr. Denson's complaint, he had ordered a $400.00 watch from our website on 3/19.  On 3/27, he contacted us to state that the watch he received inside the packaging was not the one he ordered.  He gave us a module number from the watch and the operator manual that was included.  We also requested a picture of what was shipped.   The watch received was $24.95.  All watches are packaged in the factory and are sealed, so we needed to investigate what had occurred and insure our remaining inventory contained the correct watch.   We had not heard a complaint like this before.  Within 2 hours of his initial call, we had investigated and contacted Mr.  Denson back and offered to send out the correct watch with a return label to get the incorrect one back.   He declined the reshipment of the watch and has requested a refund instead.   A return label has been sent and we are waiting on the return of the watch shipped.   A refund in full has been issued to his credit card on 4/8.

If you should need additional information regarding this complaint, please let us know.  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/9/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company has failed to deliver an order originally placed on November 11, 2013, while their website for the product states that while backordered, the product ships within 10 business days. When I wrote to **** ******** on 11/22/13, they replied that they expected the items (2) in stock on or about 12/9/2013.**** ******** wrote on 12/4/2013 that they then expected the items in stock within 30 days or sooner, and they wrote again on 12/27/2013 that they then expected to have the items in stock in another 30 days.When I wrote to **** ******** on 01/24/2014 asking for an update, **** ******** replied that they expect the items in stock on or about 2/28/14.When I wrote to **** ******** on 2/24/2014 informing them of my desire to receive my order, **** ******** replied that they expected the items to be in stock that week.When I wrote again to **** ******** on 3/8/2014, they replied that they expect the product to be in stock in April 2014.My order is now outstanding for 122 calendar days and counting, although their ******** ** ***************************************************** *** ***************************************************** (order consists of one each) clearly state that while the items are available on backorder, it "ships within 10 business days". These items have been on backorder for 82 business days and counting as of March 12, 2014.

Desired Settlement: In light of the age of the order, I want the following:1) **** ******** to waive the Processing and Handling fee of $7.95. This applies to the whole order (Order # ********) at this time;2) ***** ******** to include two Scorpion Replacement batteries (part number ***********), one each for the *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** ***, at a cost of $6.95 each, or $13.90 for both.3) Anote on the website that the product is on lengthy back order with no certainty as to when it will arrive.

Business Response: In reviewing Mr. Hickman's complaint, he placed an order with us on 11/11/2013.   Generally, most backorders are received into stock within 10 business days.  In the event we are unable to ship an order, we follow FTC guidelines and send out communications about the status of the order and provide any expected in stock dates, if available.  Mr. Hickman received the FTC notices and responded to the 60 day notice to keep the order active.  Following the guidelines, his order was canceled by our system at 120 days, since we still not have the product to send.  We are not the manufacturer of the product, but an online store that sells ETON products.   We rely on the manufacturer to provide us with inventory and updates on availability.  If we are given specific dates and it is a lengthy backorder, we will either remove the buy button or add the information to the site.  Unfortunately, on the products ordered, we were not provided this information on when we would be able to ship.   On 3/13, Mr. Hickman contacted us to replace his order.   A new order was placed and the product was received into our warehouse and his order shipped on 3/20.   We are not able to send free products for the delay.  However, we have issued a credit of $7.95 for the shipping and handling on the order as an additional 10% of the purchase price,  a credit in the amount of $17.94.

If you need additional information concerning this complaint, please let us know.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is truthful and the discounts and shipping rebate are quite satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

Martin Hickman

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order that included 4 backordered bottles as well as other backordered items. The order arrived and the backordered bottles were not included. The receipt stated the items were backorder cancelled. I called and requested another bottle that type and size for that price, any color they had available. They stated that the website made a mistake. We would not be receiving any bottles at that price as an exchange. I explained that they checked with my credit card company for the funds available, and I feel that they have an obligation to sell me the bottles for the price we agreed upon.

Desired Settlement: The sale was for 4 bottles $5 each. The .75 large opening type. They do not carry the color I ordered anymore, I understand this so I would be happy with any color.

Business Response: In reviewing Mr. Anderson's complaint, an order was placed with us on 12/5 online.  During that time, we had a sale on closeout merchandise.   These items are no longer in production and were offered at $5.00 price. The sale was while supplies lasted and orders were fulfilled as they were received.  In addition to the close out items, they ordered additional items, some of which were out of stock.

On our site we do state our policy:
We do accept orders for out of stock merchandise. Out of stock items usually ship within 10 business days. Orders with items on back order are held until they can be shipped complete. If you prefer not to place an order for an out of stock item, you may utilize our "Email me when available" feature to be notified as soon as the product becomes available. To use, just access the product page of the item, you wish to order, and choose the "Email me when available" option. Enter your email address and submit.

When the order was ready to ship, the items ordered at close out were no longer available and were canceled from their shipment.  The balance of the order shipped.  On 1/10, Mr. Anderson contact us, we explained our policy and also that we could not supply the product any longer because it was not available.  We offered Mr. Anderson a 15% discount and free shipping on any other items that he may want instead.  He did not accept the offer.  We also issued a call tag to return the items that he no longer wanted that has shipped and a refund was processed.

If additional information is needed in regards to the complaint, please let us know.

Thank you








BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order for a lens at a sale price that they were advertising on their website. After 7 days I received an e-mail from PayPal (through which I handled the billing) stating they had not accepted my payment. I checked the status of my order the sellers website and it said it was canceled through no effort of my own. When I called they said they made a mistake on the price and they would not be honoring it.I'm not sure if this is illegal or not, but it is unethical at the very least and they should be reprimanded for their horrible business practice. I will never order a product from them due to this mismanagement of their business and for the very rude service I received when I called to inquire about the situation.They not only wasted my time by rendering my camera inoperable while waiting for the lens, but not I have to purchase from another retailer and wait for several more days for its arrival. Product_Or_Service: Camera Lens Order_Number: KXXXXXXXXXXX Account_Number: N/A

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like to have the product sold at the price listed on my invoice for order number KXXXXXXXXXXX.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/26) */ Mr. ***** had placed an order with us for an item that was priced incorrectly. The offer was intended for the purchase of a camera and lens together and was for an instant rebate. Unfortunately, we were unable to fulfill these orders and an email was sent to Mr. ***** advising him that the order was cancelled because of our error. Below is the email that was sent: Dear valued customer, We apologize for the delay in updating you about the status of your order and the pricing issue. After pursuing all avenues in an attempt to rectify the situation, we unfortunately are unable to fulfill this order. Since our billing policy is such that we do not bill for transactions until an order has shipped, you have not been charged for this order. We sincerely apologize for having to cancel your order; we accept full responsibility for the error and regret any inconvenience it may have caused. To make up for disappointing you, we would like to extend a special offer of free shipping on your next purchase from our online store. Simply enter discount code PTXFGS13 at checkout for this special discount. In addition, in light of the error, Ricoh Imaging Americas Corporation has added special rebates to our web store on the following five lenses: Lens Retail Price IR with Purchase of K-mount body Instant Rebate with purchase of lens ONLY smc PENTAX DA 50mm F1.8 $249.95 $130 $65 smc PENTAX DA 35mm F2.4 AL $219.95 $70 $35 smc PENTAX DA 10-17mm F3.5-4.5 ED (IF) Fish-Eye $649.95 $200 $100 smc PENTAX D FA 50mm F2.8 Macro $599.95 $150 $75 smc PENTAX DA XX-XXXmm F3.5-6.3 ED SDM $799.95 $200 (w/K-50 purchase only) - If you have other questions concerning a pending credit-card authorization, please do not hesitate to contact us and we will work with your bank to ensure it is resolved promptly. All Pay Pal authorizations have been voided with PayPal. We appreciate your patronage of the Pentax webstore. Should you need to contact our customer-care department with any concerns, you may email us at ***************@pentaxwebstore.com for prompt, courteous attention to your needs. Again, our sincerest apologies that we were unable to fulfill this transaction. Sincerely, Customer Service The Pentax Webstore Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/08/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) As a goodwill gesture for their mistake, they should offer the price at which I was offered when I completed the transaction. The fact that I'm a loyal Pentax customer with lots of Pentax equipment means that they SHOULD value their customers and their satisfaction. Perhaps that is why they have chosen to do the unethical thing here...they know I have Pentax gear and cannot go to another brand for my camera accessory needs. At the very least, this company's rating should be downgraded as a reflection of their poor business practices and rude customer service.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

7/29/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint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

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement THE GRILL IS USELESS WITHOUT THE BURNERS AND FLAME TAMERS. I WOULD LIKE THEM TO SEND ME TWO SETS SO I DON'T HAVE TO GO THROUGH THIS AGAIN IN THE NEAR FUTURE.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/25) */ In reviewing Ms. ********'s complaint, she contacted our company on 4/18/13 with a request for replacement parts for her grill. It was determined that the parts she needed were covered under NexGrill's warranty guidelines. The warranty parts are processed at no charge, but there is a shipping fee under the warranty program that is incurred by the consumer. SureSource is Nexgrill's order fulfillment partner for web and phone sales as well as warranty transactions. At the time the warranty order was processed, Ms. ********'s was provided with an anticipated in stock date, since the parts needed were on a backorder. We follow FTC guidelines and send out notices to inform consumers of additional delays on an order, if they should arise. Ms. ******** was sent a 30 day notice as well as a 60 day notice because of an extended backorder on the parts requested. The 60 day notice was emailed on 6/3 to Ms. ********. In order for us to leave an order open longer than 60 days; we require written consent, since there is a charge associated with the transaction. We do not show that we received a response to our notice that would have kept the order active longer than 60 days, so the order canceled. On occasion, parts may be delayed, but we try to keep the consumer informed of the delays and anticipated arrival times. We could certainly reprocess her warranty order and waive the shipping fee as a courtesy. However, we are not able to authorize 2 replacement orders under Nexgrill's warranty guidelines. This would need to be addressed with the manufacturer directly. They can be reached at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX, option 1/ http://www.grillservices.com/contact-us/. Consumer Response /* (2110, 7, 2013/07/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the partial settlement response from the business.) I do accept the partial settlement to ship one set of parts and waive the shipping fee. However, for the record, the company never sent any emails notifying us of delays. The only correspondence they sent us were responses to my emails asking why we had not received our parts. Never at anytime did they initiate any correspondence telling us of delays o charges for keeping the order open. The only correspondence they initiated was when they notified us that they were cancelling our order. I have saved all the emails, proving that what I say is true.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a partial (less than 100%) settlement which the consumer accepted

6/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In mid-May I ordered a $70 12-cup automatic coffeemaker from Delonghi's online store. We received the product quickly and when we went to use it the carafe broke once coffee began to fill it. We called the company and they instructed us to return the coffeemaker and they would exchange it with a new one. We sent it back the next day. We never received confirmation that they had received the returned coffeemaker. About a week and a half later I emailed Delonghi to ask about the status of the exchange. They replied quickly and encouraged me to call Delonghi directly. I called Delonghi immediately and used the number that had been provided in the email correspondence. I was on hold for two hours and nineteen minutes. I eventually had to go somewhere so I had to hang up. I was never able to talk to anyone at the company. I sent an email the following day (3 days ago) telling them this and asking for a full refund because I don't want to support them any longer and they still have not responded. I am currently on hold with them again, and I am concerned I won't be getting my money back. Be wary of this company if you need to work directly with their customer service center. Product_Or_Service: 12-Cup Front-Loading Coffeemaker Order_Number: WXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund It would be great to just a get a full refund from the company so that I can move on and get a coffeemaker from another company instead. I'm afraid I won't be able to get my money back at all.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/07) */ In reviewing Ms. ****'s complaint, on 5/15, she ordered a coffeemaker through our site, shopdelonghi.com, which shipped on 5/17. On 5/21, we received a call advising that the carafe had broken. We issued a call tag to have the unit returned back to us for an exchange. On 6/5, the exchange order was processed. However, on 6/1, we received an email about the status of the return and a representative that replied referred Ms. **** to the manufacturer for assistance in error , which was not correct, since we were handling an exchange on the order. We are able to stop the exchange and issue a complete refund as Ms. **** has requested in her complaint. Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/06/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) I tried to delete this complaint as it had been taken care of. I was under the impression that my exchange had shipped and things were all set, which would be fine with me. I would rather receive my new *working* coffeemaker than receive the refund. Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/06/11) */ A credit in full has already been posted on Ms. ****'s PayPal account as of 6/7. Since the refund has been processed, we can not reship the item. We will reach out to her to see if she would like us to process a new order for shipment immediately and we will waive any additional shipping and handling fees.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/10/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
3/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/21/2012 Delivery Issues
8/21/2012 Delivery Issues
7/24/2012 Delivery Issues
3/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/18/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/18/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/8/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/8/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/5/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1