BBB Accredited Business since


Phone: (203) 698-9690 Fax: (203) 698-9688 1081 E Putnam Ave, Riverside, CT 06878

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


JSD, LLC offers coins, and paper currency.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that JSD LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on JSD LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 24, 2010 Business started: 01/01/2003 Business started locally: 01/01/2003 Business incorporated 02/19/2003 in CT
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Anthony R. Pironti, President Ms. Harriet F. Pironti, Business Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Anthony R. Pironti, President
Business Category

Coin Dealers, Supplies Gold, Silver & Platinum Dealers Hobby, Toy, and Game Stores (NAICS: 451120)

Alternate Business Names
American Historic Society

Additional Locations

  • 1081 E Putnam Ave

    Riverside, CT 06878 (203) 698-9690


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service
11/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
3/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/25/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received an offer of a free ******** ****** ****** and paid 4.95 for shipping and handling. They said on the phone that they would send another coin to look at and if I liked it I would pay 66.95 for the coin. They took out of my account 79.85, which I did not agree to. My account bounced. I only keep enough money in there to cover my bills. My bank charged my 34.00 bounced check fee because I did not agree to that amount and I was not told when that money would come out! I'm on Soc. Security and I am limited to very little to spend. They took more than what I agreed to and didnt tell me when it was coming out of my account! I called them and they would not help me. I wanted them to pay my bounced check fee and like I said, they took out more than the advertised amount of the coin. I was told 66.95 and they took out 79.85. Thats stealing.

Desired Settlement: pay my check bounce fee and credit my account the difference between 66.95 and what they took of 79.85.

Business Response: We are sorry that you felt we weren't clear over the phone.  I reviewed the recording of your order and the sales rep clearly stated that you would be charged $69.95 for the 2014 Silver Eagle plus $5.95 shipping and handling for that coin, he also stated as is mentioned on the ad that we charge $4.95 shipping for the 2015 Silver Eagle.  The rep stated that the total would be $80.85, however we currently only charge $4.95 shipping and insurance per coin, so the total was only $79.85.  I emailed this recording to you directly in case you would like to review it.  As always, you are welcome to return the Eagles for a full refund, we will also refund shipping and handling.  

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:That's not what I understood at the time of the order. They  still went into my account and took what they wanted without telling me what they were taking out and when. Because they did this my account bounced. I do not keep that kind of money in my account at all times! I'm on Soc. Security and I'm on a budget. I only have money on the 3rd of the month when I receive money from Soc. Security. I cant do business with a company that cant tell it customers when the money is coming out of the account, making sure the money  is there.


**** *******

Business Response: We know that overdrawing your account has caused you some inconvenience, and we can empathize.  However, if you listen to the recording that we sent you, you will notice the following:  The representative informed you that you would be billed $80.85 and that you would be billed when we ship the product.  You were also informed that you would receive the product in two to three weeks.  You were billed $79.85 when we shipped the coins and we delivered the product within that three week window.  You agreed to the terms of the offer on the phone call, including how much you would be charged and when.  We have honored those terms.  If you wish, you are welcome to return the coins for a full refund.

12/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Every Time I call this "Society" the lady answering the phone is really rude, they do not value customers opinions and the products are not always as advertised!!

Desired Settlement: Two of the three of the ******* Rounds of .999 Silver have the words COPY printed into them! This makes them look very ugly! One of the three I have ordered do not have COPY printed into the coin it is a nice coin! Would like the two coins replaced, with ones that do not have COPY printed into them!!

Business Response: Dear Sir,

I'm sorry you felt mistreated by our customer service staff, be assured that you are a valued customer.  I'm sorry you are dissatisfied with the ******* silver rounds.  As I'm sure you know silver rounds are 1 oz silver bullion, but they are not legal tender.  They are not produced by the ** ****, they are produced by a private mint.  The only 1 oz silver bullion coins produced by the ** **** are the ******** ****** ******.  Even though I doubt anyone would mistake a ******* silver round for a ******* nickel or a gold ******* coin, legally, if the coin bears a resemblance to US Coinage it must have the word Copy on the back.  
I've checked our inventory and all the ******* rounds that we have in stock have the word 'COPY' on the back.  If the private mints that we buy these coins from have changed their design on the advice of counsel to include the word 'Copy' there is little that we can do to change it.  
I'll have our customer service staff email you a return label.  You are welcome to return the ******* coins that you didn't like for a full refund.  Additionally, we'll include a code for a $25 gift certificate for use on our site.
Thank you for your business.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


****** *****

7/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Seven weeks ago, the 3rd week in May,2014 I returned to the ******** ******** ******* * **** ****** ***** valued at $69.95. My credit card, as of today, has not been credited with a refund. Numerous phone calls to them have resulted in me hearing several different lies, including " we have issued you a refund." They have not issued a refund.

Desired Settlement: full refund of $69.95

Business Response: We are sorry that your refund wasn't processed promptly.  We were waiting to receive the **** ****** ***** before we process the refund.  We still have not received it.  However, we have decided to issue the refund for the full purchase price and all shipping and handling charges you incurred.  The refund comes to $79.85.  Since we only process orders weekly, please allow one week for the refund to show up on your card.  Thank you for your business.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. But I will add that on 06/12/2014 the date that I made my first telephone contact with JSD LLC  D.B.A. *** ******** ******** ******* the woman I talked to stated that she recalled receiving the coin and my attached letter and that she authorized the issuing of my refund and that I should receive it within the next four days. This is quite contrary to what is now JSD LLC's response.


**** ******

Consumer Response:

This is A continuation of a complaint I filed on 7-15-2014. Sorry I do not have the complaint number. During the 3rd. week of may I returned to JSD LLC, dba ******** ******** ******** A 2013 American Eagle Dollar coin valued at $69.95 plus S&H,for a total of $75.90, plus a note indicating that I was returning the coin because I was on permanent layoff, could not afford the coin or continue my membership in the program that would ship me a dollar coin every month that would cost a total of $75.90.On June 12,I called the ******** ******** ******* at ###-###-####, spoke to a lady who identified herself as ********. She told me that she had accepted my return and recalled my note indicating I was on permanent layoff and that she had approved my return the previous day and that I should have it posted on my credit card statement within a week. On 7-23-14, I saw the refund on my statement via the computer. On 7-24-14 I noticed on my statement that after returning my refund early on 7-23-14 they turned around and posted a charge against my credit card for $75.90, which was an indication they were charging me for another coin.Late on 7-27-14 my wife and I returned home from an out of town 4 day trip and found a package sitting on the outside steps. The package contained a 2012 American Eagle Dollar coin which I cannot afford and a FREE wooden coin box which I can afford and do want.The unwanted coin is in the mail be returned. I demand a refund and do not want any more coins sent to me. Any further charges to my credit card I will consider an illegal act and will notify The CT State Attorney Generals Office of Consumer Affairs that I would like legal action taken against JSD LLC

Desired Settlement / Outcome
Desired Settlement:
Desired Outcome:
I want a complete refund for the price of the coin and no more coins charged to my credit card or sent to me.

Business Response: We apologize for the confusion.  It seems that when you called to check on your refund our representative misunderstood a comment you made about wanting the coins.  She took it to mean that you would like to get additional shipments in the program.  She reactivated your membership in the program.  Based on your complaint this was clearly not what you meant we apologize for our mistake.  We will refund you the Full amount of the second shipment, $75.90.

6/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: They sent me 1 Morgan silver dollar 1893 and a wooden box that holds 56 coins. I sent back the box and the 1893 coin. I sent 2 Morgan's, a 1923 and a 1879 that I was looking at. The money for the 2 Morgan silver dollars was taken out of my account on 2 different dates on 12/25/2013 and 02/12/2014 for $85.90 total amount is $171.80. Also, there was 5 coins left in the box by mistake that were mine. There was 3 gold coin proofs. 1 was a 1933 Double Eagle Archival Ed. Issued 2012 Certificate #B03163 and 1 was a 1933 Double Eagle (Replica) Issued 2003 Certificate #E00527, also 1 gold proof U.S. Constitution Bill of Rights Amendment I Certificate #07732 There was 1 (The Presidents of the USA) Silver Obama proof coin Certificate #B09978and 1 1891 Morgan Silver Dollar (P) MC70 of my personal coins

Desired Settlement: I want my 5 coins back if possible, if they will not give them back I want the full value of each coin that were left in the box with the other 2. Thank you!

