BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Well Baskets, LLC offers healthy gift baskets and all-natural gift baskets for birthdays, holidays, and special occasions.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Well Baskets, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Well Baskets, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Well Baskets, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 31, 2007 Business started: 10/01/2003 Business started locally: 10/01/2003 Business incorporated: 11/10/2003 in CT
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Tamara Doherty, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tamara Doherty, Member
Business Category

Gift Baskets & Parcels Home Decor, Accessories & Gifts - Online Retailer Gourmet Shops Gift, Novelty, and Souvenir Stores (NAICS: 453220)


Additional Locations

  • 107 Church Hill Road, GL-1

    Sandy Hook, CT 06482 (203) 364-8618 (800) 582-6164

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 582-6164(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an item for a gift from Well Baskets on a Friday. That day I received a confirmation email saying the item would ship on Monday. On Monday afternoon, I was told it would be another week before the item shipped because "Unfortunately those dessert products are only made every other week so they are on a two week delivery schedule." This information was no where on the website or in the confirmation email. As the item was a gift, it was time sensitive. My experience with Well Basket's customer service was variable, ranging from friendly but of no help to rude (and it was mostly rude). Well Basket's solution was for me to buy a higher item price that they could ship out immediately. I pointed out that this felt a lot like false advertising and bait and switch practices. They offered me a 10% "Welcome" discount, which still made the price more than the advertised price of the item I had purchased. Although they have said they would offer me a refund (has not happened yet), it does not change my disappointment with the company, with their advertising practices, and with their customer service.

Desired Settlement: In addition to a refunding my money in full, I would like Well Baskets to accurately advertise their shipping practices so that the consumer may make an informed choice. Additionally, in the future, when they make a mistake, I would like to see them respond promptly, courteously, and offering solutions that are not akin to Bait & Switch.

Business Response: Unfortunately this fresh-baked item was unable to be shipped immediately, and we contacted the customer asking if waiting was an option.  Since it was not, we cancelled the order and refunded the entire cost.  In an effort to ship something immediately we offered the customer alternative suggestions from our internal warehouse, but none seemed to her liking.

With regard to posting time frames on our site, each of the vegan baked goods state that they ship from a separate facility and that delivery does not follow our posted time in transit map.

Since the customer has been issued a full refund, there doesn't appear to be any additional resolution necessary.


Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 9783192

I am rejecting this response because:

Although in-transit time would certainly vary as the other facility is on the other side of the country, this hides the fact that the shipment schedule for some products is only once every two weeks. Whether intentional or unintentional, a better business would provide as much information as possible regarding when a consumer can expect the goods to be delivered. Well Baskets uses ambiguous language and a set of product code distinctions, which make it difficult (actually impossible) for the consumer to know when to expect the product until after they have purchased and received a erroneous conformation email and, in my case, a full business day has lapsed before customer service sends another email. I think it is inappropriate for a confirmation email to be sent giving a shipment day that is blatantly inaccurate. Be a better business and provide all the information up front.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Henretty

11/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a gift basket for my seven year old granddaughter who just had surgery. First of all, they charged me over fifty dollars for shipping and I did not even know until I looked up the receipt when my daughter called to tell me what was in it. It was 35 dollars for a basket with assorted toys for a seven year old girl. What was in it was a bunch of junk. Dollar store books and a roll of duct tape they said you can use to make things out of. What kind of crap is that for a sick seven year old girl? And why did they not tell me that shipping was so much? It took two days to get there so it is not like it was overnight express. I filed for a refund with ****** so we will see what happens.

Desired Settlement: I have asked for a full refund. Eighty six dollars for a small gift basket is ridiculous no matter what.

Business Response: This issue has been resolved amicably with the customer. *lease see below for a copy of the transcript posted on ****** where the dispute was initiated.

From Buyer - Lester Oelze

10/2/2013 19:39 EDT

I ordered a gift basket for my 7 year old granddaughter who just
had surgery and first of all, they charged me over $50 for shipping for a $35
gift basket to be delivered and it still took 2 days. Then she gets the basket
and there is just a few books in it and these are things that are above her age
level. And duct tape. They sent her duct tape. That is ridiculous. I am sending
her another basket from somewhere else and I want my money back for this order.
And they should have informed me of the shipping cost before I accepted the
order. Why would anyone pay $50 to ship a $35 basket of junk?

Well Baskets LLC denied Lester Oelze's request for a $86.85 USD refund.

10/2/2013 21:50 EDT

From Seller - Well Baskets LLC

10/2/2013 21:50 EDT

I'm sorry you were disappointed. Shipping costs are viewable prior
to checkout by scrolling down under the shopping cart and entering the zip
code. I'm also sorry you were disappointed in the contents--most children love
creating projects with duct tape.

From Seller - Well Baskets LLC

10/2/2013 21:53 EDT

I'm sorry for the disappointment. All shipping costs are able to
be calculated once an item is placed in your shopping cart--scroll underneath the
cart to see the shipping calculator. I'm also sorry you were disappointed in
the contents. We chose items based on the age and gender, and, with regard to
the duct tape, most children very much enjoy creating items (wallets, belts,
change purses, etc) with it.

From Buyer - Lester Oelze

10/2/2013 22:51 EDT

The shipping costs did NOT show on the checkout and yes I scrolled
all the way down to the bottom. I do much of my shopping online and use ******
for a lot of my transactions but I have never had an issue. And sending a child
duct tape and books she cannot read is a ridiculous thing to do as well. I will
not be doing business with you any more and will be filing a claim with the
Better Business Bureau.

From Buyer - Lester Oelze

10/2/2013 22:58 EDT

The shipping costs did NOT show on the checkout and yes I scrolled
all the way down to the bottom. I do much of my shopping online and use ******
for a lot of my transactions but I have never had an issue. And sending a child
duct tape and books she cannot read is a ridiculous thing to do as well. I will
not be doing business with you any more and will be filing a claim with the
Better Business Bureau.

From Seller - Well Baskets LLC

10/4/2013 17:12 EDT

Again, I am very sorry you were disappointed. I can assure you
that we do have a shipping calculator on our website that is directly below the
shopping cart once you enter an item. I understand that you are unhappy with
your purchase, and we can certainly provide a refund for the gift basket if you
return the merchandise to us. *lease return the item to:

WellBaskets.com - Returns

c/o Wishing Well

107 Church Hill Road

GL-1

Sandy Hook, CT 06482

*lease be sure to include your order number ***** either on the
outside of the box or on a slip of paper inside the box.

From Buyer - Lester Oelze

10/7/2013 10:28 EDT

Okay, well I am NOT going to take the gifts away from the child.
Even though they were not what I expected she seems like she likes them. I
guess it is fine and maybe I did miss the shipping charge page, I dont know.
Just forget it.