BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Hocon Gas, Inc. specializes in residential and commercial propane gas, alternative fuel and autogas service. The business services include but are not limited to propane gas delivery, gas appliance sales, installation, service and more.  


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hocon Gas, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hocon Gas, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 21 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

21 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 8
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 21

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hocon Gas, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1984 Business started: 01/01/1952 Business started locally: 01/01/1952 Business incorporated 10/26/1961 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
http://www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Gable, President Mr. Charles Booth, General Manager Mr. William J. Cummings, VP of Operations Mr. Gerard LeFrancois, General Manager Mr. Frank Loyot, Vice President Mr. David McGuire, Director of IT and Risk Mr. Richie O'Niel, General Manager Ms. Connie Reccardo, General Manager Mr. Gino Tarantino, Vice President-CFO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. William J. Cummings, VP of Operations
Principal: Mr. David Gable, President
Business Category

Gas - Propane - Equipment & Supplies Water Heaters - Dealers Water Heaters - Repairing Appliances - Major - Dealers Gas Burners Gas - Propane Propane Gas Plumbing Plumbing and Heating Equipment and Supplies (Hydronics) Merchant Wholesalers (NAICS: 423720)

Alternate Business Names
Hocon Gas of Danbury Hocon Gas of Guilford Hocon Gas of Norwalk Hocon Gas of Torrington Hocon Gas of Waterbury Hocon Propane

Additional Locations

  • 20 Railroad Hill St

    Waterbury, CT 06708 (203) 754-7601

  • 2407 Winsted Rd

    Torrington, CT 06790 (860) 626-0900

  • 33 Rockland Rd

    Norwalk, CT 06854 (203) 925-0600 (203) 853-1500

  • 6 Armstrong Rd

    Shelton, CT 06484

  • 715 Boston Post Rd

    Guilford, CT 06437 (203) 458-2790

  • 86 Payne Rd

    Danbury, CT 06810 (203) 744-4000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/19/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I cancelled my service with Hocon Gas because I was able to receive a better price from my oil co. Hocon charged me over $5.00 a gal. and the oil co. a little over $1.00 a gal. I am contacting you do to the fact that Hoccon charged me $75.00 to pick up the tank and then told me I would not receive a credit for the propane remaining (80% filled) because I only used the propane for cooking and was considered a minimal user. I think this is a lousy way to do business. Now, I wonder if they gave that propane to another user and charged them for the tank that I already sent payment to them.

Business Response:

 

We have checked in to the complaint from Mrs ****** her account was on a minimum usage contract  [9gallons per year ] we are adjusting her account to have a $0 ballance

 

Richie O*****

General Manager

Hocon Gas, Inc.

Waterbury, CT

Phone: ###-###-####

Fax: ###-###-####

 

1/21/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Recently the gauge on one of the tanks I rent from Hocon broke. I had to make an appointment for it to be fixed. When they came out I also needed to have a thermo coupler unit fixed on one of the inside units. It took about 40 minutes to replace the thermo coupler. I was shocked when I got a bill for 268 dollars. The bill was broken into 99$ for a service call 18 for the part and 150 for Labor. I assumed I was being charged for the gauge being fixed. When I called on january 8 I was told I was not being charged for both and that the minimum sales charge was 250 an hr. I asked for the manager and left a message. he called back on january 21 and told me its actually a minimum of 286 dollars an hr which is outrageous. he said the minimum price went up

Desired Settlement: They had to come out and fix my tank anyway. So waive the 99 dollars for the 'Service call" and ill pay 150 for the labor. Going forward I certainly know not to call hocon for any maintenance. Its unfortunate that I will have to wait until my contract runs out and go somewhere else if I ever need maintenance again. I cant believe a company can be allowed to lock people into long term contracts and then charge astronomical prices to fix heating componenents in the North East. I recently had to go off Auto refill because someone would unnecessarily come out every two weeks to top off my tanks and charge a 9 dollar hazmat fee each time which of course isnt written in the contract

Business Response: I am going to agree to take off the $99.00 because we do want you to stay as a customer. I do not agree with your conclusion. I took my truck yesterday to get my breaks checked. The fee was $100.00 to just look at the truck for diagnostic purposes. Then I paid $1000 to get the truck new breaks. I DROVE TO THEM! We come to you. We ask for $100 to come out and then $150 per hour. We are no different than any service company. I recently paid $350 and $400 to have two septic tanks pumped at two different locations. We charged you $268.00. We are not that unreasonable. I will pay over $500 for a service contract for my oil furnace. We are one of the only companies to maintain a full service department in the state of Connecticut. I would be happy to talk to you about this on the phone. Best regards, Bill C*******. VP. Operations Hocon Gas.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* *****

