BBB Accredited Business since

Total Mortgage Services, LLC

Phone: (800) 359-1996 Fax: (203) 877-4283 185 Plains Rd Ste 300, Milford, CT 06461 http://www.totalmortgage.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers conventional, fixed, adjustable, jumbo, FHA, reverese, VA, USDA, FHA 203(k), and other mortgages.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Total Mortgage Services, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Total Mortgage Services, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Total Mortgage Services, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 12, 1999 Business started: 05/01/1997 Business started locally: 05/01/1997 Business incorporated: 05/21/1997 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Banking, State Department of
602 Tolland St., East Hartford CT 06108
Phone Number: (860) 240-8299

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. John Walsh, CEO/President Mr. Michael Kraus, Marketing Director
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Michael Kraus, Marketing Director
Principal: Mr. John Walsh, CEO/President
Business Category

Financial Services Mortgage Brokers Sales Financing (NAICS: 522220)


Additional Locations

  • 185 Plains Rd Ste 300

    Milford, CT 06461

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My mortgage broker applied for a loan on behalf of my family with Total Mortgage Services. The underwriter approved the loan several times. The mortgage insurance company kicked back the loan application. My mortgage broker suggested putting down a larger down payment so that we do not need to apply for the mortgage insurance. Once the application was submitted with the larger down payment, the underwriter at Total Mortgage Services came up with all kinds of excuses not to approve the loan, even though the debt to income ratio fell within all the guidelines and parameters for this particular loan. My mortgage broker tried reason with the underwriter but all he got were more ridiculous excuses. My mortgage broker even tried to speak with the VP but still nothing. After 2 months of going back and forth with this loan, and after being approved several times, in the end... Total Mortgage Services made up excuses not to clear my family for closing.

Desired Settlement: We want the loan approved and cleared for closing since the loan was previously approved and since it falls within all the parameters of the loan requirements.

Business Response:

 

I want to add the following to my complaint but the website is not allowing me to add it. How do I add the following to my complaint?

 

In the disclosures my family received from Total Mortgage Services, THE EQUAL CREDIT OPPORTUNITY ACT NOTICE clearly states the following:
The Federal Equal Credit Opportunity Act prohibits creditors from discriminating against credit applicants on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, marital status, age (provided that the applicant has the capacity to enter into 
a binding contract); or because all or part of the applicant’s income derives from any public assistance program; or because the applicant has in good faith exercised any right under the Consumer Credit Protection Act. 

Total Mortgage Services is discriminating against the ***** Family due to age. The ***** Family's income falls within all of the debt-to-income ratios and guidelines for the loan. There is no reason for the loan not to be approved.

Business Response:

VIA BBB Online Complaint Management System

 

December 8, 2014

 

 

 

Attn: ******* ****

Connecticut Better Business Bureau

** ***** ******** **** ************ ** *****

 

Re:       Compliant Case           #********

 

Dear Ms. ****,

 

Total Mortgage Services, LLC (“Total Mortgage”) would like to thank you for bringing this matter to its attention and for allowing it the opportunity to clarify the situation as quickly as possible.  Below please find its response to the complaint filed by borrower (“Borrower”).

 

Total Mortgage disputes the statements and conclusions made by the Borrower in connection with this mortgage loan application.  The Borrowers’ loan was submitted and/or restructured four times by the Broker and each time it received a full review prior to being officially declined twice.  The most recent time it was submitted, the loan-to-value (“LTV”) ratio, 84%, still required that there be mortgage insurance (“MI”) on the file.  A commitment was issued for the most recent submission with several conditions, including that there be mortgage insurance on the file as well as requiring the Borrower have evidence of sufficient funds to close.  MI companies which will insure three unit properties declined to issue mortgage insurance for the subject loan because there was no evidence of leases for two of the three units in the property, as the Borrowers indicated that they would live in the third unit, resulting in a debt-to-income (“DTI”) ratio of 63%.   If the MI companies were to include possible/perspective rental income, the DTI was still 50%, and too high to risk issuing MI.  When the Broker was notified of this, he indicated that the loan would be restructured and resubmitted without the need for MI; the re-submission was never received. 

 

As per the Borrowers’ most recent contention that they are being discriminated against due to age, that is entirely false.  The Borrowers listed on the most recent submission are age 81 and 22, respectively.  The most recent loan submission was denied due to the inability to obtain mortgage insurance on the subject property as well as the Borrowers being short funds to close plus 6 months reserves.  Borrower was also unable to provide leases for the unoccupied units, and even under the assumption that there would be rental income for one unit at the market rate of $1,300.00 a month, the DTI was 48.70%.