Business Response: The customer was refunded for the two coins that he returned.  Each coin was $79.95 plus p&h and he was refunded $159.90 on 3/13.

We found the box he inadvertently sent to us with his own coins.  There were only three coins in the box: An Obama coin, Bill of Rights coins and 1933 Gold Eagle Replica.  Those three coins were returned to him.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: The company returned 3 of my coins, but just so happen could not find the 1891 Morgan Silver Dollar in the same case. That is why, they kept the one that cost the most.  They owed me $171 but gave me $159. This company has been crooked from the start.


***** *********

Business Response: We are unsure why you sent your personal coins to us but we have returned all the coins we actually received.  We are sorry that you are dissatisfied with that.  You have been refunded the purchase price for the Morgan silver dollars you purchased from us and we have decided to go to the added step of refunding all the shipping and handling charges you incurred from the Morgan shipments, namely, $16.85.  It is our hope that we can part ways amicably.  

3/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the mail, I have received an envelope of advertisements. One advertisement, from ******** ******** ******** **** ******* ******* *********** ** *****). On the front of the advertisement are pictured 5 (FIVE) state quarters, from the following states, ALASKA, MONTANA, WISCONSIN, NEBRASKA, & COLORADO. In writing it states, "ALL 50 STATE QUARTERS A $100 VALUE FREE" & "IN HARD-TO-FIND BRILLIANT UNCIRCULATED CONDITION" & " Call 1-800-903-9556 today! M-F, 9AM-5:30PM, EST". On the back of the advertisement, there are 5 (FIVE) state quarters, from the following states, OREGON, CALIFORNIA, ARIZONA, ARKANSAS, & WYOMING. In writing it states, "Why Are We Giving Away A Free Set of 50 State Quarters? To Introduce You To The U.S. Mint's Newest Quarter Series Honoring Our Nation's Beautiful National Parks" & "-The National Parks quarters are expected to be the most popular new coin series in U.S. mint history!" & "-Simply agree to preview the first quarter in the new series and we'll send you all 50 State Quarters, a $100 value, for free (pay just $4.95 to cover p&h)." & "-Parks quarters are in brilliant uncirculated condition and come mounted on a colorful, informative collector's display panel." & "-Take advantage of this offer today-production has stopped on the first 18 coins in the series and no more will be minted again." & "(Images of C.C. ***** ********* ******* * ****) FOR EASY ORDERING Call toll-free 1-800-903-9556 M-F, 9AM-5:30PM, EST" I contacted the company in regards to this offer. Their recorded message and representative stated that for $29.95, they will send me 3 (THREE) quarters and the 50 state quarters, with a 30-day preview period, where if I don't want it, I have to send everything back to them, or pay $29.95 for the 3 (THREE) quarters, including the 50 so called free state quarters. I explain to them that on the advertisement, all it states is, "SIMPLY AGREE TO PREVIEW THE FIRST QUARTER IN THE NEW SERIES AND WE'LL SEND YOU ALL 50 STATE QUARTERS, A $100 VALUE, FOR FREE (PAY JUST $4.95 TO COVER P&H). They stated that the preview is paid, and for the 3 (THREE) quarters that they will send for $25, you have to pay that up front, and the $4.95 in order to keep the 50 state quarters. In addition, they stated that if I don't want the 3 (THREE) quarters for $25, I would have to send the 3 (THREE) quarters back to them, along with the alleged free 50 (FIFTY) state quarter. They stated they would provide a full refund if I were to send back all items. I feel this is misleading. The reason being is that it doesn't state on the advertisement that it's a paid preview, just simply agree to preview the first quarter. In addition, it might be consider bait and switch, because instead of offering me the first quarter in the series, they are offering me 3 (THREE) different quarters, not as stated in the advertisement. Finally, they state that the 50 state quarters are free, just to pay the processing and handling of $4.95. So if I send back the preview, why am I required to send back the 50 state quarters that they stated are free? The representative, nor the acting manager wanted to alleviate the problem, all they wanted is to sell what they wanted, not what they advertised.

Desired Settlement: I would like the following to happen. First, for the company to cease advertising this material to the public. If they will not cease, than I wish for the company to honor the offer as advertised. For the runaround, I wish to receive my 50 free state quarter, just for the $4.95 processing and handling fee. I don't want any run-around. All I want is for the public to be safe, and for the public to receive what is advertised.

Business Response: We are sorry if the phone rep wasn't clear.  The offer is exactly as it's stated on the ad.  The 50 State Quarters is a gift with a preview of the National Parks program.  It is a preview because no one is obligated to keep it or any further shipments of the National Parks program.  If someone doesn't return the 50 state quarters, then the $4.95 p&h for the 50 state quarters is not refunded, however the full cost and p&h of the first shipment of the National Parks program is fully refunded.

We are sorry that you were dissatisfied with your experience with American Historic Society and we will send you a Free set of 50 State Quarters as soon as we have them in stock (should be next week).

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because of the following reason:

I have clearly understood the recorded message on the phone, the customer service representative, and the acting supervisor at the time of my call. The recorded message on the phone, the customer service representative, and the acting supervisor clearly stated as follows:

In order to accept their offer and receive their free 50 state quarters, all you, as a customer, have to do is pay $29.95, which $4.95 is for processing and handling for the "free" 50 quarters, and the $25.00 is for payment of the previews of the first 3 (THREE) state quarters. My advertisement, in which I have in possession clearly states that you have to agree to a preview for 1 (ONE) state quarter (IT does not state anywhere that you have to pay $25.00 for the preview), and just pay $4.95 for processing and handling and get your 50 state quarters free. The advertisement is clearly different than what the message states, and thus I cannot agree to what you want to sell, but rather I am only interested in what is advertised.

So I don't agree to your response, because it doesn't say you have to pay for the preview. In essence, when a company sends a preview, the customer previews it and if he/she decides to keep it, than he/she pays for the item, if not, than he/she will decide to return the item.

I will only agree if the following is met:

I will pay $4.95 for processing and handling of the 50 (FIFTY) state quarters, and agree to a preview. I will only pay for the preview if I decide not to return it and keep it (as implied in the advertisement). If I decide not to keep the preview and return it, than I will not be obligated to pay for the preview.


******* ******

Business Response: Thank you for your interest.  As you said yourself although not all the conditions of the preview are spelled out in the advertisement, they are all clearly spelled out on the phone before you order.  You are welcome not to place an order if you don't like the offer.

Consumer Response:  The advertising is misleading. It is a pure bait and switch scheme, where one thing is advertised, but another thing is sold. I want the advertising to be stopped produced, or to honor the advertisement to all, and publicly address the issue to all who may have received this advertisement.

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


******* ******

2/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Every time I have called with a question about my order, the person on the phone (in my case, it was always a woman every time I called) was always rude. It sounded like I was bothering her. I am rushed off the phone every time. The last and final call I just made, the lady was very rude, and hung up on me. I returned the items because I didn't want them, and even returned the "free" items. She told me I did not return the free items, which is not true. The reason I called was because I was not refunded for the full price, there was still a charge on my card. It was mentioned when they were sending the items to me, and on the paper that they would pay for shipping. She final told me, with an attitude, that she will refund the remaining charge on my card and that they will not be sending me any more shipments. I said that I was fine with that, and she responded rudely that they were happy with that and then abruptly hung up.

Desired Settlement: Awaiting refund to be applied to my card.

Business Response: We apologize that our customer did not receive a refund of the processing and handling fee of $5.95.  That refund will be submitted with our batch processing this week.  He should see the credit of $5.95 next week.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


****** *******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on JSD LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)