7/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Being a first time home buyer I transferred services over from the last owner into my name and soon found out the Hocon was more expensive and had poor customer service when calling the office. I decided to shop around and found another local company that gave me a rate of $1.75 less and made the choice to switch. At this point I called Hocon and cancel service and was not told about the hidden cancellation fees or that I was going to be charged anything, the woman ******** asked why I want to switch and to whom I was switching to. Later about 3 months later I got in the mail a bill for $322.13 for early contract termination. I called Hocon and asked if she could fax me over a copy of the contract so I could see where a numerical fee was listed for termination of services, none was found. I emailed ******** and asked what can be done about the bill and was never contacted this was on May 8th, I sent out another email to confirm receipt of the the last email and I did not get a response this was June 22nd. SO as of June 26th I received a letter from collections for the billed amount. So after trying to resolve the matter with Hocon It is frustrating that the bill was sent to collections. I am vary disappointed with Hocon and as a new customer and first time home buyer I would have expected far better service and communication from them I switched from due to the high price per gallon and not then send me a bill 3 months later for a unreasonable amount that they done even want to reason about. Being in the customer service industry working for **** I would never treat my customers the way they treated me. If ******** stated there was fees for canceling and disclosed that to me I would have been able to make an informed choice and not be blindsided.

Desired Settlement: The bill was sent to collections and I wanted to resolve the matter with Hocon. I want them to credit me for the $322.15 so I can pay the collection agency as not to affect my credit.

Business Response:

Sent: Wednesday, July 01, 2015 12:30 PM
To: ******* ******* ******* ********
Subject:

 

******* *****

Manager Marketplace Operations BBB

 

Complaint #********

This is in response to Mr ********* complaint 1st off Hocon Gas has no customer with the name ***** ******* however we do have a customer named ***** ***** at *** ******** **** * in ********* ** . On 8/26/14 ***** ***** signed a Residential Supply Agreement with Hocon Gas at that time Hocon gave her two options 18 months or 24 months at a price per gallon of $2.37

She chose the 18month . At that time ***** signed all the paperwork and initialed all 3 spots on the back of the agreement with all the terms of the agreement .On 9/3/14 Hocon did a safety ck on her system and filled both tanks . On 2/18/15 ***** called and said to pick up your thank that he had some other gas Co come in to supply there propane needs at that time ***** was told of the liquidated damages that were signed by ***** . Do to all the snow we were able to pick up our tanks on 4/8/15 both tanks were empty and our regulator was missing we billed ***** for the remainder of her agreement and a regulator .

 

****** ******

General Manager

Hocon Gas, Inc.

********** ** ****** ************ **** ************

 

Consumer Response: In regards to Hocons statement that the regulator was missing, I called and had the tanks disconnected and put to the side with all parts. There is no reason to keep a old regulator. I stated prior I never was told about the charges as I would have thought over the cancelation further. So" 1st off " that's the main issue. We, Ms.**** and I were never give the chance to make an informed decision about the account. That is the main problem, along with this "missing regulator". I  received a email from ******** on June 26th stating that the charges were in internal collections and that she would be happy to speak to the general manager to wave the charges. Considering that the  correspondence was 50 days late it was appreciated. 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

***** *******

Business Response:

Carolyn Betts

Better business Bureau

Complaint #********

 

Hocon Gas agrees to disagree Ms ***** Did brake her contract with Hocon Gas on 2/18/15 when ***** called to have us pick up our tanks .He never called before  to ask about a contract he just went and changed company’s . As for the Regulator it was new when we did a safety check in September . Because Hocon is a family owned company and understand times that people do make mistakes we will let Ms ***** out of her contract and credit her account so she will have a $0 balance .

 

****** ******

General Manager

Hocon Gas, Inc.

********** **

Phone: ************

Fax: ************

 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,
***** *******

5/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed with Hocon Gas on 8/9/13 and was assured that I could cancel the delivery contract at any time without penalty. Unfortunately, there was small print on the back of their multipart contract forms which states a 5 year term. This was very deceptive, especially when directly lied to by their salesperson who falsified the terms. I also basically get nothing for agreeing to such a long term (in other words, it is a one sided contract normally considered illegal and invalid). Now they wish a settlement penalty of $4,067.86 to terminate said contract.