 

Total Mortgage has made multiple attempts in good faith, and at a significant expense, to obtain approval for this loan, however based on the submitted information, it is not possible.  Total Mortgage is willing to provide any additional assistance required by the Connecticut Better Business Bureau with regards this matter.  Please contact us should you require anything further.


Best regards,

 

 

Total Mortgage Services, LLC

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


I am not sure who wrote the response from Total Mortgage Services. There are many inaccuracies in their response.

 

My mortgage broker resubmitted the loan on November 14, 2014 at 84% in order to avoid the mortgage insurance. This loan at 84% (because of the appraised value of 315k) does not need MI according to NYS law.

 

In addition, *** ********** **., is a three family property. The property was appraised as a three family with the appropriate rental incomes. The ***** family currently resides together. The ***** family, upon the purchase of the property, will continue to live together and occupy one unit in the property. They plan on renting two apartments.

 

After my mortgage broker resubmitted the loan on Nov. 14th, Total Mortgage Services REFUSED to calculate two rental incomes. Prior to the Nov. 14th submission, Total Mortgage Services approved the loan using two rental incomes several times. They are now calculating one rental income to bring the DTI to 48.70% as a way of not approving the loan. At NO time did my family ever state they would occupy two units (nor does the ***** Family have this intention). This is an assumption Total Mortgage Services is making due to the ages of the ***** family members. The ***** family is a traditional family that lives and supports all its members together in one household.

 

In their response, Total Mortgage Services, tried to make one financial excuse after another against the ***** family about having the funds available to close on the property. On the home page of the Total Mortgage Services website it clearly states the following:

- Close on your home with no out-of-pocket expense.

- Work with a mortgage expert to determine your rate.

- Reduce or eliminate your closing costs entirely.

 

Total Mortgage Services is engaging in unlawful practices. I filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau, complaint # ********. I filed a complaint with the NYS Department of Financial Services, complaint # ****************.

 

If my mortgage broker, Mr. *** ****, does not receive a phone call from Total Mortgage Services to rectify this situation immediately, I will file a complaint with The Federal Trade Commission. I will NOT waste another 24 hours waiting to hear more excuses and lies from Total Mortgage Services. I WILL escalate this to The Federal Trade Commission. Enough time has been wasted for all parties involved.

 


Sincerely,

***** *****

Business Response:

VIA BBB Online Complaint Management System

 

December 19, 2014

 

 

 

Attn: ******* ****

Connecticut Better Business Bureau

** ***** ******** **** ************ ** *****

 

Re:       Compliant Case           #********

 

Dear Ms. ****,

 

Total Mortgage Services, LLC (“Total Mortgage”) would like to thank you for providing the additional comments to Total Mortgage and allowing it an opportunity to respond.  Below please find its response to the follow-up complaint filed by borrower (“Borrower”).

 

At this time, Total Mortgage is not willing to provide any additional information regarding this loan transaction.  The complainant on this case is not a borrower on this loan file; should the borrower(s) wish to discuss the matter further, Total Mortgage is more than willing to speak with their broker and/or the borrowers themselves.


As a show of good faith, Total Mortgage would like to provide the following clarification with regards to its previous response.  The second official denial of the subject loan was submitted and approved by management on 11/10/14.   On 11/13/14, Broker made a request to lower the loan amount in an attempt to restructure the loan for approval, which was then sent back to the underwriter for review on 11/17/14.  On 11/18/14 per management, the underwriter was not to consider a change in loan amount for the file, as the loan amount change in and of itself was insufficient to overturn the declination.    The statement of denial was processed and sent to the borrowers of record (not the complainant) on 11/16/14.

 

Total Mortgage is willing to provide any additional assistance required by the Connecticut Better Business Bureau with regards this matter.  Please contact us should you require anything further.


Best regards,

 

Total Mortgage Services, LLC

Business Response: Thank you for the update on this file.  A POA was not used on this transaction.

Best regards,
Total Mortgage Services, LLC

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

A power of attorney can be used at any time it is necessary. 
Total Mortgage Services is not making any real attempt to resolve this situation.
They continue to make excuses that simply don't make sense.
I strongly urge Total Mortgage Services to reach out to the mortgage broker to resolve this problem.
They fully know that the mortgage can be approved using the ***** family's income and the two rental incomes. This brings the restructured loan to 84%. According to NY State law you don't need mortgage insurance to be approved.
It is illegal to discriminate against applicants based on age.
Again, Total Mortgage Services needs to reach out to the mortgage broker!

Sincerely,

***** *****

8/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Total Mortgage about a home purchase loan ,****** ***** informed me after checking my credit score that I would have no problem at all receiving a loan I was told at first I needed a credit card to lock in a rate of 3.99 % for $1160.00 dollars. Then he comes and says oh wait your bottom score is low but no problem we can still do this for $1345 dollars but your card wont be charged for a couple of weeks. I agreed to this not knowing all that was to come later.I got my ****** package in the mail and filled it all out and sent it back to him and he tells me he received it and the process was started.He told me the loan would be closed within 30 days Assuring me all the way I had my loan approved and all was good.Then when the process started into getting all my information to them things started getting crazy.I was the only one on the loan and they wanted information that did not even apply to my loan,like wanting my husbands stock purchase plan information and 401 information and my husband is not even listed on the loan. They wanted both our Tax information because it was a joint return .When I would try and get in touch with them about my loan they either would not call me back or they would give me some kind of excuse like He's not here today or ******* ****** wasn't in either .They both were very shady in the whole process and have left me in a very bad situation of having to rent the home that I have already sold and trusting in them to do their jobs, they have let me down greatly and constantly assuring me that the loan would close in 30 days. Thirty days went by and they are still asking for more documents and some that had already been sent. Then as if things were not bad enough when I call to talk to ******* ****** I was told she was no longer with them and another lady named ****** was taking over ********* place with my loan and that I was going to have to send more papers to them and all this would have to go back to underwriting.

Desired Settlement: Full refund due to the fact they are not doing what they tell you and they are a very shady company.Asking for information that does not even pertain to the loan. I am very nervous of this company because every day they change the story and someone else comes in and you pretty much have to start all over. They avoid even communicating with you and has been times of 5 days before you even hear from them.

Business Response:

VIA BBB Online Complaint Management System

 

July 21, 2014

 

 

 

Attn: ******* **** *********** ****** ******** ****** ** ***** ******** **** ************ ** *****

 

Re:       Complaint Case           #********

 

Dear Ms. ****,

 

Total Mortgage Services, LLC (“Total Mortgage”) would like to thank you for bringing this matter to its attention and for allowing it the opportunity to clarify the situation as quickly as possible.  Below please find its response to the complaint filed by borrower (“Borrower”), a copy of which has been attached hereto as Exhibit A.

 

Total Mortgage disputes the statements and conclusions made by the borrower in connection with this mortgage loan application.  The Borrower’s credit card was not charged in the amount of $1,160.00 or $1,345.00.  The Borrower was charged $495.00, as detailed on the advance fee authorization signed by the Borrower attached hereto as Exhibit B, with the understanding that the funds would be nonrefundable should she choose to withdraw the loan.  Also attached hereto as Exhibit C, please find an email from the Borrower to Total Mortgage requesting her loan application process be stopped.  At the time of that email, Total Mortgage had already ordered and completed both an appraisal and credit report, the amounts of which, in addition to other processing costs, have exceeded the initial $495.00 fee.  Total Mortgage, however, is willing to assign the appraisal to the lender of her choosing.

 

Total Mortgage requested information pertaining to the Borrower’s husband’s financial accounts in order to source a large deposit in her bank account for underwriting purposes, as required by ****** *** *** ******* *** underwriting guidelines.  Additionally, the delay in processing the loan was due to the unavailability of an appraiser in the subject property’s area.  The property is located in a rural area of Tennessee, and as such Total Mortgage had difficulty getting an appraisal back in a timely fashion. Total Mortgage continued to follow-up with the appraiser until the job was completed on June 19, 2014 and released on June 23, 2014. 

 

Total Mortgage’s conduct as it concerns this transaction was both professional and appropriate. The Borrower chose to withdraw her loan application because she was unhappy with the underwriting process.  The result was that Total Mortgage lost time and money processing her loan application, and therefore cannot refund the $495.00 charged.  The requested resolution proposed by the Borrower in this complaint is a refund in the amount of $1,345.00; which is an amount that was never charged to the Borrower.  Total Mortgage is willing to provide any additional assistance required by the Connecticut Better Business Bureau with regards this matter.  Please contact us should you require anything further.


