BBB Accredited Business since

C & C Hydraulics, Inc.

Phone: (860) 582-0308 Fax: (860) 584-9062 View Additional Phone Numbers 116 Wolcott Rd, Terryville, CT 06786 http://www.cchydraulics.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

C & C Hydraulics, Inc. offers sales and repair of hydraulics and lubrication.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that C & C Hydraulics, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for C & C Hydraulics, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on C & C Hydraulics, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 12, 1997 Business started: 04/01/1973 Business started locally: 04/01/1973 Business incorporated 07/15/1977 in CT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Charles Cronin, Manager/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charles Cronin, Manager/Owner
Business Category

Hydraulic Equipment & Supplies Lubricating Devices & Systems Machine Shops Pumps - Service & Repair Industrial Machinery and Equipment Merchant Wholesalers (NAICS: 423830)

Alternate Business Names
C & C Hydraulics & Lubrication

Additional Locations

  • 116 Wolcott Rd

    Terryville, CT 06786 (860) 582-0308

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** **** **** is filing this complaint in "good faith" and is requesting the assistance of the Connecticut BBB. **** **** **** trusted C and C Hydraulics for the repair of two items on a truck hydraulic system. **** **** **** is highly concerned about the invoice amount for the work performed. Furthermore, the invoice does NOT have any of the charges itemized for the work performed. The invoice does NOT account for labor hours or time spent. The invoice does not have an accounting for the price of the parts that are listed either. While present at their office I inquired about an itemized invoice and I was told that I would have to speak to *** (Service Manager). I emailed *** shortly thereafter and asked for this information. I received an email back with two lump sum prices for parts and labor. I Know that this is NOT an acceptable practice in the service and repair industry and may well be a violation. **** **** **** also questions why C and C Hydraulics would waste time partially repairing part of a system while knowing that they would not be able to completely repair it. The extra time and materials they spent doing this, now requires **** **** **** to undo some of their work to be able to use that system as we were able to prior to any work being started.

Desired Settlement: **** **** **** feels that this billing adjustment request is necessary. We also need C and C Hydraulics to understand that **** **** **** incurred time and costs traveling to C and C Hydraulics and leaving our equipment at C and C Hydraulics for a longer period of time than originally estimated. We also had to perform labor and undo or remove items that C and C Hydraulics installed because they were unable to completely repair part the system.

Business Response:

C&C Hydraulics Inc. has performed the work **** **** **** had requested per the (3) work orders the customer singed. The repairing of (3) hydraulic cylinders. As of this date no complaints have been made about the repaired cylinders.

**** **** **** did not informed C&C Hydraulics that their were any issues with the repairs performed, at the time they picked up the truck or after. C&C Hydraulics discovered there was an issue when C&C Hydraulics called **** **** **** and asked why did they stop payment on the check they gave to C&C Hydraulics at the time they picked up the truck.         At the time **** **** **** picked up the truck he was informed that if he needed any questions answered we will page *** for him. He declined and left with the truck.

C&C Hydraulics does not agree or understand why the customer made the statements in his complaint. 1) No time was wasted on the repairs made, and we avoided wasting time when the customer could not supply the proper documentation requested if we were to plumb in and connect hydraulics circuits. 2) As for the work that they say has to be undone so that they can have more done. We cannot see any reason why three cylinders would have to be removed to do any other work on the truck.  The customer did not contact C&C Hydraulics management to state any dissatisfaction with the repairs made.

C&C Hydraulics management contacted **** **** **** via email (copied below) to address the situation. As of 10/6/2015 **** **** **** has not responded.

The follow is a copy of the email sent to **** **** ****.

Hi, ***

I have been informed by our A.R. department (Robin) that **** **** **** put a stop payment on some repairs we performed.

I have looked into it and asked my people about the jobs so I can intelligently communicate about the jobs.

I have the  following information on the jobs.


**** **** dropped off a used ********* tow truck that they recently purchased.

They also supplied two separate hydraulic cylinders.


The following items were to be serviced as verbally communicated when the truck was dropped off.

  1. Work Order #*****. ********* Rear passenger out rigger cylinder not working.

    Requested was to remove the outrigger extension leg and repair hydraulic cylinder.

     

    Work performed:  Remove the outrigger extension leg from the main outrigger casing mounted on the truck.

    Remove the hydraulic cylinder from the outrigger extension leg, reseal the cylinder, hydraulically bench tested, and install it back into the leg and truck.

     

  2. Work Order #***** & *****  Received separately, one extension cylinder for each work order.

    Request was to reseal the cylinder and to install into extension leg and housing and supply hydraulic hoses.

     

    Work Performed: Disassembled and resealed both hydraulic extension cylinders. Hydraulically bench tested the cylinders and installed into extension legs and housings.

    Machined (4) new cylinder mounting pins not supplied with cylinders (needed to mount cylinders to extension leg and housing).

    Supplies four new hydraulic hoses and attached to cylinders and coiled and capped other end.

I have been informed that we were asked if we can finish connecting the hydraulic circuit for the extension cylinder that was never completed by the manufacturer.


Our shop Manager (Joe) said he talked to you about this and asked if you could supply information on the truck, which you did but the information did not include anything on the hydraulic extension circuit.


*** said he had a conversation with you saying that the information was not what was needed and that we did not what to spend an unknown amount of time on the  hydraulic circuit part if no one knew if the valves were correct or how to correctly plumb in the extension circuit to the main hydraulic circuit.


*** said that you emailed him, asking what portion was part vs labor.

He said he email that info back to you.


The above is the information I have received from my looking into this matter.

Please let me know your thoughts and what I can do for you to resolve this issue.


Charles

C&C Hydraulics Inc.


Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 **** **** **** has found that in the last 1-2 weeks the hydraulic leg that was repaired is still leaking down and the problem with it continues. This was the primary reason for **** **** **** requesting service from C&C Hydraulics in the first place. This truck is not used frequently and nobody has been monitoring the repair that was attempted by C&C hydraulics on a daily or weekly basis. Again the hydraulic leg continues to leak down. This is a hydraulic stabilizer leg. **** **** **** wanted to repair this defect because it could cause severe damage to the equipment, if the truck was driven and the hydraulic leg was down near the ground.

**** **** **** received a quote from ********* Towing Equipment to replace the cyclinder that is leaking down (Replacing the cyclinder with a new cyclinder, compared to rebuilding it as C&C Hydraulics states they did). ********* Towing Equipment quoted $1200.00 for a new cyclinder and $600.00-$800.00 labor to install it. This repair would be a maximum of $2000.00 and take 6-8 hours.
The 2 smaller "extend" cyclinders (and 4 hoses) that **** **** **** brought to C&C Hydraulics with the truck was for their professional opinion on re-installing them to operate the way they were designed to operate. C&C Hydraulics apparently installed these on the truck without first checking and testing the valve body and without knowing how to hook the hoses up the valve body. I do not know why C&C Hydraulics would still install these cyclinders on the truck and make new hoses without the authorization of **** **** ****. **** **** **** had to remove these 2 "extend" cyclinders the following day, because we would not be able to manually extend the leg(s) as we were able to before. This was haphazard and unneccessary work to inflate their labor charges. **** **** **** has no information on what happened to the 4 hoses that were initially brought to C&C hydraulics. New hoses were made and installed and left capped and tied up in the back of the truck. Why would anybody want to pay for new parts that are not useable and fuctional?
 **** **** **** also disputes the amount of labor hours that we were billed for. We have never received a breakdown of labor costs specific to each job performed ie. mechanical labor vs. machine shop labor etc.  An example would be, a mechanic replaces your front brakes and spark plugs in your car. The requirement for billing is to separate the labor of the brake repair and the replacement of the spark plugs. We have only seen a lump sum charge for labor and dispute the amount of hours that we have been billed for, especially knowing that we could have had a new cylinder installed for a maximum of $2000.00 and our problem would have been fixed, not $3500.00 and a lot of time waisted. Based on what **** **** **** feels are fraudulently inflated repair charges we will not allow C&C Hydraulics to attempt to correct this problem a second time.
Sincerely,

 **** **** ****

Business Response:

I have investigated further and in depth, the repairs performed for **** **** **** and have questioned the employees who were dealing with *** of **** **** ****.

Those employees of C&C Hydraulics are:

Joe; Shop Manager.

Dave: Technician.

Marylou: Office Manager.

Robin: A/R.

Dave’s statement; when the customer (***) dropped off the machine, the customer wanted the vertical passenger outrigger removed and resealed and reinstalled. The customer also gave Dave (2) other hydraulic extension cylinders to service and wanted them installed.

*** also asked if we could make wear guides for the extension arms. We do not.

Dave informed *** at that time that he would bench test extension cylinders and would reseal them if he questioned their integrity since the cylinders had been sitting around for a long time (years).

They had never been installed or used.

Dave rightfully was concerned that the cylinder bore could have oxidized (rusted) seals could have been compromised. Dave reiterated that, he told *** what was going to be done to the cylinder when *** dropped them off with the Tow Truck.

Robin’s Statement; She assisted *** at the payment window when he came to pick up the truck. *** requested that the sales tax be taken off the invoice and *** supplied Robin with a resale certificate. Robin mentioned that if **** **** owns the truck, they should be paying the sales tax. *** insisted the resale certificate can be used and had Robin redo the invoice less the sales tax. She then collected a check and offered ***, the shop manager (Joe) if *** had any questions. *** declined, stated he was in a rush, and he left with the repaired truck.

Many days later Robin received **** **** ****’s cancelled check back from our bank.

Robin asked the personnel in our company if **** **** had informed C&C Hydraulics that there was a problem with the service we performed. **** **** never called C&C Hydraulics to make a complaint of the services performed.

She then called **** **** **** and Fred answered the phone. She asked for *** and Fred said *** was not available. Robin asked Fred why the check had been cancelled. Fred just asked Robin for our fax number and her email address. He then sent us the complaint they sent to the BBB. This was the first we knew of the complaint.

Marylou’s statement; I called and talked to *** on 10/7/2015. Marylou faxed and also emailed *** another copy of the invoice. *** made no complaints about the repairs performed.

Joe’s statement; *** brought in the used truck he recently purchased. He and Dave (technician) went over the repair request with ***. The requests were;

  1. Remove the rear passenger side outrigger, reseal the cylinder and reinstall. Work order #*****.

  2. *** supplied (2) separate cylinders and requested that they be serviced and installed in the extension legs. Work order #***** & #*****.

*** stated he bought the truck used and the previous owner gave these cylinders to him and said they were never installed by the manufacturer.

*** asked if we could plumb in and connect the two extension cylinder into the main hydraulic circuit.

Joe requested that **** **** (***) supply C&C Hydraulics with the documentation (instructions) from the manufacturer on how this is to be accomplished.

Throughout the repairs of the cylinders *** and *** communicated frequently via phone and email as *** was letting *** know that he was having a hard time getting the instructions requested. During these calls, *** was kept informed of the status of the cylinder repairs.

At the time the cylinders repairs were completed *** was still unable to supply the instructions requested and elected to pick up the Tow Truck.

C&C Hydraulics Inc. summary:

  1. This was the first repair C&C Hydraulics ever performed for **** **** ****. In good faith C&C Hydraulics accepted a company check from **** **** **** for services requested and performed. Lime Rock Auto put a stop payment on their check but never contacted C&C Hydraulics with any complaint of the repairs performed. On 9/29/2015 the owner of C&C Hydraulics sent an email to **** **** **** asking what problem they are having. To this date **** **** **** has not returned a response.

  2. By phone and email. *** was often in contact with *** and was kept aware of the cylinder repair status, while *** was communicating that he was still trying to supply instructions requested. (Email dated 9/11/15, *** sent to *** stating he did not hear from Miller Ind. Yet (the manufacturer). Email dated 9/14/15, *** asking ***, did he get the info yet). *** never supplied the information requested.  *** has saved these emails proving that *** was responsible to supply the instructions requested.

  3. On 9/18/2015 **** **** **** (***) decided to pick up the truck with cylinder repairs completed. *** said he was in a rush and did not have time to talk to Joe.

  4. Only after C&C Hydraulics responded to the BBB complaint and stated that **** **** **** never complained about the work performed, do they now (3 weeks after picking up the truck) do the say there is an issue with (1) of the (3) cylinders.

    C&C Hydraulics cannot acknowledge any defect as the customer has not shown us any defects.

    C&C Hydraulics offers a (1) year warranty on its labor & parts as stated on each invoice.

  5. **** **** **** is stating the repairs cost of the (3) cylinder with machining of the new pins and parts of $3,531.81 is too high.

    But they state that they can have one cylinder replaced (sight unseen) for $2,000.00. This has to be questionable.

    But C&C Hydraulics did not do just (1) cylinder. We did (3) cylinders plus more as stated above.

  6. As for our invoicing system. C&C Hydraulics is not an automotive repair shop; we are a hydraulics company and have been billing our private, Local, State and Federal agencies for 40 plus years without issues.

    **** **** **** was supplied with, hours worked on the job, hourly rate and the price of each part used in the job.

    If the customer would like any information more than what was supplied, all they needed to do was ask. But they never did.

     

    C&C Hydraulics feels, in short:

    This customer gave us a first time repair.

    They had no issues when they picked up the job (they did require us to remove the sales tax insisting to use their resale certificate they just supplied. Not paying sales tax my be a issue they can deal with the State of CT. if ever they are audited. I know we are required to pay sales tax when we make purchases for our equipment).

    With no notice, reason or complaint, they put a stop payment on their check and will not return correspondence.

    One can only question the integrity of a company who does business this way.

     

    Charles

    Date: 10/15/2015

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

**** **** **** has received the response from C&C Hydraulics. 
  Again, we are experiencing the rear stiff leg continuing to leak down. This was the primary reason for us bringing the truck to them.
 **** **** **** would welcome a third party inspection and repair at the expense of C&C Hydraulics, or if they have a surety bond they would like to use to pay for this. **** **** **** would gladly work with them and a mutually agreed upon company to correct the faulty repair work. **** **** **** will be having this cylinder replaced in the near future as this is what should have been done originally.
  As explained previously, we were quoted by *** ***** Towing Equipment in ********, **.   Dan in parts quoted the replacement cyclinder for $1200.00 and Tom Jr. Quoted the labor not to exceed $800.00. A new cylinder is $1025.21 on ****.com website.  The part number is ***-******* (the same cylinder is used on the front and rear outrigger) This is all verifiable with a phone call or by looking up the part number on ****.com. 
 Besides the faulty repair, **** **** **** also continues to dispute the labor time billed for. We question 29 hours of  labor. **** **** **** is not a local, state or federal agency, that uses taxpayer money to pay for work performed. As most of us have heard about out of control governmental spending. And because of this type of "Waste, fraud and abuse" is one reason why the Inspector General's office exists within many agencies. 
 In closing we are asking that C&C Hydraulics choose a ****** ********** Dealer (*********.com) that can replace the cylinder that wasn't repaired properly and we will schedule the inspection and repair with them. This shall then be evident of our complaint that the repair performed did not correct the problem with the hydraulic leg.

Sincerely,

***/**** **** ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on C & C Hydraulics, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)