This Business is not BBB accredited

Atlantic Development Group, LLC

Phone: (203) 930-3149 View Additional Phone Numbers 26 Reef Rd, Fairfield, CT 06824 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.atlantichomebuilder.com ! BBB Business Review on Atlantic Development Group, LLC is being Updated by BBB!


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.




Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    26 Reef Rd

    Fairfield, CT 06824 (203) 930-3149 (475) 999-8000 (914) 269-4043

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted******** ** **** and then build a house at * ************,*********, NY. The house was designed and contracted for about 784,000 -- a wildly inaccuarte number, as it turns out, but the contractor wanted the bid and I didn't know any better. As you know, these projects are funded in phases. I gave aprox 150K for ***** o start the project . He and the architect at the time told the bank issuing the contstruction loan that the house was 41 percent finished, when in fact it was a hole in the ground. Unbenowst to me, work had been stopped for months -- from February to May. But when I realized nothing was happening at the site, I found out work had stopped because the architect couldn't figure out how to fix the house's major structural flaws. So: exist architect. Although ***** had neglected to pick up the phone and tell me there was a problem, he blamed the architect, and swore he was perfectly capable of doing the job once th estructural problems were fixed. So: new architect hired, who fixed the house's structural problems, which were profound. And here things go completely off the rails. ***** had agreed to complete the job of framing and windows with the money he had, almost about 300K. Almost immediately after I agreed, there was a demand for an additional 50K, since the scope of the project had changed. I paid it. That was in, I believe, May. There was work on the house in June and July -- and I believe during that time much of the house was framed. But again, in, I believe, September, there was work stoppage and demands for more money. The windows were never ordered, and ***** kept saying that the scope of the project had changed, and he had run out of money. I began to find that bills that were supposed to be paid, weren't. For example, he submitted an overage bill of $500 for lumber -- meaning, presumably, that the money budged for lumber had been paid and I needed to pay a bit more. Then, several weeks ago I get a frantic call: I needed to call the lumber yard and pay them 25K for lumber. It hadn't been paid at all. When my new architect began to demand an accounting, ***** first stonewalled and then more or less vanished. His arguement was that he was not going to "fund" my house. The contract that HE gave me (but apparently did not read) states that he gets paid when certain portions of the job are completed. He failed to complete even the framing and windows of this house after receiving approximately 380,000. That would be bad enough. But now, after terminating him (we have not gone into arbitration -- yet), I find that he only paid 3 months of the liability insurance he was supposed to be carrying for the entire year; he has not paid for incidentals on the property like the trailer, porta-potty etc since March, and he has not paid money owed to the subcontractors. His arguement will be that the scope of the house changed, and now it is a much more expensive house. The house is fundamentally unchanged from the design of the first architect. What *is* changed might well be finishing and interiors, but this has nothing to do with the 380K he has received to do, at most, 30 percent of the house (according to the bank itself, who sent someone out to inspect) . Moreover, because he has left elements of the ouse exposed to the elements for so long, there has already been damage to work that has been done.

Desired Settlement: To avoid further legal action, ***** needs to pay off all the people who could put liens on the house. This includes his subcontractors (he still owes a lot to the framing people, I found out) the people who he rented the trailer from (he owes almost 4000.00 on the trailer alone, unpaid since March), the Portapotty people the people who I just had to pay to haul away the filled dumpster. I need everyone involved with this to be paid, and I want a refund on the windows he was contractually obligated to pay for but didn't. According to him, the bid on the windows went from something like 35K to 110K -- despite the fact that virtually nothing about the windows changed from his initial bid.) As you can see, a lot of money is unaccounted for. I want it accounted for. If suddenly his costs for everything went wildly above what he budged for, well, show me. I've seen nothing. I have spent 380K on a house that is not fully framed, and subcontractors who will soon be putting liens on my property -- since he has claimed to them, outrageously, that the reason they haven't been paid is that I haven't paid him.