BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

Cardio Express, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (860) 430-5800 Fax: (860) 430-5804 PO Box 71, Glastonbury, CT 06033 http://www.mycardioexpress.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers health and fitness club facilities and services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cardio Express, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Cardio Express, LLC include:

  • 21 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Cardio Express, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 21 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

21 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 10
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 21

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cardio Express, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 02, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1995 Business incorporated: 02/11/2004 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Kristen Bruno, Member Services Ms. Lauren Armack, Operations Ms. Kiara Rusconi, Vice President Mr. Peter A. Rusconi, Principal
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kristen Bruno, Member Services
Business Category

Exercise & Physical Fitness Programs Health & Fitness Program Consultants Personal Trainers Fitness Centers Fitness and Recreational Sports Centers (NAICS: 713940)

Additional Information

Open 24 hours Monday morning 12am through Friday night at 9pm. Open Saturday and Sunday 7am-5pm. Manchester is open Saturday and Sunday from 7am-7pm.

Products & Services

24-hour Fitness Facilities offering cardio, free weights, classes, tanning, & spinning.


Additional Locations

  • 1199 Silas Deane Hwy

    Wethersfield, CT 06109 (860) 563-8280

  • 200 Merrow Rd

    Tolland, CT 06084 (860) 896-1897

  • 342 Queen St

    Southington, CT 06489 (860) 736-0010

  • 412 W Middle Tpke

    Manchester, CT 06040 (860) 646-8000

  • 425 Talcottville Rd

    Vernon, CT 06066 (860) 871-7226

  • 95 Storrs Rd

    Storrs Mansfield, CT 06268 (860) 942-8700

  • PO Box 71

    Glastonbury, CT 06033

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was a member of Cardio Express since it opened at Mansfield, taking the exercise classes that are part of the member facilities. Members were told **** *** ***** classes were coming, but it has been 3years. Few months ago we were told by the gym trainer that the format of the exercise classes were going to change; the class-time became shorter, the intensity less rigorous and the trainer repeatedly said"we were getting these classes" for free, that people who had been taking classes for a longer period should do so on their own. I was spoken to by the Manager that I was late for classes. Few days later the trainer informed me that I cannot take classes any more as I was late and was rude. I wrote to member service and subsequently, spoke with the CEO ***** ******* of Cardio. He said he was sorry about the way the situation was handled and that he wanted his customers to be happy. He said that if 4pm class is a problem then I should take other classes without any problems. I thanked him for calling me back and ended the conversation in a pleasant manner. This conversation took place around the 13th of June. I continued to take classes with the part time trainer and started exercising with few friends from the gym. On 7th of July, I got a call from ******* from Cardio Express main office that my contract had been terminated and that I cannot use any of the Cardio facilities. When I asked her the reason "why" she said that she did not know, I should be getting an email, and a letter by mail informing the reason why. The email minutes later said exactly what ******* had said that "my contract had been terminated and that I cannot use any other Cardio facilities". The letter today repeated the same message. This action by Cardio is arbitrary, capricious, unreasonable and discriminatory as no reason has been given. It is unacceptable for a business to deal in this manner with its customers. A written apology from the business owner/CEO for accepting responsibility is necessary.

Desired Settlement: The customer has rights as well, and being treated in this arbitrary, capricious and unreasonable manner is unacceptable. I am a dues paying, contract abiding customer and being treated in this manner reeks of discri******on. A letter of apology from the CEO/owner ***** ******* is wanted; this will teach a business how to deal with their customer. This will go a long way to assuage my feeling of deep humiliation and embarrassment. I would like my membership to be reinstated.

Business Response: One of our most popular member only benefits at Cardio Express is access to our small group training class program. We understand that many of our members are either new to fitness or enjoy the support and motivation that only a trainer can offer. Our class schedule is designed for all members of all fitness backgrounds and fitness goals. Our certified trainers take each member through classes ranging from the basic introduction of how to use the machines found within our clubs to more advanced classes for a dynamic workout. Either way, with only four members to each class, the unique fitness experience is effective and fun. These classes are so popular that they are reserved for only four members in each class with one certified personal trainer. The small group class size provides a very personalized and goal specific learning environment where our members can be comfortable. The goal is to educate and encourage newer members to create their own fitness routines!

****** has been taking classes on a regular basis, but she has had a history of signing up for classes and not being on time. We ask that our members sign up for classes up to one week prior to the class in order to ensure their spot. We have alternative spots for other members should one of the already signed up members have a change of plans and not be able to make it. By ****** showing up late for the classes it interrupts the other members and delays the class. By sometimes not showing up at all she has held a spot that could have been given to a member who is already  at the club as an alternative and would like to take the class.  Our Manager has explained our rules and regulations regarding class attendance to ****** on several occassions. ****** has explained that sometimes she is caught up in traffic on her way to the scheduled class appointments. We understand that things happen, but since the problem has become routine we've reached out to ****** to discuss an alternative. We've asked that ****** kindly schedule class appointments at more convenient times that she knows she can make or let us know when she won't be able to attend so that other members who pay for the services can use them too.

Our Member Services Department has spoken with ****** with efforts to try to resolve this situation. The President of Cardio Express has also spoken with ****** on 3 separate occassions asking that our rules and regulations be upheld. Since ****** is unable to comply to our class rules, after written and verbal communication, we've been forced to terminate her membership.  The last correspondence Cardio Express had was a courtesy phone call from our Member Services Department letting ****** know that her membership had been canceled. The conversation was very simple and very short. Our Member Services Department mentioned that a letter would be mailed out to her within the next few days explaining her ter******on and that she could certainly follow up should she have any questions regarding that letter. 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:There is no mention about the classes in the contract and the details given are not true. I signed at Cardio Express due to these classes.If one is late for class the person in the wait list gets in. Question of delay or waiting for someone to arrive is not true.  Due to summer every class is empty and barely has two or three people in it.I did talk with the manager once and the owner who requested that I not sign up for the 4pm class as I had difficulty getting back in time from Hartford.  I no longer signed up at 4pm.  The owner further said that he wants customers to be happy and to call him if I needed to talk and he was sorry about the way this situation had been dealt with.  I continued with exercise classes and using the gym facilities.  Two weeks later I got the call saying my membership had been terminated and I would get a letter explaining the reasons.  I did not get any letter.  There is a difference between "ter******on" and "cancelled"membership. This implies something was done by the member.  I have not gone against their contract and not violated it in anyway.  Rather, Cardio has singled me out to take this humiliating and punitive action which is arbitrary, capricious and discriminatory.  The company is unethical and has dubious practices and harassed me for being late to exercise class! Company has no written rules or regulations for the classes and make up rules and regulations as they please.  This further shows their capricious and arbitrary behavior.  I feel deeply humiliated and embarrassed and would like this business owner to acknowledge his mistake so he does not practice this unethical and rude behavior with anyone else.  I have all email conversations with Member Services and will try to attach it to this email.  I ask that BBB take action against unscrupulous business owners such as Cardio Express who should realize to treat every member of their business in the same way.  Please note that even in their response to my letter Cardio interchanges the two words "ter******on" and "canceled membership" as though there is no difference between the two words.  Their lack of respect for due paying members is unethical.  If they want to terminate my membership due to being late for class, then that should be stated clearly in the contract.  I am attaching the email correspondence I have had prior with Cardio Express. 

Sincerely,

 


****** ************

Business Response: Cardio Express has done it's best to come to a resolution with ******. Unfortunately she is unable to uphold our rules and regulations. Since this issue has been ongoing, per our agreement, we've terminated the membership. 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a basic $10.64/mo membership that was started at Cardio Express in *******, **. When I moved I cancelled that membership in person at that location as I was required. I started my membership at the ****** location at the same time. I also had another person's membership being billed to my credit card who had the $21.26/mo membership. He passed away in May 2013. I contacted Cardio Express and cancelled his membership and was billed only my $10.64/mo membership fee in the next 2 months, July and August of 2013. I did not notice, however that they started billing me again for the $21.26/mo membership in September 2013 until April 2014. In the meantime, I had upgraded my ****** membership to the $21.26/mo membership in January 2014, I believe. So I was over-billed from 9/13 to 12/13 $21.26/mo and from 1/14 to 3/14 $10.64/mo which amounts to $159.48. I contacted member services via email as soon as I realized it and explained the situation. I believe that I am now on my 9th email with a very persistent "*******" from Member Services insisting on giving me a refund check for $74.48 despite several attempts to make it clear that her system is wrong, that the accounts were never properly handled, and I am actually owed about double that amount.This company's entire billing and account system is poorly designed and taken care of and needs to be investigated and overhauled to prevent further billing/account issues in the future.

Desired Settlement: In a timely manner, I would like a refund for the amount I was actually over-billed, $159.48, as well as an apology from the owner due to the inept customer service as well as disorganized billing and accounts management of this company.

Business Response: ***** had started on 3/23/09 as an Express member ($10.64/month) in our ******* location. On 8/15/13 she requested to transfer and upgrade to an XZone member ($21.26/month) in our ****** location. Unfortunately we did have an error during this transfer and upgrade process. The old Express membership was not canceled on 8/15/13 as it should have been. In fact, the ******* membership ($10.64/month) continued to bill until it was brought to our attention. Therefore, ***** was still billed for the $10.64 from 9/1/13 until 3/1/14 when it should have only been the new XZone membership priced at $21.26/month starting on 9/1/13. There was a total of $74.48 processed in error for the old ******* membership. We immediately apologized for this error and refunded that amount to *****. She has confirmed that she received the refund check in the mail.

Though we billed both of her memberships between 9/1/13 and 3/1/14, she was still responsible for payment of the new XZone membership ($21.26/month). We have refunded for the old membership which was charged in error.

She has mentioned that she paid for another member. She did. The other member had a ******* XZone membership priced at $21.26/month from 3/15/09 until 7/31/10. He then had a ****** XZone membership priced at $21.26/month from 5/18/12 until 6/5/13. He was canceled as soon as we were made aware of his passing. No further billing was processed for this membership following 6/1/13 dues. We do have A/R History that shows no further payments were made. 

I believe that there is some miscommunication between the member and myself. With that being said, I had asked that ***** provide us with bank statements showing wrongful billing following her disatisfaction with the resolution. The records that she has provided do match the A/R History that we show between her ******* and ****** membership. I'd be more than happy to provide this payment history upon request. ***** has received this information as well.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint comes from an incident that happened in October of 2013. I was visiting my family in CT when I wanted to use the gym. A couple of my friends from back home were members of the gym and so I used their guest pass to go with them the first day I was home. I went on Cardio Express' website that night and saw that they had a one week trial pass. I printed it offline and went to the club the next day to use the gym. The manager who was working the desk told me that I couldn't use the pass because I came with a friend the day before. I explained to him that I was only there for 6 days so I didn't want to sign up, I just wanted to use the pass. He told me that I had to sign up and then cancel my membership within the week before I left. Not quite understanding why I was not allowed to use the pass, I reluctantly gave him my ID so that I could go to the gym. I ended up having to leave for ******* a day early because of an emergency and didn't have the chance to stop back by the gym. I then called two days later to a response that since I wouldn't be able to come in person I was going to be charged for the month. I sent paperwork to the club explaining why I shouldn't have had to sign up in the first place and saying that I wanted to cancel my membership. Months later now, my parents have sent me a bill from a collection agency named **** **** for 145.26. I refuse to pay this amount. Why advertise one week free pass on your website and then when I go in there you tell me I have to sign up knowing I don't even live within 1,200 miles of that gym. That is false advertisement. I don't quite understand it and would like a resolution to the matter.

Desired Settlement: I do not believe that I should be responsible for any of the 145.26. I think that the one week pass on the website is false advertisement. Why would you put up a free pass on the website but when I go in tell me that I cannot use it and make me sign up. I would like for this debt collection from **** **** to go away so that it doesn't negatively effect my credit. Thank you.

Business Response: We do offer 7 Day Free Trials. As stated on the back of thetrial card, in order to redeem this trial opportunity we require that the guest  be at least 18 years of age with a valid CT ID. The offer is available for guests who have not visited any Cardio Express club within the past 6 months. It is only valid at the joining location. Tanning, Spinning, and small group training classes are not included. This trial opportunity cannot be combined with other offers. The trial card must be present and the guest must take a tour of the facility.

Our records show that a XZone membership (12 year commitment) was authorized on 10/27/13. This membership was free ("sign and go") at the time of joining with the first billing cycle scheduled to process on 12/1/13. Cancellation instructions are explained in the membership agreement which were also authorized.

