BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Black Rock Antique Center LLC offers Estate Liquidation, consignments, auctions and appraisals.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Black Rock Antique Center, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Black Rock Antique Center, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Black Rock Antique Center, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 13, 2013 Business started: 05/02/2012 Business started locally: 05/02/2012 Business incorporated 04/24/2012 in CT
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Christie Spooner, Owner Mr. Grant Panarese, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Christie Spooner, Owner
Business Category

Estate Liquidators Appraisal - Jewelry Antiques - Dealers Consignment Service Consignment Service - Furniture Appraisers Appraisers - Antiques Auctioneers All Other Personal Services (NAICS: 812990)

Alternate Business Names
Black Rock Galleries

Additional Locations

  • 1720 Fairfield Ave

    Bridgeport, CT 06605 (203) 335-4444 (203) 979-8207 (203) 335-0000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/14/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They do online auctions which are to be picked up at there location which for the most part I am busy and don't have time running a business to be running all over the the state picking stuff up, but when I do - ESPECIALLY WHEN I PAY FOR MY STUFF INCLUDING COMMISSIONS TO THEM I expect to get all the items I PAY for. I went and picked up my stuff and they claimed to have lost a FEW items o WON in the auction which I already PAID for, very RUDELY said well call you it'll cost me $20 to have my illegal Mexican workers go back and look for them, and has yet the call - I have messaged them on ********, Email, ect everyday with NO response

Desired Settlement: I expect a fill refund and never to do business with this shady business ever again

Business Response: Hello - 


**** emailed me about his issue at 9:38 last night.  I promptly responded to him first thing this morning with the email below through my company email.  I also included his email below my response.  I have retracted his current bids in our system as he requested.  Please let me know if I can be of further assistance.

Kind regards,
Christie


Christie Spooner *******************************

8:20 AM (19 minutes ago)
to Todd
Hi **** - 

Thank you for sending the email.  I apologize for an inconvenience we may have caused you.  Although I'm not fully aware of all the details of this particular situation, I do know we would go above and beyond to make sure our customers and clients are happy.

I looked at your account and I see that you have had a few orders placed.  The most current would have items on the third floor and I believe you may be missing the **** ******* item.  On occasion within the tens of thousands of items we move in a 50,000 sq ft warehouse and other locations, an item gets misplaced.  I do know that this item was looked for extensively in the area it was stored, however it wasn't found.  We can offer two options for you at this time:

1. A full refund of your item
2. You can wait to see if it pops up and check in again or wait on a call from us

Both options are available at any time.  If you opt to receive a refund, we would still contact you when the item pops up as a courtesy. We've had only 2 items that never surfaced again so the chances of this item being found are very good.  It won't happen in a day but it will most likely happen.

Please let me know how you would like to proceed.  We are here to serve our clients and customers the best way we can.  it does not serve anyone well to misplace an item but we are not perfect.

On Wed, Dec 2, 2015 at 9:36 PM, **** ********* <**********************> wrote:
Can you please retract my bid as I am the high bidder, I don't want to bid or buy anything from BRG ever again after Grant's little hissy fit/bullshit he pulled on me. I'm still out money because he wouldn't resend his illegal Mexicans back upstairs to look for my pictures I PURCHASED - and still got NO PHONE CALL on

Sent from my iPhone

3/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This gallery had an auction this evening that was postponed after the end of some auctions. They postponed it til Monday. I placed a bid on ******* birthday cake from ********* ****** with 1 min left. In the rules it stated that the auction would be extended an additional 5 min. After I placed my max bid of $500. For the next 15 plus min. I was the highest bidder at $410. The Clock reset for another 15 min. The expired and I still did not win and they're were no more bids. I was the highest bidder for 22 min. Someone matched me at $500 at that time. 3 min later someone finally outbid me. I am extremely frustrated with this. I feel I won this auction and I should get the item. Please help. This is the Bid History Bid Date $575.00 03/11/2015 07:48 PM $550.00 03/11/2015 07:48 PM $510.00 03/11/2015 07:32 PM $500.00 03/11/2015 07:29 PM $500.00 03/11/2015 07:29 PM $410.00 03/11/2015 07:07 PM $350.00 03/11/2015 06:53 PM $310.00 03/11/2015 06:50 PM $300.00 03/11/2015 06:13 PM $300.00 03/11/2015 06:13 PM $200.00 03/11/2015 05:31 PM

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive the item at what I feel is the winning bid of $410. Also if this has been postponed for only 5 days how can we be sure this will not happen again. I think someone needs to take a close look to make sure that this auction company has the technology and support to handle the difficulties so this doesn't happen again.

Business Response: Thank you for your concerns about our ********* ****** Auction scheduled to begin closing at 7 p.m. last evening. 


Black Rock Galleries sincerely apologizes for the inconvenience to all our bidders. 

Our website was simply overwhelmed by the inordinate level of activity that hit our site during the last moments of the auction (we were inundated with calls from bidders stating that their bids were not being accepted). We immediately had our IT group on the case and quickly learned that the problem with the system's server could not be corrected in short time. 

So as a matter of fairness to all our bidders, we decided to extend the auction to allow everyone a chance to bid. Please know that all marketing efforts for the auction ended at the originally scheduled close time and no further marketing for this auction has taken nor will take place. 

We completely understand everyone's disappointment, but we believe that this is the fairest solution to an unexpected problem. 

If you have any further inquiries, please don't hesitate to contact us at *************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Black Rock Antique Center, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart