This business is not BBB accredited.

Mahan's Lakeview Fine Catering

Phone: (203) 879-9363 Fax: (203) 879-6161 15 Grilley Rd, Wolcott, CT 06716 http://www.mahanscatering.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers catering services and banquet facility.


BBB Accreditation

On 2/8/2016 this business's accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to its failure to adhere to the BBB requirement that Accredited Businesses meet and abide by the following standards:

  • 6A. Promptly respond to all complaints forwarded by BBB by:
    1. Resolving the complaint directly with the complainant and notifying BBB, or
    2. Providing BBB with a response that BBB determines:
      • is professional,
      • addresses all of the issues raised by the complainant,
      • includes appropriate evidence and documents supporting the business' position, and
      • explains why any relief sought by the complainant cannot or should not be granted.

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Mahan's Lakeview Fine Catering include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mahan's Lakeview Fine Catering
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 03, 2002 Business started: 03/29/2000 Business started locally: 03/29/2000 Business incorporated 03/29/2000 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT 06106
http://www.dcp.state.ct.us
Phone Number: (860) 713-6300
trade.practices@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mrs. Nadine Mahan, Owner Mr. Marty Fallon, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Marty Fallon, General Manager
Principal: Mrs. Nadine Mahan, Owner
Business Category

Caterers Wedding Supplies & Services Wedding Chapels & Ceremonies Wedding Consultants Banquet Facilities Caterers (NAICS: 722320)

Alternate Business Names
Mahan's Lakeview Fine Catering LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    15 Grilley Rd

    Wolcott, CT 06716 (203) 879-9363

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I met with the manager Marty in June 2014 and booked ******* ******** for our Wedding June 13, 2015. We signed our contact confirming this date and the time of 6:00pm. About 4 weeks before our wedding the manager called us to tell us that they "double booked" our wedding and we had the option of changing our time to the 11am slot or day. With such short notice, our only option was to move our time earlier in the day, which was not what we wanted but had no choice given the circumstances. We were told it was a "computer glitch" at one point. Although we were given a discount, we feel that we were taken advantage of and manipulated so the venue could still collect money and fill the earlier spot. Our suspicion furthered when we found out that this facility did this to two other couples - one later in June and one in September. All of us were told only about 3 weeks prior to our wedding. I believe that if they were running an honest business and we were truly the first couple this happened to - they would have gone through every contract and made sure that they didn't do this to anyone else. By waiting to only weeks before - it is nearly impossible to try to have the wedding else where.

Desired Settlement: My husband and I are reasonable people. When this first happened we were heartbroken, but we also realized people make mistakes. The difference over the past few months is that ******* is making a pattern out of ruining - what is supposed to be - the happiest day of a person's life. As soon as we agreed to the discounted price - all bets were off. Any "sympathy" they had when they first realized their "mistake" was gone and we felt so put off during the process and uncomfortable during our wedding day having to be surrounded by the people who essentially ruined it. At minimum we would expect an apology - preferably public- admitting that what they did was absolutely wrong, a true honest reason for the multiple mistakes and for them to check every single record that they are not double booked for a future wedding. We just do not want this to happen to any other couple trying to start their lives together.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mahan's Lakeview Fine Catering
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)