BBB Accredited Business since

Chimney Champs, LLC

Phone: (860) 594-8607 View Additional Phone Numbers 184 Dowd St, Newington, CT 06111

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers chimney cleaning, as well as capping, lining, and construction.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chimney Champs, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Chimney Champs, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 16, 2010 Business started: 07/01/2010 Business started locally: 07/01/2010 Business incorporated 07/27/2010 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Charles Jasmine, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charles Jasmine, Owner
Business Category

Chimney Cleaning Chimney Lining Materials Chimney Builders & Repair Mason Contractors Other Services to Buildings and Dwellings (NAICS: 561790)

Additional Locations

  • 184 Dowd St

    Newington, CT 06111 (860) 594-8607 (860) 816-7371


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Chimney Champs to clean two chimneys at my residence for the advertised price of $99 each. The day of the job, I was at work and my wife was home to let them in. I was on the phone with the guy while he was at my house. He stated that both chimneys were too dirty and the price to clean them would be a total of $640. I reluctantly agreed. When I came home, my wife told me that he told her that he had broken the smoke pipe to one of the stoves. He had apologized to my wife and said that he would come back one week later to repair the pipe. When I inspected the smoke pipe to the other stove, I found that that smoke pipe had be broken as well. One week later, a different guy had returned. Again, I was at work. He told my wife that he didn't have the right parts to repair the smoke pipe, and said he would be back in another week to finish the repair. My wife told him no, and that they needed to fix the problem before another week had passed, because of the impending cold weather. He stated that he would come back the next day, and would call to confirm. We received no call, and no one came. My wife called on that day. She spoke to the receptionist, Unique, who stated she would put it on the work order for the following week. My wife again responded that we were not willing to wait for another week. The owner Chuck came three days later to make the repair himself. After he had left, I came home and found that the smoke pipe had been repaired, but the stove itself was completely off center, crooked, and in the incorrect position of the fireplace. I attempted to call Chuck to find out what went wrong. I left messages with the receptionist for a month, each time she says Chuck would be calling me back that day. After threatening a report to the BBB, he eventually called me back. He again apologized. He stated that because I didn't have liners in the chimneys, that he wasn't supposed to hook the stoves back up, because he claimed it isn't safe. But he did anyway. Other than them trying to sell me the liners, it was never stated by Chuck or his employees until after the work was done, that hooking the stoves back up would not be safe, or that they were doing me some kind of favor by doing so. Chuck said he would review my case and get back to me with some kind of resolution. Another month goes by without a call. I leave countless messages. Eventually, he calls me back. He offers to come back another time for more repairs, or refund half the money. Given that I had to buy another smoke pipe for the second pipe they broke, I elected to take the refund. Three weeks go by, no refund. I call back again on a Monday. Chuck is again unavailable. I talk to the receptionist again, asking about the status of the refund. As always, she tells me Chuck will call me back right away. I received no call. Wednesday, I call again. the receptionist tells me Chuck is not in the office. I expressed my frustration about the matter. The receptionist claimed that she sent the check out on Monday, 12/21/2015. While on the phone with her, suddenly Chuck is in the office and he takes the phone. He again apologizes, and reiterates that the check went out on Monday. Today is 12/29/2015. I still have not received a check. I am only left to assume that Chuck and his receptionist had been lying about sending the check. Never in all my years have I dealt with a company so incompetent. As a contractor myself, I understand that things break and mistakes happen. What makes the difference is how those instances are handled. Chuck and his company, Chimney Champs, showed absolutely no interest in doing the job correctly and efficiently, or in resolving these issues. From the first day, the only interest they showed is how to get us to spend more money. They have left me with months of chasing them down, repairing the damage they had done, and a loss of $640 for work that was worth peanuts.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of $638.10

Consumer Response:

Hello. Back in December I opened a complaint, # ********, against Chimney Champs. The complaint went unanswered by the company, and the case has since been closed.

As requested, I am informing you that Mr. Jasmine, the owner, gave me the full refund of $638.10 due to the pressure put on by the Better Business Bureau.

My family and I thank you so much for your help in this matter. I will no longer be pursuing this case and I withdraw the complaint.


******* ***** *** ****** **** *********** ** ***** ************ ***********************

2/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a **** ****** wood burning stove in October 2012 and wanted to be diligent about maintaining it for the safety of our family. So at the end of the season, on April 9, 2013 Dan from Chimney Champs came out to do a cleaning. I was busy caring for my 3 small children at the time and didn't supervise the cleaning because I knew that I hired a professional and I trusted him to do the job correctly. He was very kind and professional, and I was impressed with the cleanliness of the team both in appearance and after the work was completed. In October 2013 we started up the wood stove for the first fire of the season, and after awhile the closed stove started billowing thick acrid smoke into our home in such a manner we thought we must have a chimney fire. My children were so scared and we called 911. Five firetrucks and 30 firemen responded to the out of control situation. After a thorough inspection, they confirmed that the chimney was indeed clean from our servicing in April. However, we discovered that the inner chambers of the stove remained hard packed with ash because they were not cleaned out by Chimney Champs. My receipt states that I paid $105.35 for a Wood Stove Cleaning... but my stove was NOT cleaned and my family was put at tremendous risk for this. We are greatful that we were not sleeping when this event occurred. I wrote a heartfelt letter of concern detailing these events and mailed it to Chimney Champs along with my original receipt for service, and I am most disappointed that they have not contacted me concerning this. Therefore, I have decided to contact the BBB.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to come out and sweep the chimney free of charge (not the stove, we will clean out the inside chambers ourselves this time now that we learned how).OrI would like to be refunded the original cost of the cleaning because my receipt states that I paid for a wood stove cleaning and the wood stove was NOT cleaned.

Business Response: From: Chimney Champs
Sent: Thursday, February 27, 2014 3:57 PM
To: ******** * *******
Subject: Re: CT BBB Pending Complaint *******
Importance: High

Hi ********, this is ***** with Chimney Champs llc,  we have resolved this problem with ******** ******. 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. The Chimney Champs worked very hard to resolve the situation.  They are good hardworking people with good intentions.  We all learned from the situation that occurred  and now we all know that some wood stoves have inner chambers that must be dissassembled and emptied out annually in addition to having the chimney swept. 

I would definately recommend their services in the future, and would hire them again to sweep my chimney pipe.  Their workers are very courteous, professional, and extremely neat.  
Thank you Chimney Champs for following up in this issue~ your attention to this matter is greatly appreciated!


******** ******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Chimney Champs, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart