BBB Accredited Business since

Air, Inc.

Phone: (203) 315-0323 Fax: (203) 315-0344 View Additional Phone Numbers 171 Short Beach Rd, Branford, CT 06405 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.airinchvac.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Air, Inc. is a full service Heating and Air Conditioning Company. Service's they provide include but are not limited to: Maintenance Agreements (S.E.A.), Central Air Conditioning systems, Heat Pump systems, Furnaces (Oil, Gas and Propane), Boilers (Oil, Gas and Propane),Gas Stoves, Electric Furnaces, Water Heaters (Oil - Gas - Propane - Electric), Roof top Heating and AC Units, Ductwork, Zoning systems, Home Comfort System Inspections, Attic Fans, Central Humidifiers, Ultra Violet Lights, Electronic Air Filters, Indoor Air Quality Testing / Repairs, Chimney Lining, Gas Piping, and Thermostats. They also offer 24 Hour Emergency Service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Air, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Air, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Air, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 08, 2000 Business started: 10/02/1991 Business started locally: 10/02/1991 Business incorporated 10/02/1991 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
http://www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Wayne Krasnow, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Wayne Krasnow, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Geothermal Heating & Cooling Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Hydronic Heating Radiant Heating In-floor Heating Air Quality Service Fireplace Equipment - Retail Fireplaces Stoves - Wood, Coal Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Boilers - New & Used Boilers - Sales & Service Heating Equipment Furnace Sales & Service Furnace Cleaning Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Heat Pumps Heating Contractors Ventilating Contractors Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Alternate Business Names
Air, Inc. Heating & Air Conditioning

Additional Locations

  • 171 Short Beach Rd

    Branford, CT 06405 (203) 315-0323

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At issue is the cost paid for services rendered; the following statement chronicles the matter at hand. May 21, 2015 I discovered our water heater had failed overnight. The tank was leaking and we had no option but to turn off the water. I contacted AIR, Inc. when the office opened and a service tech arrived by early afternoon. After attempting to repair the problem, the tech determined the tank was defective citing the leak originated from a weld. 3:00 pm I contacted manufacturer ******* *********** and spoke with ***** who confirmed the tank was in fact under warranty. She stated AIR, Inc. could use their distributor to obtain the tank and ******* would then reimburse AIR for the expense. 4:08 pm I received a call from ****** at AIR, Inc. stating **** ******* would be providing a quote for the work to be done. She noted if the tank was not replaced on Friday, it would be replaced on Saturday. May 22 - 9:37 am **** ******* called to inform me that he was working with the distributer to secure the tank. I provided the contact information for ******* in order for him to confirm the tank was still under warranty. 10:20 am Mr. ******* quoted a price of $1736.00. He stated the price included labor and incidentals and that he was working on assigning the job. I questioned how the cost was determined as the tank was under warranty and asked if I would be receiving an itemized estimate. Mr. ******* stated the cost was predetermined for the job and was a set rate for the work to be done. 11:44 am I contacted Kelly at AIR, Inc. to ask if the diagnostic fee charged the previous day would be applied to any work performed and she stated it was. I then questioned how the cost was determined. Kelly noted Mark (*******) would know best what the breakdown would be. 12:30 pm I contacted Mr. ******* at AIR, Inc. to again request an itemized bill for the work to be performed so we could better understand what we were paying for. He reiterated the price was set by the company specifically for this type of job. I questioned whether the job was so costly because two technicians were being dispatched. Mr. ******* stated yes, the cost included two technicians and any miscellaneous equipment. May 25 - 6:30 pm I emailed Kelly @ AIR, Inc. to state that we were pleased with the service, but had concerns about the invoice received for the work performed. I stated we expected that an itemized invoice would be provided upon completion of the work, but only the final cost was available. I noted that we had requested an itemized bill on at least two occasions, but had not received one. May 31 I submitted a certified letter to the CEO of AIR, Inc. to inform him that we had questions concerning our service invoice, but had not yet received a response to our email message. I explained what had transpired, noting we were struggling to understand how our bill was calculated and would feel much more comfortable with an itemized invoice to better understand how the final cost was determined. I further noted that by all accounts, we overpaid for the work performed. June 8 - 9:39 am I received a call from Kelly at AIR, Inc. regarding the certified letter. She noted she had not received the email message that I sent. Kelly then explained that three technicians (one to transport the tank) were used for the job. She stated the estimated costs as: Materials 100.00 – 150.00 Travel 100.00 – 150.00 Labor 1436.00 Kelly confirmed there was no charge for the tank as it was under warranty. If the information provided by Kelly had been available prior to the installation, we would have elected to have the work performed by another company. We would never have paid 1436.00 for two hours work nor would travel expenses have been provided. I chose AIR, Inc. because the company had previously installed by furnace when converting from oil to gas. The cost was fair and the service was exceptional. The service was not an issue in this instance either, but we believe we overpaid for the services provided.

Desired Settlement: To be reimbursed a reasonable portion of the cost by agreement.

Business Response: We quote the full price and details of the work to the customer before commencing the work. The work is done after the customers approval. Our pricing includes the expenses of the company (payroll, insurance, truck expences...etc.) and materials at retail pricing plus a 20% profit. 

We treated this particular job as an emergency call due to the damage that would have occurred if we scheduled it at a later date.
What is the amount requested to resolve this issue?

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because fair disclosure in the form of an estimated invoice protects everyone and this situation could certainly have been avoided. We are requesting reimbursement of $500.00 to resolve this dispute.

Sincerely,

**** ********

Business Response: We will refund the customer $500 to resolve this complaint.

Thank you,
Wayne Krasnow

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Air, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart