BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


At, "Our Vision is Service."  We are a high quality, high service provider of eyewear.  We never make glasses in "about and hour", we don't make them in the back room, and we do not send them overseas.  We use the world's largest and best quality lens laboratory - Essilor - to make all of our glasses using the finest quality materials.  Our service quality is what differentiates us from all of the other online eyewear companies.  

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tryiton Eyewear, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Tryiton Eyewear, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 02, 2002 Business started: 11/01/1999 Business started locally: 11/01/1999 Business incorporated 12/01/1998 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Health, Dept. of
410 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
Phone Number: (860) 509-8000

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. James Hilford, President Mrs. Stefanie K Rodrigues, Director of Operations Mr. Mark Agnew, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Hilford, President
Principal: Mrs. Stefanie K Rodrigues, Director of Operations
Business Category

Eyeglass Suppliers Lenses Sunglasses Ophthalmic Goods Merchant Wholesalers (NAICS: 423460)

Method(s) of Payment
All major credit cards, Paypal, Check and Money Orders
Refund and Exchange Policy
Eyeglasses frames, if for any reason you are not completely satisfied with your frames, you may return them, but you must return them within 30 days for a full refund. After 30 days, if you detect a manufacturing defect that is covered by the manufacturer's warrantee, return the glasses to us and we will process the return. Custom LensesPrescription lenses, custom non-prescription lenses, and replacement lenses are made to your specifications so we cannot re-use them if you return them. If you don't like the lenses for any reason, you may return them for a 50% refund. We offer a "Perfect Lenses" guarantee:  If your lenses are not made perfectly to the prescription you give us, we will remake the lens at no cost to you. Reading glasses and sunglasses reading glasses and sunglasses which include dark lenses that come directly from the manufacturer carry the same return policy as eyeglass frames. If for any reason you are not completely satisfied with your frames and lenses, you may return them, but you must return them within 30 days for a full refund. After 30 days, if you detect a manufacturing defect that is covered by the manufacturer's warrantee, return the glasses to us and we will process the return.
Alternate Business Names

Additional Locations

  • 147 Post Rd E

    Westport, CT 06880

  • 65 Raymond Rd
    Blueback Square

    West Hartford, CT 06107


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered replacement lenses on 12/22/15 and on order selected to "use my Rx on file". This Rx is also printed on my Invoice, which includes both distance and reading. Optical provider filled order and created lenses for distance only, rendering them unusable. The optical goods arrived to customer on 01/05/2015. Customer paid $301.00 total. Customer contacted Optical provider on 1/6/16 asking for lenses to be replaced with correct Rx. Optical provider stated that they were under the impression order was for distance only, despite having been told on order to use full Rx. Customer service told customer that is the way it is and is not their problem.

Desired Settlement: Requesting this to be corrected with the correct lenses, or full refund.

Business Response: The matter was resolved 1/21/16.  We apologize for the miscommunication and the lenses have been remade to the exact specifications at no cost to the customer.

Please let me know if I can be of further assistance.

Thank you,

Stefanie R********
Director of Operations

10/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order about 21 days ago for a pair of eyeglasses and after several delays, they still added another 10 business days until they would ship. Customer service was rude and made me feel like my order was a difficulty for them and left me no choice but to cancel it.

Desired Settlement: What they think is fair - but I had a month of lost time and value & quality.

Business Response: This customer placed an order for glass lenses.  It was explained that only two labs in the country produce glass lenses, and ***** lenses, the brand they chose take a minimum of 2-3 weeks.  Cust called and asked for discount and was given 12% discount after being very aggressive with our Lab Manager.  When he asked for an additional discount, we explained our margins do not allow for that and especially glass lens orders.  We do glass lenses more as a courtesy than a revenue maker.  He was notified several times regarding timing via e-mail.

Honestly, we provided a service and good customer service that he could not get elsewhere.

If he would like to reactivate the order, we would do so.

To placate him, we would apply a 15% discount.

Thank you for your time.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

They continue to completely make stuff up by describing me as aggressive and mean and in comparison, they say they are doing the customer a favor by allowing them to buy a pair of eyeglasses.  Ridiculous.  


****** ******

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

This is the same response word-for-word as their first one.  I told you - they are the ones who are rude.


****** ******

10/9/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last year I purchased a pair of ******* **** frames from **************. Over a month ago, the plastic frames broke on the side near the ** emblem. I forwarded pictures of the defect frames and a brief explanation on August 5th to ************** inquiring about an exchange using my 2 year warranty. I have sent multiple follow up emails (8/6, 8/12, 8/24) and left a voicemail (9/9) in regards to this issue and have not heard back. I am hoping for a response so that I can continue to use my glasses as I need them.

Desired Settlement: I am hoping for a status update response as well as the exchange for my frames in a timely manner.

Business Response: Customer ordered a frame in June 2014, which has broken, but is not discontinued.  We are working to find her a replacement.

3/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: ************** broke my designer eyeglass frames. I sent them these frames to replace the prescription lenses. These frames were very expensive around $575 when purchased six years ago. ************** wanted a receipt of purchase which I don't have. They then, refused to replace the designer brand, ***** *****, with similar frames by this maker. They know how expensive this maker is and refuse to make it right. They keep offering me cheap frames in their stock and expect me to pay 50% of cost. They claim no responsibility as this is the risk when I gave it to them.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the $575 or replacement with similar frames by ***** ******

Business Response: Brand new ***** ***** frames were purchased for this customer who sent older frames that were unsound.  These frames were provided to the customer at no cost in spite of the stated policy of either providing any frame on our site at 50% or canceling the order.  The customer received this order on March 3rd

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Tryiton Eyewear, LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart