BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

ShelterLogic offers portable garages, canopies, & pop-up canopies.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that ShelterLogic Corp. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for ShelterLogic Corp. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 29 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

29 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 13 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 8
Problems with Product/Service 16
Total Closed Complaints 29

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on ShelterLogic Corp.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 2005 Business started: 01/10/2005 Business started locally: 01/10/2005 Business incorporated: 08/08/2011 in DE
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. James Raymond, CEO Mr. John Bateson, Vice President/CFO Mr. William Kutys, Accounting Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Raymond, CEO
Customer Contact: Ms. Christa Spry, Director,Customer Service
Business Category

Buildings - Portable Tarps Tool & Utility Sheds Greenhouse Equipment & Supplies Screen Enclosures Carports Greenhouses Mats & Matting Shade Sails Awnings & Canopies Other Building Material Dealers (NAICS: 444190)


Additional Locations

  • 150 Callender Rd

    Watertown, CT 06795 (860) 945-6442 (800) 932-9344

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 932-9344(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 08/31/14, I purchased product #*****, which was a ***** *** shelter that was advertised as being 24’ long, 13’ wide, and 10’ tall. The item was purchased to house a full-size pickup truck with **** ***** mirrors and a snowplow consisting of a 10’ wide X 31.5” tall blade. The shelter was assembled over and around the plow and its stop. The only reason for choosing this product over others was because of the advertised width and price. The vendor did admit that ShelterLogic’s quality control is poor, at best, and that he would replace all defective parts, as he finds himself frequently doing. The item I purchased was defective. The tubular components were not uniform in their curvatures and I was unable to ascertain which rib components were the faulty ones, since templates were not included in the kit. The main cover was approximately 20’ in length (about 4’ short), which the vendor replaced and admitted that I wasn’t the only customer who encountered this same issue. In fact, the same complaints were noted in the online reviews and the BBB complaints section on ShelterLogic. He also stated that the advertised dimensions are often incorrect. Their marketing photographs alluded to the doors being rolled up, but the rollup devices weren’t included in the kit. I subsequently learned, from ShelterLogic’s customer service, that I would have to pay over $100, including shipping, for $10 worth of materials, if I wanted a roll-up kit. When the shelter was assembled, with the aid of four helpers who also read the assembly instructions, the outside width was roughly 11.5’ (1.5’ short) at ground level. I was unable to drive the truck into the shelter unless I got out of the truck, loosened the mirrors with a wrench, and folded them in. Once the truck was inside the shelter, I was unable to open the doors sufficiently to exit out of the truck. The back end piece and cover sagged between the ribs, in spite of being tightened to their maximum extent. It appears that I’ll be unable to extract the plow from the shelter, without dragging the gravel out. That is, if the plow were raised to the appropriate height for ground clearance, the blade would strike the ribs. But according to my calculations, that wouldn’t occur if the width were 13’, as advertised. On 09/08/14, I called customer service and spoke with ****** who not only lacked interpersonal and problem solving skills, but also was unfamiliar with the product and refused to completely listen to the issues I had encountered. Instead, she kept interrupting me by reading canned excuses that had absolutely nothing to do with the problems at hand. It was obvious that she was tired of repeatedly hearing the same complaints. I was also disappointed in the way she talked down to me as if I were too obtuse to use a measuring tape. She stated that the advertised dimensions, to include those on the instruction manual and what was printed on the exterior of the cartons, were incorrect. She also falsely accused me of not assembling the shelter on level ground. Even if the ground weren’t level, that still wouldn’t account for the gross deviation. I then asked to speak to an engineer who could identify where the problem lied: false advertising or inferior components in the kit. Instead, she became overbearing, rude, and then hung up the phone on me. I admit that, after reading the online reviews about ShelterLogic, and being cognizant of the fact that they are a low-quality company that produces low-quality products, I was taking a risk that was justified by the price. I wasn’t expecting a well-engineered product, but I also wasn’t expecting such shoddy manufacturing and inferior quality control. I simply wanted a shelter that was 13’ wide.

Desired Settlement: For now, all I’m asking is for an engineer to e-mail me and provide me with his or her direct e-mail address. I will e-mail photographs of the shelter directly to the engineer so that the engineer can ascertain where the problem lies or if they are guilty of false advertising. I do not wish to go through a third party or their customer service, again. My e-mail address is *******************. If in the event the engineer asserts that the assembled width should have been 13’ and is able to identify which parts are defective, then I will expect replacement parts shipped to me at ShelterLogic’s expense plus $400 to cover my handyman’s invoice for labor. If the engineer is unable to ascertain where the fault lies, then I will accept a settlement of half of what I paid for the kit, which comes to $329.50 ($659.00/2 = $329.50). I will apply the funds to modify the shelter, which includes parts from a hardware store and my handyman’s labor.

Business Response: We are very sorry that you weren't satisfied with your shelter. As we discussed over the phone, we take much pride in providing quality products to our customers and we want you to be satisfied. The product you purchased should match the specifications on our box because we would not want to mislead you. Our *********** ******** has contacted you to discuss the assembly and parts of the shelter. As a team, we will work together to find the best solution for you. ******* **** ********, Customer Service ###-###-####

Consumer Response:
Dear Mr. *****,
 
Thank you for your e-mail and concern.
 
I have attached one picture and will e-mail twelve more pictures within six more e-mails. Please note that in spite of the irregular curvature of the pieces, they are not sufficient to dramatically change the overall dimensions.
 
Our attempts at modifying the structure, failed, and we have reversed our procedure without affecting the shelter’s original design, as I have received it. On another note, as temperatures have decreased and the structure has settled, so has the width of the structure. I had no choice but to extract the 10’ plow which rubbed against the ribs on the way out. When I attempted to insert the plow, the tips of the wings tore the front cover. Clearly, this structure is not 13’ wide, as advertised.
 
Thank you,
 
**** ********
 
Please note that two of the pictures, taken during the assembly phase, depict the plow against the back cover and serves as evidence that the width of the shelter is not 13’ as advertised.  The plow is 10’ wide and the pictures clearly reveal 9” of clearance on each side, for a total width of 11’ 6”.
 
**** *******

Business Response: Mr. *******, You did have communication with our ******** ** ***********. After reviewing the pictures to your shelter, we did find that there was a manufacturing defect and the size is incorrect. As we have discussed, we make every effort to ensure that all are products are represented correctly and are accurate dimensions. We would still like to discuss a solution that is satisfactory to you. We have attempted to call you to find a resolution. Please call our Customer Service ********* ******* **** at ###-###-####, at your earliest convenience.

Business Response: We do value you as a customer and strive for one call resolution. We attempted to resolve this situation with you during our first telephone conversation and regretfully an agreement was not reached. The solution that you suggest is certainly something we will gladly accommodate for you. We will ship a replacement shelter to you and also include an accessory of a ******* **** ***. We hope this serves to compensate you for your time and the inconvenience you experienced. There would be no need for you to send back your current shelter. Honesty and integrity are very important to us and we would never intentionally mislead you or any of our customers. We do have a quality assurance program to ensure we provide superior products to our customers. We sincerely apologize that your shelter was not the correct dimensions. We have many satisfied customers and truly want you to be one also. We will follow up with you by email to make certain you are satisfied once you receive your shelter and accessory. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact our Customer Service ********* ******* ****, ###-###-#### or by email at *****************************.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is not completely satisfactory to me. However, in light of ShelterLogic's poor reputation, and being anxious to put this matter behind me, I will accept their counteroffer of settlement. But I do ask that ShelterLogic verify that the replacement unit is of the dimensions they allege in their advertising.

Sincerely,

**** *******

12/3/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a shelterlogic log hauler on 11 September 2014. The product was defective in that one of the wheels collapsed structurally the first time I used the product. I contacted the company on 29 September and spoke to a Mr. **** **** who instructed me to email them some pictures of the failure and they would send me a set of replacement wheels. I complied with Mr. ****** request on 3 October 2014. He responded via email on that same day that he would send me a replacement set of wheels. On 17 October I again emailed Mr. **** explaining that I had yet to receive the promised wheels and requested he follow up and provide me tracking information on the shipment. As of today, (4 November 2014), I have yet to hear back from Mr. **** or Shelterlogic. I also have not seen the replacement wheels.

Desired Settlement: I would like the replacement wheels promised to me by the company so that I may attempt to use their product.

Business Response: Our Customer Service team strives to take ownership and provide you the parts you require in a timely manner. We apologize that you had difficulty with your product and had to contact us more than once. We did call you today and leave a voicemail to explain that we are shipping you a new **** *****. To confirm your shipment, an email was also sent. We appreciate your business and hope this resolution is to your satisfaction. If you have any other questions or concerns, please call us directly. ******* **** ********* ******** ******* ###-###-####

9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a ***** *** ***** ******,For a once a year family reunion so I did not open it right away. I tried to set it up at our family reunion 11 months later we found that there were 2 top rafter tubes and 1 top cross rails that were the wrong ones.I contacted the company for new parts I received them 3 weeks later.I started to put the shelter up again, this time I found out that 3 of the side bend connectors and 1 for the top bend connectors were welded nearly 20 degrees wrong and I also had another top cross rail that was shipped wrong. This time when I called they wanted to charge me shipping because I had had the canopy for over 1 year but after a lot of discussion they decided not to charge me shipping, but said it was going to be 4 -6 weeks before I received the parts. I do not believe this is in a timely manor and they do not have any quality control at all,I could see 1 or 2 mistakes in a package but 8 wrong or miss welded parts for 1 canopy is really bad. When I asked why so long to get the parts they said they were on back order, I asked if they had another canopy they said yes but they could not get the parts from there or would not send me out a new canopy.

Desired Settlement: To have this taken care of in a timely manor, and hopefully have them improve there quality control for the next customer.

Business Response: Thank you for purchasing our product and we appreciate your feedback. We apologize that you had the wrong parts and there appeared to be manufacturing defects. We take pride in our products and value you as our customer. We do have a quality control process and apply much effort to ensure that you have the correct parts and a quality product to use and enjoy. Although we plan to have all parts in stock , sometimes this is not possible since we have more orders than anticipated. Your feedback does help us to improve and we always are looking to exceed our customer's expectations. Sorry that did not occur for you. We did attempt to reach you by telephone to discuss this further. If you have any other questions or concerns, please contact us directly. Sincerely, ******* **** Director, Customer Service ###-###-####

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:I feel I should have been offered a new frame with that many mistake on 1 frame.

Sincerely,

***** *********

Business Response: As we discussed, you did receive all your missing parts but have not used your canopy yet. Once again, I do apologize that you were missing parts and had manufacturing defects. If for any reason your canopy is not functional, please contact me directly to find a solution. I have provided this information to our Quality Control and appreciate your feedback. We strive to provide every customer with a quality product to enjoy. Sincerely, ******* **** Director, Customer Service ###-###-####

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** *********

8/8/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order on June 29 for a 16x8 quick screen. I received a follow up email thanking me for the order and providing me a conf number. I called the company on July 11 to inquire on the status of the shipment as based on their website I should have gotten it by now. I found out that the item is discontinued and would have just sat in a pending status with no follow up to me. When I asked for a call back from a manager as this was not acceptable, I need this screen for a party in 2 weeks and would not have know had I not called, I was told that the request would be put to a manager, but she is busy in meetings so it could be awhile for the return call. I'm unhappy with the contact provided by the company regarding an out of stock never to be provided again item. The item is listed as available on the website, so the accuracy of the web is not good. I never received anything, phone call, email or anything to advise that the screen is not ever coming. Now I'm left to scramble for this item. I just want this on their record as I wouldn't want anyone else to have the same issue when they need something! The lack of customer care is unacceptable. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: There really isn't anything that can be done at this point. Just want my complaint on file and the company should know where they are lacking. I will NOT recommend this company to anyone because of this issue.

Business Response: We sincerely apologize for this error and the inconvenience it caused you. We have updated our website to remove this item. We take pride in providing excellent customer service and providing correct information to our customers. Sorry this did not occur for you. If there is anything additional we can assist you with, please don’t hesitate to contact our Director of Customer Service, ******* **** ** ************, extension 2554. Thank you for reaching out to us and providing this feedback.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  As sorry at they are, I was supposed to get a call from a manager within 24 hours.  I have still not heard anything from this company.  That was a very canned response. 

