BBB Accredited Business since

MDM Products, LLC

Phone: (800) 447-7079 Fax: (203) 783-9531 View Additional Phone Numbers 105 Woodmont Rd, Milford, CT 06460 http://www.mdmshelters.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

MDM Products, LLC offers portable shelters, carports, car covers, instant garages, greenhouses, canopies, tents and party tents. Suitable for residential, agricultural and commercial uses.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that MDM Products, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for MDM Products, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on MDM Products, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 21, 2003 Business started: 08/31/2001 Business started locally: 08/31/2001 Business incorporated 08/31/2001 in CT
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Michael Skoldberg, Managing Member Ms. Barbara Skoldberg, Managing Partner Mr. Donald Skoldberg, Managing Partner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Donald Skoldberg, Managing Partner
Principal: Mr. Michael Skoldberg, Managing Member
Business Category

Carports Greenhouses Emergency Shelters Buildings - Portable Tents Tool & Utility Sheds Tents - Rental Boat Storage Recreational Vehicles - Storage Storage Units - Portable Covers - Protective Storm Shelters Other Warehousing and Storage (NAICS: 493190)

Alternate Business Names
Rhino Shelter

Additional Locations

  • 105 Woodmont Rd

    Milford, CT 06460 (800) 447-7079

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered from them 7 years ago and did not have a problem. Ordered a replacement cover (GRAY) and two doors (GRAY) from them several months ago and the doors are defective. The doors at each end have the zippers sewn on the wrong side which would require having the inner WHITE color showing. Have sent them pictures of the issue, several emails and phone calls. They do not want to take responsibility and at one point said that the product was incorrectly installed which is untrue and verified from past use and photographic evidence.

Desired Settlement: Simply want the proper ones sent as ordered! Gray doors mean that the doors should be mounted with the Gray color outside rather than the white color outside!!

Business Response:

     All of us here are aware of this situation. We explained to him that we are still out of stock. We explained to him that we will be sending him out two new end panels as soon as we receive them back in stock. We explained to him over the phone that we have been out of stock and that's the only reason they haven't been set out yet. Our factory was under construction and we have been waiting for almost all our sizes to replenish. This has been a situation we have no control over as far as the time. When he called in and said he wasn't happy this was our only option to help him.  He can keep the two end panels he was shipped and use them.  

The zippers are not sewn on backwards. The end panels he has now are just an older style. The end panels he has now work perfectly fine. This happened because our warehouse guys weren't aware we had any older style end panels left in the warehouse. No one here was trying to send him any older style end panels or were we trying to get him to keep them.  Were expecting the gray house style end panels to be back in stock mid August. When he called in and told us about the issue we told him we would replace them and there would be no charge for shipping out another set or would he need to send back the end panels we sent him. We apologize for the delay. If he feels this isn't fair he's welcome to send back the end panels and we will issue him a refund for 100% of what he paid. My name is *** ********* and I can be contacted at ************** for that refund or if he would prefer my email address ********************. Unfortunately we don't have any shelters in the color gray that we could open to take new end panels out of to send to him or we would have done that. He probably thinks we have no intentions in sending out the end panels to him because it's been so long. Thank you for the opportunity to explain the delay.

 

Best Regards

*** *********            

9/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I HAVE OWNED MY UNIT FOR 7 YEARS NOW . JUST ABOUT 2 YEARS AGO I HAD TO REPLACE A DOOR WHEN THE ZIPPED FAILED. I CONTACTED rINO AND AFTER GOING THROUGH HOW IT WAS INSTALLED , ETC I DID EVERYTHING CORRECT BY SECURNING THE FRAME TO THE WOOD DECKING THAT THE UNIT COVERS. NOW ONCE AGAIN THE ZIPPER FAILED AND THE SHELTER IS NO LONGER SECURE . I HAVE BEEN EMAILING AND TALKING WITH THEM SINCE 8/16/2014 AND TO DATE HAVE GOT NOTHING BUT THE RUN AROUND GOOD PRODUCT, POOR c/s .

Desired Settlement: to be sent yet another door at no cost

Business Response:

The complaint against MDM Products is a complete lie. This customer emailed us that one of is zippers on his end panels tooth had broken and he wanted it replaced 5 years after the products (shelter) was out of warranty. Not only did we reply back to his 1st email with in 24 hours but we responded back to all 7 of his emails and all 10 of his phone calls. Our company opens at 8 a.m and closes at 10 p.m He called so many times that all of our sales staff stopped taking his phone number and name down because they were getting confused because he would keep switching sales people. If he wasn't happy with one persons answers he would then call back and ask for another persons and then start all over and go thru the story of his broken end panel. When a customer buys one of our shelters new the product comes with a two year warranty. His shelter was purchased in 2005. When a customer calls in with a warranty issue we ask for proof of purchase. I personally ask him for a sales receipt or a credit card statement or a sales receipt from the freight carrier or anything stating he ordered the shelter from a dealer or a authorized retail outlet. He couldn't come up with any information. I was willing to over look this information but now I have been informed the shelter is 7 years old. We requested photographs showing the end panels so that I could see that it was our product and see how bad the damage was so that I could see if I could help him out by repairing the end panels zippers. He refuses to help us out in any way by sending over proof of purchase and any pictures. I even explained he could use his cell phone to snap a picture and send it by text to help him out. Friday after he called and called and called and email and emailed It was becoming so annoying I told the sales person to just have him send the end panel back so we can have a look at it. Unfortunately for this customer we do have basic warranty requirements and there are managers and owners we have to report to and we cant just send out new end panels because he says he has a issue with his end panel.

I can be reached anytime to discus this customers warranty and I will be more than happy to help out in anyway possible to make his experience go smoothly. Currently we are waiting for the customer to remove his end panel and send it back to us and we will evaluated the damage and repair cost and he is responsible for the shipping both ways and any repair costs. I forgot to mention that I told the person helping him to offer him a discounted price to replace the end panel at 50% off the price we sell them for online because he had an issue and his shelter was 5 years out of warranty. He still wasn't happy with that information and insisted on calling over and over and emailing over and over. We had new software installed 2 years ago and each time I would mention his sales receipt he would say you looked it up last time. Yes we did look it up for him 2 and a half years ago when we were on our old software and it was out of warranty then as well.

 

Best Regards

*** *********     

11/21/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In Sep 2012 I called and asked if their product, car storage bag, would protect my cars from mice. I was informed that there was a 2 year warrantee on mice getting in. I asked the girl how they could guarantee the mice would not get in. She said "The material is made of a composite that is a deterrent for mice". I purchased 2 in Sep 2012. As of today Nov 2013 I have a bunch of mice holes and mice have severely damaged my vehicles. I contacted ***** liner and they informed me that they are only guaranteed for defects on workmanship for 2 years. Not mice. She sort of laughed. The rude person told me too bad. Sorry and have a Nice day. She hung up on me. Do not buy this product.

Desired Settlement: I want my $495.00 I spent refunded. This will not pay for the damage done to my vehicles. **** ******* ************ **** ****** ** *** **** **** *** *******.

Business Response:

  To whom this may concern,

   I sincerely apologize if *** **** called into our place of business and wasn't happy with the way he was treated over the phone. I checked thru all of our customer service records and I don't show any warranties ever filed for any car covers. I'm concerned that *** **** contacted the correct company. Listed below in the complaint he has down that he called ***** Liner. ***** Liner is located in the same town as we are in Milford Ct. No all affiliated with MDM Products or the MDM Products car Pocket. This happens to us and customers all the time so this customer wouldn't be the first. Our warranty  policy for any warranty issues is we request that the customer sends in pictures of the situation they are trying to have covered under warranty along with proof of purchased that the product is even ours. I had a look in our system this morning when this complaint came thru and I don't show any car cover warranty claims in our system. We have 4 sale people that answer our phones from 8:00 a.m. until 10:00 p.m. Monday thru Sunday and all of our sales people are trained professionally regarding what to tell customers regarding how to go about filing a claim. All four of our sales staff have all been working here for at minimum of 5 to 10 years and management monitors what is said to our customers and we tell each and every customer to send in pictures along with your proof of purchase and after we see what has happened to the product we than determine weather or not the product is defective or if the problem is a weather related issue. Regarding mice eating thru the car cover. That is something I personally have never seen before and isn't something we have ever had to warranty. Most of our warranty claims with the car covers are people that leave them outside and the wind and snow ends up tearing the fabric and damaging the car cover. I recommend that ** **** follows the steps we have in place and send over the pictures to my email address which is ********************. I will help out *** **** with his car cover problem and see if its something we can cover under warranty. I recommend him sending in either pictures of the car cover were he has mice or send back the car cover. Is this product the car pocket indoor car cover or is it the out door car cover? This is why we request to see a sales receipt and also pictures sent over or even send the car cover in and we can see what happened or how it happened then we can determine if its repairable. After I receive the pictures and proof of purchase I will help *** **** and determine if this is something we can help him get covered under warranty. Unfortunately not everyone is happy when they call in and realize they have to go thru all the steps of taking pictures or even having to send the product back for repair of the product showing what the problem is and then having to find the original sales receipt but once they get over that hump of getting everything over to us there's normally not to many situations we don't cover under warranty regardless how the damage happened to one of our products. If a potential customer calls up to buy one of our car pockets and asks us our recommendations about mice all of our sales staff tell customers the same thing. I look forward to reviewing *** ****s  pictures and helping him out. Thank you in advance for bring this to my attention. Once we receive everything from ** **** we will handle his cliam like we would any other customers cliam that comes thru our company. But right now its very difucult to do anything when we don't even know if he contacted our company never yet sent in any warranty info along proof of purchase it came from our company. I will respond back to the Better Bussiness Bureu once everything has been received. 

 

Best Reagrds

 

*** *********

MDM Products

*** ******** ** ******* ** ***** **************

 

www.mdmshelters.com

               

10/31/2012 Delivery Issues