Desired Settlement: Due to the deceptive and one-sided nature of said 5 year contract commitment, Hocon should agree to terminate said contract without the described penalty. I have already paid deceptively high propane prices from them for nearly 2 years, and they should have no claim to the amount stated.

Business Response: In response to Mr ********* complaint I have talked with my corporate office we don't know how Mr ******* thinks Hocon would have him sign a one sided contract he asked for and signed up with Hocon to supply his propane needs . Hocon will offer Mr ******* a 12 month supply agreement with a locked in rate if not and  Mr ******* is that unhappy with Hocon's service then we will let him out of his supply agreement at no penalty . THANK YOU ****** ****** General Manager ********* Office

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I wish to accept the immediate cancellation of the contract at no penalty.

Sincerely,

********* *******

5/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am filing this compliant in an attempt to collect out-of-pocket expenses ($88 in lost wages and $126.56 in outside services to reset and restart my boiler) from Hocon Gas at ** ***** **** in ******** **. These expenses were incurred when I ran out of gas on 02.13.2015 as a result of the fact that Hocon neglected to automatically fill my tanks in January as per our agreement. I have tried to resolve this matter on numerous occasions, speaking to ******* on 2/18 and leaving a message 3/4, speaking to *** on 3/20 and again on 4/24, speaking to *** on 4/10 and leaving numerous voicemail messages for *** **********, the General Manager...all to no avail as not one of them followed-through and/or returned my calls.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking to be reimbursed by Hocon in the amount of $214.56, which includes $88 in lost wages and $126.56 paid to **** ***** ***, Inc to reset and restart my boiler.

Business Response: I have spoken to Mrs. ****** and we will be issuing her a credit for the amount in dispute.  She happily accepted our offer.  Thank you.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ******

4/23/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last September I informed HOCON that I DO NOT WANT automatic delivery and that myself or my wife will call to schedule a delivery.Im a Govt Sub contractor and Im away for extended periods of time.Hocon Has Made two automatic Deliveries while I was overseas and Each time My wife told the Driver to STOP further deliveries due to our installation of an Inground propane tank in the near future we will use up what propane we have in the 2 leased tanks and call Hocon to pick up thier tanks!I recieved another delivery on 4/2/15 178.3 gals at a whopping $4.55 a Gal?Bill total of $811.30I called their answering service and they have yet to return my call.I am fustrated with this company that doesnt listen to their customers request. I want them to take their Bottles off my property ASAP!As for the bill they can Have the Propane back that I did not authorize to be delivered!

Desired Settlement: either take their bottles away and give me credit for the propane I already had in the tank or they can transfer the 178.3 Gals back into the truck. then Ill call to have them pickup their bottles once empty.

Business Response: Hello, we have spoken to the customer and we will be removing the tanks if possible by the end of the week. the customer said he will be installing a underground tank in the future. i feel that we have taken care of any issues. thanks

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:Yes they did come and take my tanks Last friday.  but i Now have issues with the fact that they are billing me over $400? I still had 21 Gals of propane in the tank when they filled 178 gals ( I had 2, 100 gal tanks)

So the math does not add up? At best the furnace used maybe 12 gals of propane in the 7 days since they filled the tanks. This is why businesses like this need to be regulated by the state.

I am presently away from Home but wife stated to me via phone that hocon sent 3 bills all with differing amounts?

I will provide the bill amounts once im back home.

I also filed complaint with connecticut comsumer protection.
Sincerely,

***** **** 

Business Response: hello, his balance is currently $115.00. we have read the gauges and credited the amount that the gauges said were in the tank. we will locte those tanks and weigh them to make sure the credit gallons are correct. if there is any additional fuel credit, we will make add to his account. thanks *****

3/31/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have rented a tank from Hocon ********* for 7 yrs now and every time I get a delivery I have to call about the high price they charge On Feb 24, 2015 I received a 300 gallon delivery and was charged $4.34 per gallon I researched other gas companies and was quoted prices from $1.97 to $2.12. When I called Hocon to question why the price was so high they lowered it from $4.34 to $3.40 My bill went from $1300 to $1020. I was told the price was due to my consumption being low and my tank being to big for my needs. I have been a customer for over 7 years and feel Hocon should be able to better regulate my deliveries according to my 7 years of usage. I don't have the option of buying elsewhere because I rent my tank from them. I feel I am being price gouged .

Desired Settlement: I feel a more reasonable rate should be charged and my account adjusted accordingly and a fee negotiated for me to buy the tank Not the $3300 plus tax and a fee to remove the lien

Business Response:

******* ***** BBB

Complaint #********

 

In response to case #******** Mrs ******** has been a customer of Hocon gas since 2007 at that time Mrs ******** chose to lease a 1000gal underground propane tank from Hocon for her heating needs . She signed a contract and understood the terms of buying it outright if she chose to . Hocon gas has been in business of over 60 years and we feel we give our customers a fair completive price for their propane needs . As for other  gas company’s quoting low introductory prices that is a common practice for a company to do to gain new customers . Hocon offers a pre buy and lock in price in August that Mrs ******** has never chose to do . As you can see we did try to help her on her last delivery by lowering her price .

****** ******

General Manager

Hocon Gas, Inc.

********** **

Phone: ************

Fax: ************

 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
COMPLAINT #********
Ms. *****,
This is in response to the recent communication you received from Hocon Gas regarding my complaint filed on March 25, 2015. I do not accept nor agree with the response that they have provided. There is nothing listed in my contract regarding a minimum gallon delivery. Hocon Gas has consistently told me that I am charged more because my consumption is low. I don’t feel it is appropriate to charge me more just because I don’t use as much as they deem acceptable.
In regards to their response that the low quotes I received from other companies are first time customer, introductory rates, this is also incorrect. I specifically asked each company if the prices they were quoting me were indeed first time customer, introductory rates and they said they were not special rates.
In addition, Hocon Gas indicates that they “helped me” by lowering my most recent invoice, however it was lowered from $4.34 a gallon to $3.40 a gallon, which is still significantly higher than the other companies that I called. The highest quote I received was only $2.12.
Finally, they mention a “pre-buy and lock in price” available in August, however I have never been notified of this as a possible option for me.
I am not happy with the response they provided and do not accept it as a resolution to my complaint.
Thank you for your time and assistance, MS. ****** ********

Business Response:

MS. ********,

We do not say you have to take a minimum gallon delivery we do say that we have a minimum usage. You have a tank in the ground that belongs to us. You leased the tank from us. You could have paid for the tank up front and we offered to sell you the tank at the beginning of the agreement. You choose not to. What else can we do?

On Pricing. Let me try to explain. if you used 3000 gallons per year would you expect to be charged what someone who used 200 gallons per year was charged? I think not. You would come back and say to me why do I pay the same as them I use more.  How do I know this?. I have been in this business for 30 years and it is always an issue. If I try to have flat pricing someone is always upset with us. So we base our price on volume. The more you use the cheaper the price.  We lowered your price to $3.40 per gallon. Why do you pull your car up for gasoline and think nothing of paying $3.20 per gallon? YOU drive there. I take my gas to you! That is why our price is higher than you would pay for gas for your own car.

The places you have received quotes from are giving you an introductory rate. I don't care what they are telling you. If you can get a contract for one year for $2.12 per gallon you are welcome to purchase the tank or have the competition drop the same size tank in my yard. I want to see the contract you sign first. The competition needs to build gallons. They low Ball the market to grow their business pure and simple.

A pre buy is not always advertised. We have minimums there too. 500 gallon per year or more and you did not meet that minimum. But we try to accommodate when we can.

So I have given you several options to try to resolve this issue. I hope this helps.

Best regards,

**** ********

Vice President of Operations

 

3/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They claim a delivery was made. I was home at the time and I saw the truck pull up but didn't pay anymore attention to it. I went out later to retrieve the bill that is usually left in my mailbox or front door. There was no receipt anywhere. There was a few inches of snow on the ground and there was no footprints to my tank nor evidence of a hose being dragged along the ground. I remembered I had not paid my bill and that they will sometimes not deliver if there is a balance, so I assumed this was the case. I later paid my bill that evening and couple of weeks later received a bill for this "delivery". I called the following day and reiterated what happened and said there must be a mistake. They checked their records and found a receipt of delivery. Impossible. Did they fly it in or maybe use a hoverboard? So basically they said I'm a liar. I told them I was not paying for this delivery and to stop future deliveries. They then proceeded to remove my tanks within the hour. They did credit me for what was left in the tanks and for my lease on the tanks. If you analyze their deliveries and do some simple math, you can tell this delivery could not have happened. It's mathematically impossible, and I know it didn't happen because there was no physical evidence that it could have. Anyone can produce a receipt. I just don't understand how a company can be so unethical. The sad thing is that my new company is 1/3 of their price, so not only have they been ripping me off for years, they are falsifying deliveries.

Desired Settlement: I just want the delivery they claimed to have been made on January 26th to be removed and my balance refunded. It didn't happen. No way, no how.

Business Response:

I had spoken to this guy right after we delivered and explained to him that I check with the driver and we did indeed deliver to him, he said that we didn’t and to pickup the tanks. So we did. Then I received a certified letter from him basically saying that there is no way we delivered. I then went back again to Mark and confirmed that we did deliver. I then went back through the manifest for that day. Mark was in that neighborhood that day and his address fits into the route. I went into his account and check the gps stamp for that account that gets updated each time we deliver and it matched his account. I wrote a letter back and enclosed my confirmation of his delivery along with the gps  identification. Along with a copy of his delivery ticket. Im waiting on his response.

Consumer Response:  
********** ********
I am rejecting this response because:

First of all, I never said**** wasn't here.  I've always said I saw him pull up.  He was here, so I have no issue with the GPS stamp.  I didn't sit by the window and watch him after I saw him arrive.  When i went out to retrieve the receipt there was none, which he always either leaves in the mailbox or front door.  There was about 5 or so inches of snow on the ground. There should have been footprints and hose marks to the tanks and there was none.  I know you won't normally deliver if there is a balance, so i assumed that was the case.  I then went inside to pay online hoping for a delivery a short time after.  A few weeks later i received your bill for this supposed delivery to my dismay.  If you use some simple mathematics, which i described in my letter, you can see this delivery is just not possible.  It doesn't add up at all.  Nothing does.  Your "receipt" looks like none that i have received in the past.  Maybe you changed your design of it recently, but if you look at the time stamps it shows he was here for 1 minute.  This is odd since it usually takes him about 5-10 minutes according to the receipts i have from the past.  I think he printed it out in error when he found out i had a balance and that's why he didn't leave it.  Maybe the previous house he was at had a delivery of 148 gallons and that was still in the register and it got put into my account by accident.  There's always the possibility that he used a drone to fly to my tanks I guess.  Do you really think i would be putting up a stink about this for no reason?  Put yourself in my shoes and understand how you would feel.  An error was made and I don't see why I should have to pay for it.

Sincerely,

******* *******

Business Response: Good Day, after further review of our records and with the driver, we have determined that the delivery was indeed made. we are sorry that we cant agree on the outcome. therefore we need to agree to disagree. thanks 

 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

Whatever.  See you in court

Sincerely,

******* *******

3/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hocon called to collect a past due balance from me and informed me that there was a fee associated with any past due balances of $26.00. I informed them that I was not aware of this and that I do not have a contract with them or received information from HOCON regarding late charges, fees or penalties. I asked the person who claimed to be the office manager if I gave her me debit card over the phone could she waive the late charge and deliver as soon as possible. She said 'absolutely not' and proceeded to explain to me how if I was late in payment with my credit card company and / or my **** bill that I would be shut off from the service regardless and that HOCON was not going to be in my area for at least another week. I explained that they are not a credit card company because they did not provide a contract explaining their interest charges in writing as credit card companies do and that they are not a public utility like **** because they do not have to go to the state to get a rate increase and further explained that her demeanor was bullying and asked to speak to the **. The ** was professional and helpful and I met with him in person the next day, paid my bill including the late charge and they delivered with in 24 hours. I was billed over $400.00 for 97 gallons of propane.

Desired Settlement: credit me the 26 bucks on my account and try not to be so abusive to people who have been customers of theirs for 10 or more years.

Business Response:

We will credit the $26.00 charge from ** ******* account today. I will contact him as well to advise the charge is being removed

***** *******

Office Manager

Hocon Gas of ********

*********************

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *******

10/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To Whom It May Concern,My name is ***** *** ** *** ****** ***** ****** ******** **. I have contact **** ******** from Hocon Gas, Inc. came to my house for an estimate on a propane tank installation for my stove, dryer and fireplace insert back in November, 2013.**** had provide me an written estimate of less than $1500 for the initial setup and $95/hr labor on the second work order of finial conversion on the appliances.The technician who did the initial setup and finial conversion was not anywhere near ready to do the job. He does not power on his power tool, and did not even bring a charger. The worst yet, he had to call my sell rep **** in the middle of the work to help him out because he did not have the necessary tool to his job. The same technician did it again when he came for the finial conversion on my appliances without a appropriate tool. Both times, he ended up having to borrow the battery charger from his co-worker who was at my house for less than an hour (but they billed me for two hours) and tools from me and my other contractors who were doing other jobs at the house.There were a lot of time wasted by this technician due lack of tools, but they billed me the time anyway. The service manager from their Waterbury office had to come help him out during both occasions, because the technician did not finish the job on time due to lack of tools.Hocon Gas, Inc sent me a bill later on for over $2000 on the initial setup and that is 25% ($500) over their estimate. I had dispute with that charge and tried work with them on the bill, but it took them a moth to get me a dissatisfy answer. At meantime, they charge me a finance fee on the disputed invoice. The worst yet, they refuse to refill my propane tank if I do not paid them in full of the disputed charge.I felt that I am a victim of a rip-off by a dishonest business practice from Hocon Gas, Inc, and they are holding me hostage during this cold winter days.Sincerely,***** ***

Desired Settlement: I want them to credit me back at least three hours of labor time that they over charged me and refill my tank ASAP.

Business Response:

The Customer is obligated to pay everything but disputed amount. We are not holding him hostage he owes us money. This is a case of unjust enrichment. Unless he pays us everything but disputed amount we will not deliver.

?

I went over ** ***** bills like we have in the past we gave credit before for $108.00 labor back on 1/31/13 and we thought we were done till this letter .The reason for the credit in the 1st place was my fault with adding up labor cost on the install, helper was only there 2hrs of the  total job job {we gave credit ]next it is not true about ***** not having the proper tools **** was there to ck of job and help out ,**** doesn’t have tools . As for the extra charge for labor that was at the final all appliances were to be set up for lp but weren’t so we had to convert all of them [note **** had told him that there would be extra if they weren’t set for lp] and Mr new this .We have tried to work this out but mr is not easy to work with .see all notes on his act #******  . In the proposal on top states that the cost may vary up or down if original quote is changed .Please let me know what else we can do for him  this is for f/p cook and dryer not heat  also install was done on 12-26-13 with top off we made a gas automatic del  on 1-15 14 still no money has never paid a penny so we did give him gas but now his del’s are on hold

 

****** ******

 

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I want to clarify several things from *** ******** response to my initial complain.

Frist of all, this is the first response from *** ****** ever since I had complaint to HOCON, Gas when I got the over charged bill.  I had made numerous calls to their billing department and each time they deferred me to either the service manager in *********, or my sales rep.  I found it is very unprofessional for *** ****** to make certain assumptions in his statement without any direct communication with the customer.

The helper who came the first time for the installation was there less than an hour, not two hours as their technician Jason had reported.  The fact the helper never stepped a foot in my house, and the only thing he did was help ***** to setup the tank.  It did not take two hours for two guys to just setup a 125gl propane tank.

If ***** had all the proper tools, why would he have to borrow from other peoples including my other contractors and me?  Why would he have to call **** to come to help him out?  It happened **** was nearby and was able to come.  What happens if **** is not available that day and who is going to come to help him out?  ***** was just standing there in my basement till someone showed up; because he told me he did not have the tool to hold the line.  The similar thing happened again when Jason came back for the finial conversion of dryer and stove.  He spend at least an hour just try to open the cover because he did not have the right tool and he ended up borrow the tool from one of my other contractors doing other works at that time.  The fact they knew that was going to be ******* last week with HOCON GAS, he was not material and mentally prepared to do the job.  But they sent him anyway because the company charges by the hour.

I found it is really outrages when *** ****** stated that “we made a gas automatic del  on 1-15 14 still no money has never paid a penny” without even look at my account.  I have pull a transaction report on my account from their company website, and it clearly showed that I paid them $270.76 on 01/14/2014, $115.82 on 01/31/2014 and another payment of $174.15 on 02/10/2014.

I want to make it clear, that the fireplace run on propane is my major heat source in the house and I have made that clear with **** and their service manager **** on numerous occasions.  They knew it well and they are using it hold against me till I paid them the over charges.

Put it aside whether their business practice is legal or not, but it is definitely unethical.

Sincerely,

***** ***

Business Response:

this is a copy of the proposal that **** gave *** *** on top it does say cost may vary if quote was changed and it was we were over $141.15 on materials and $171.10 over on labor the final was $285.00 because we had to convert all appliances that were to be done before we got there but weren’t .On 1-31-14 we gave back $115.82 in credit for labor and if you remember you told us to give him a fill up till this was resolved .we thought this was all set but he still has not paid his balance and I have not heard from him. As for the letter he sent I talked to **** and he said the statements mr made were not true there was a lot of work there and **** stopped by to see how the job was going not to help them.