We do not have any documentation regarding a cancellation request form this member. The membership was automatically canceled by our systems due to nonpayment effective 3/14/2014. As stated in our membership agreement, if for any reason, you fail to pay your monthly dues or maintenance fee when due, we reserve the right to suspend your membership and refer the amount you owe, along with any applicable service charges, to a third-party for collection. If you pay the full amount owed to us within 30 days after it becomes due, you will be allowed to continue your membership but you will be required to provide us with updated bank or credit card information. If not, we reserve the right to terminate your membership. 

Though we ask our members to uphold our agreement, as we feel that we have, in the essence of great customer service we've gone ahead and waived the balance owed and notified our billing agency of this change so that no further collection attempts from **** **** will occur moving forward.

**A copy of the authorzed membership agreement or a copy of a 7 Day Trial Card can be provided upon request.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is with customer service. I have a membership that allows me to bring a guest in on the weekends. I have been a member since November 2013. The first time I brought my husband in we filled out a guest form no I D . We were told by girl behind counter one time sign up.. The following week we came in I swiped my card he continued to walk in. He was yelled at to come back and sign in. We tried to explain what we were told week before and the kid behind counter said the policy is to sign in every time. No problem. We do so with no I D necessary. Week 3 we come in swipe and fill out form. Now the person wants an ID from my husband. We explain we did not need one the past 2weeks how come now.. We were told with sarcasm our policy is you need an ID. Ok we get the ID...Week 4 we go back fill out sheet hand over ID . Now we are told to fill out emergency contact with someone other than myself because he can not use me because I am at the gym with him. Pretty frustrated at this point of the lack of consistent training I speak to the manager the following day expressing my experience . She said she would take care of it..Week 5 we go in swipe my card stand at counter waiting to do our sign up thing. Out of the 4 people back their no one takes notice to us, my husband just went and worked out. Week 6 we return, we are ready we think to do the drill. Drivers license, enmergency contact ect... We ask for the form we fill it out we think great we finally got it right. Not the case. The manager looks at me and tells me they need a photo of me or we can not work out! My husband and I look at each like are you kidding me. I have been working out here since November of 2013 not once have I been asked to have a photo taken...not to mention every time we went in on the past 6 Sundays. I ask if I can have my photo taken another day because I am sporting am a pretty good fever blister. The manager says no photo no work out!! Does this sound like harassment and a poorly trained staff? It does to me.

Desired Settlement: I would like my membership stopped and refunded any fees the have been charged since March 18th.

Business Response: The accusations made by ****** are false. Cardio Express canceled ******'s membership due to inapporpriate behavior on 4/1/14. A letter was mailed out to her to make her aware of the termination of her membership on 4/1/14. A refund check was mailed out to ****** on 4/2/14 for her March and April dues which goes above and beyond her request. 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I had 7 weeks of  policy's inconsistently being used upon me when bringing a guest in on the weekends. Never once did we not comply. However I had spoken to the present manager about the 4th episode and she said she would take care of my concerns. The inconsistency continued up until the last time we attempted to workout . This involved the manager now(unknown to me) In all the times we had tried to master there policy on bringing in guest I am asked for the first time for a photo of me or I can not work out. I am shocked as you might imagine. In all the times we were asked to fill out our guest agreement I was never asked before. I asked to have my photo on another day and was denied that option so we left. I came back two weeks later only to ask how I go about terminating my membership. I was explaining my reasoning to a very pleasant **** when I see the woman who wanted to take my photo was standing there so I included her in the conversation. My complaint was mostly directed at her for her lack of training staff and having clients being treated inconsistently and pressing certain policies as it suits them. For this I was terminated there was no inappropriate behavior. There was Me, a client dissatisfied with the way I was being treated making a legitimate complaint with no yelling or screaming. One professional to another..I had hoped. And the way the manager handle the situation was to terminate me. It is absurd the accusation that has been made on me. Then to add to the situation I contacted the owner who contacted me once , where he needed to leave me a message. On returning his message I tried twice to call him back with no return call. I feel the whole organization when it comes down to it could care less about customer service and I wish them the best of luck in the future,

Sincerely,

****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a member pick a fight with me . I reported it to the front desk and management so it would not escalate. It was brought to my attention that this individual has has prior incidents and has been written up by the gym. And that he has anger issues. Management went to talk to him he argued with them. I mentioned that if he got physical with me I would have him arrested. Management allowed his girlfriend to get involved and swear at me. He walked away and so did management . At this point I felt very uncomfortable after hearing negative comments directed at me. On the way out I asked for there names . The manager, is ****** she would not give me her last name, and ****. I told them they did not handle the situation properly and she than smiled at me . I told her I did not find the situation funny and that I will not return feeling unsafe.

Desired Settlement: Since they can not control members . I request my contract be cancelled I only have 1 month remaining . I do not feel safe and comfortable to return.

Business Response: Following a situation that had occurred at one of our clubs, we as an organization felt that it was best to cancel **** ********'s membership immediately due to inappropriate behavior. The membership was terminated on the morning of 2/27/14. A letter was mailed out to **** that day to make him aware that his membership had been terminated. Later in the day **** had sent an email to our Member Services Department and filed a BBB complaint. **** was not billed following his immediate termination on 2/27/14.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying to cancel my membership for months. I signed up for a membership under the agreement that I would be able to cancel at the end of the summer, when I moved away from the area as I would be moving out of state completely. I sent an email attempting to cancel (as I was told I would be able to do when I signed up), and was told that I would have to cancel in person or via mail. Since then, I have visited the ************ location and mailed two letters, and am still being charged. I attempted to show the employees my license that showed that my legal residence was out of state, but was told that was not a valid way of showing I was not in the area. The only evidence they would accept would be a print out of my college classes for the semester (not accepting it when I pulled up my schedule on my phone). Since then, I have sent two letters to their headquarters, with a copy of my license (showing my out of state residence) and my class list for that semester and the semester that is about to start. I am unable to go in person, as it would take roughly an hour or more by car and I currently do not have one.I'm completely out of options, and feel like I'm getting jerked around.

Desired Settlement: I have been disputing the charges ever since my first visit/letter (September 2013). I would like them to cease charging me and refund any charges since that point.

Business Response: On 9/26/13 **** had emailed our Member Services Department to let us know of her relocation to ************* and her want to cancel her Cardio Express gym membership since it would no longer be convenient. The next day, on 9/27/13, a response was emailed back to **** which explained our cancellation policy so that she may move forward with her intent to cancel her membership.

Our cancellation policy is listed both on our membership agreement, which is authorized at the time of joining, as well as online at our website, www.mycardioexpress.com, under our Member Services tab for our members'convenience. As stated in our membership agreement Cardio Express does not accept cancellations via phone, email, or fax. In order for us to cancel a membership we must have written documentation of the change with signature of approval. When a member comes into the club to cancel, they  will receive a copy of the completed cancellation form so that they has documentation of the cancellation for their records. If it not convenient for the member to stop into a club, we require that they send a cancellation letter certified to prevent any delays from processing the cancellation. When a member sends a letter certifiedthey will receive a confirmation in the mail that the club received the letter which provides the member with the confidence that it will be processed.

Our cancellation policy states that the member is billed for the month in which they cancel plus one more month, and if the maintenance fee is payable during a month in which they are billed for dues, they are also billed for the maintenance fee. Months later, in January, we received a chargeback notice regarding ****'s membership. Immediately we reviewed our documents and found that **** had not followed through with canceling her membership as advised in the email sent on 9/27/13. Though she did not follow through and uphold her end of our agreement by canceling her membership, in the essence of great customer service we canceled the membership for her effective immediately on 10/10/14 in order to prevent any further billing to the account. 

Please let me know if any applicable documentation is necessary for review.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I did visit the business in person on September 30, 2013. At that time, the employee who spoke to me told me that my driver's license (showing my ** address) was not a valid means of identification showing that I no longer reside near a CardioExpress. I also sent at least two letters to the company, in accordance of their policy, and despite this, have still been charged. I have attempted to follow their guidelines, but have not been allowed to cancel. 

 
They are only reiterating the steps I have attempted to follow, without actually doing anything to help.

Sincerely,

**** ********

Business Response: In order for us to cancel a membership we must have written documentation of the change with signature of approval. Cancellations can therefore be completed at the club or via certified mail. When a member comes into the club to cancel, they will receive a copy of the completed cancellation form so that they have documentation of the cancellation for their records. If it is not convenient for the member to stop into a club, we require that they send a cancellation letter certified to prevent any delays from processing the cancellation. When the member sends a letter certified they will receive a confirmation in the mail that the club received the letter which provides them with the confidence that it will be processed.


**** mentions that she has sent two letters to Cardio Express, in accordance to our policy. We do not have record of these letters or any written attempt to cancel on file. We'd be more than happy to review the certified mailing numbers on the letters she had sent us with the post office for her. We just need her to provide us with that information. Or, we'd be happy to review her confirmation she would have received in the mail had the certified letters been received. Again, at this time we have no proof of cancellation. Though we ask our members to uphold our agreement, as we feel that we have, in the essence of great customer service we had gone ahead and canceled the membership for her effective 2/10/14 in order to prevent any further billing. Her balance resides at zero.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a member of Cardio Express for a year now. When I first signed my contract with them there was a lof hidden fee. The associate told me there would be a 40 dollar maintence fee, which my 20 dollar monthly fee was included in and that I would only be paying 40 fdollars. Instead I ended up paying 60 dollars. I didn't mind this and didn't make a big deal, which I should have. Recently I got a new bank and account. I ccalled to inform them of this and they said it would not be a problem and collected my information. Well when **** **** called to collect the fees they informed me that they shouldn't change banks over the phone. So why did this associate tell me it was okay? On several occasions I tried to contact the owner of my Cardio Express, *****. I received no calls back from him to talk about this situation. I have wasted hours of my time trying to get this situated all with nothing from his end. On top of it all I have health issues, I need to keep on top of my exercise and I obviously cannot do this with a suspensed membership.

Desired Settlement: I have wasted so much of my time trying to contact the store manager with no reply. The associate should have informed me I needed to come in how was I supposed to know this. Now I owe tons of money and I have my health in jeopardy. I didn't have an issue paying the 20 dollar fees I had owed before but now I do. I want my membership reinstated for free, and then I will continue paying my 20 dollar monthly fee.

Business Response: ******* had originally become a member at Cardio Express on 10/16/12. That membership was terminated due to nonpayment effective 2/28/13. As stated in our membership agreement, if for any reason, a member fails to pay their monthly dues or maintenance fee when due, we reserve the right to suspend the membership and refer the amount owed, along with any applicable service charges, to a third-party for collection. If the full amount owed to us is paid within 30 days after it becomes due, the member will be allowed to continue their membership, but we will require them to provide us with updated bank or credit card information. If not, we reserve the right to terminate the membership for nonpayment. After 3 months of dues declining (December 2012, January, and February 2013) and no payment made by *******, the membership was canceled effective 2/28/13 for nonpayment. The balance of $93.78 remained.

When a member's dues are declined the member is flagged with a red screen in our system. This allows our staff to make the member aware of their balance until it is paid in full. Also, the decline is flagged by **** **** who attempts to contact the member for collection of the balance via phone and mail multiple times.

On 4/27/13, ******* rejoined with our Amnesty Program promotion that was running at the time. The Amnesty Program allows past members with balances the ability to rejoin at discounted rates. The Amnesty Program waives the past member's balance and allows the member to rejoin with our current prices and promotions. ******* took advantage of this offer. When she joined she did not pay an enrollment fee or processing fee. Her payment of $25.73 included her prorated dues and applicable CT sales tax.  Her agreement explains the annual maintenance fee in section 2, Maintenance Fee, which is scheduled for September 15th of each calendar year in the amount of $39 plus applicable CT sales tax. 

In *******'s compaint I see that she mentions that she received new banking informaiton and that she called to inform "them" of the change. Cardio Express does not have record of a change in billing information. The only information we have is that which was authorized at the time of joining on 4/27/13 which is a Mastercard ending in 9778 with an expiration date of 12/15. Cardio Express can only accept changes in billing information either at the club by authorizing a payment/change form or online through the member's secured member portal account. We do not accept billing information via phone, email, or fax due to privacy and security reasons. 

She also states in her complaint that Cardio Express has hidden fees. Cardio Express prides itself on being a transparent compnay where all information is provided to the member via their membership agreement at the time of joining. The fees paid at the time of joining are outlined on her agreement. The maintenance fee is outlined in section 2, Maintenance Fee. This agreement has been authorized with *******'s understanding in several sections. 

*******'s membership had again declined for October, November, and December 2013 dues. Her membership was canceled effective 12/31/13 due to nonpayment for a second time. The balance currently resides at $93.78.  *******'s membership has been flagged in our system with a red screen and **** **** has attempted to notify the member of the collection. At this time no payments have been made. 

******* has failed to pay for the services associated with her membership twice. The first time we waived the balance as part of the Amnesty program. This second time we ask that ******* pay her balance either at the club, over the phone with her club manager, or online through her member portal account. Once the balance has been paid in full we'd be more than happy to get her started again. 

Upon request applicable documentation is available for review.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Via Cardio Express's website, I sent a message asking what I needed to do to end my membership on 12/2/13 - I received an automated response back that they were out of the office for the holiday and there would be a delay in response. I then sent another email on 12/6 when I did not hear back & still did not receive a response.I then contacted the gym in ******* on 12/14and was put in touch with the manager ****. **** told me I needed to send a certified letter or go down to the gym to fill out a form. I went to the gym and was asked to give an electronic signature to terminate the contract. As soon as I signed I realized that I didn't know what I was signing so I asked for a physical copy of the paperwork. **** told me he would not give me a copy until I signed it. I told him I wanted to see what I was signing. He turned the screen but the type was so small I couldn't see it.I told him I wanted to start over and wanted him to clear my signature. He told me he couldn't do that and if I wanted to end my contract I first had to sign electronically and then at the end he would give me a copy. I told him it wasn't ok that I couldn't see it first. He told me I was signing for being billed another month before canceling and I told him that my credit card expired and it wouldn't go through if they charged it and that is why I didn't want to sign. He told me I didn't have a choice and I said that the charge won't be able to go through but he kept insisting that was what my contract said. I told him that I wanted to speak to someone within 2 business days as no one ever got back to my two emails. **** then said he would call me on Monday morning (12/16) when he spoke to someone at the corporate office He never called. I still do not know how my contract is going to end as the last month cannot be billed to my card and no one will get back to me.

Desired Settlement: I want a phone call from the corporate office explaining their business practice of not allowing customers to see a physical copy of a document before signing it and I need to settle how my contract is going to end as my credit card will not go through anymore. I would also like an explanation as to why my email inquiries were not responded to. The amount of time I have wasted is inexcusable.

Business Response: ******** had originally emailed Member Services on 12/2/13 requesting the actions needed to be taken in order to cancel her membership. I responded to ********'s inquiry on 12/5/13 asking why she was looking to cancel, if there was anything that we could do to provide her with a better experience, and explained our cancellation policy.

Our cancellation policy was agreed upon at the time of joining and is explained in section 4 "Cancellation Instructions" on our agreement. Our cancellation policy is also available online at our website. When a member contacts out clubs via phone a Cancellation Script is read in order to explain our cancellation policy to the member. 

Our club managers are expected to uphold our policies and procedures stated in our agreement. By doing so, our ******* manager was only able to assist ******** per our agreement which states that she would be billed for the month in which she joined (12/13) plus one more month (1/14).  However, he did reach out to me in order to explain ********'s dislike of our cancellation policy. Though we were unsure as to why ******** did not feel she should have to uphold our agreement, as a courtesy, in the essence of great customer service ********'s membership was expedited to canceled effective 12/31/13 in order to prevent any further billing to her account. With that being said we are uncertain as to why ******** has contacted BBB with a dispute in the amount of $21.26.

A copy of ********'s membership agreement and cancellation form are available should they need to be reviewed. 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

11/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I went and opened this account for my daughter they came up with another fee of $41 and told me it was a one time fee. I went to cancel contract today and was told by a very sarcastic manager named ****. He informed me also I needed to sign to cancel and pay yet another month. I told him I was not told when canceling there would be another monthly fee I told him I see how they do business he told me it was in contract. I think this company misrepresented to me and probably to a lot of other people. I asked for refund of that $41 that was charged to me he told me no along with charging me for yet another month not being used. I would like my money returned and contacted by a business person for this company he should know the type of people representing their company not very polite at all. I don't think their customer service is very good at all. The account was under ******* *********

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the $41 and also not charged for the December charge. The sarcastic manager **** told me without signing off he could not cancel. He isn't a very good service representive

Business Response: Below you will find the correspondence between ***** and myself. She had contacted us through our Member Services Department email on Saturday and was promptly responded to on Monday, the next business day. I never heard back from ***** following my email.

On 11/09/2013 06:24 PM, *********************** wrote:
A site user at ******************* has used a site form (Contact) to submit the following information First Name: ***** Last Name: ******* Email: *********************** Phone: ********** Club: Cardio Express Manchester Are you a Cardio Express Member? Yes Message: I had got my daughter a membership in manchester a couple of years ago she wasn't using it so I decided to cancel. When I first opened this the young person I spoke to to open this told me there would be a one time fee of $41. When I went to cancel I asked for a manager his name was **** he was a sarcastic punk with no customer service. Told me I had to sign I would pay another month she is not using or he couldn't cancel for me. I don't think this person is doing very good for your business and isn't good at customer service at all. I would appreciate you refunding my $41 and the next 2 months. This was for my daughter ******* *********. Your manager I found to be very rude he shouldn't be in customer service. Please respond also these were never disclosed at time of purchase.

SubjectRe: Website Contact Form: Ref#:******
FromMember ServicesAdd contact
To***********************Add contact
Date11/12/2013 05:56 PM
 
 
Good afternoon *****,

I would like to start by saying thank you for choosing Cardio Express for your health and fitness needs! We understand that our members have options and we appreciate your business. Our goal in everything that we do is to create an incredible member experience.

I'm so sorry for any miscommunication at the club level. Unfortunately we do have a cancellation policy agreed upon at the time of joining which we ask our members to uphold. Aside from the agreement, our cancellation policy is also available online at our website, www.*******************, for the convenience of our members. Unfortunately our club staff is unable to make any changes to our policies at the club level. Should any of our members have any questions or concerns our staff is to advise them to reach out to our Member Services Department via email. With that being said, I'm so happy that you've made me aware of the situation so that I can help. We appreciate your understanding very much.