Best regards,

 

 

Total Mortgage Services, LLC

2/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am filing a complaint as this company is very shady. I tried to get an ARM mortgage refinance. I was quoted in writing the rates would be 1/1/5. They sent me the app and changed the rate caps to 5/2/5. Also had mortgage insurance as 360 months instead of 132 months. I was very unhappy. I contacted the person that I was working with and they eventually said they could change the MI, but not the rate caps. I was told 2 different stories, first they put new caps to get loan to go through, then second story that the wrong index was used they go by **** They then said they could not change it and that I was first person to go with an ARM. After given the run around and felt very uneasy dealing with them, I said I did not want to go through with the loan. I am now being charged $495 application fee. I want that removed from my credit card.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund and not charged $495 this company is ridiculous and I do not trust them at all!

Business Response:

 

VIA BBB Online Complaint Management System

 

January 23, 2014

  

 

***** ******* **** *********** ****** ******** ****** ** ***** ******** **** ************ ** *****

 

Re:       Compliant Case           ********

 

**** *** *****  

Total Mortgage Services, LLC (“Total Mortgage”) would like to thank you for bringing this matter to its attention and for allowing it the opportunity to clarify the situation as quickly as possible.  Below please find its response to the complaint filed by borrower.


Total Mortgage disputes the statements and conclusions made by the borrower in connection with this mortgage loan application.  Upon being notified that the Borrower received inaccurate disclosures, the Loan Officer informed Borrower that he would correct the disclosures and resend them to Borrower.  Borrower indicated that she did not want revised disclosures and requested to withdraw her application. Borrower previously authorized Loan Officer to charge her credit card with the understanding that the funds would be nonrefundable should she choose to withdraw the loan, which can be found as an attachment to this response.  Total Mortgage has already ordered both an appraisal and credit report, but will refund the Borrower the remainder of the application fee and is willing to assign the appraisal to the lender of her choosing.

 

Total Mortgage is willing to provide any additional assistance with regards this matter.  Please contact us should you require anything further.


Best regards,

 

 

Total Mortgage Services, LLC

1/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At closing we found out that Total Mortgage had listed my property taxes at $3700/year, when through the county property appraisars office it was $2700/year. I twice sent emails to Total Mortgage to correct this error so my montly mortgage would be correct and they have ignored my requests. Thomas Bepko is the loan officer whi I dealt with. It appears after they get the sale, they provide no more service.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Total Mortgage to correct the problem so my mortgage payments will be correct when they send them to me.

10/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Total Mortgage Services of Milford is a dishonest brokerage firm. I called Total Mortgage Services of Milford for a CHFA Loan. The loan officer that took my call was pleasant and provided me with a itemized worksheet of all fees and charges. He quoted that cash to close would be $10K. Everything looked great. I then received an email from McCue Mortgage saying that Total Mortgage Services sold my loan. I haven't even gone to closing yet. McCue provided me with a good faith estimate, the closing costs being $12K. This was not cash to close. The cash to close came out to $14K. I asked Total Mortgage what was going on. The loan officer said they were brokering the loan to McCue not selling it. The paperwork clearly stated otherwise. I sent him everything McCue sent me. I received a phone call this morning (7/2) from the loan officer stating that it would be best if we didn't conduct business any longer. I can go elsewhere and they will just go away. I wasn't denied for the loan. This was clearly a bait and switch and the worst business practices I have ever encountered.

Desired Settlement: $300 appraisal fee that is clearly not going to happen

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/17) */ Via Online Submission July 17, 2013 Connecticut Better Business Bureau 94 South Turnpike Road Wallingford, CT XXXXX Attn: ******* **** Re: Complaint Case #84120655 Dear ******* ***** Total Mortgage Services, LLC ("Total Mortgage") would like to thank you for bringing this matter to its attention and for allowing it the opportunity to clarify the situation as quickly as possible. Total Mortgage has contacted the borrower and discussed the submitted complaint. The original desired resolution was a refund of the appraisal fee, however the fee was never charged to the borrower. This should resolve this complaint in its entirety. If you require any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me about this matter. Best regards, Total Mortgage Services, LLC

