BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Lillian August Designs, Inc. offers furniture, antiques and interior designer services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lillian August Designs, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lillian August Designs, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Lillian August Designs, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 20, 2001 Business started: 12/01/1987 Business started locally: 12/01/1987 Business incorporated 11/21/1990 in DE
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. John Weiss, C.O.O. Ms. Cyndi Schroeder, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Cyndi Schroeder, Customer Service Manager
Principal: Mr. John Weiss, C.O.O.
Business Category

Furniture - Retail Interior Decorators & Designers Antiques - Dealers Furniture Stores (NAICS: 442110)

Alternate Business Names
Lillian August Warehouse

Additional Locations

  • 32 Knight St

    Norwalk, CT 06851 (203) 847-1596


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/30/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an item in 2012 with a warranty. The salesperson sold me the warranty, which I paid for and for which I have a receipt. Two years later, when I needed the warranty and could not find the paperwork detailing the warranty that was sold to me, I contacted ******* ******. They told me that I did not have a warranty after all and all that they can do is reimburse me for the warranty that I paid for. This is the email that I received from the sales manager: As ***** explained unfortunately the sales associate sold you a warranty that was not valid. We cannot fabric protect (spray) a piece of furniture that was shipped direct to you from the vendor. It was not caught in our audit process and is quite unfortunate. The warranty although sold by us is through an outside company and will not honor a piece that was not sprayed. As ***** had stated we certainly will refund you the full price of the warranty and even pay for a cleaning on the piece. Unfortunately that is all that we can do. Please send me the cleaning receipt and we can refund that and the $125.00 for the fabric protection. ***** ***** ********* Manager, Customer Service ******* ****** Design, Inc ** ****** ****** ******** ** ***** ************ ***** ***************

Desired Settlement: I would like the piece refunded since I purchased it because of the warranty. I would like the piece refunded because Lillian August will not honor the warranty.

Business Response: The customer made a purchase at our store on 9-9-13.  The sales associate did sell the customer a daybed and a fabric warranty.  The customer however does not live in *********** and lives in ********** and paid $550.00 to have this shipped direct from the vendor in ***** ******** to her residence in **********.  Unfortunately as stated in the letter to the customer the fabric protection warranty is a warranty provided by an outside company that requires the furniture be sprayed in our warehouse.  It is not provided by the Manufacturer of the merchandise- since this was shipped directly from the vendor it should not have been sold to the customer, unfortunately it was not caught in our audit system.
The customer called us and we offered to refund the price of the warranty $125.00 which she has agreed for us to do and also offered (since their was a mistake) to pay for a cleaning of her daybed.  Which she has at this time declined.  This is an unfortunate mistake as we have certainly tried to help our customer with. 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Implied or explicit warranty issues are not something that should be dismissed if the vendor has sold a warranty as part of the sale of a product.  This item was purchased because of the warranty, knowing that a white daybed would be under warranty should any issues arise.
We have purchase products from this vendor in the past and have never had to use the warranty.  
This was the vendor's mistake.  A return of the payment for the warranty back in 2013, two years ago, does not make up for the fact that we were sold an item with a warranty that is not being honored.  We would like a refund of the item or to have the warranty honored.  This might be one time that we have to get the daybed cleaned but in the future, we will not have any coverage and that is a problem when we purchased the item with the expectation that we would have a warranty.  Then store has to be held accountable for selling items with a warranty that they end up not honoring.


********* ******

Business Response: I again apologize for this mix up.  It was unintentional and definitely a mistake due to the merchandise being directly shipped out of state and not coming into our warehouse in *********** where we apply the fabric protection.  It is not that we do not want to honor this but that we cannot as the warranty is from an outside company and we cannot back date paperwork to them.    Having said that this piece has been in your home since 11-6-13 and we are refunding the full dollar cost of the warranty (not pro-rated) of $125.00 that is in process as per your email to me of 7-16-15 confirming the mailing address of the check.  The offer of paying for your cleaning of course still stands and we will (once we receive the invoice for the cleaning) double that payment in case you need another cleaning in the future.   I have also been made aware that ***** the customer service rep you spoke to offered to replace the fabric casing.  This is also something we can do and you can keep it in case you need to replace it in the future.  Please let me know
thank you
***** *********