Sincerely,

******* ******

Business Response: Per our phone conversation, we apologize that we did not have the item you ordered and did not promptly contact you. We will make every effort to ensure our website is correct in the future. Since we don't have the item you requested, we offered you a discount on any of our other products as compensation for your inconvenience. You did not want to order anything at this time. We appreciate you taking time to provide us feedback to help us improve our service. Sincerely, ******* **** ********* ******** ******* ************ x 2554

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* ******

8/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 30th, 2013, I purchased a ******** ********* ******** ****** ** *** ****** ** *** **** ** **** ** ******** *******.Product has not performed well as the portable garage collapsed during its first winter. I am disappointed because I purchased two ShelterLogic portable garages, one of the shelters survived winter just fine, however the one in question collapsed and damaged the goods I had stored inside.

Desired Settlement: To resolve the problem, I would appreciate a replacement of the ******** ********* ******** ****** as I still need a shelter to store my things.

Business Response: *** ********, We are sorry to hear that you are disappointed with your shelter. Life expectancy of our product will vary depending on location, application and the physical elements it's exposed to. We reviewed your warranty claim and found that your shelter was beyond the warranty period. Since we value you as a customer, we did offer you a discount of 10% on a replacement shelter. In addition, we did have further conversation with you and discussed other shelter options to meet your needs. During that conversation, we did offer you a discount of 30% off a replacement shelter. If you would like to purchase a shelter with this discount or have any additional questions, please contact us directly. Sincerely, ******* **** ********, Customer Service ###-###-####

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 
I do not find a discount off of a future purchase acceptable at all. Although it may be out of the warranty time, it collapsed within eight months of the purchase it wasn't until later on that I was able to fully assess the damage. There was another similar shelter in the same area that has withstood the same weather conditions for years. A discount off of a future purchase does not compensate at all for the damaged goods that I had trusted the product to protect along with the full day it will take to dispose of the destroyed shelter, and assemble the new one. I work in the customer service industry, my place of employment would have already replaced the product and had this issue resolved to the customers satisfaction. I find the level of apathy and dismissive attitude towards your customers unacceptable.

Sincerely,

**** ********

Business Response: We have had several conversations with you to discuss your warranty claim and the timeline of events. As much as we would like to honor your claim, we also need to be fair with all our customers. We did explain to you that after thoroughly reviewing the picture you provided us, your collapse is consistent with a collapse caused by an act of nature. This is not covered by our warranty. Because we value you as a customer and understand this must be difficult for you, we have offered you a substantial discount on a new unit. We are doing our best to try to work with you to help with your shelter needs. If you have any additional questions or would like to discuss this further, please contact us directly. Sincerely, ******* **** Director, Customer Service ###-###-####

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 
Contacting you directly got me nowhere last time, not to mention it took just about 3 weeks of waiting for another runaround response.
 
I also would not consider a 30% discount off of a future purchase "substantial". 
 
Again, the only thing that will resolve this to my satisfaction is a replacement of the shelter I purchased.

Sincerely,

**** ********

7/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased one of there shed-in-a-box storage model 70465 which say it it 6footx6footx6foot. It is only 6foox6footx4foot. It say on the box, the manual, and there advertisement 6x6x6. Any building dimension is lenght of building, width of building, and sidewall height. This is a very false advertisement. If we had none it was not six foot high we would not have bought it.

Desired Settlement: Change there false advertising and a ajustment on price.

Business Response: Thank you for purchasing our product and we appreciate your feedback. We make every effort to ensure that our packaging and advertising has correct dimensions. The height of the building is measured at the center point and not the sidewall. You are correct that the sidewall is a little over 4 feet in height. We have reviewed our packaging and verified that it is accurate. Please see the attached document that shows a portion of the box. If you are looking for a different size shelter, we do offer many different options. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact us. Sincerely, ShelterLogic Corp. ******* **** Director, Customer Service ###-###-#### ***************************

6/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 12x12 Shelter Logic canopy at ******* ****** in May 2013. Upon opening the product and attempting to use it in July 2013, I discovered that the cover had a hole in it. The packaging was in tact and it appeared that the damage occurred at the factory prior to packaging. I went through Shelter Logic's website to attempt to contact them regarding a replacement or patch kit for the small hole. Because we needed the canopy that weekend, we decided to use it with the small hole, because it was better than not having one at all. It rained, and we discovered that the entire canopy leaked at all of the seams. I never received a response from the company, but I DID receive several advertising emails each week. I emailed them again in October requesting an immediate response, and this got their attention. I sent the photos of the damaged cover. The Shelter Logic representative stated that they needed the part number for the canopy cover in order to replace it. I searched through the part numbers on their website, but was unable to locate my canopy there. I told them that, and they told me that I would have to get the number off the tag on the inside of the cover. By that time, the canopy was in the back of our garage, boxed in by several antique cars which were stored for the winter with the batteries disconnected. Since I made contact with Shelter Logic within the warranty timeframe, I was under the impression that getting the number once the cars could be moved would be fine. This spring, when the weather broke, I was able to get the number off the cover. They are now telling me that it is out of warranty (90 days) and that they do not have parts for it and I would have to go through the store where I purchased it. Shelter Logic ignored my original request until after the warranty period had passed. I do not feel that I should be held liable for damage at the factory, because they didn't respond to the original request in time.

Desired Settlement: Either a replacement cover should be supplied, or compensation to purchase an entire new unit at the current price ($249.99).

Business Response: We value you as a customer and strive to provide quality and timely service to all our customers. I apologize that our customer service did not meet your expectations. We would like to find a solution for you. We have attempted to contact you by telephone and email. We look forward to speaking with you very soon.

6/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a shelter logic product that lasted only 2 seasons before it collapsed. When I approached them about a possible replacement they contend it was the severe winter that caused the problem and this was not a quality issue. I feel that the company is hiding behind their very brief warranty and severe weather claim. I do not feel this was an act of nature, but rather a poor quality issue. I have another garage is the box in my backyard now for over 8 years without incident. We did not have a severe winter other than the cold and although it may look like there was too much snow on top of the shelter the reality is once it collapsed snow started accumulating on the structures now flattened roof. I cannot afford to spend $400 every 2 seasons, not withstanding the time involved to build this structure. No other surrounding neighbors "Garage in a box" collapsed this winter. That said I am not satisfied and would like to request a replacement. This would go a long way in restoring my faith in that brand.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full replacement shelter or the part needed to fix the existing shelter

Business Response: You are important to us and we are disappointed that the shelter you purchased did not meet your expectations. At ShelterLogic, we take pride in the products we offer and apply much effort that they are strong quality. The life expectancy of our shelters are affected by application, location and the physical elements the shelter is exposed to. We have had many phone conversations with you, and although you are several months past your warranty period, we offered you a 30% discount on replacement parts or a replacement shelter. We value you as our customer and would like to restore your faith in our products. If you would like to place an order or discuss this further, please call us at ###-###-####. Thank you.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 10003331

I am rejecting this response because:  I have called the company no less than 4 times to try and resolve without success.  This recent response seems like a canned response that does not even begin to acknowledge my last response or tell me who specifically I should speak with and at what extention they can be reached.  I am not interested in the offer of 30% off a new unit, especially considering their prices are about 30-40% above retail prices, plus paying an additional $100.00 for shipping.  I am not interested in hearing about their more expensive sheds (some costing as much as $1000.00 all of which they contend come with better warrantys, excluding weather related damage.  If they are willing to accomodate my original request to replace the unit or replace the parts needed to fix my existing shelter I would be happy to call anyone they wish and I would consider this matter closed.  thank you

Sincerely,

Don Schacht

Business Response: We spoke with you by telephone on over a few occasions as you stated in a previous message. We certainly tried to find a solution that would meet your needs as you spoke with both our supervisor and manager of Customer Service. If you would still like to purchase a new product at a considerable discount, you can speak with our Customer Service Manager, Christa Spry at ###-###-####. We would be happy to discuss this further.

5/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased two "12'x12' Celebration Canopies" from the ShelterLogic Corp. last summer to use around my swimming pool deck. The covers rapidly and aggressively faded from a bright Sky Blue color to a dull Huckleberry Purple in just a few short months.I have been corresponding with their customer service representative since January 13, 2014 concerning this matter including sending photos that very well demonstrated the degree of fading. The company agreed to replace the covers (provided I pay freight) with two new ones. When I asked what would keep the new ones from fading the same way as the original ones I received the following email message on April 30, 2014, and I quote "These are made of a polyester fabric which fades very quickly even though they are UV treated they will fade much faster than our polyethylene and PVC".I have used and continue to use blue colored fabric umbrellas around my pool for the twenty five years that it has been installed. While the fabric does fade over time I can continue to use them for several years until they become thread bare or develop holes. Even at that point they still remain very close to a dull version of newer ones around them...never like a dull "Huckleberry Purple" like these covers faded to. I have asked for a refund since they cannot provide suitable covers that will retain their color for a reasonable time period. I have been told that they will not provide a refund.

Desired Settlement: I invested $343.49 each for a total of $686.98 for both units. I am requesting that ShelterLogic provide me with a full refund since the shelters are supposed to be decorative in nature and therefore are of no value to be used around my swimming pool.

Business Response: We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and faded. We would like to restore your faith in our company and meet your shelter needs. Instead of providing you the same canopies, we would like to offer replacing your canopies with different products. Please call us and we can discuss further. We look forward to speaking with you very soon. Sincerely, ShelterLogic Corp. Christa Spry Customer Service Manager ###-###-#### http://www.shelterlogic.com

Consumer Response:

 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10049507, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I did speak with Christa Spry on 5/29/14 and we have agreed that ShelterLogic would provide a warranty replacement of the two 12' x12' Celebration Canopies with one of their Super Max 12' x30' Canopies. This Canopy includes a White Flame Retardant Polyethylene Cover. The unit is in stock and Christa has assured me that it will be shipped to me immediately.

Sincerely,

Leon Ray 

3/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased at Menards in clearance for $189.00. Didn't even have 14 months the side panel and top of shelter was torn. Called Company spoke to **** couldn't do anything for me but sell me the same product for sale price of $159.99 Called the company again because the new one that was sent has torn in different places again. Called company again and spoke to **** again. He remember me from or last conversation. It's only been a 1yr and 3 months this time. Asked him about that Company replacing it for me **** told to take picture and sent him in a e-mail which I did. Didn't hear from him call for two month and even e-mailed **** a couple for time NO responds. Called the 1-800 number Asked for ****. At that time he told me that he spoke to his manager and there is nothing that they could do. I could purchase and neither one for $199.00. **** had told me that the produce that I had purchased should have a lest lasted three years or more.

Desired Settlement: I feel that I shouldn't have to buy a three shelter. The product has failed twice own. First one 14 months and the second one year and 3 months. Something that should last more than three years. I feel the company should stand behind there product and they are not. I feel the Company should sent me a New shelter.

Business Response: I have contacted the customer by telephone and we are going to discuss a solution. ShelterLogic Corp. Christa Spry Customer Service Manager ###-###-#### http://www.shelterlogic.com

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

Christine Harvey I have send the BBB A message regarding the phone conversation with Christa that happened on 2/28/14 and how I felt about it.

Business Response: We appreciate you doing business with our company and value you as our customer. To help restore you faith in our company and the quality products we offer, we did offer you a discounted 14.5 ounce cover for a price of $550.00. This cover would actually have a 10 year pro rated warranty and may be better to suit your shelter needs. If you would like to proceed with this order, please contact us at ###-###-####. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please let us know.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 9934444

I am rejecting this response because: I don't feel that this is reasonable agreement. because it's been two years that this has happened and your selling the product at discount of $200.00. I still had to pay both year for the produce. I would be willing to pay $250.00 no more than that for the 14.5oz and 10 year warranty. For all the problems. Sincerely,

Christine Harvey

Business Response: We offer quality products and there are many factors that determine the life expectancy of our covers. Fabric life is affected by application, location and the physical elements the shelter is exposed to. After our conversation, we agreed that a heavier cover may better suit your needs. We offered you a 14.5 ounce cover kit at the price of $550.00. Because we value you as a customer and want to see you happy with our product, we will offer you the final price of $400.00 when the original price for the cover kit is $749.99. This would be a considerable discount. Please contact us if you'd like to place this order.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 9934444