Please see attachment

 

****** ******

General Manager

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Dear Consultant,

Please find a copy of my account statement with all the transactions from HOCON Gas.  I downloaded it off their company website.

My complaint is against first two invoices ****** of $1948 and ******** of $308, in particular the first one of $1948.  It is $474.10 higher than their sale associate **** had quoted me.  I don’t understand why *** ****** is continuing to miscalculate the amount of difference, and insist the higher charge was due to conversion of the appliances.  The fact is they did not convert any appliance in the first trip that was invoiced $1948.  The conversion was done on the second trip that was billed at $308 for just the dryer and stove.

It is very absurd that *** ****** continue making the false statement that “we thought this was all set but he still has not paid his balance and I have not heard from him”As you can see on the attached transaction statement, I had made numerous payments as early as 01/14/2014 and up to 02/11/2014.

I had contacted HOCON Gas many times and they insist that I have to pay the balance in full in order for them to deliver the fuel and continuing press with finance charge on the disputed balance.

Just for the record, their technician called **** for help on the day of initial installation, and **** came to hold the gas pipe behind my house and we even had brief conversation about it.  I was there very second through entire installation.

It is very troubled to me that they show no intention to address customer complaint and continue making false statements in the public eyes.

I want them to credit me the overcharge of $500 for both invoices and finance charge back to my account.

Sincerely,

***** ***

Business Response:

Hocon Gas and *** *** came to an amicable resolution on March 10, 2014.  He has since paid the remainder of his account balance and has continued doing business with Hocon Gas, Inc.

 

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at ###-###-#### or *******************.  Thank you.

 

Regards,

5/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In December 2013 I called for service as my gas heating unit was not working properly and the house was freezing cold. The Hocon service after several calls arranged for a repairman to come. He replaced a pump and it seemed like it worked ok. However within a couple of days I saw that it was leaking in my basement and called and said it was not working correctly. The repairman came back and said it was defective, they would put a temp in and order a new one. The fact was it did not recirculate the water out of the system and after he left I saw there was a leak and I took the necessary action with pots to capture the leakage. I paid promptly the bill of $434.06 and although I called Hocon and asked for the correct work order be copied and sent to me ( they had sent me someone else's) I never got it. the proper part was installed about a week later and I got another bill for $309.97. I called and said I should not have to pay a penny because this was their fault and please look into it. The wom,an who answered said she would get back to me- she never did. I did get a bill that took off the part and the tax for it. I see no reason why I should pay more. If this is the game they play then what would have prevented them from once again installing a defective part and then charge once again the $75 service call, the $125 labor charge the fuel surcharge of $4.99 and shop supplies of $12.95? the short answer is NOTHING.They claim on their voice message they provide " EXCEPTIONAL SERVICE"- I think they should rethink that statement.

Desired Settlement: zero out my account balance-

Consumer Response:

 


This complaint has been settled and I would like to withdraw my filing

Please confirm you have noted and done so. Thanks very much for your help

*** *******

 

5/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called Hocon for estimate on hooking up gas log insert in my fireplace. **** came out to assess the house - said all was fine. Convinced me to rent 100 gal horizontal tank from them. It took me 3 wks of calling to get the quote. On the day scheduled for hookup, they came with the wrong tank and ***** told me that my fireplace cleanout was full of ash and the job couldn't be done - told me to hire chimney sweep. Chimney sweep told me that the cleanout was for the furnace, not the fireplace. Recommended that my husband cut holes in the sheetrock to find fireplace cleanout, which he did - there was no cleanout. Took another day off of work - ***** came back (4 hrs late and with the wrong tank again) and insisted the cleanout was for the fireplace. Told me that the fireplace and furnace cleanout ran together and that my house was full of carbon monoxide - left without completing installation. He was very condescending and talked about calling his dad, which makes me assume that the only reason he is employed at Hocon is because his dad is someone important there. My husband cleaned out the cleanout and found it went directly into the furnace. I called Hocon and told them that they would either send me someone else and complete the installation, or fully refund me. They then sent Bob and Rich - my husband dealt with them because I could not take more time off of work. Bob and Rich got the job done with NO problems, they arrived on time, were courteous and knowledgeable. They punched a hole through the chimney and ran the line - I'm not sure why this was not an option for me before. Bob came back after the inspection to finish the installation and explained how the insert worked. He thanked me for staying with Hocon after my experience. Insert now runs great, and according to my CO detector I don't have carbon monoxide in my house. Because of Hocon, I had to take two unnecessary days off of work, hire a chimney sweep and cut multiple holes in my finished basement walls.

Desired Settlement: I want to be reimbursed for the following: *Pay for the two unnecessary days I had to take off from work (the two days that ***** came and was unable to do the job)*Refund for chimney sweep I am not including the work that now needs to be done to the walls (sheetrock, paint)I want to be released from my propane contract with Hocon with no penalty, as I am concerned that this complaint will affect my gas rates, and I no longer wish to do business with them.

Business Response:

We settled with ******** ***** ******* I am not in the office for two days so I don’t have my instructions to get more information for you. I will have to do that next week.

 

Best regards,

 

2/19/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hocon Gas delivered a new tank to replace the current rusty, old one beginning of October 2013. It has been left on our front lawn as the workmen told us that they would need a truck with a lift to remove the old one. We were on our way on an overseas trip and they assured us that this would be done during our absence. On our return during the third week of October we found that it was not done. I called again and was assured by the person that I spoke with (*****) that this would be done before the week was out. Nothing happened. I called several times after that and was given assurances of the same kind. Eventually my calls went unanswered. Until today, 3 January 2014, nothing has been done. There is no response.

Desired Settlement: Immediate action. Installation of the new tank and removal of the old one. No further excuses. No promises. Or, if they cannot deliver on this, removal of both tanks and a refund for a full tank to compensate for the inconvenience of having an unsightly tank sitting on our front lawn for more than three months.

Business Response:

Where the tank was located we were not able to drive on the lawn.  Tank was removed with a motorized cart and four service techs.  We did  issue a credit for a full tank of gas and we also removed tank rental fee for  the inconvenience.

 

We could not get the tank out due to the customers restrictions but once we did we gave them a full credit for inconvenience.

 

We picked the tank up on January 14t, 2014.

11/21/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In April of 2013, I sold my house in Connecticut ** ******* **** ******* XXXXX). In advance, I phoned Hocon to ask that they not deliver more propane to the house and that our service was ended as of the end of April. Furthermore I provided information on the new owners - should Hocon wish to contact them to see if they wished to continue the service. For this (closing the account) Hocon charged me $75.00.As if this wasn't bad enough... Apparently, after the house closed EO April, Hocon filled the tank (May 2) with propane and sent me a **** for $244.32. My wife discussed this with them twice and they insisted that we pay it as part of the closing of the account. Why we should pay for propane we will never use at a house we do not own - after explicitly telling Hocon not to provide more propane is the problem.They are now threatening a collection agency.Please help...Sincerely ***** ******* Hocon reference CCXXXXXXXXD Product_Or_Service: Propane Account_Number: Cust ID: ******

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like Hocon to stop their attempts to bill me for the unrequested propane and refund the overpayment we made.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/29) */ From: ****** ***** Sent: Friday, July 26, XXXX XX:XX PM To: ******* ******** Subject: BBB ***** ******* On July 15, 2013 I spoke with Mrs. ******* regarding her refund. I explained to customer that her account was credited for gas in the tank back in May 2013. I explained the following: On May 2, 2013 the account had a balance of 202.76. On May 23, 2013 the total credit applied on account was $159.57. As of July 26, 2013 the account holds a balance of $43.19. Mrs. ******* wanted me to speak with Mr. *******, however she wasn't able to give me a time when ***** was going to be available. We agreed to have ***** give me a call on my direct line to go over all the adjustments made to the account when he returned. ***** never returned my call. There is no refund due to the account. ******

7/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I terminated my service with Hocon gas over two months ago as we moved from a rental home and no longer needed service . The address of service was *** ***************** Norwalk, Ct XXXXX.I have made repeated phone calls to Hocon regarding the return of my 1200.00 deposit and I keep getting the runaround, they say "it takes awhile" . Over 60 days to refund a deposit is not reasonable.Any assistance you can provide would be helpful ****** ***** Thank You

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Refund my money Address for ********** ****** **** pl *********** OhioXXXXX

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/24) */ July 22, 2013 ****** ***** Account #XXXXXX We agree with Customer. We do explain to customers that 45 to 60 days is the length of time for a standard refund. We need to determine the volume of gas in tanks to process the correct gallon credit towards customers account. We have credited $1,253.69 on customer's American Express as of 07/15/2013.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Hocon Gas, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)