BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Connecticut

This Business is not BBB accredited

Old Newtown Builders LLC

Phone: (203) 816-5116 Fax: (800) 858-8941 View Additional Phone Numbers   http://www.oldnewtownbuilders.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Old Newtown Builders LLC offers new home construction, remodeling, historic preservation, energy efficiency, home performance, green technologies, kitchens, baths, cabinetry and millwork, doors and windows, design/build, project management and consulting.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Old Newtown Builders LLC include:

  • Failure to respond to 3 complaints filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 30, 2008 Business started: 12/31/2004 Business started locally: 12/31/2004 Business incorporated: 02/09/2005 in CT
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. James M. Donnelly, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James M. Donnelly, Owner
Business Category

Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Windows - Installation & Service Doors - Installation Construction Management Home Design & Planning Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Building Restoration & Preservation Carpenters

Service Area
Western Connecticut

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 696

    Monroe, CT 06468

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 858-8941(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contractor lied about skills, work didn't meet quality, engineering & code requirements. Overcharged, stole materials, damaged prop and ran off with $ We hired *** ******** the owner of Old Newtown Builders, LLC in Monroe, CT to perform restoration and repair work on our barn. We signed a contract and were assured he was experienced and qualified to do the work. *** ******** / Old Newtown Builders, LLC was paid a considerable amount of money yet was unable to actually perform the work nor progress the project. Despite explicit guidance and support from the project engineer and abundant patience taking considerable time in weekly (lack of progress) meetings, what his attempts were of such poor workmanship and did not meet engineering guidance or specifications, quality or building code. We later learned that *** ******** / Old Newtown Builders, LLC overcharged for materials and labor and damaged our property. The estimate to remediate his failed work, repair and replace is over $50,000. *** ******** / Old Newtown Builders, LLC didn't meet any deadlines. Despite being severely behind schedule *** was only onsite 5 days in one month resulting in his own project deadline of 5 weeks extending into 4 months. Even then, not one part of the project was correctly done nor completed and none of his work passed ********** by the engineer or building inspector. In short, *** ******** / Old Newtown Builders, LLC fraudulently misrepresented his qualifications and the scope of his operations and capabilities. When *** ******** was simply asked on multiple occasions to remedy his numerous failings he packed up and left--with our money. He was then witnessed taking materials we were charged and had paid for and this has been reported to the Police. Despite our many payments to *** ******** / Old Newtown Builders, LLC, according to his subcontractors, they have not been paid. We have requested our money be simply returned but no response from *** ******** / Old Newtown Builders, LLC has been forthcoming. A detailed written assessment prepared with the guidance of the project engineer and his subcontractors (along with our written request for our money to be returned) is available and can be emailed for your review.

Desired Settlement: Either full refund of all money paid to *** ******** / Old Newtown Builders LLC ($11,116.52) and the release of his fraudulent property lien claim OR the cost for us to remediate and repair his failed efforts. We have already spent over $25,000 (paid invoices without labor) to date and are not close to being done correctiing his failings contained in the assessment.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

2/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/23/2013 Delivery Issues
10/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1