BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Pre-Bilt Manufacturing, LLC offers pre-built garages, additions as well as installation and repair of garge doors.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pre-Bilt Manufacturing, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pre-Bilt Manufacturing, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Pre-Bilt Manufacturing, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 19, 1995 Business started: 01/02/1989 Business started locally: 01/02/1989 Business incorporated: 02/07/1997 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Anthony Fiengo, Owner Mr. Anthony R. Fiengo Jr., Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Anthony Fiengo, Owner
Business Category

Garage Builders Tool & Utility Sheds Garage Doors & Openers New Single-Family Housing Construction (except For-Sale Builders) (NAICS: 236115)


Additional Locations

  • 12C Tipping Dr

    Branford, CT 06405 (203) 996-4871 (203) 481-9665

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (203) 996-4871(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Concrete garage floor is cracked from front to back, and from side to side. Expansion joints were not put in the floor when the concrete was poured, resulting in the cracking. The floor was already cracked in December 2013, and a Pre-Bilt employee was made aware and physically witnessed the crack while replacing a defective door right before Christmas. The employee looked at the cracks and told us that the cracks resulted because expansion joints should have been installed in the floor before/while the concrete was being poured, and they were not. He also told us that the problem could and should be corrected, but it was too cold at that point to do anything. He told us to contact the Pre-Bilt owner when it got warmer. Another problem we noticed during the winter months was the front part of the garage where the wood support beams were constantly sitting in water. The wood beams were wet most of the winter, absorbing water sometimes up to a foot up from the floor, and we are concerned that the wood support beams will rot and the garage will collapse. They should have been set on a concrete footing rather than the concrete floor itself. I have tried contacting the Pre-Bilt owner in early April 2014 by phone and email and have gotten no reply. We were originally told that the garage has a five year warranty, with a one year warranty on concrete. However, it appears the owner has no intention of honoring that warranty or fixing the faulty work. A small balance is still owed to the company. We withheld this balance because we noticed the cracks in the floor and the wet beams, and knew repairs would be needed in Spring 2014. (Contract signed 7/26/13, but actual construction did not start until fall, in mid September, we believe. Foundation originally poured using wrong blue print design, and had to be demolished and redone.)

Desired Settlement: We would like the garage floor replaced and installed properly with expansion joints. The wood support beams should have something done to them so they are not sitting in water or exposed to wetness.

Business Response: To whom it may concern,

 
Our company Pre-Bilt MFG. LLC. met with the homeowner's on 4/26/14. We brought to the home owner's attention that the expansion joint's we're installed properly. The homeowner's mis-took the expansion joint's as being crack's in the floor,when they we're in fact the expansion joint's.
 
The front post of garage is installed properly as well.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********


I am rejecting this response because: We do not believe what we were told by Pre-Bilt was accurate information.  Because we were uncomfortable with Pre-Bilt's response, we had another concrete company come out to evaluate the garage floor.  This company has been in the concrete business for 27+ years, and confirmed our suspicions that something was not right.  It was confirmed that expansion joints were in our floor, but installed improperly and too far down. That is why the floor cracked.  It was explained that expansion joints prevent the floor from cracking on top, if installed properly. All through the winter, water was seeping up through the cracks and sitting on the garage floor. There are water marks remaining along the cracks to prove it.  We were told that it is because the expansion joints were installed improperly that the water was coming through.  It was explained that the only way to properly fix the crack is to do a "controlled saw cut" and "seal it". This is what the "carpenter" from Pre-Bilt said needed to be done back in December.

 
As for the beams or front posts of garage, there should have been something called a pier below each post/beam. The pier should be made out of concrete, so the wood post/beam is not sitting directly on the concrete floor, absorbing water.  While outside, the gentleman put his hand on the bottom where the post/beam would be, and underneath could feel exposed wood.  That explains why the post/beams were always wet about a foot above from the floor, and also explains why we had ice patches around the beams throughout the winter. Water would enter from underneath, leave puddles, and the beams were absorbing the water from outside. What wasn't absorbed by the beams turned into large patches of ice, and we had to keep putting sand down on the ice inside the garage so we wouldn't fall.   The gentleman explained that within a few years the beams will be rotted out and need to be replaced.  We were told since concrete piers cannot be poured now, unless the whole garage is taken down, that flashing should be put around the beams to try to deflect any water.  This would mean taking down the vinyl siding and trims on the outside, installing flashing on all three of the wood post/beams, and replacing siding and trims.   
 
We feel that these issues need to be corrected to ensure our garage remains in a good condition for many years to come.  Thank you.
 
Sincerely,

***** * **** *****

Business Response: I went to meet ****** * ***** *****,I looked at the homeowners complaint's on 4/26/14.

The expansion joint's were installed properly,there are no cracks in the existing floor.The only visible lines are the expansion lines from the expansion joints,that run equally front to back and side to side,and those are the industry standard.
 
The front post the homeowner's are referring to are built to building code.
 
 
Pre Bilt mfg. LLC.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:Please Re-READ our previous reply.  Water should not be coming up from cracks in floor, and three beams/posts should not be saturated a foot up from the floor on the front of our garage.  In winter, there is so much water on floor near beams that it turns into an ice skating rink.  How can this be proper installation?

 
We already had one company come out, and now we  are having a third party come out to evaluate Pre-Bilt's job.  Isn't there someone from BBB that can come out and take a look at our situation as well?  I do not want to go through another winter with ice on our floor, water soaked beams, and water seeping up through the cracks.  There are still water marks on the floor from this winter--proof that surely something is wrong.
 
Can BBB please explain to us our next course of action against Pre-Bilt, as it appears from their two responses with the same wording that they are not interested in correcting these problems.
 

Sincerely,

***** * **** *****

3/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service