BBB Accredited Business since

Fireworks Hearth and Home LLC

Phone: (860) 345-4221 Fax: (860) 345-3461 112 Bridge Rd, Haddam, CT 06438 http://www.fireworksct.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Fire Works Hearth and Home, LLC offers the sales and service of fireplaces, pellet and gas stoves, spas, and barbeques.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fireworks Hearth and Home LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fireworks Hearth and Home LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Fireworks Hearth and Home LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 09, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1990 Business started locally: 01/01/1990 Business incorporated 07/12/2000 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
http://www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Lori Maggi, Vice President Mr. Larry Maggi, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lori Maggi, Vice President
Business Category

Fireplace Equipment - Retail Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Stoves - Wood, Coal


Additional Locations

  • 112 Bridge Rd

    Haddam, CT 06438 (860) 345-4221

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/5/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: purchased a control number *********************** for a **** **** pellet insert 1200i , the 200 dollar unit failed after approx. 2 weeks of part time use . called fireworks , lady was pleasant but did not offer any help - I stated we have tested all motors , wiring and controls which are according to specs , also I did not subject the control contacts to any static electric and did not touch or rub in any way the numerous contacts . most sellers of this exact part offer at least a 30 day warranty - even on ****** , so I cannot understand the lack of any warrant or help from this merchant , even if the lady had offered a discount on another unit it might had me feel better about spending more mone to replace the control that was already new at 2 weeks of part time use ! thank you !

Desired Settlement: return of defective control and full refund .

Business Response:

Hello.  Unfortunately this customer has had this electronic piece for almost three months, which is past the 30 day return period.  This was also a special order part.  I explained that because this is an electronic special order part that even if it had been within the 30 day time period, that as stated on our Sales Slips and as posted in our store there is a 20% restocking sur-charge on any returned merchandise, no refund on special orders, no cash refunds, authorized store credit only.  We also explained that had this been a part to a stove manufactured by one of the companies we represent we would be in a better position to help him.  I explained that instead of me reordering the part for him he would be better served if he could contact the manufacturer directly. 

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: of the statement of the stove company store .   the part in question was sent to us , I never set foot in the store to read any store policy on returns or any restocking policy nor any information concerning such is stated on the invoice which sets in front on me at this moment ( invoice number **** ) further the label on the part says warrant void if seal is broken which would require taking control in question  ( unit stopped working after a very short ( see 1st complaint ) time and yes it was not installed we received because we were away and not home . The statement to contact the stove manufacture is wrong as the part does not in any way seem to be a **** **** factory product and was sold by the stove store in question , as for special order by them I was told they had one or two in stock at the store , nothing was spoken as to special order.  I really feel this is a 200 dollar defective part which the store will not stand behind  ,  I feel they did not explain the warranty when ordering or any information on or in the invoice we received and should be not selling products they cannot or will not back up .  thank you !

Sincerely,

**** *******

Business Response:

Good morning,

I respectfully disagree with the customer and frankly am quite upset with their request.  When this customer called initially in August, they told us they couldn't find this part anywhere.  We explained that we are not a ********** dealer and that it would be better for them to contact a respective dealer.  Customer said they tried everywhere and would appreciate any help we could give them.  We spent quite a lot of time trying to locate this part for the customer.  We located it and was a special order.  Now, after using the part for more than two months they are asking us for a full refund.  We do stand behind our products and take great pride in our business.  We respectfully decline their request.

 

Lori M****, owner

Fireworks Hearth and Home LLC

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

**** *******

  thank you for answering the complaint ,  first the date on your invoice reads 8/26/15 , the part arrived while we were away from home  and the  time ( 1st week of oct )  I installed the control o/side air temps were in the mid 80's and 90's which would never require running a pellet stove for heat in fact the a/c was in use ,   when starting the pellet stove the control unit lasted less than 2 weeks in actual part time use which leads me to be unhappy with the control . as for finding a control there are plenty listed from ****** and various stove parts vendors .   we purchased from you mainly on the fact we are from Ct.  still there is nothing on the invoice concerning warranty or restocking charge and I was told you had 1 or 2 controls in stock nothing was mentioned about finding one , special order and so on by you the dealer , also I was not told to find a **** **** dealer first  . I am seeking adjustment from you for a defective part.    hate to but legal action may be required !     thank you , ****