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Thank you!  Here is my response:


As you stated, there was definitely a mistake on the part of Lillian August.  I purchased a white piece of furniture because of the warranty, which you do not want to honor due to the fact that you made a mistake.  As you indicated, two years later, you didn't catch the mistake when you sold me the item or during any of your audits.  That is not the customer's problem.  I paid $125.00 back on 11/6/13 that would be worth close to $150 today if I had invested the money.  There is no ethical reason to pr-rate the warranty reimbursement.


You have offered to pay for the cost of cleaning the furniture, as well as a future cleaning.  That will not suffice because this is money that I would not have had to spend otherwise.  Based on the warranty, you would have sent me cleaning supplies and if those did not work, the warranty covers furniture replacement in extreme cases.


You have also offered to replace the fabric casing.  This would only be for the cushion that is currently stained.  If the rest of the furniture was ever stained under the conditions of the warranty and we were not able to remove the stain, we would have no coverage.  Again, because you are not honoring the warranty.


My request remains the same.  Not honoring a warranty that you sold is a serious issue not only because the item that I purchased was misrepresented, but also because the warranty is the reason why I ultimately purchased this item.  I live in ********** and purchased the item from your store in *********** because I grew up in ** and always thought that you were a reputable company.  I could have purchased a piece of furniture from any number of other stores but I chose to purchase from Lillian August.  



Thank you,



Business Response: It is not that we do not want to honor the warranty we cannot.  This is not our warranty it is an outside company and I cannot back date paperwork.  They will not accept a warranty from a delivered piece from 2 years ago.  If the invoice is closed out -delivered it would go by that date so I cannot begin a warranty today from a delivery in the past.  Other than refunding the money paid for the warranty which we have done = and offering to pay for this cleaning and a future one there is not anything else I can do.  I do apologize for the mix up and we cannot predict if there could be a problem in the future but are willing to have the piece cleaned if there is an issue as stated previously. 

6/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Order an end table on Feb 20, was told it would take 4-6 weeks for delivery. However, shipping company reported a damaged panel, and so a replacement part was required before delivery could be completed. This was in late March. No one from ******* ****** contacted me to provide status, revised shipping dates, nothing. I have had to continually initiate contact with them, and still (it is now May 26) have no idea on the status of the end table, when it will be shipped, what's going on, nothing. The customer service person I have emailed and called indicated that her manager was handling my order, but I have heard nothing from that manager. It is now 3 months after the end table was ordered. I have never filed a complaint against a business but the lack of communication from this company is the worst I have ever experienced. The cost of the table was over $1,500 -- not an insignificant amount that was charged to my credit card in February for something I supposedly purchased but now question whether it will ever be delivered.

Desired Settlement: I would like 3 outcomes: - A firm delivery date of the end table - Refund of shipping charges and a discount on the purchase price as compensation for the extreme delay and nonexistent communication - An explanation of how ******* ****** will remedy their customer experience

Business Response: Customer did order piece on line and it was damaged by the shipper - we were told continually that the shipper had been in contact with the consumer and that this was being handled exclusively by them.  We spoke to the shipper  and the customer on Thursday May 28th and they scheduled delivery for Monday June 1.  We have also reimbursed the customer his full delivery fee.  The customer emailed that he is appreciative and looking forward to moving forward.  This should be all set.
thank you

Business Response: Customer did order piece on line and it was damaged by the shipper - we were told continually that the shipper had been in contact with the consumer and that this was being handled exclusively by them.  We spoke to the shipper  and the customer on Thursday May 28th and they scheduled delivery for Monday June 1.  We have also reimbursed the customer his full delivery fee.  The customer emailed that he is appreciative and looking forward to moving forward.  This should be all set.
thank you

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


******** ******

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


******** ******

11/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered furniture worth approx $30k for our living room in October 2013 and were told that it would take 10-12 weeks for in-house delivery. It's almost 18 weeks since the order was placed and there is still no information on when the order will be delivered. *********, the designer who helped us with the order, quit her job almost right after we placed the order. The store never bothered informing us or contacting us on how they planned to handle our account. After making several phone calls and leaving multiple messages in January I found out that a new designer, ******, will be given our project. We never heard back from her after the first phone call, even when she retuned my phone call after 3 weeks (expected delivery time) she had no idea about expected delivery date nor did she seem interested in helping us pick lighting options or accessories to complete the room. Once again we were left at the mercy of the store. Someone named ***** did call a couple of times, first to connect us to ****** and then to another designer, which never happened. When furniture did not arrive at scheduled time ***** said that the vendor is out of the fabric for 2 of our took 12 weeks for the store to tell us that...the time when we were expecting our furniture delivery we were told the fabric was unavailable, I can't call this anything other than complete lack of professionalism and careless attitude towards customer service!! We went to Lillan August because we thought it was an established and reliable store but the service so far has been worse than any retail store I have dealth with. No one has any answers on when we will get our furniture. I have dealt with them with utmost patience and decency but I am not getting anywhere with that.

Desired Settlement: After 18 weeks of aggravation and waste of our time we want our furniture NOW and not give Lillian August the callous option of cancelling our order and backing off from their responsibility . we had several options to chose from in the NYC area but we decided to shop at Lillian August

Business Response: Website Complaint Response:

Customer special ordered furniture on 10-26-13. 2 sofas in custom fabric, 2 stools in custom fabric, a cocktail table and end table, a bench in custom fabric, nesting tables, and 2 swivel chairs in custom fabric. As per terms of agreement on invoice- which customer signed (all invoices) special/custom ordered furniture is not subject to cancellation. Customer paid a 50% deposit as required. We have been trying to deliver the merchandise to the customer since March, and customer has refused. If the clients desired settlement is as stated we would love to deliver the merchandise.
6/3/2014 10:05:37 AM

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

This complaint was made on March 2, 2014 and my understanding was that Lillian August had 2 weeks to respond and 30 days untill complaint would be closed as unresolved. I am surprised to hear back after 3 months!! It's not just a delay in response to the complaint but this is how thier overall attitude has been towards this trasaction - no status updates, no follow up, not even a clue on possible time frame despite numerous attempts to reach the store. Someone just chooses to wake up and respond on thier convenience with no value for customer's time. It has been an extrememly frustrating 8 months. They need to learn to respect thier customers rather than tossing them around and treating them like they are doing them a favor by selling merchandise.  


**** ******

7/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a bed from Lillian August with a fabric that never should have been sold as bed upholstery. I had two service technicians out one of whom made the problem exponentially worse. I was then informed by the company that I had damaged the product myself by steaming. The fabric was only damaged after the repair person came to my house. Until that point, it was simply matted down. Now the whole texture of the fabric on a headboard has been ruined by their technician and I'm being told it's my fault. Not only this, but I can't get anyone to return a phone call. This level of service is horrifying considering what they charge for their products. Rather than acknowledge their error, they are blaming the customer.

Desired Settlement: I would like the bed reupholstered in a fabric that will wear reasonably, what they should have sold me in the first place. If this were my fault, I would be more than happy to take the blame. It is incredibly disappointing to see a company trying blame the customer for their faulty product.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/07/22) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******** Mgr Cust s Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX ***** Contact Email: **********@*************.com Customer special ordered a bed with custom fabric on 2-13-13 special orders are not subject to cancellation. Took delivery on 4-11-13 called the next day there was marks in fabric - tech out on 4-26-13 steamed shading /knapp marks customer inspected and accepted as complete. Cust called again on 5-1-13 more marks (this is a velvet type fabric -prown to shading and markings) -cust steamed herself and called thought she made it worse- tech sent our as a courtesy on 6-21-13 he re-steamed fabric.I spoke to customer on 6-26-13 explained we would look into if fabric had any issues - found from vendor there were none - however since she's unhappy offered recovering the bed for her - she will be in to look at fabric. this should be all set