Please know that anyone who joined or renewed their membership after May 1st, 2008 is subject to the annual maintenance fee. *******'s membership agreement states that if her dues are payable monthly, she will be charged an annual maintenance fee of $39 (plus applicable taxes). The day in which her annual maintenance fee processes was determined is by her joining date. The maintenance fee will also be automatically billed to the electronic account we have on file no more than once per calendar year. *******'s maintenance fee has processed accordingly on 10/15/11 for 2011, 10/15/12 for 2012, and now 10/15/13 for 2013.I apologize for any inconvenience that this may cause.

Per our cancellation policy: You are billed for the month in which you cancel plus one more month, and if the maintenance fee is payable during a month in which you are billed for dues, you will also be billed for the maintenance fee.

Though we ask our members to uphold our agreement, as we feel that we have, in the essence of great customer service please know that I've reached out to Twin Oaks, our 3rd party billing agency and have been able to remove your method of billing from 12/1/13 dues in order to prevent any further billing to your account. *******'s membership remains in good standing with a zero balance and will end on 11/30/13. If there is anything else I can help you with today please don't hesitate to contact me further. Have a great day!

Warm regards,

*******
Member Services
Cardio Express Fitness Centers
www.*******************

Cardio Express asks that ***** and ******* uphold our agreement authorized at the time of joining, which explained our maintenance fee and cancellation policy, as we feel that we have. *******'s 2013 annual mainteance fee was processed on 10/15/13 and has been paid without any problems on October 15th of proir years. On 11/9/13 a cancellation form was completed at the club which states *****'s intent, as the billing party and mother of a minor, to cancel *******'s membership. According to our cancellation policy it states that her last billing cycle will take place on 12/1/13 and her membership will end effective 12/31/13. 

At the club level our staff is responsible for implimenting our policies. They are unable to refund or make any changes to policies at the club level. If there is an inquiry from a member that does not follow our set policies or there is a situation that is out of the realm of their training, we ask the staff to direct the member to our Member Services Department email to be further assisted. As you can see, though we are upholding that *******'s maintenance fee be paid per our agreement, in the essence of great customer service what I've done is expedited her cancellation effective 11/30/13 instead of 12/31/13 in order to prevent any further billing on 12/1/13 to the account. The balance now resides at zero and the membership is in good standing. 

If you would like any additional documentation regarding this situation please don't hesitate to ask.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9797177, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cardio express is the biggest ripoff ever. Most gyms do have an annual charge that they charge once per year. I have been with cardio express for at least 3 years. My wife has also been with cardio express for about 1 year and 4 months. I had the $10 plan and my wife had the $20 plan that included cyclying. We went to cardio express on August 11th to cancel our membership. The worker assured us that we would be charged the 30+tax amount for september and that would be the end of it.he also told me i would be able to use the gym through the end of september. I am cancelling my membership. My yearly date is October and my wife's is January. i was charged 40+tax on 9/15/2013. this is an unauthorized charge. i did not sign anything to allow them to withdraw that. this is very common as i have seen on the internet. what do i have to do to get them to stop charging me. i am extremely frustrated. when i call they don't pickup. my wife's name is ****** ***. she lives in the same addrress.i need a solution immediately!!!!!!!

Desired Settlement: i want my 40+tax amount refunded promptly.

Business Response: Unfortunately this situation was not brought to the attention of our Member Services Department. Had we been made aware of the situation prior to hearing from the BBB we would have been more than happy to help provide the following information to ***** and ******:

Please know that the method of billing on file for *****'s membership is also authorized by ***** to pay for ****** ***'s membership. *****'s annual maintenance fee is scheduled for on or around May 15th of each calendar year as stated on his agreement. Our records show that he has paid his annual maintenance fee on 5/15/11, 5/15/12, and 5/13/13.

******'s membership agreement states that her annual maintenance fee is scheduled for on or around September 15th of each calendar year. Our payment records show that her membership was processed for the annual maintenance fee on 9/15/12 and 9/15/13 per our agreement.

Our agreements and cancellation forms explain our cancellation policy. We also have our cancellation policies explained online at our website. "You are billed for the month in which you cancel plus one more month, and if the maintenance fee is payable during a month in which you are billed for dues, you will also be billed for the maintenance fee." By canceling in August the memberships will run in effect until the end of September. Since ******'s annual maintenance fee is schedule for 9/15/13 she is responsible for that payment. At this time both memberships are scheduled to be canceled effective 9/30/13 per the members' requests. 



 
**If a copy of either members' agreement or cancellation form is necessary please let me know so that I can provide you with that additional information to be reviewed. Thank you!

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

This is so stupid, I hope your gym rots. I will never sign up with cardio again. Social media will help in downgrading you guys very well. 

That doesn't justify anything.  ******s membership renewal fee comes in October 15. Stop create lies

Sincerely,

***** ****

Business Response: Hi ********,

I apologize for not seeing your direction in the email. I've
attached a copy of *****'s agreement to this email for review. Her maintenance
fee is explained in section 2, Maintenance Fee.


"If your membership is payable monthly, you agree to pay a $39.00
maintenance fee plus applicable sales tax no more than once per calendar year.
This fee will be automatically billed to the account on file three (3) months
after your "Biling Start Date" on or about the 15th of that month. You
maintenance fee will be billed on or about: 09/15 annually so long as your
membership remains in effect on that date." Both ****** and *****'s initals are
next to section 2. 

If any additional information is required please don't hesitate to ask.
Thanks again for your time.

***Refer to attached documentation***

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

6/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My account was closed on 4/19/13. Per cancellation policy I paid April's dues ($10) plus one month (May $10.64). On 5/15 they made unauthorized charge I had fraudulent charges on my *************** credit card, so *************** closed my account and sent a new card. In the meantime, Cardio Express tried to charge monthly dues (for April). When the transaction was declined, they sent my account to collection without notifying me first. The collection company (*********) also charged me a $10.00 service fee. I had never used my gym membership so I decided to cancel my membership. My husband canceled his membership as well. Per the Cardio Express cancellation policy, we went in person to cancel our membership. We went to the Southington, CT location and our accounts with Cardio Express were closed on April 19, 2013. We paid our April dues on April 19, 2013, in the amount of $10.00 and our final month's dues on May 1, 2013, in the amount of $10.64 (also per their cancellation policy... they bill for the month in which you cancel plus one more month). I expressed to the Cardio Express employee who canceled our memberships (*****) about my account being sent to a collection company and explained why the transaction was declined. He told me to contact Member Services as they waive the $10.00 service fee if there is account fraud. I emailed Member Services and received a response from *******. She waived the $10.00 service fee and notified the collection company. ********* continued to contact me so I emailed ******* again and she verified on May 8, 2013, that I have a zero balance. Yesterday, (May 15, 2013) I noticed the $41.48 transaction on my checking account while it was still pending and called the Southington, CT Cardio Express location and spoke to *****. He said that this was my monthly fee. When I informed him that my account was closed and that I paid the canceled month plus one more month... which was NEVER $41.48. (The monthly dues were $10.00 plus taxes it came to $10.64), he then told me I needed to contact Member Services. I emailed ******* at Member Services again on May 15, 2013, regarding this matter. I have not heard back from her. I checked today and the amount of $41.48 has been deducted from my checking account.

Desired Settlement: The charge of $41.48 was not authorized, nor was it part of the cancellation policy. My account was closed on 4/19/13 and I paid what was owed pursuant to their cancellation policy. I want the $41.48 returned to me and I want verification from Cardio Express that they will not try and make any more unauthorized charges.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/31) */ Cardio Express understands that there may be times when an account is affected and a new card needs to be issued. Our policy at Cardio Express is that if your card is stolen or compromised by the bank we can certainly remove one service fee. Since we have thousands of members who decline each month we require a letter from your bank stating that the card was compromised and new cards needed to be issued. I can then submit this letter to our billing agency for removal of the fee. Since ***** was a member in good standing for over a year, in the essence of great customer service I waived her service fee without any documentation being provided and notified ********* so that they too could update *****'s file. Unfortunately ********* did not update *****'s file promptly and ***** was contacted again by them in order to retrieve the funds. I happily reached out to ********* again in order to rectify the situation. I had apologized to ***** for any inconvenience that this delay may have caused and assured her that our records reflected a zero balance and that her membership was again in good standing at that time. *****'s Membership agreement was authorized on 12/26/11, when she had originally joined. Her agreement explains her annual maintenance fee is section 4, Maintenance Fee. It states that if your membership is payable monthly, that there is annual maintenance fee of $39 plus tax no more than once per calendar year. Her annual maintenance fee is scheduled for May 15th of each year. The date and price were underlined and circled in *****'s agreement and the Maintenance Fee portion of the agreement had been authorized with her initials. Our Cancellation Policy is explained in section 5, Cancellation Instruction. It states that "after we have received your cancellation letter or you have completed a club authorized Cancellation Form, you will be billed for the month in which you cancel plus the following month. If the maintenance fee is payable during a month in which you are billed for dues, you will also be billed for the maintenance fee." Her initials are again authorizing this portion of the agreement. ***** completed and authorized a Cancellation Form at our Southington club location on 4/19/13. This form states that the last membership payment will be 5/1/13 and the membership will be effective until 5/31/13. Directly under these dates it states, in bold letter, "I understand that I will be billed for the month in which I cancel plus one more month, and that if the maintenance fee is payable during a month in which I am billed for dues, I will also be billed for the maintenance fee." ***** has authorized this portion of the Cancellation Form with her initials and signed her name at the bottom of the form. I received an email from ***** on 5/15/13 where she stated that she had a pending transaction for the annual maintenance fee. She didn't feel she owed anything after her 5/1/13 dues. I responded to her email on 5/16/13 after reviewing her file. I responded by providing ***** with a copy of her membership agreement and her cancellation form, both which she had authorized, and let her know that we ask our members to uphold our agreement as we feel that we have. I reminded her that her membership was removed from Collections since the balance had been paid for her monthly dues and her service fee was waived, I explained our cancellation policy, and I explained our annual maintenance fee in detail. I encouraged her to contact me should she have any additional questions. On 5/16/13 ***** emailed back with her response. She stated that the charge for her maintenance fee was unauthorized. Our records show us having authorization both on her agreement and her cancellation form. She explained that she had filed a claim with the BBB and will be filing a claim in small claims court regarding the maintenance fee. At this time we are not sure why ***** feels she should not be responsible for her annual maintenance fee that she had previously authorized payment for. Please let me know should the explained documentation need to be provided.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3/28/13 I went into Cardio Express in Tolland to cancel my membership. I was informed that it couldn't be canceled because of the membership I signed up for. They referred me to email the help line because I believe that I was misinformed when signing up. I went into Cardio Express in February with a three months free coupon. I only needed a membership for three months because I would be done with school in May. The guy there, I'm pretty sure his name was *****, told me that he had no idea what my coupon was for. After about five minutes of searching on the computer he informed me that the only thing they had for 3 months free was a membership for past members. The first three months would be free. I was hesitant and asked if I could cancel before I was charged because I would not need it for more than three months and I wasn't planning on paying anything for the membership when I walked in with a "no catches, no gimmicks" three months free coupon. He insisted it was free. I asked when I had to cancel by to insure I wouldn't be charged and he told me I would have to cancel in March so I wouldn't be charged in May. This sounded logical because this is the way many gyms process cancelations. I was informed on 3/28/13 at Cardio Express that the membership ***** had signed me up for was for three months free and I would have to pay for a month before I could cancel. This is ridiculous. Why would I walk in the gym expecting three months free and agree to pay for a month I won't even be using it or even been in this area. I was scammed.

Desired Settlement: I would like my membership cancelled. I do not believe I should have to pay any fees associated with this membership because I was scammed. I want nothing to do with Cardio Express. Please cancel my membership fee free.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/16) */ ****** and I have corresponded via email. A copy of ******'s membership agreement, authorized at the time of joining (2/14/13) was provided to her for her review. When she brought in a 3 Month Free coupon our staff should have made her aware of our special "flip" renewal sale going on in the club for select members only. This "flip" sale included $0 startup fees and $0 pro-rated dues for an XZone membership option with delayed billing until May 1st. A processing fee of $20 (plus tax) was applicable with the ''flip'' sale. According to our records a total of $21.27 was paid at the time of joining. The ''flip'' special was a 12 month commitment that would continue on a month to month basis unless canceled otherwise. Billing information was provided by ****** for her monthly dues which were scheduled to start on May 1st. At any time the membership could have been canceled according to our cancellation policy. Our cancellation policy is explained on ******'s agreement and is also available online at our website. The information on ******'s agreement matches our special "flip" offer promoted in the club at that time. Had she used the 3 Month Free coupon and not the ''flip'' offer her agreement would have reflected $0 paid at the time of joining, a different membership type, no billing information would have been needed, and an expiration date would have been provided. (Documentation can be provided per request.) After thoroughly explaining how ****** could have canceled her membership while still within her agreement, I asked her for the reason she was leaving. Perhaps there was something that we could have done to provide her with a better experience. I went on to explain that though we ask our members to uphold our membership agreement, in the essence of great customer service I was able end her membership effective 4/30/13. This would prevent any billing to the account. I personally contacted our billing agency in order to confirm that ******'s method of billing would not be processed for 5/1/13 and I let ****** know. ****** responded by stating that she was moving over 25 miles away from any Cardio Express location (which meets our cancellation policy) and that she also had less than satisfactory experiences at Cardio Express. She asked if she would be charged and I again confirmed that the membership would end on 4/30/13 and therefore no charges would be processed to her account. If ****** had completed a cancellation form or sent a certified letter with her intent to cancel (with documentation of moving) per our agreement in March, her membership would have been scheduled to cancel effective April 30, 2013 and her May 1st payment could have been avoided. Unfortunately ****** did not follow our cancellation policy as agreed upon. As a courtesy, we provided her with her request for an immediate cancellation. Our correspondence via email ended with me asking about her less than satisfactory experiences with hope that more feedback would allow us to research anything she was concerned about. We pride ourselves on making membership happy and apologized that we were unable to make her a raving fan. I let her know that should she wish to rejoin in the future that she may contact me directly and at that time I'd be happy to provide her with the best prices and promotional rates to that she can get started! I have not yet received a response. I reached out via email again today to make sure that she has received my response. Consumer Response /* (2110, 7, 2013/04/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the partial settlement response from the business.) The only thing that I would like to clear up is that I went into Cardio Express in Tolland to cancel because I was moving more than 25 miles and the person helping me told me he could not cancel my membership because the billing cycle didn't start He told me that I would have to be charged before I could cancel. He acknowledged that I should be able to cancel because I was moving, but also said I couldn't because my billing cycle didn't start. He said that I could talk to you all if I thought that I was being misinformed. I followed your business protocol for canceling. It's your staff that was giving me misleading information.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a partial (less than 100%) settlement which the consumer accepted

3/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a ************ pre-paid debit card on file for my account. I was told that is an acceptable method of payment; however, it was declined. I received a call on the evening of February 20th informing me that my credit card payment was unable to be processed for March dues. I had a valid ************ prepaid debit card on file with a balance of $150 (plenty to cover the $10 fee). I was actually told prepaid cards are the best method of payment when I signed up with Keith in Wethersfield. I called ** Bank and was told that the card is eligible for EFT transfers and there was no reason for the payment to be declined on the banks end. According to the bank, the card I was using is not an accepted form of payment from *********, which I was not told at the time of signing up. I was in touch with Cardio Wethersfield and was told to contact member services, which I did several times. All of this time, no one informed me (until Feb 23) that now I will be hit with ANOTHER charge because my payment info has not been changed in time for the next payment, so it will bounce yet again. I was not notified of the bounced payment until it was too late (after the 20th) to update billing. When I checked my online account, I noticed the bounced transaction occured on Feb 11th. I am becoming very frustrated and cannot seem to find where I am at fault for all of these additional fees on my account. I provided a valid ***** card for payment, it was declined (unbeknownst to me). I want to know why I was not informed until it was too late for me to figure out the problem and update my payment information in time for the next cycle. This is absolutely absurd and I do not believe I should be responsible for $20 of fees.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a refund of the current $10 fee on my account and the $10 fee I will incur for the month of April.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/03/12) */ The member is responsible for the method of billing that they've authorized for payment of their membership. ******'s billing had declined for February 1st dues. With each decline a $10 service fee is applied by ****** per our agreement. ****** paid her dues but refused to pay for her $10 service fee. ****** contacted our Member Services Department via email on 2/23/13 to let us know that she had declined for February which she refused to pay the service fee for and was afraid to decline for March too resulting in another service fee. Per our membership agreement, changes in billing information must be provided to Cardio Express by the 20th day of the month in order to be processed for the next month's billing cycle on the 1st. I let ****** know that Cardio Express and ****** were not responsible for the February decline. Cardio Express processed dues through an outside billing agency called ******. ****** processes the dues via an automatic EFT system. They do not determine what is declined and what is not. The only way to decline would be on the provider's behalf. With that being said, I let ****** know that in order to find out why her method of billing had declined she would need to contact the Processing Department of her provider. I also provided with our policy for waiving service fees. Our policy is that if the decline is due to stolen, lost, or compromised card we will waive the fee with documentation from the bank. ****** responded by verifying that her card was not compromised, but that she was "unjustly" charged the $10 service fee for the decline. She mentioned that she had sufficient funds in the account to pay for her membership and I reminded her that the decline may not have been due to insufficient funds and that she would need to find out why through the Processing Department of her provider. In the meantime, I advised ****** to update us with new billing so that I could push through the new information to ****** in order to prevent another service fee for March dues. ****** stated that she spoke with the bank and they said that the card was fine for drafting and that ****** didn't accept the payment form. She refused to update us with new billing information prior to her February service fee being waived and threatened to report Cardio Express and ****** to ***. Four hours later ****** updated her billing information online. Just 10 minutes after ****** had updated online I let her know that should the new billing information be processed without any problems for March dues we'll go ahead and waive the $10 service fee as a courtesy. ****** responded by letting me know that she had updated online and verified the last 4 digits of the new account. As promised, I was able to push the new information to ****** just in time for March dues which processed without any problems. At this time ******'s February service fee has been waived per our correspondence and her membership was processed without any problems for March. Her membership resides in good standing with a zero balance. We look forward to continuing to service her health and fitness needs. *Documentation can be provided per request.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/4/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/22/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
2/16/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
2/16/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/17/2011 Billing/Collection Issues