BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

This Business is not BBB accredited

Bartlett Contracting, LLC

Phone: (203) 633-4470 Fax: (203) 879-1288 1776 Meriden Rd, Wolcott, CT 06716 http://www.bartlettcontractingllc.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Barlett Contracting LLC offers home improvements, specializing in kitchen and bathroom remodeling, as well as porches, decks, and additions, and roofing and flooring.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bartlett Contracting, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bartlett Contracting, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 27, 2005 Business started: 01/01/2002 Business started locally: 01/01/2002 Business incorporated: 03/17/2003 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jason Bartlett, Owner Ms. Nancy Lucarelle, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Bartlett, Owner
Business Category

Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions Deck Builder Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Windows - Installation & Service Kitchen Cabinet Refacing Handyman Services Hardwood Floor Contractors Carpet & Rug Dealers - New Countertops Doors - Installation Floors - Hardwood Kitchen Cabinets & Equipment - Household Windows & Doors - Installation & Service Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Fire & Water Damage Restoration Contractor - Sheetrock Contractors - Flooring Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Kitchen & Bath Design Carpenters Contractors - Ceiling Basement - Finishing Drywall Contractors Carpet Installation Floors - Laminate Gutters & Downspouts Gutter Leaf Guards Contractors - Gutters Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Service Area
Connecticut
Additional Information

Monday thru Friday, 8am to 4:30pm

Industry Tips
Home Remodeling Contractors

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1776 Meriden Rd

    Wolcott, CT 06716 (203) 633-4470

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is in regard to a service and possible repair issue. Bartlett installed a roof approx. 6 years ago this fall. We have had a leak off and on for awhile. With all the rain in the past few months it has been happening more. We contacted Bartlett Contracting a few weeks ago informing him of the problem. We wanted an inspection to see where the water was coming in from. His response was that he was busy and would call the following week. Without hesitation he said it was a skylight over the phone but would call the next week to let us know when he could come over. Two weeks after our initial call and a follow-up call to him we have not been contacted. While on the phone per our conversation I felt the problem was being dismissed by ***** the owner. His company did the work initially and I would like the problem solved before it became a bigger problem. I wanted an answer to why there was a leak. I am disappointed to say that he does not stand by his work and past customers. I placed a call today 6/19/13 to ask what happened and he said he was swamped which led me to file this complaint. I believe 2 weeks is enough time to at least come and look at the problem.

Desired Settlement: I want someone from his company to inspect the area where the leak is. I will also get a second opinion so that I am sure the findings are the same since he was quick to say it was a skylight with out inspecting it and probably not the roof.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/21) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************@******* I called customer to explain why we could not go out to her house at this time. Do to work load of roofing formen that would have to inspect the skylight area. I thought that the customer wanted the issue taken care of right away. So I thought she would call a different roofing contractor since this is not a warranty issue with us. very sorry about the miscommunication & this should have been handled differently !! Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/06/26) */ From: ***** ********* Sent: Wednesday, June 26, XXXX XX:XX PM To: ********@********** Subject: Case #XXXXXXXX I submitted a response on the website June 24,2013 to the contractors explanation but I was told it was not received. We did receive a call from ***** ******** 6/21/13 . The conversation went as follows: He was very irritated that there was a complaint filed. I explained that we had a roof leak and wanted to have it checked before we had bigger issues. Since he installed the roof approx 6 years ago we thought he would be the one to call to inspect it. At no time did we say it was under warranty and expect something for nothing. We were prepared to pay for a repair if needed. He said he was extremely busy but would come and take a look. We felt he was putting us off because he never called back. ***** ******** informed me 6/21/13 that the real reason he does not want to work with us or inspect the roof was because he did an estimate for kitchen cabinets,flooring, molding and windows previously. He had quoted us a price to install the cabinets and then went up on the price if we did not purchase the cabinets from him. I felt that was unfair business practice. I do not see how not getting that job justifies not coming to look at a job he did and was paid promptly for. There was no resolution to the problem he told me to get someone else and gave me the name of another roofer. He also gave several reasons and excuses why my roof was leaking over the phone. His response reinforced that he never intended to follow up and we were being dismissed. I agree that it was handled badly and is a case of poor customer service. The complaint stands. Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/06/27) */ I CALLED THE CUSTOMER TO EXPLAIN WHY WE DID NOT GET BACK TO THEM AS PROMPTLEY AS THEY WOULD HAVE LIKED. AND TOLD THEM THAT WE WERE VERY BUSY AND THEY SHOULD HAVE A NOTHER ROOFER TAKE A LOOK BECUSE WE WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO TAKE CARE OF THE LEAK SINCE IT IS NOT A WARRANTY ISSUE. SHE EXPLAINED THAT THE LEAK IS NEAR & AROUND THE OLD SKYLIGHT. SHE DID NOT REPLACE THE SKYLIGHT WHEN THEY DID THE ROOF 6 YRS AGO. I TOLD THEM MOST LIKELY IT IS FROM THE SKY LIGHT SINCE IT IS IN THAT AREA AND THE ROOF HAS NEVER LEAKED DURING ALL THE BAD WEATHER IN THE PAST 6 YRS. I AM VERY SORRY !! Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2013/07/11) */ From: ***** ********* Sent: Friday, July 05, XXXX X:XX AM To: ********@********** Subject: case #XXXXXXXX I am following up to finish any loose ends or responses submitted that you have not received regarding this complaint to stay within our time frame to respond. The roof has leaked during bad weather in the past months. We did not get any solution to the problem. The response was to go to another roofer. ******** does not want to work with us or stand by his work. I think a consumer considering using this company should be aware of our experience. Thank you

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.