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

Christine Harvey No, I feel that my proposal of 250.00 is a fair reason for all the problem

3/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After buying and assembling a temporary shelter from ShelterLogic, approximately 1 year and a half later, The carport collapsed under it's own weight on my 2013 sports car. I noticed the customer service department requesting some restitution on their part. I was completely ignored by 2 of their service reps *** ********* *** ****** *********. 22 emails later with me having to send 2, weeks apart to get any response, I decided to post a complaint and notify their supervisor, ******** ******** whom I will be speaking with shortly.The damage and personal losses of this event were enormous and I had simply asked for a 1/3 refund of my purchase price of $425 and met with months of "maybe"'s and "let's fill out some forms and see" I am fed up with their service and with the situation where I was unable to get anyone's attention long enough to get a direct answer.One of the reps told me at one point they were aware of a flaw in the metal frame and had begun shipping newer models with a "strong" frame.I believed the carport would be sufficient to hold itself upright but after the trauma caused by finding my new car very damaged and then dealing with their customer service I would never recommend this product.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see the refund for the price of the frame which I had asked for.

Business Response: I attempted to contact Mr. Berera to discuss a solution and left a voicemail message. I am currently awaiting a return phone call. ShelterLogic Corp. Christa Spry Customer Service Manager ###-###-#### http://www.shelterlogic.com

2/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a run in horse shelter. It collapsed and regardless of the 1 year warranty offered, they will not replace my structure. I was told by Ann Lineweber, Customer Service Representative, that their product is not intended to shelter animals from bad weather.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of the structure and shipping cost

Business Response: We sincerely apologize that you were not fully satisfied with your purchase from ShelterLogic. As our customer, you are very important to us and we make every effort to meet the needs of our customers. You are correct that you do have a warranty for the Run-In Shelter that you purchased. We see that you originally purchased a shelter in June of 2013 and we did replace it for you in July of 2013 due to a collapse. At that time, we determined that the incident was covered under your warranty. When you contacted us again due to an incident in November of 2013, you did have conversations with our Warranty department and due to the fact that you advised us that you experience wind gusts of 40-50 mph where your shelter is anchored, this damage was not covered under your warranty. Because all of our products are not engineered buildings they can not be wind rated. Anchoring the shelter securely is critical to wind resistance. If extremely high winds or storms are predicted the structure can be dismantled and stored. However, we do offer custom Pre Engineered Barn and Engineered Structures that carry a wind rating when properly anchored. An Engineered Structure may be a better option for you and our warranty department did discuss this with you. If you would like to purchase an Engineered Structure, please contact me directly and we can discuss the options available to find a solution for your needs. Sincerely, ShelterLogic Corp. Christa Spry Customer Service Manager ###-###-#### http://www.shelterlogic.com

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 9******

I am rejecting this response because:

 
A shelter is defined as a place giving temporary protection from bad weather or danger.  The Run-In shelter which I bought was built per the instructions and anchored into the ground using the 6 30" augers included with the kit.  Because the dirt in our area is clay based, it is extremely hard.  I used a power auger, one which you would use for fence posts, to dig the holes.  I then placed the augers in the holes and filled them with 80 lbs of post mix concrete per hole.  The shelter was firmly anchored to the ground, and should of provided more than enough stability for the shelter.    I have included pictures of the anchors still firmly in the ground.  
 
I do believe that during "extreme"weather, a tornado hurricane, monsoon, etc.  the shelter skin should be taken down. But as I explained to Ann Lineweber (ShelterLogic rep at ext. 2268) the wind is a normal weather pattern for our area. During which time, the wind was sustained 15-20 mph with gusts up to 40 mph.  Not the 40-50 mph winds which ******* **** *ShelterLogic rep at ext.2554) responded back to the BBB.  I called ShelterLogic in December and left a message which was returned on December 28, 2013 @ 08:53 PST.  The rep that yes, the Run-Ins do not have a wind resistance rating but the frame work is built to withstand 60 mph winds.  She also gave me the snow rating for the frame work.  
 
The ShelterLogic warranty protects against manufacture defects.  This is the second Run-In that has failed in a similar way.  I believe there is a defect in the manufacturing process and should be credited back my original purchase price.   I have spoken to Greg at portablegaragedepot.com (where the shelter was purchased) and they agree the wind should not of been a factor in the collapse.  
 
 
Sincerely,

Joshua McGuire

Business Response: Mr. McGuire, After reviewing your request further, we will be providing you a refund of $600. You will receive a check in the mail within 7-10 days. At ShelterLogic, we take pride in the shelters we make for our customers and are sorry that the shelter you purchased did not meet your needs. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to contact me directly. Sincerely, ShelterLogic Corp. Christa Spry Customer Service Manager ###-###-#### http://www.shelterlogic.com

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

Joshua Mcguire

1/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After receiving stellar recommendations from the sale representative, I purchased a Shelter Logic winter garage model 62799 at my local Canadian Tire. I specifically asked the sale representative if the garage would be appropriate for the winter we have here and was told that it was their best garage and that they never had a return. In retrospect, I should have never have trusted the sales representative as it is now clearly obvious (from all the online reviews of the product and similar incidents) that this winter garage is of the lowest possible quality.Once I arrived home; the quality of the product inside the box was indeed extremely low with only the cheapest components possible. The installation was cumbersome with several steps requiring the undoing of previous steps.First mistake; I thought I would give it a chance. I installed the garage following all instructions. This winter garage only came with 4 auger type of anchors which is clearly inadequate as the middle sections are free to fly up under the lightest of wind conditions. Inside the manual they state:"Anchors included with your shelter provide for safe anchoring. For best results Shelter Logic recommends one anchor at each leg."Clearly, the other anchors are absolutely required for a safe install and this is a marketing ploy to be able to sell the garage at a lower price point while forcing the customer to shell out more for the most critical parts necessary for safety (anchors).I left the garage as is that night and when I came back in the morning all anchors had failed, my car was savagely destroyed for more than 3000$. I was furious and contacted both Canadian Tire and Shelter Logic to return this mediocre product which did not include appropriate anchoring. The requirement for additional anchoring was never discussed AT ANY POINT by the sales representative NOR is it indicated on the box. Both parties said that the fine prints dictate that It's my fault and that I should have purchased additional anchors.

Desired Settlement: I want the company to acknowledge that they willingly withhold the most fundamental anchoring equipment needed for a safe install and that the product that they sell is inadequate. I want to be reimbursed in full. This product should have one anchor per feet as well as overhead streamers that hold it down - And it would not be expensive.Removing the BASIC safety anchors from the box and only leaving a note inside the box that it's the customers responsibility to purchase them is ridiculous.

Business Response: Jean Le Bouthillier, I am truly sorry that you were not satisfied with the product you purchased. We make every effort to provide you the best quality product to meet your individual needs. We provide temporary anchors with our shelters because it depends on your soil conditions and where and how you are using your shelter to determine the best type of anchor for you. This anchor guide can be located on our website :http://www.shelterlogic.com/userfiles/documents/anchor_guide.pdf. We also have many videos to assist you in setting up your shelter on our website. I have tried to contact you by telephone to discuss this further and left you a voicemail I would like the opportunity to come up with a solution that will be suitable for you to help repair your faith in our product and company. Please call me directly and I look forward to hearing from you. Sincerely, ShelterLogic Corp. Christa Spry Customer Service Manager ###-###-#### ###-###-#### http://www.shelterlogic.com

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I will be contacting Christa Spy directly. I am taking the next step here to avoid closure of the complaint.

Sincerely,

Jean Le Bouthillier

12/2/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Shelter Logic Shelter on September 20th of this year. I was told at the time or purchase that it would ship as a partial order, the shelter structure would arrive first and the cover would arrive three to four weeks later. After four weeks, I have sent a number of emails to inquire as to the status of the cover delivery. I have repeatedly been told that it is in process and that there is nothing that I can do to accelerate the delivery. It has been almost seven weeks since the order was placed. I spoke *******" at Shelter Logic today and she told me that they are still behind with production and that they may be able to ship the cover in about four more weeks. I find this completely unacceptable. I dont think that they should have accepted the order initially without telling me that the order would not be fulfilled in its entirety as expected. I placed the order and paid for it in full. This is their typical business practice. I can tell you that if I were to place another duplicate order today, it would be handled in the same way. They would accept the order and not tell me that the order would be split. I would receive the frame and then have to wait ten weeks to receive the cover. It is very difficult to get them on the phone and when I have been successful, they have been very rude and hard to deal with.

Desired Settlement: I am at their mercy. I have already erected the frame. It is completely useless without the cover. I need the cover. I would like the BBB's assistance in helping me to get Shelter Logic to complete the order as promised and expected. I am tired of waiting and getting the run-around. Please help me to understand what I should do next. Thanks - Ron Frohock

Business Response:
 I am replying in reference to Complaint #******* for Mr. Frohock:  

Mr. Frohock had communication with our Executive Assistant to the President of ShelterLogic.  We apologized for the delay in his order and any confusion.  We spoke with production and assured him that his cover will be completed by Friday of this week.  We thanked him for his patience also. 

Please advise Mr. Frohock again that we sincerely apologize for the delay on his order and appreciate him doing business with ShelterLogic.  It is our intention that he is completely satisfied with his shelter and value him as our customer.  

If you have any additional questions or concerns, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
Christa Spry

ShelterLogic Corp.
Christa Spry
Customer Service Manager
###-###-####
http://www.shelterlogic.com

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 

Although I appreciate the response that you have provided ,  I have been told repeatedly that the cover would ship only to find that it was further delayed.  
 
I hope the cover will be shipped as promised this time.  
 
Please check back with me in ten days and I will update you. 

Sincerely,

Ron Frohock

Business Response:

Christa Spry

ShelterLogic

150 Callender Road

Watertown, CT 06795

November 22, 2013

Ron Frohock

** ***** **

******** ** *****

Dear Mr. Frohock:

We have confirmed that your order was shipped and delivered to you on November 19, 2013.  We hope you enjoy your new shelter.

 

Please accept our sincere apologies for this unfortunate delay and that you did not receive the superior customer service we strive to provide.   As a token of appreciation for your business, we would like to offer you an accessory at no additional charge.  Please call us at ###-###-####, extension **** to discuss or for any further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,

ShelterLogic Corp.
Christa Spry
Customer Service Manager
###-###-####
http://www.shelterlogic.com

8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered 2 replacement canopies for one of our schools, after receiving them we found they were not big enough. I called the company to see if we could exchange for the size we needed and pay the difference. I was told we could send them back, but no credit or refund would be issued.I looked on their web site for any return policy, but nothing is stated. All we wanted was to exchange for the size we needed, offering to pay the difference. Product_Or_Service: *** AP CANOPY Order_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement All we want is to get credit for the wrong size and exchange for the size we need, offering to pay the difference.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/24) */ We spoke with Ms. ****** and advised Ms. ****** that she could return her merchandise and we would issue a credit, however Ms. ****** would not be issued a credit for the freight. Shelterlogic's policy is that we will accept back merchandise and issue a credit as long as the merchandise has not been set up and is in re-sellable condition. Shelterlogic will issue a credit for the 2 covers she ordered even though they came back not in re-sellable condition, doing this in good business practice. It appears that Ms. ****** ordered the wrong size canopy cover for her Canopy via our website. Shelterlogic does have a return policy listed on every page on our Website. This can be found at the bottom of each page under "Terms & Conditions" Best Regards, ********* ******* Manager, Customer Service

7/31/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In June of 2011 I purchased a 20' W x 20' L x 15' H Barn Style Portable ShelterLogic garage with upgraded 14.5 oz Industrial cover through Portable Garage Depot (online merchant for ShelterLogic). The upgraded industrial cover was an additional $700.00 and came with a 10 year mfr warranty. Fast forward to March 2013 and the zipper on one side of the industrical cover's door end has failed. I emailed Portable Garage Depot regarding this issue. I was promptly contacted back and asked to send photos which I did. I was then informed that it seems like the zipper failed "way before it's normal life span" and was told that my info had been sent onto ShelterLogic's warranty dept. I was contacted a couple days later by **** of ShelterLogic's warranty dept. I was asked to fill out a warranty claim form and once they received the form they would process my claim. Approx. a week later I was informed my warranty had been received and approved and under the 10/3 year proration my cost for a new end panel was 33% of said end panel for a cost of $161.80 (this cost included shipping). I'm very disturbed by this. No where's during my purchase of this product was I told that it was not in fact a 10 year warranty but was in fact a prorated warranty. Or even that it was a 10/3 warranty. I feel very cheated and would never have purchased this product knowing this was what the warranty actually was. I feel this warranty was misrepresented. Product_Or_Service: Barn Style Portable Garage Order_Number: 3791