7/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Quite simply I searched for a home for 2 years. Found a house. I was already pre approved but wanted to do business locally and found Total Mortgage. My needs were unique and I know it would be close on my debt to income. I have a strong financial background and have been researching mortgages for 2 years. I narrowed my search to 3 companies. All knew the exact same information. Prior to schussing the final company to work with I asked for a pre approval for the reals eta transaction on the house we were purchasing, as is normal. While this was happening I was told they ran it through underwriting to "make sue it would go through". I was told yes "no problem" Total Mortgage was local and seemed knowledgeable and efficient...and again local. I chose them. Calls and return calls were quick and efficient. then all of a sudden ...nothing. My family and I are 2 weeks from closing, it is the day of the commitment...and nothing. I file an commitment extension. I here late one afternoon. Sorry, underwriting said no...No information changed from the week before...in fact at their request I paid off a credit card and liquidated my wife's 401k in anticipation of the closing! Now we are packed I have a 7 month old and a 10 year old in empty rooms...and no calls no help on what to do, no solution to the problem. They LIED simply to "get a shot" at then loan. Now The extension runs out July 3, and my family and I are stuck Interest rates have risen so much I cannot go elsewhere. As they knew. It was them or nothing. They played a nasty game with my families future...and I lost! Product_Or_Service: 30 year FHA mortgage at 3.75%

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I want the mortgage that I was promised. Plain and simple. I need the commitment letter in hand immediately so we can close on July 12.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/07/12) */ Via Online Submission July 12, 2013 Connecticut Better Business Bureau 94 South Turnpike Road Wallingford, CT XXXXX Attn: ******* Shea Re: Complaint Case #XXXXXXXX Dear Ms. Shea, Total Mortgage Services, LLC ("Total Mortgage") would like to thank you for bringing this matter to its attention and for allowing it the opportunity to clarify the situation as quickly as possible. Below please find its response to the complaint filed by borrower. Total Mortgage disputes the statements and conclusions made by the borrower in connection with this mortgage loan application. Total Mortgage has contacted the borrower with possible resolutions, including providing a referral to a company able to fund loans based on his current information. The borrower had not been charged any money in connection with this application. If you require any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me about this matter. Best regards, Total Mortgage Services, LLC

6/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Told we would qualify for a 20 yr Mortgage and after collecting the 495.00 Appraisal fee was informed there was a debt to income ratio issue. Which was a question of ours from day one since there was a car loan co-signed for by me that we most likely could not prove was paid for by another party. Was told underwriter reviewed and it was good to go just need appraisal done and after the appraisal was done which cost us $495.00 we were informed via email that the Debt to Income was to high and we could only do a 25 yr mortage which is not what we wanted. Still all phone calls have been intentioned by us and Total mortgage has yet to call to inform us that this loan can not be done only by email today after we sent the processor Darcey Unger an email were we informed. ************* finally answered our call today and was very disrepectful to my Financee whenshe asked about the debt to income problem and said that it was our fault cause we where not timely in sending information over. I have ever email were we sent what was requested as fast as possible.

