BBB Accredited Business since

Allstate Commercial Driver Training School

Phone: (800) 246-9567 Fax: (203) 888-8977 View Additional Phone Numbers 249 Pearl St, Seymour, CT 06483

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Allstate Commercial Driver Training offers instruction, CDL training, forklift training and testing to prospective truck drivers.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Allstate Commercial Driver Training School meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Allstate Commercial Driver Training School include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Allstate Commercial Driver Training School
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 12, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1975 Business started locally: 01/01/1975 Business incorporated 12/16/1994 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Higher Education, Dept. of
61 Woodland St, Hartford CT 06105
Phone Number: (860) 947-1801

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Chris Maiorano, Assistant School Director Ms. Jessica Evans, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Maiorano, Assistant School Director
Business Category

Driving Instruction Automobile Driving Schools (NAICS: 611692)

Additional Locations

  • 249 Pearl St

    Seymour, CT 06483 (203) 922-8252 (800) 246-9567


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company didn't help me obtain a CDL B license. Spent over $1200 for training and did not receive quality training and did not pass.I spent over $60 to get a permit at DMV. When I tried to retake the test, company had turned their back on me and required additional $300. I was told to get a new golden rod form at the DMV which cost $30 to retake the test. I had around 5 training days that where a hour and half with different instructors each time and was confusing each day I went, because each instructor did things different than what the study papers required. Very upset over this and had to wait over three months for them to get a truck that had a seat belt that would fit me at that time. Company took my money and turned their back on me. Company has not taking my calls.

Desired Settlement: Would like a full refund for wasting my time and money and a promise they told me of passing and finding a job, since I am unemployed.

Business Response: ****** ****** enrolled in Allstate Commercial Driver Training School's CDL Class B Refresher program.  This is the shortest class we offer for those who have experience with these types of vehicles.  While this is a highly successful program for most of our students who take it, the student must pass the final examination with a DMV inspector and our school can never guarantee that any particular student will pass on their first attempt.  Even the most prepared and impressive students can get nervous and make a fatal mistake on their test day.  Our enrollment contract with ****** very clearly states that this course included 6 hours of private lessons and 1 test with the DMV inspector.  Additional tests are $300 in this program and that fee is disclosed conspicuously in the first half of the first page of this agreement.  Please find this signed agreement in the attached file.

I cannot understand ******'s claim about us "not taking his calls".  Our office is open Mon-Fri 8:30am-5pm and Saturday from 9am-2pm.  If ****** tries to reach us within these hours he should have no problem getting through.  Also, as the Assistant School Director this is the very first time I am hearing of a complaint from ******.  ****** never tried to reach me to discuss any dissatisfaction with any part of the program.  If ****** did not feel prepared to take his final examination, then why didn't he express that concern before taking the test?   If there were problems with ******'s training, and he had brought them to our attention prior to taking his exam, it would have given the school the opportunity to correct any wrongs.  As far as I can see, our records show that ****** received all of the course hours we had agreed to provide and there is no indication that ****** expressed any concerns regarding the quality of our training until now. 
Please review the attached contract and let me know if there are any questions.
***** ********
Assistant School Director
Allstate Commercial Driver Training School

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: When I failed my test, ***** in Scheduling told me to go to Motor Vehicle Dept for a new golden rod $30 and he would reschedule me a new test. On the day I was supposed to retake test I get a call one hour before I'm supposed to be there, I'm told to bring in $300. I called back to talk to ***** and he wasn't available. I talked to a female secretary who had a very bad attitude about if you dont have the $300 you will not be allowed to take a test! Regardless When I signed up last year it wasn't explained to me correctly about the process, and I was told many different things by different people. I told ***** a few times I'm confused and wasn't ready a few times, but after rescheduling once I was told that was it, That he couldn't do that again and would put points against me which I still don't fully understand what that means? The School has shown that they don't really care about how much I spent or that if you pass. After that phone call about the $300 that was it, had enough, and I'm very upset! The permit I had to buy expires in June, so you tell me how the school is helping me other than installing a large seat belt that took months to do.


****** ****** ***