BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Travel Insured International, Inc. offers travel insurance and travel assistance services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Travel Insured International, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Travel Insured International, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 45 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

45 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 41
Total Closed Complaints 45

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 14, 1998 Business started: 02/01/1994 Business started locally: 02/01/1994 Business incorporated: 07/26/1993 in CT
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Insurance, State of CT Dept. of
153 Market St, Hartford CT 06103
Phone Number: (860) 297-3900

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. William Scully, Vice President of Operations Mr. Jonathan D. Gehris, President & CEO Mr. Peter W. Gehris, Chairman
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Scully, Vice President of Operations
Business Category

Insurance - Travel Insurance Companies Insurance - Accident & Health Insurance - Aviation Insurance Services Direct Property and Casualty Insurance Carriers (NAICS: 524126)

Products & Services

Travel Insured International is one of the leading travel insurance providers, offering quality worldwide travel insurance protection since 1994.


Additional Locations

  • 52 S Oakland Ave.  PO Box 280568

    East Hartford, CT 06128 (860) 528-7663 (800) 243-3174

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 243-2440(Phone)
  • (800) 243-3174(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I paid $1,102 to Travel Insured International via their Agent, ******* ****** ******* ********** *** who booked our $14,497 vacation trip 10/1/14 and sold us her firm's preferred Travel Cancellation Insurance. We cancelled on 2/20/14, 83 days ahead of our scheduled 5/13/14 trip due to our Daughter in Law informing us she had just been confirmed by her Doctor as pregnant 10/4/13 (3 days after we had booked and paid for our trip and trip insurance). We wanted to attend our first grandson's birth which was projected to take place on our departure week. Our Travel Agent and my wife and I thought we had met the requirement that pregnancy must take place after we purchased the trip and insurnace. But Travel Insured told all of us that the CONCEPTION occured prior to the trip being booked and therefore not covered, refusing any of the $5,074 claim we had made for lost trip costs. How can an insured know their DIL conceived prior to booking a trip when our own DIL did not and could not know she conceived until she was formally confirmed pregnant by her Dr.? Travel Insured's advertised flexibility and broad and reasonable coverage is actually misleading in that no close family member expects to discover pregnancy coverage in Travel Insurance is virtually impossible to cover per this clever and misleading interpretation of the Policy. We had no way of knowing about when a pregnancy originated vs. when to book or not book our trip EXCEPPT from discovering when our DIL was confirmed pregnant (per a written Physican's Statement saying when she was confirmed pregnant). Travel Insured should not advertise that they cover Grandparents wanting to be at their Grandchild's birth if this is their position for coverage. Nor should their Agents selling the Policy be as ignorant as we were in the coverage. We were misled and short changed in the no coverage decision and in the way the Travel Agent selling the Policy was not properly knowledgable of the Policy benefits as described it to us.

Desired Settlement: We gave a generous and timely notice of cancellation to the Insurance Co. but are left to absorb the $5,074 loss we incurred due to the cancellation despite having paid an additional $1,102 insurance fee for what we thought was reasonale trip cancellation insurance. We would like to be refunded our $5,074 loss and sincerely feel that is a very reasonable request under the stated circumstances. Also, Travel Insured should do a much better job at training their sponsoring Travel Agents.

Business Response:

The referenced policy purchased provides trip cancellation benefits if an insured will be attending a Family Member’s childbirth as long as the pregnancy occurs after the effective date of coverage and can be verified by medical records.

 

The policy effective date is 10/02/13 and the medical records we received, show the family member visited her doctor on 09/26/13 and was estimated to be at 7 weeks 2 days gestation. 

 

Since the pregnancy did not occur after the effective date of coverage, benefits are not payable. 

 

Attached is correspondence from the insured to the travel agent confirming that they knew the pregnancy occurred prior to the booking.  

Business Response:

 The customer, in the original complaint submitted on 5/21/2014, stated: “Our travel agent and my wife and I thought we had met the requirement that pregnancy must take place after we purchased the trip and insurance”. Their understanding of the policy language is correct. The policy states: “…as long as the pregnancy occurs after your Effective Date of coverage and can be verified by medical records”. The medical records show that gestation commenced approximately 7 weeks and 2 days prior to 09/26/13, well before 10/2/13, the Effective Date of the policy.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 10060847

I am rejecting this response because:

 
Travel Insured has not addressed the very clear points outlined in my previous rebuttal. Yes, we understood that my Daughter in Law's pregnancy was confirmed After we booked our $14,000 trip BUT we did not understand (and neither did their Agent that sold us the Trip Interruption Policy) that the definition of being Pregnant was at Inception instead of how all of us learn about a pregnancy - when the Doctor tells you...Not looking back with hind site to when a person actually conceived.
 
Our point remains that Travel Insured's Agent (our booking travel agent) sold us their Policy, did not understand the exact terms (like us), and evidenced that confusion by the Agent's written complaint back to Travel Insured (we copied that complaint letter in our response). We, and the Agent selling us their Policy, did not understand the detailed Policy Term definitions. How can we be required to understand the Policy terms if their selling Agent did not?  
 
We were misled to believe that we had a full and virtually riskless travel interruption policy - as inclusive as a policy could be.  Turns out we did not. Travel Insured should bear the responsibility of having their Agents fully trained and knowledgeable about insurance products sold to us.  If not, they can unententionally mislead travelers.  Travel Insured's actions to date indicate a concerted effort to ignore our complaint about how the policy was sold to us, their responsibilty for that, and the unclear language regarding when one is told they are pregnant (an actionable event) vs. when, in hind site, one is told they actually conceived (an event Travelers do not have control of to govern their purchase of travel insurance). Travel Insured is responsible for the actions and selling practices of their Agents. They apparently value reduciing claims at any cost, over taking the responsibility that is clearly at their door and doing the right thing in honoring our claim. 

Sincerely,

  **** *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

6/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased insurance with Travel Insured International for airfare, hotel and rental car for a long awaited family trip to Orlando. I opted to purchase the 'cancel for any reason' optional coverage. We missed our flights as my daughter was sick on the way to the airport and vomited all over herself. She did this twice. Both times we had to pull over and strip her down to clean her up, unpack suitcases to find her clean clothes and then dress her again.We missed the boarding by 3 minutes and the airport would not check us in.I was denied the claim for the cost of the trip because the cancellation was outside 48 hours of the departure. That clause alone is contractictory to the title of the coverage. Cancel for any reason implies exactly that. The disclaimer appears to be written as a 'get out of paying anything' by the company. It was a medical reason for missing the trip, although there was not a doctor on the 405 freeway at that time to sign off on what was wrong with her. We tried to book a later flight but despite a great effort from the airline company, they could not get us to our destination on any future flight as they were all booked up (it was Spring Break and there were 4 of us travelling). I disputed the denial with the insurance company but they stuck by their 48 hour rule to get out of paying. It is an expensive add-on to a policy which serves no useful purpose to the customer, yet is very remunerative to the company.

Desired Settlement: I'd like them to process my claim.

Business Response:

The plan provides trip cancellation benefits for a sickness which necessitates medical treatment at the time of cancellation and results in medically imposed restrictions, as certified by a Legally Qualified Physician, which prevents the insureds participation in the covered trip. There was no documentation from a legally qualified physician certifying that a sickness resulted in medically imposed restrictions; therefore, benefits are not payable.

 Under the Cancel For Any Reason benefit the insured must be prevented from taking the covered trip for all reasons up to 48 hours prior to departure.  Since the incident did not occur 48 hours prior to departure, benefits are not payable. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Travel Insured has not responded to my claim. They say they have not received my faxes or letters. They are simply stalling in the hope I will give up. Not yet.They are as unhelpful as the selling agency ****** Travel.

Desired Settlement: To be refunded the remainder of my trip cost as per contract.

Business Response: We received the insured’s documentation on 05/05/14. The claim was processed and payment in the amount of $386.00 was made on 05/08/14. This payment is for the penalty incurred minus the non refundable insurance premium.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To my knowledge this company was built on a foundation of family values and exceptional customer service. Unfortunately, today this company is giving me a hard time regarding paying for the claim. I sent all the proper documents to do so and they are pushing to revile what truly is wrong with my daughter. At this time she has been hospitalized for MVP and is under going evaluation for Gull bladder Stones. I really am disappointed in this company and plan on going the distance for something to be done about this issue. Its sad they are acting like this for a 15 year old girl who couldn't go with her class due to her illness. What we thought was minor in the beginning actually turned out to be something big.

Desired Settlement: We paid a total of $2,595.00 for the travels and we expect the same back.

Business Response:

According to the Trip Cancellation claim form submitted, the reason for cancellation was due to a nervous breakdown. The plan excludes losses due to mental or nervous conditions, unless hospitalized and since the Attending Physician’s Statement (APS) did not show a diagnosis we requested the physician’s office notes. We were told that there are no notes for the dates of treatment shown on the APS.  The plan requires treatment at the time of cancellation. 

 We will review this claim when we receive any additional medical information that identifies the diagnosis and the dates of treatment.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 9992356

I am rejecting this response because we submitted the proper paper work for her.  My Dr. is the one who put a note to them stating it was a medical condition I on the other hand put the nervous condition due to my lack of knowledge in the health care.  As I stated earlier we are still under going the medical condition treatments.  They feel she was having what they call MVP.  I don't appreciate them belittling my daughters condition due to them not wanting to pay a claim.  The Dr's note we provided stated a Medical Condition period not anything different there fore there needs have been met and they need to provide us with the proper payment we requested.  

 

Sincerely,

Sean Kidwell
###-###-####

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

4/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid for travel insurance for a 4 leg trip. One of the common carriers changed its itinerary, a change that required that we buy new airline tickets and continue our trip from a different city than originally planned. This change required that we incur unexpected additional costs in airline tickets, transfer fees and hotel costs. While the insurance company did reimburse us for the unused, prepaid, non-refundable airfare we had paid for one leg of the original trip that we were unable to use, it has refused to pay for the additional costs we incurred in order to continue and complete our trip.We have asked that they, Travel Insurance International, reimburse us for the additional airfares, transfer fees and hotel costs we incurred in order to continue and complete our trip, costs that were a direct result of the decision made by the common carrier and over which we had no control. They have refused to do so and as of today we have had no indication that they will. I submitted an appeal again today. The reason we paid over $2000.00 for this insurance was to cover unexpected delays, cancellations, interruptions or emergencies that might arise on this trip. I do not think that they are keeping their part of the agreement.

Desired Settlement: We would like the insurance company to reimburse us for the additional costs that we incurred in order to continue and complete our trip. These costs include the difference between the cost of the original ticket (unused) and the new tickets ($868.00)we had to buy, the additional transfer fees ($118) and hotel costs ($160.38).

Business Response:

The insured’s policy provides reimbursement for the cost of the ticket or the reissue fee charged by the airline if the travel supplier cancels the Covered Trip.

 

We have made the following additional payments:

 $1736.60 for the additional airfare

$118.00 for transfers

 

The hotel costs of $160.38 are non-refundable under the policy. 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

Martine Orr

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I booked a trip through a travel agency which was insured ($2,280 for insurance!) with this company. The original trip was in 3 parts - flights from Houston to Athens and a cruise from Athens, Greece to Alexandria, Egypt; over night in Cairo and a flight to visit friends in Doha, Qatar; further flights from Doha to Cairo to Nairobi for an EA safari and then flights back to Houston. After all these non-refundable arrangements were paid for, the cruise line notified our travel agent they would no longer go to Egypt but return to Athens from Israel. The travel agent had to book more flights (Athens through Doha to Nairobi - $1,764.20) and a night in a hotel in Doha with meals ($358.46). Also, during the safari one of the lodges did not provide the services the tour operator told us in writing were included ($1200).We filed a claim (Kristen Stewart) with 20+ pages of documentation and the company issued a check ****** on 2/20/2014 ONLY for the unused plane tickets from Cairo to Doha to Nairobi ($1,346.20) and stated this was for the unused, pre-paid and non-refundable portions of our trip. We have not cashed their check and sent several more e-mails explaining that this was not correct. In several more e-mails we have requested payment for our other covered expenses - additional airfare expenses (Athens to Nairobi), additional meals and hotel, unused hotel in Cairo ($108.15), and non-provided services on safari. We have had only canned form letters from the company saying our e-mails were received. No written explanation has been forthcoming from this company even though our policy states the company must notify us in writing of the rejection of any claim and the reasons for the rejection. We believe we submitted extensive documentation to back our claims.

Desired Settlement: We would like to be paid what we claimed under this policy and something more for the aggrevation they have caused us by their lack of response in an appropriate manner.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 9970701

I am rejecting this response because: See copy of e-mail (with an attachment) sent to Travel Insured.  complaints@ct.bbb.org was included in the cc list.  Many thanks for your help! 

Sincerely,

Mary King

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: the information listed by Travel Insured is not correct.  I have e-mailed Ms. Raymer and also BBB indicating our initial policy for this trip was Plan Number *************** and the paid date was 7/30/2012, within the 21 day timeframe.  My understanding from *** Travel, agent for Travel Insured, is that when we met a certain monetary limit for the trip, TI issued another policy.  In my original documentation Attachment 12  shows the payment for the policy AND the refunds for the original policy.  Thus we were insured by TI for this entire trip from 7/30/2012.
Sincerely,

Mary King

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I arranged travel insurance with this company in case I was unable to follow thru on my Cruise to the Bahamas Dec. 8th. Had arranged for ride to the airport Dec 7th to meet with companion in Fort Lauderdale. Little Rock AR had an Ice storm Dec 6th. Dec 7 the temperature was in the 20's and my ride was unable to get out of the drive due to ice. Public transportation was not moving that morning. The day before flights were cancelled out of Dallas and Houston, and Little Rock. Those passengers had to be rebooked for another flight. Checking with my airline my flight was delayed and could not quantee a ticket out on Dec 7th to arrive in Fort Lauderdale in a accommodating time frame for an elderly person. Being as there were no definites available and possible meeting Cruise on time. I called companion and cancelled our Cruise. I was reimbursed for the Hotel, Air plane ticket, and the professioal symposium I was attending on the Cruise. I was the only insured person due to my being the payee for the cruise. I put in a claim for $1696.28, the cruise portion due to dangerous transportation Dec 7th. I was denied. Being on a fixed income, I needed this refunded to me. The whole professional trip could be claimed on my Income tax which would be refunded in 2013. I feel this was an unreasonable outcome on the part of Travel Insured International.

Desired Settlement: Refund the Cruise fee of $1696.28

Business Response:

The policy purchased provides coverage for Trip Cancellation for the listed covered reasons. Cancellation due to dangerous transportation is not a covered reason for cancellation. We did confirm with the insured’s airlines that her flight was delayed; however, she was re-booked that same evening at 10:00pm. We have reimbursed the insured the maximum amount payable under the Travel Delay benefit of $500.  The traveling companion had a separate policy that we also paid the Travel Delay benefit of $500.  

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I am a Veternan of the Vietam conflict and a Senior Citizen on a fixed income.  This cruise opportunity was a professional symposium of which I would be able to deduct from my Income Tax.  I was the soul provider of this whole trip.  My companion, a Senior Citizen, was to meet me in Fort lauderdale the day before the ship leaving port to ensure our getting on board togather.  We were to stay in a reserved Motel overnight and get a ride to the ship in time for boarding.  Everything was arranged except the weather.  I purchased the Travel insurance to cover any discrepancies in my plans.  I found out the flight was delayed the AM of Dec 7th and that public transportation was unavailable.  This meant I would miss my connection from Houston to Fort Lauderdale.  I asked if there was another flight out and was not assured a seat due to flight cancellations the day before.  Therefore in mine and my companions best interest for our well being I was able to cancel everything but the cost of the Cruise without penalty.  My companion was also able to cancel her transportation without penalty.  In conclusion, I feel it is reasonable for the insurance company to reimburse me the remainder of the Cruise payment of $696.28 for the circumstances that I have truthfully stated due to inability to continue my trip as scheduled.  Thank you for your assistance in bringing this to the attention of other travelers in the same situations which has been frequent this winter.
Sincerely,

B Atwood

 

Business Response:

Our insured said that she cancelled her trip because her friend could not drive her to the airport due to icy road conditions.  This is not a covered reason for payment under the Trip Cancellation/Interruption benefit.  This benefit provides coverage If weather caused a complete cessation of services of her common carrier for at least 24 consecutive hours however, we have not received documentation to show that.

 The Trip Delay benefit provides payment up to $500.00 if a documented weather condition prevents an insured from getting to a point of departure.  We paid the insured  $500.00.  We also paid her travel companion $500.00 under the travel companion’s policy.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

2/18/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchase insurance from "Travel Insured" for a cruise my husband and I were going on. Within the first day of the cruise, I unfortuntely became ill. I immediately proceeded to contact Travel Insured to ask and confirm what documentation I was going to need to make a medical claim. I was informed to obtain all documentation and receipt to make a claim. I did provide all documentation and receipts and filed a claim on 12/23/13. I called Travel insured on 01/22/14 to obtain a status of my claim. I was informed by the representive that the account manager was reviewing my file and would contract me by with phone or email within the next 24 hours. I never received correspondence. I contacted Travel Insured on 1/24/14 and requested to speak with the person who was handling my file. I was then connected to ***** ******* He then proceeded to ask me if I saw a medical doctor while I was on the ship and if that doctor put something in writing stating that my medical treatment required my to have acupunture? I responded by saying that according to my certificate of insurance states on the front page " Medical claims: Obtain receipts and a letter from the service provider stating the amount paid and listing the diagnosis and treatment." I reminded him that I called into Travel Insured and was informed to provide my receipts and documentation for the service provider and that wasall I was told. I did infact seek license service provider and she did provide a break down of my diagnosis code(s), procedure code(s), and amount paid with receipt of payment. ***** then proceeded to inform me that I would be receiving a denial letter in the mail and I could appeal it. He wouldn't give me their physcial address to send any legal corresponance to.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a refund for my medical expenses that I incurrred while on my vacation. I have provided all documentation for my expenses and show diligence with my communication and documentation on this matter.

Business Response:

The plan reimburses for medical expenses that are incurred by you while on your covered trip for treatment, including services and supplies that are recommended by a physician.

 

A physician is defined as a licensed practitioner of medical, surgical or dental services acting within the scope of his/her license. Since the acupuncturist that treated the insured is a licensed practitioner of medical services and was acting within the scope of their license the medical expenses incurred are payable.

 

A check for $1734, the medical expenses incurred, has been issued.  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased travel insurance for a trip to Israel for 04/23/2012-05/07/12. During the trip I had a catastrophic illness which required an operation on my spine, an extended hospital stay including intensive care, then rehabilitation physical therapy. My wife had to stay in an hotel, eat, take taxis and be with me there. I filed a claim to be re-reimbursed for those expenses which hass not been resolved or paid.

Desired Settlement: I would like my hospital bills paid to the extent of the contract which we bought in good faith

Business Response:

We paid the insured $30,021.77 for his emergency medical evacuation. His policy also provides reimbursement of medical expenses incurred while on the trip. The policy states that: “The insurance provided by this policy is in excess of all other valid and collectible insurance or indemnity. If at the time of the occurrence of any loss there is other valid and collectible insurance or indemnity in place, the company is liable only for the excess of the amount of loss over the amount of such other insurance or indemnity and applicable deductible".

To determine what we can pay, we need to know the portion of the medical expenses that are payable under any other insurance. The documentation we received shows that the insured may have coverage under several insurance policies. On several occasions we asked the insured to file a claim with the other insurance companies and to send us their Explanation of Benefits paid. We have not received that documentation and we will review his claim when we receive that documentation.

The policy does not provide reimbursement for his spouse’s hotels, meals, and transportation expenses.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  The information has been provided to Travel Insured International and is well known to them.  Duke was not covered under "several insurance policies", he had primary health insurance in California provided by Health Care partners and travel insurance.  A claim was submitted to the primary insurer who declined to provide coverage.  Their remittance advice was forwarded by FAX 03/06/13 ***** *********.  Thus Travel Insured International is required to pay those amounts due under their policy.  In additiion, although they paid for medical evacuation, the situation was handled very badly even though Duke filed a complaint only with the nurses association which provided escort service.  The biggest problem was this:  Duke was transported on a guerney as a quadrapeligic, escorted by two nurses, while no provision was made for his wife to also return home even though the travel insurance covered them both.  Except for the diligence and effort of ElAl Airlines in changing a stand-by ticket purchased by her, it would have been even worse.

Sincerely,

Duke Jones

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

12/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased and paid for travel insurance for a wedding trip to Paris. I had to cancel the trip due to medical reasons which under the policy is 100 percent refundable. When I purchased the policy I was told that a cancel for any reason was 75% refundable but a cancel for any medical reason was 100% refundable. I had to cancel the trip because of an unexpected illness which led to surgery and used all my leave. I provided all the documentation to Travel insured.When I filed my claim Travel insured stalled in processing claiming that they needed more information. All the information they needed was provided to them when I filed the claim. Travel insured ignored the medical reasons for the cancelation and paid 75% of my cost. This left a balance of $1000.00.In addition to the $1000.00 balance I have spent a total now of about 6 hrs on the phone, writing e-mails and filing this complaint. As this takes away from my time I bill at $200.00 an hour. I also had to pay interest on accounts because of Travel insured stalling on the claim which comes to about $74.00

Desired Settlement: Travel insured needs to pay the amount of the policy under the medical cancelation. They also need to pay for the interest I had to pay and for my time that they wasted. I might be willing to settle for less than the $1200.00 for my time if they pay quickly. If Travel insured continues to stall then I will demand the full amount plus any additional time and interest charged to me.As Travel insured was acting as an agent of **** a separate complaint is being filed against USAA.

Business Response:

Under the plan Mr. Preciado purchased thru Travel Insured International, sickness is a covered reason if it results in medically imposed restrictions as certified by a Physician at the time of Loss preventing your continued participation in the trip.  According to the documentation submitted, Mr. Preciado was ill at the end of 2012 and used all his earned paid vacation time at work. On April 20, 2013, Mr. Preciado cancelled his trip because he had no more paid vacation time and was unable to take unpaid vacation. Since there was no sickness that resulted in medically imposed restrictions as certified by a physician at the time of loss, April 20, 2013, this is not a covered reason for cancellation; therefore, benefits were paid under the Cancel For Any Reason benefit.

No additional payment is due to Mr. Preciado.

Please note, Mr. Preciado purchased and paid for the insurance policy directly with Travel Insured International. Coverage was not provided by ***** 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I booked an international flight for vacation purposes about 3 months ago, and purchased with it full insurance for the trip from this company. To make a long story short, my flight was cancelled due to a fire at ****** airport, after waiting hours at the airport to find out whether it would still fly out or not, and had to be rescheduled for 4 nights later, effectively cutting my trip in half. My wife called the insurance company when we found out the flight was cancelled to find out what would be covered by our insurance and if I would be covered to take a taxi home. The rep told my wife that I would not be reimbursed for taking a taxi home. It took me a bus, a train, and 2 hours to finally get home (my wife was already overseas and could not pick me up, I had already paid someone *** to take me to the airport). After my trip I called to see what kind of reimbursement my insurance would provide for my trip delay (that is why one buys insurance!). I was told that if I had stayed in a hotel, saved food expense receipts, or taken a taxi home from the airport I would have been able to claim all of those expenses. They called it a miscommunication that I had been told otherwise. Finally, the rep (*****) agreed that the company had made a mistake, and then proceeded to inform me that since there was no way to put a $ value on this mistake they could not go ahead and reimburse me. I think the taxi fare is a good start!They were still happy to reimburse me for my train fare though (they must have said that 1000 times, like it was some conciliatory prize)The company keeps reiterating that I am not entitled to reimbursement for a taxi fare as I never took the taxi home from the airport. I think they just dont get it. They told me I would not be reimbursed for the taxi ride, that is why I never took the *** - *** taxi rideIt was like pulling teeth to get this company to admit it made a mistake. A mistake that they are not willing to do anything about.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to pay for the taxi ride that I was entitled to under the insurance contract

Business Response:

BBB Complaint Case # *******

Dear Sir/Madam,

We reviewed the phone recordings between our Customer Service Representative and the customer’s spouse on 09-17-13.  Our representative advised her that the taxi back to his home as a result of the flight cancellation would not be covered.  The Trip Delay benefit does reimburse for additional transportation cost.  The customer’s spouse told our claim manager that the estimated taxi fare is **** and he told her that we, as a good will gesture, would pay that amount when we verify the cancellation.  A check for **** was mailed on 10-16-13.

 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon scheduling our vacation with the ******** ****** ******, we opted to take the insurance policy protecting our deposit in case of a medical reason for not being able to proceed with our trip. We were told even if the medical issue was as minor as a flu, our money would be refunded. The sales person convinced us it was an excellent idea. Shortly after booking the trip, I discovered a medical issue that prevented me from proceeding with the trip. I contacted ******** *****l and explained things to them, and they instructed me to get a doctor's note detailing the condition. Even after producing the doctor's note, and presenting everything required to the insurance company ******** uses, including copies of our deposit checks from our credit union, I was still denied the return of my deposit. Even after delivering the required documentation, there was no return call or letter sent to me explaining why. I had to call them back myself to discover the denial of our claim through a rude customer service representative. I am an unemployed mother of three small children on a limited income, along with a newly discovered medical issue and feel I was misled into taking the insurance policy by someone who was either uninformed as to the details of it, or worse, intentionally mislead into buying a product that proved to be useless. On my limited income, I have no other resource to pursue this other than to contact you. I hope you will investigate this quickly, and resolve this matter so my family can put this ordeal behind us. I am only a mother who wanted to give my children a nice vacation.

Desired Settlement: The best resolution to this matter would be the return of the money promised back to us, in the amount of $********. It is the agreed upon amount, and what we expected to have returned to us.

Business Response:

 

BBB Complaint Case# *******

Complaint Case #: *******

Dear Sir/Madam,

The medical condition that prevented Insured from travelling is excluded under the policy.  According to the information her doctor submitted, she has a "severe ******" and "cannot fly".  The policy excludes mental or nervous conditions unless hospitalized.  According to the documentation submitted, ***** ***** was not hospitalized.

Sincerely,

***** **********

Claims Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my mother ****** ******,im her daughter lorna m.h.pointer.my mother is 70years old,a whole lot of stuff she dont understand.sales represenative/manager************************ can to my mothers church solicit her bible study class.on behalf of diamond tours.you pay for this trip 6months to ayear.my mothers paid in full,but death happens.we contacted ms.elaine as soon as my aunt when into hospice,she died the weekend of the trip.representative said she would get money back my mother purchase travel insurance.they want give her a refund,because sent death program they want a death certificate,this person my aunt gin(***********************)lived in natchitoches,la.we dont see these other family members,maybe once ever 5to10years,it usually a funeral that bring us together.i feel i that imposing to ask someone,can you may acopy of your moms death cerficate,my travel agency want refund me because i *****@funeral.this is stupid!!.please help.we live in houston Account_Number: XXXXXX***********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund t rip cost was 570.00.plus the the insurance 45.00.these are senior citizens giving up there social security checks,to have a nice vac.and they have to go through this if there is death in the family,i think they are suffering enough.my mother is a cancer survir,her mother is a cancer survior,my aunt gin my grandmothers sister died of colon cancer.i think this insurance company is hearless!!and taking advantage of elderly church people.death certificate,indicating cause of death,nothing to do rf

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/03) */ After further review of the submitted documentation, we have made payment in the amount of $570.00.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

5/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Travel Insured would not refund money for my trip. This company is awful. I purchased insurance from them for my trip that was almost $2300. We found out my mom had to have lung cancer surgery the same time as my trip so I had to cancel as I am her caretaker. Now they won't refund my money because it was deemed a "pre existing condition." We had no way of knowing she was going to have surgery for her lung cancer at that time. The doctors felt it was necessary. I am disgusted at their company, not to mention how the agent I spoke with handled the call - very unfriendly, very cold and not compassionate at all. I can tell she was just thinking "well too bad we can't help you. but thanks for buying insurance with us anyway!" I ****** be reporting them to many social media outlets and even on my own sites as I operate over 500 websites. I ****** also be writing to my local newspaper about this issue as they report on negative business practices in the paper all the time. This was the first time I purchased travel insurance as it was such a big purchase for my big 30th birthday and it ****** definitely be my last - through their company anyway. Unbelievable is all I have to say.

Desired Settlement: I would ultimately like to get the full $2287.95 back - for my flight and trip that cannot be refunded through the airline or the trip company. Even if I can get the $1599 back for just the trip I would be satisfied.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/19) */ The Consumer was scheduled to travel April 7, 2013 through April 14, 2013. She canceled her trip on March 5, 2013 due to her mother's sickness. The Consumer purchased the Trip Protector Lite policy on March 4, 2013, and the Effective Date is March 5. The policy excludes all loss caused by Pre-Existing Conditions. The policy defines Pre-Existing Condition as a sickness or condition for which medical advice, diagnosis, care or treatment was recommended or received within the 180 day period ending on the Effective Date. According to the Attending Physician's Statement, the Consumer's mother received treatment for the sickness that caused the Consumer to cancel on January 28, 2013, February 4, 2013, and February 25, 2013, and was hospitalized from February 12 through February 16, 2013. The trip cancellation claim was declined inasmuch as treatment was received during the 180 day period prior to the Effective Date. On April 15, 2013, we called the Consumer and explained why her claim was not payable. She stated that the medical condition that caused her to cancel is different than the condition for which treatment was received on the above dates. We told her that we would review any additional medical information. To date, we have not received any additional medical information. A declination letter was sent to the Consumer on April 12, 2013. Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/04/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) We had no idea my mom was going to need surgery when my trip was scheduled which is why I got insurance in the first place. Should I never plan a trip because my mom has lung cancer? I feel this company is being very unfair and unrealistic. Yes, my mom had lung cancer but we didn't know she would need the surgery during my trip. So yes, the lung cancer was known but the reason I canceled my trip was not so I think they are being really ridiculous. So now not only is my mom going through lung cancer but now I lost out on all that money because I need to take care of her. Not cool at all Travel Insured, not cool at all. Have some compassion for God's sake. Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/05/06) */ The issue isn't whether the surgery was scheduled when the consumer booked the trip rather, was the underlying illness a pre-existing condition. For the reason stated in our 3/19/2013 response, the illness is a pre-existing condition. We are required by law to administer all claims in accordance with the terms and conditions of the policy. Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/05/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am so over this company and their bulls**t. I ****** never recommend them to anyone. When someone in their family gets cancer and they need to cancel / change their plans I hope they get screwed over the same way they screwed me. Not only did I now pay full price for a trip I had to cancel (which was a big trip for my 30th birthday) but I also paid for their stupid insurance which didn't even cover my trip. Note to self - travel insurance with this company is a scam. Unbelievable.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/15/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/2/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/29/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/23/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/22/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/6/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/29/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/22/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/19/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1