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I would like to reimbursed for the $161.80 dollars I just spent on a new end panel zippered door. Which should have been under warranty especially since it failed way before it's normal life span and failed all on it's own.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/17) */ On 5/3/11 Ms. ********* purchased her shelter from Portable Garage Depot who is one of our dealers. Ms. ********* purchased a Galvanized shelter in heavy duty fabric which entitles her to a 10/3 pro-rated warranty. At point of sale, the pro-rated warranty is explained to all customers, and there is also a copy of the warranty card included with the unit upon delivery. A 10/3 pro-rated warranty includes a 10 year pro-rated warranty on the cover and a 3 year pro-rated warranty on the end panels and frame. On March 20th. 2013 Ms. ********* submitted a warranty claim with Shelterlogic. We then asked Ms. *********, as per policy, to fill out a warranty claim form and submit a photo or two of the end panel for our records. Once we received requested documentation we approved Ms. ********** warranty and advised that under her pro-rated warranty a total of $161.80 was due including shipping. On 3/19/13 Ms. ********* called in to place her order for her zippered end panel and paid the amount due of $161.80 with her credit card. I am a little confused as to why Ms. ********* is asking for a refund on monies paid on her end panel when our pro-rated policy was explained at point of sale, a copy of the pro-rated warranty was included with her unit, and again the pro-rated warranty was explained when her warranty was submitted to Shelterlogic. This end panel sells for $435.00 plus shipping, but under the pro-rated warranty Ms. ********* was only responsible for $143.55 plus shipping. Regards, ********* ******* Manager, Customer Service X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Ext. **** Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/04/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) What Ms. ******* says is untrue. At no point during the sale transaction was I informed this was a pro rated warranty. I have all my paperwork to prove this. Also said warranty card she refers to does not state this warranty is pro rated. The words pro rated are never used. I also have a copy of said warranty card as proof. I'm also not sure where Ms. ******* is getting her info as what she is saying above is untrue. On March 26th, 2013 I received an email from *** ********* of their warranty dept saying my claim was accepted and that is when I was informed of that the warranty was pro rated. On March 27th, 2013 I responded back to ******* a complaint about this and that I felt I was being ripped off by them and would be contacting the BBB about this. I never heard a word back from ***. As for why I paid for the panel simple I have over $1000.00 worth of horse hay in this barn which was getting ruined due to the failed zipper letting the rain in. Was I supposed to wait months for Shelter Logic to respond to my complaint while my hay was getting ruined. Was I supposed to ask Shelter Logic to pay for the hay this failed zipper ruined? Would be nice for them to replace the hay as well but as you can see they are not being a reputable company. I still request reimbursement for the amount I paid for the door replacement. Again never once was it stated in any of my paperwork that this warranty was pro rated. Heck I had to have assembly directions emailed to me once I got the original parts since they never came with this product. Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/05/14) */ Good afternoon, Shelterlogic would love to come to a resolution to the above mentioned issue. In Ms. *********'s response she stated there nowhere on the Warranty Card is it listed that Ms. *********'s warranty is pro-rated. Shelterlogic sends out our 10/3 Prorated Warranty Card with any merchandise purchased in our Heavy Duty or PVC Material. Ms. ********* purchased a Galvanized Building in our Heavy Duty Fabric. If Ms. ********* could please scan a copy of the warranty card she received from Shelterlogic to *** ********** that would be greatly appreciated. If in fact Ms. ********* somehow did receive the 1 year warranty in error, Shelterlogic would be happy to refund her $161.80 that she spent on her end panel. Regards, ********* ******* Manager, Customer Service Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2013/06/03) */ I have sent a copy of the warranty card to *** as requested. That was several weeks ago. Still have not received a response. Business Response /* (1000, 23, 2013/06/18) */ The Warranty Department did in fact receive a photograph copy of Ms. *********'s portion of the Warranty Card that she filled out. We received this on the 31st of May. The portion that Ms. ********* sent was only half of the Warranty Card. The other half that was not sent was the portion that explained Shelterlogics 10/3 pro-ration. It is evident that Ms. ********* sent one portion of one side of the Warranty Card, and one portion of the other side. The Photograph that was sent was not the entire card, and only a portion. *** ********* emailed Ms. ********* on June 5th our 10/3 Warranty Card to illustrate what the entire card looks like. As stated in my first response, Shelterlogic will be happy to refund Ms. ********* the $161.80 she has paid for her pro-rated warranty as soon as we receive her warranty card in its entirety. Shelterlogic is willing to provide a copy of our Warranty Card, (10/3) and also provide a photograph on the Warranty Card that was sent by Ms. *********. It is evident when you compare the two, that Shelterlogic only received a portion of the Warranty Card back from Ms. *********. The portion that was not sent is the portion that describes our 10/3 proration. Regards, ********* ******* Consumer Response /* (3000, 25, 2013/06/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) This is getting ridiculous. Mrs. ******* makes no sense. A warranty card is only 2 sided. I sent her each side of the warranty card I received at the time of purchase. I will repeat again that I never received anything other than the warranty card which I sent Mrs. ******* and ****. I received nothing else like they are describing other than the warranty card. I will gladly send the Better Business Bureau a copy of the warranty card I received at the time of purchase. I would like to request someone from the Better Business Bureau to step in as Mrs. ******* makes no sense and is trying to say I received something I did not. I'm getting frustrated with Mrs. ******** tactics and falsehoods. Business Response /* (4000, 27, 2013/07/11) */ I completely agree with Ms. ********* in her rebuttal dated 6/25/13 stating that a "Warranty Card is only two sided. What I am trying to convey is that Ms. ********* only sent the right hand side of the front of the Warranty Card (omitting the left hand side) and left hand side of the back of the Warranty Card (omitting the right hand side)therefore only submitting half of the card. I have attached a link as a visual, so that you can see what I am describing. The portion of the 10/3 Limited Warranty/Product Registration Card that Ms. ********* sent to us does not describe our 10/3 Prorated Warranty. The section that we do not have states to "please save for your records" That portion fully describes our 10/3 Warranty. Our Warranty Card is designed to be cut in half. One half for our customers records and the other half to be sent in to Shelterlogic at the time of purchase to register the product. I believe the link submitted will clarify any questions. Shelterlogic is a respectable business with a reputation for excellent Customer Service. http://shelterlogicdirect.com/warranty/warranty_XXXXXXXX.pdf Please note that if the link attached may need to be copied and pasted into a browser window to view. Best Regards, ********* ******* Manager, Customer Service

7/30/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a $100.00 Shelter Logic 10'x20' frame and canopy last fall. Installed the frame per instructions in January when lake was frozen onto wooden frame on 4x4 posts. Installed canopy *** 5, 2013. Three days later, winds recorded at 25mph, completely destroyed frame and canopy. Contacted company, they had me download & complete warranty form, sent pictures of damage. Now they say 'acts of nature' not covered, offered 20% off new shelter. IT'S AN OUTDOORS PRODUCT! What is covered, acts of terrorism? Ironically, three days later, the $400.00 'heavy-duty' canopy on my other Shelter Logic frame split right down the middle and is now of no use. In my opinion, SHELTER LOGIC'S CLAIM OF DURABILITY IN THEIR ADEVERTISMENTS AND ON THE PRODUCT BOX IS TOTALLY MISLEADING. As a member of our Lake Owners Association, with over 8,000 households, I will make sure that every single member receives an e-mail with pictures of BOTH shelters and canopies, so they know to NEVER buy a shelter from this company. Am also seeking out every other forum I can find in the United States to pass this information on; whether it be lake home owners, farmers, etc. Will also erect a 4' x 4' sign for the end of my dock so that all boaters going by will know NOT to buy any Shelter Logic product, because the covers over the current frames are tarps bought at local farm supply store, A MUCH BETTER PRODUCT THAN THAT SOLD BY SHELTER LOGIC. Product_Or_Service: Shelter Logic Frame & Canopies

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement Will update consumers with destruction & of pictures unless BOTH shelters are replaced and delivered to my door, that means frames and canopies. Will be glad to re-post this information every year for the rest of my life. I DON'T LIKE GETTING SCREWED ON A PRODUCT THAT DOES NOT LIVE UP TO IT'S DESCRIPTION OR WARRANTY, AND I DO FOLLOW THROUGH ON ALERTING POTENTIAL CONSUMERS OF PRODUCT FAILURE. Isn't the Internet GREAT. I've got the time, knowledge, and picture proof of what happened!!

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/07) */ The 10x20 canopy that Mr. ***** purchased from K-**** is a temporary structure and not recommended as a permanent structure. This is clearly noted in capital letters on the 1st page of our manual. Furthermore, it states on our Warranty Card that any alteration , modification, misuse, faulty installation, and if unit is affixed to any attachment not provided with the product is not covered under warranty. Mr. ***** installed his canopy to a moving dock and did not set-up as per instructions on our manual. The legs of this temporary structure are actually in the water. This canopy has been altered and this was a misuse of our product. Concerning Mr. *****'s other Shelterlogic Product, we would be happy to assist as soon as we receive verification of date of purchase. This can be in the form of a receipt, copy of bank statement, credit card. etc. Regards, ********* Carmack Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/06/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) Pure bull. I have pictures to prove, and told the company, that the frame WAS installed per instructions. It was installed on a NON MOVABLE DOCK that is built onto a 10' x 10' solid cement base that has two steel steel I-Beams from a General Motors factory installed on top of it, and then has four 80' long attached to it, upon which a permanent wood dock is bolted to. This dock was built by GM & the UAW as a community service when this property was part of a township park, and is as solid and permanent as a boulder. A hurricane could not move this dock. One side of the frame was attached to the IMMOVABLE dock with wood lags, the other side was attached to a PERMANET wood dock that is mounted onto 12' 4"x4" wood posts sunk 4' into the soil. Again, NOTHING moves, I have pictures from BEFORE the frame was installed, and the pictures during the frame collapsing, and the dock AFTER it was sunk. The position of the dock does not move 1mm! The frame was attached even MORE securely than their straight line soil anchors could EVER provide. The frame was attached to 6" eye bolts screwed into the dock. The product failed because it is a CHEAP product. Please provide me an e-mail address I can send you the 'before" & 'after" pictures. Or better yet, I'll create a web page called "Shelter Logic Canopies SPECTACULAR Failure" and post all the pictures on it. According to my lawyer, as long as I preface the written description and pictures with the statement "That in my opinion" then I'll be in my right to let the world know what **** Shelter Illogic sells. I'm going to post my tale and all the pictures on my Face Book page when I am done here, so all 677 friends can re-post it to all of their friends, wouldn't want anyone else to buy this cheap product. Business Response /* (-10, 11, 2013/06/27) */ I am responding on behalf of my manger ********* ******* who has been unavailable at this time. When Mr. ***** filed a warranty claim for his MaxAP he attached pictures showing that one side of the unit was attached to a dock and the other side attached to a small narrow wooden structure with posts in the water and water passing through the base of the canopy. This is not a permanent structure as it is indicated on the instuction manaual. It is a temporary canopy which is made of 1 3/8" powder coated steel with 10' between each upright and used primarly for backyard or special events. Bolting this unit to the end of a dock on one side and wooden posts to the opposite side where it gets windy and wet would not allow for easy access to remove the cover if needed in inclement weather, also indicated in the assembly manual . ShelterLogic carries a full line of product which may be more appropriate for this application than a $99.00 canopy. The second shelter which shows wearing on the cover would be covered under the warranty and ShelterLogic **** gladly replace the cover providing we have a receipt or some proof of purchase indicating the model number and the date of when it was purchased. Kind Regards, Ann Lineweber

4/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
3/28/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
2/14/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/24/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/6/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/31/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/9/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues