BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Pro-Chek Home Inspection Services offer radon, mold and asbestos testing, and is a licensed radon lab. They are also a comprehensive home inspection company.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pro Chek Home Inspection Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pro Chek Home Inspection Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 29, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1989 Business started locally: 01/01/1989 Business incorporated: 07/23/1993 in CT
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mike Sudano, President Mr. Thomas J. Baldwin, Vice President Mr. Ed Milot, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Sudano, President
Business Category

Home Inspection Service Water Analysis Radon Testing & Service Mold Consulting & Testing Building Inspection Energy Management & Conservation Consultant Environmental & Ecological Services Building Inspection Services (NAICS: 541350)

Alternate Business Names
Home Chek Real Estate Services, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 100 Mill Plain Rd

    Danbury, CT 06811 (203) 830-4500 (800) 338-5050

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (203) 830-4500(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hired ProCheck for home inspectors as we were purchasing our home. We were informed mold was in the basement by ProChek however ProChek concluded it could be cleaned by the seller and it was not black mold. ProCheck then returned to ensure all repairs were done correctly by Seller and signed off on mold being cleaned. Two weeks after moving in we noticed mold behind a molding in our upstairs room, called an EPA mold remediator and they inspected the entire home. The mold remediator stated the mold was never cleaned in the one room of the basement that ProChek signed off on being cleaned and that in fact our basement was filled with high levels of black mold. ProChek did not note that there was water damage in other areas of the basement, which in fact had black mold. Our repairs cost $3400, this does not include the cost of having to install new walls and floors because they were removed during the remediation. We feel as buyers that we lost the opportunity to 1-negotiate repairs for seller to pay, 2-lower our bid price on the home, 3-walk away from the home purchase. We have not been able to move into our home yet and were stuck paying another month's rent in our apartment.

Desired Settlement: We would like ProChek to cover cost of remediation because repairs were signed off as being completed when in fact that area was not cleaned. Also, ProChek did not note water damage in other areas of the basement, as well as other areas in the basement having visible mold. If they were not professional mold remediators they should not advise clients that mold could be cleaned by themselves (sellers). Nor should they sign off on repairs of mold being cleaned if they are not trained to do so

Business Response:

Our firm performed an inspection for Mrs. Philios a* * ****** **** **** ** ********* ** on December 21st, 2013. At that time our report specifically identified the presence of mold (Pages 19 & 20) of the inspection report. Our responsibility as an inspection company is to alert the client to the presence of mold which we clearly did.

We do not have any knowledge of what client negotiate with sellers and in this particular case we do not know what Mrs. Philios requested the seller to do about the mold. At the time of the final walk thru  on February 17th, 2014 we checked to make sure all of the systems were wworking in the home and we checked to see if any seller repairs were made. What was presented to our inspector at that time did not include any mold mitigation documents by a professional environmental firm.

We explained to Mrs. Philios to check her contract with the sellers to see what she agreed to, if anything, regarding the removal of mold. Also, Mrs. Philios should have had an environmental firm in after getting our original report which identified the presence of mold. We do not understand why she waited until after her closing.

We have fullfilled our obligation to this client. We identified the presence of mold. It is her responsibility to understand what she negotiated with the seller.

Sincerely,

Michael Sudano

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: 10001866

I am rejecting this response because:  ProChek Home Inspections informed me the mold could be cleaned by the Seller and that it in fact was not toxic mold (our mold remediator found ************ and *********** - two types of toxic mold).  We trusted ProChek's response when they stated Seller could clean the mold.  At no point were we pointed to seek out a mold remediator because we were told the mold in the one area of our basement was effervescence/slight moisture.  After we negotiated that with Seller, ProChek then signed off on all repairs made to the contract were completed satisfactory by Seller (proof attached in original email/complaint and attached hereto Page 8).  ProChek's rebuttal to the BBB stated mold can be cleaned by remediator - how can they sign off on repairs being done then if they don't have any documentation of work being done?  Our two mold companies also stated the mold was not cleaned where Seller's had agreed and found mold in three other areas of our basement (two of which were visible and ProChek had failed to note in our inspection).  We would like monetary settlement for our loss.

Sincerely,

Robert Philios

Business Response: As we stated previously and as we reported in the inspection report, mold was identified. During the final walk thru we inspect to make sure all systems are functioning and we check items that the buyer advises us have been corrected by the seller. We do not conduct mold swab testing to determine the variety of mold. We identified the mold issue and we examined what we were told to examine at the final walk thru. The client should obtain documents from the seller to include copies of invoices to show what type of work was done to clean the mold that was reported to them in our report. We stand behind our reporting both during our initial inspection and our final walk thru.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

9/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/18/2012 Delivery Issues
1