Desired Settlement: I believe the $495.00 that was charged should be refunded as they are not able to carry out with the mortgage they disclosed to us which was a 20 year mortgage at 3.5%. and the Appraisal is not usable with any other mortgage company so we would have to pay all over again. My Financee worked in the business for a long time and questioned from the first phone conversation the concern with the debt to income issue and***** explained he would have his underwriter review and approve prior to the appraisal being order to make sure there would be no issue. ***** of course is now dening the conversation this started on the 31 of January and Tax returns were sent to matt via email on 2/2 when received from our account. I would appreciate any help you can give us and put the word out that people should beware when dealing with this company. They are very misleading in what they can do and can not do.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/04/29) */ Via Online Submission April 29, 2013 Connecticut Better Business Bureau 94 South Turnpike Road Wallingford, CT XXXXX Attn: ***** ****** Re: Compliant Case #XXXXXXXX Dear ***** ******* Total Mortgage Services, LLC ("Total Mortgage") would like to thank you for bringing this matter to its attention and for allowing it the opportunity to clarify the situation as quickly as possible. Below please find its responses to the complaint filed by borrower. Complaint Response: 1. Applicant Qualification for Requested Mortgage The information initially provided by borrowers' qualified them for the requested mortgage, pending receipt of documentation showing that some debts listed on their credit reports were not their responsibility. Although requested several times, borrowers we not able to provide the necessary information to adjust their debt-to-income ratio. Because of this, Total Mortgage was no longer able to offer the initially requested loan. Total Mortgage offered an alternate loan for which the borrowers qualified, but which they did not choose to accept. 2. Responsiveness of Requested Documents Loan documents required for underwriting and application assessment were requested by the loan officer several times. The application package was sent out on February 4, 2013. On the cover page of the packet, it is explained that "failure to return the documents within three business days may result in the cancellation or modification of your rate lock." The loan officer sent follow-up emails on February 10, 2013, February 12, 2013, February 19, 2013 and February 25, 2013 requesting a status on the documents. Total Mortgage did not receive the documents back until February 26, 2013. Total Mortgage then contacted the borrowers again on February 28, 2013 to request additional information needed for their file. The document needed to clear a debt on the credit report in order to adjust the debt-income ratio and qualify the borrowers for the requested loan was never provided. 3. Loan Officer was not responsive Mr. ******** has assured me that he responded to all of borrowers' inquiries courteously and in a direct and timely fashion. If you require any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me about this matter. Best regards, Total Mortgage Services, LLC Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2013/05/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) Everything they have replied is a lie...my financee questioned the Debt to Income from day one and forwarded ************* all income immediately he told us the underwriting review and there was no issue...The only paperwork that was not sent to them immediately was the Diclosures as I explained to **** that ******* ******* my financee Mother was unable to sign right away as her brother was in hospital having heart transplant. I have kept a copy of all correspondce via email if you would like to see them Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2013/05/23) */ From: **** ***** (mailto:******@totalmortgage.com) Sent: Wednesday, May 22, XXXX X:XX PM To: ***** ****** Subject: RE: BBB Complaint Case#84116820(Ref#XX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX) ****** I want to thank you for your help with this. We are finalizing our follow-up to the complaint response, but may need until tomorrow, if that is alright? Thank you again **** ****** Esq. Compliance Attorney Total Mortgage Services, LLC 326 West Main Street Milford, CT XXXXX Phone: 203.876.2200 x 550 ******@totalmortgage.com Business Response /* (-10, 17, 2013/05/23) */ Please accept this letter as the response of Total Mortgage Services, LLC ("Total Mortgage") to ****** ********** comments dated May 5, 2013 submitted to the Better Business Bureau. In connection with this mortgage loan, while Total Mortgage disputes the statements and conclusions made by Mr. ******** it will refund the portion of the fee that has not been paid to third party service providers. In addition, should Mr. ******* shop his loan options elsewhere, Total Mortgage will assign the completed appraisal to such lender, at his request. This should resolve this complaint in its entirety. If you would require any further assistance in this matter, please do not hesitate to contact me. Consumer Response /* (3000, 20, 2013/05/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) I am not willing to pay for an appraisal that should of never been order since the Debt to Income never qualify for a 20 year mortgage and that was what we wanted plus the appraisal is now three months old and is no longer any good to tak elsewhere for me to shop around. A complete refund is what is expected since the loan never qualified from the beginning and your loan officer could not even say we did not question this from the beginning.

4/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Spoke to their agent ************ about refinancing. At the beginning , it was very pleasant. Was able to give me the informations for refinancing. My mistake, I trusted this guy & gave my credit card to charge the fee. He mentioned that the fee of $ 495.00 includes Appraisal & locking fee aside for the $ 2,000.00. I agreed to what he quoted & I gave them the authority to charge to my credit card. I called them back after 2 days, because another company offered me a lower rate with lesser closing fee. ****** agreed to match it ( 3.375% 30 year fixed, 0 points, closing at $ 1,600.00 & no locking fees) Everything was too fast, the way he operate is like a car salesman. Very pushy. When I got the paperwork, the computation he had end up $ 2,200.00 plus $ 495.00,. He only match the rate, but the rest went up. Now, I am stuck in paying the $ 495.00, which they claimed that it is an application fee, which ****** did not mentioned Plus there are some other extra hidden charges.He said that the paperwork will be shipped to me by Monday March 5. I end up following up with him & he keeps on sayinbg, that it will be there the next day. 1 week had passed & the email me the paperwork & I need to print 51 pages out. After reviewing the paperwork, there still errors in the entry plus questionable charges, which I do not understand. Did not really match on what he said initially. Based on the Application loan Number: XXXXXXXX Product_Or_Service: refinance application Account_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I just want my $ 495.00 back. I will not deal with them any more.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/03/28) */ Via Online Submission March 28, 2013 Connecticut Better Business Bureau 94 South Turnpike Road Wallingford, CT XXXXX Attn: ************ Re: Compliant Case #XXXXXXXX Dear ************, Total Mortgage Services, LLC ("Total Mortgage") would like to thank you for bringing this matter to its attention and for allowing it the opportunity to clarify the situation as quickly as possible. After speaking with the borrower, Total Mortgage has decided that in order to resolve the complaint, and as a show of good faith, to refund the noted fee. If you require any further information, please do not hesitate to contact Total Mortgage. Best regards, Total Mortgage Services, LLC

11/21/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
7/17/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues