BBB Accredited Business since

Akademos, Inc.

Phone: (203) 866-0190 Fax: (203) 866-0199 View Additional Phone Numbers 200 Connecticut Avenue # 2B, Norwalk, CT 06854 http://www.akademos.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Akademos, Inc. offers online provider of college textbooks, educational materials and resources. Operates online college book stores.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Akademos, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Akademos, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 5
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Akademos, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 02, 2002 Business started: 04/01/1999 Business started locally: 04/01/1999 Business incorporated 05/16/2002 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Squires, CEO Ms. Amy Jones, Accounting Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Amy Jones, Accounting Manager
Principal: Mr. John Squires, CEO
Business Category

Books - New Encyclopedia & Book Sales Book Stores (NAICS: 451211)

Alternate Business Names
textbook.com textbookx.com www.akademos.com

Additional Locations

  • 200 Connecticut Avenue # 2B

    Norwalk, CT 06854 (203) 866-0190

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a ******** ******* *********** *****. Condition brand new on March 18, 2015 online at the site *********.com for a Food safety manager course at a College on April 21, 2015. I didn't notice it was missing the answer key, until I got to the class and the instructor noticed there wasn't an answer key in my book. I have to purchase a answer key from my instructor for an additional $50.00, which i shouldn't be responsible for because i purchased a brandnew book that states an answer key is enclosed in book. That's why I purchased the book new for 97.00. So, I contacted customer service and they told me to send the book back, so they can verify there isn't an answer key enclosed. I told them I take the test tomorrow so them sending me an answer key won't be any resolution. I'm still out 50 dollars because the book didn't come with was advertised. I then asked for corporate office number and they refused to give it to me. I then looked online and found a number and asked to speak with someone from corporate office, and they said they weren't available, but you could leave a message. I left a message than I received an e-mail enclosed. Hello, Thank you for contacting ********* customer service. ****** your textbook comes with the answer sheet it is printed inside the book, we checked all of our stock and each book has the answer sheet in there. ***** who spoke to you has told you that all we can do is send out a replacement and we have nothing to do with your professor charging you $60 since your professor is not affiliated with us. At this time we've offered you a solution and that is the only solution we can offer. If you would like the book replaced you would have to send us the current book back that you have so we can confirm that it is missing the sheet, please respond to this message so a replacement can be put through for you. In the future please do not call the corporate offices for customer service assistance, all customer service issues must go through your dedicated customer service phone number set up with your school. This is the message they sent me. It is my right as a consumer to contact corporate office, if i don't feel i am receiving good customer service. I feel like they got their money and i didn't get what I paid for.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the 50.00 dollars extra i had to come out of pocket for an item that was supposed to be included. It is only fair. They should stand by their products.

Business Response: Hello,

 We have already spoken to this ****** and have submitted pictures to the customer of where to find the answer key we also offered to send out a replacement of the item, unfortunately there is nothing more we can do other than to send a replacement to the customer. We also are not affiliated with his professor and cannot reimburse students for money they spend outside of our company or where cash is exchanged with a professor or other student. Every one of these books in our inventory is shrink wrapped by the publisher and we opened one to take pictures and send via email to this student so that he may see where to find his key. It's been over 30 days since he purchased the item so we cannot do anything about a refund also we cannot verify that the answer key was not there when he purchased the book because he waited so long to contact us.

 The offer still stands for us to ship out a replacement and we would need the copy back that he currently has to report to the publisher of the missing answer sheet, unfortunately there is nothing else we can do and we've already relayed this message to this customer. I've attached pictures that we sent to this ****** via email of what the answer sheet and book looks like once it's opened from it's shrink wrap. ****** also contacted our corporate office and I responded to him via email as well, he's now spoken to a Supervisor and a Manager and still refuses to follow our instructions. Had ****** informed us within two weeks of receiving the book rather than the day before his exam we would have had time to assist him.

Thank you,
**** *******
CS Manager

4/28/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My ***** debit card was charged three unauthorized charges of $25.63, $25.63 and $38.48 by this company. I have never done business with this company. I don't know how they obtained my card information. I had to travel a considerable distance and take 3 hours of my time to get to a bank branch to cancel my card and get a pending credit for these fraudulent charges. I ask that the BBB investigate this company and if necessary refer the issue to the local authorities for criminal investigation. This company must not practice the necessary security and verification steps to handle their legitimate customers credit cards if they allow 3 fraudulent transactions to take place in apparently the same day.

Desired Settlement: I need to be reimbursed for my bus fare of $2.50 and three hours of missed work at $12.64 per hour.

Business Response: Hello,

  Typically when fraud occurs on a person's credit card they should contact their credit card company or if it's a debit card they should contact their bank that the card is drawn from, we can look up the customer's name and if an order shows up with that person's info we can process a refund to the card.  In this case we do not show an order for this person in our system which may mean that their card number has been stolen and used improperly if that is the case the customer should contact their issuing bank to start the fraud claim process. We are a textbook company operating since 1999 and we would not purposely process a fraudulent order, the customer is responsible for actions on their card not our company. Since we are unable to locate an order we cannot assist the customer only their credit card company could assist them.

Thank you,

**** *******
Customer Service Manager

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
I feel that the business needs investigate this further for their own and their legitimate customer's protection, as it could be an employee, or a security breach of their system

I was not accusing the bookstore of fraud, rather I was saying there has to be someone accessing their system.
The ***** system did not "make up" the three debits, and they were taken from my checking account and payment to the bookstore was pending.
If I had not noticed my bank balance to be off, ***** would not have stopped the transfer and whoever had accessed the bookstore's system to initiate the fraudulent transaction would most likely have the funds now.
Sincerely,

**** *********

Business Response: Hello,

  I believe we were able to find two or three orders that had your name as the billing and we emailed you directly to the email you provided, we were able to refund or cancel them. This does happen on occasion unfortunately with online retailers and we do have anti-fraud systems in place but there will be times when orders do slip through. This was not internal as the IP address was in a different state, we supplied you with all the information that we had on whomever placed the order to the email we sent you however many times the information they give on the order is not accurate. I would still suggest making sure that card is cancelled so it cannot be used again and speak directly with ***** about their fraud dept. and the steps they take to assist you with filing a complaint or take police action.

Thank you,
**** *******
CS Manager

3/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sold a book on akademos sister site************* the bokk was purchased but I never recieved the payment. I sold the book below its market value it is worth 246 dollars it was sold for 37 dollars.This event took place on the 4th of January it was sent on the 5th of january! Every week since then I have been checking to see why I havent recieved my payment, each week they tell me they would contact the buyer and if the buyer doesnt respond I would get my payment. Its been over a month and I havent recieved my payment yet. I was told it would happen on the 22 but I never recieved it.

Desired Settlement: I want my payment in full the 246 dollars I deserve it for waiting so long!

Business Response: Upon review of *** ****** accounts we show his last sale was on 1/4/2015 it was confirmed on 1/6/2015 however it was not Marked as Delivered by ****.com, had*** ***** contacted our customer service dept. for assistance he would know this and he would have submitted the valid tracking for this item. Payments are not made to sellers until we have proof that delivery was made, this can be found in the Seller Payment Policy that he agreed to upon signing up as a seller.

No tracking was provided on this order therefore *** ***** will not be paid until he produces valid tracking show the item was delivered. All further coorespondance should be made through our email provided under the Help link at the top of our webpage. ********************************************
Thank you,
********* ****

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I called the book emporium myself  and spoke to the manager that bought the book he told me he was having a problem with the system he gave me his name and number and I gave it to *********  customer service. The emporium has a history of not paying their debts. I told customer service several times and they assured me that I would get my money.everytime they always gave me the run around. I did my part that book cost money and I want my money. They told me the book emporium would have to confirm that they recieved the book. The manager said he was having a problem with ********* system which is why he couldn confirm it. I asked them to call the manager they did not. They even sent a message which im not sure the book emporium even got. I am being scammed By this company. 

Sincerely,

***** *****

Business Response: Hello,

  All individual sellers must provide tracking information on every order, your tracking is not listed on this order we need proof of delivery in order to pay any seller. Please provide the tracking number that shows delivery or have BookEmporium who is a large established company email us with specifics that they did in fact get the book. If they say they got the book or if you provide tracking on the order we would be happy to mark it as delivered manually and you would be paid during our next pay cycle.

  Again you should re read your seller payment policy and membership agreement to understand the terms you agreed to when you opened a selling account with us.

Thank you,
********* ****

2/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a student who relies on student loans for school. Akedmos is contracted with my school ****** ******* through the **** ******** ** *******. The school system does not release our student loan refund dispersments until after the midterm. We are given a book voucher which can only be used at www.Textbookx.com. The website lists various prices for books from thrid party sellers, used books under their own name and new books as well. I ordered books from them last semester that were not is the condition they claimed they would be in. I did not complain because I needed my books for class and did not have the time to return them. This semester I made a concerted effort to order my text books for spring semester early so I could get good books at the best prices. I ordered an art book from them **** ************* it was listed from a third party at $79 on 12/13/14. This order was canceled and I did not recieve notification. I discoverd while I was checking for a routing number to find where my book was in transit that it had been canceled. I orderd the book a second time from them, this time at $137. The book was not listed as a thrid party but listed as coming from ********* used books. I did recieve an email from them on the date I orderd the book 1/6/15 but I did not notice the cancelation because the website had already given me confirmation of my order. The confirmation number I recieved durring check out said that I would recieve the book this week. While checking to see when the book would arrive I found my order had been canceled a second time. I called customer service and spoke with ***** regarding why two orders had been canceled. I was told by ***** that when I orderd my book it was available which is why I recieved an intial order confirmation. However the book was not coming from them as advertised. It was acctually coming from a third party called *******. At the time of my order the price jumped to $138 so my order was canceled. I asked to speak with a manager because I wanted the price advertised to be honored. I was denied. I was told that if I wanted to gaurentee that my text book arrived in time for my class that I would need to buy the book from them new at $207. I thought this price was too high and told her I would call back after doing some research. By putting the ISBN number into ****** I found the book at 5 retailers averaging price to be $151. These 5 prices were from large text book companies that would be direct competitors with ************** The companies were ****** *** ****** ******* ******** ******* *** *****. I called back and spoke with ***** a second time. I asked if they price matched for new books and was told no. I asked if they would honor their original used price and was told no. I asked if they would cover shipping since I would need to have it expedited and was told they could only gaurentee I would recieve the book if I ordered new. If I ordered new they would cover the shipping. I asked again to speak with a manager and again was denied. For the last two weeks I have been having conversations with class mates about this company and its practices. We beleive that they are misrepresenting their stock online and not providing the services they claim to offer. I told ***** at this point that I will be writing an OpEd for our student newspaper and contacting the student government about this. I asked for a direct quote as to why prices were so much higher than their competitors and why they would not honor the price quoted by their website since it was apparently so close in price to begin with. At this point she connected me with *** ******* in operations. I asked him if there was anything they could do to honor the price quoted by their website and expeditite my shipping since it was a problem on their end. They claimed to have the book at $137 and in stock and under their name. However that was not the case. ******* was changing their price. I was then told that ******* was out of the book at $138 and if I wanted it used from them I would need to pay $190 and though the website said it was coming from ********* it would acctually be coming from ***** ***** *****. I asked if he could explain to me why the price could not be honored and he told me he was under no obligation to tell me what their profit margins were on text books. I asked if being under contract with **** ******* ** ******* would require him to tell me and he said no that they had no obligation to prove that they were not over charging for books. He then told me this was my only option if I was using my ******* ******* ***** to pay for my books. If I want to pay out of pocket I could go else where. In the end I was forced to buy my text book through them as I do depend on my student loans to pay for my books. I had to buy new at $207 even though I made the effort to buy ahead of time. I also had to pay $25 for shipping. My total after taxes was $250. A hundred dollars more than my initial quote because they misrepresented their stock online. I am in the process of filing a grievence with the school, my ******** and student council.

Desired Settlement: I would like a gently used ISBN ************* for $137. I will pay the standard shipping fees for my gently used text book. ********* should cover any expences to have the new book I was forced to buy returned to them. I will not open the wraping to ensure the book retains its new value. However I can only hold off on using that new book for a week. Classes are in session and past the drop point. Not only will dropping the class due to not having a text book result in a negative mark on my transcripts, I will have to pay the full value of the class. After a certain point I will not be able to continue not academicaly persuing my class and will have to open the book. I will be forced to return it in like new condition. I would also like a letter writen to the student newspaper regarding pricing and ************** comitment to ensuring that prices are represented accuratly through their website. The current belief amongst the student body is that ********* is price gouging us. We only have one option for books and ********* seems to be very aware of that. I have witnessed a student petition circulating campus in regards to giving the contract back to *****. Also today the chairpersons of all the departments held a meeting about what to do about the book store. I would like the company to awknowledge that the student body is using federal loans and grants to buy our text books and the company has a responisbility to keep prices low. Not only for the students but for the trust the nation puts into us through their federal investment in our educational loans.

Business Response: Hello,
 *** **** spoke with a supervisor yesterday named *** ******** and we explained to *** **** that when he purchases from our Marketplace which are 3rd party sellers we cannot guarantee they will have stock and in this case the seller is the one who cancelled the order. *** **** was notified that same day on 1/6 via email to ********************** email address that the item was cancelled. We have automated emails that go out for every issue with an order from confirmation, to shipment, to cancellation or a refund. Purchasing textbooks early is what we suggest to all of our students because the less the demand for the book the less money sellers will charge and we always suggest buying used rather from us directly because the prices may be lower. We sell our New Retail items at retail price based on what our vendors charge us to purchase the item, **** ******** ** ******* students must pay tax because it is the law of ******** based on internet purchases and we must follow the law. We are contracted with *** to be their virtual college bookstore however students do not have to use us they can go to other competitors if they feel their price is cheaper we actually suggest looking around because we will not always be the cheapest. Our company has worked with the school to accept their financial aid vouchers as payment on our site which no other online retailer does, we do this because we feel the students should have every chance to purchase their textbooks without financial heartache.
 
 We explained to *** **** that we do not price match we are a small company and what is listed as the price on our site is the price you would pay. We would not sell a New book for the same price we sell a Used book, it's comparing apples and oranges and we would lose money on every sale if we did that. Marketplace sellers make their own prices on their books as well as the Used vendors we work with, they supply us the books to sell and set the prices for what their company is selling it at. *** **** was extremely rude and agitated and asked for company information that is not made public ie. profit margins, etc. We attempted to work with *** **** by offering him free upgraded shipping on his purchase for the item New so that he would save money and still get the book at a faster rate than USPS Economy would provide.

 We always advise if students have issues with the school's decisions they should take that up with their school directly, our contract with *** is to accomplish saving students money on their textbooks which we've done and continue to do. We saved students at *** over $300,000 in their first month with us December of 2013 and last year alone, (2014) we saved students in general $10 million on their textbooks.

 As of 1/20 *** **** made a  new order for a New copy of the book, his order ID is ******* and we have refunded his shipping charge of $23.96, the book is going *** Next Day Air at no charge to *** ****, we feel that is extremely fair for an issue that is stated in our Marketplace policies. We don't have to do this but wanted to make up for the inconvenience of not having his book in time for class. We've worked with the BBB for quite some time and we enjoy the working relationship, if you need anything further I've pasted some links on our site that you could use for information.

******************************************** ***************************************************** **********************************************

Thank you,
**** *******
Customer Service Manager

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
The issue is not that I want a free text book or that I want a new text book at an extreme discount. I have clearly asked for a gently used text book at the price your website quoted me. I am willing to pay for the shipping of said book as well as the tax.  Your company has the ability to do this. I am not asking for a hand out. I am also not compaing about tax. You fail to see the root issue with our transaction. Your tone and the tone of *** is that Im looking for something for nothing. You are not even admidting that your system confirmed at check out that I would recieve the book.
Your system upon check out said I would recieve the book. A deduction was made in my student loan voucher. I did not receive a message asking me to wait for email confirmation of my order. I admidt (This is me coming to the middle where we should both be) that you did send me an email that I did not notice canceling my order. However, I had already recieved notification from your website saying my order was submitted and would be shipped by this week. Your staff memeber told me that the cost of the book jumped a dollar durring my transaction and thats why it was cancelled. Once again I am not asking for a hand out. I am asking you honor your price quote.
I have spoken with staff members and the student council today. It is clear that you are going to continue your practices of misrepresenting your stock while taking no ownership of the software that monitors it. I am expierencing the same problem that you stand accused of on numerous rating sites. You are in communication with the school about the mass issues the student body is having with your system. You are clearly over charging the students and then underpaying for books when you buy them back even by the already scadelous college book selling industry standards. It has been made very clear to the student council that you are hiding behind your more than generous contract with ***. If you are acctually saving students the money you claim, then why not be transparent with your pricing structure? If you wish to grow from the small company you say you are then maybe your should start by doing the right thing. Instead your angering the student body who pays the salary of the people you made the contract with.

Sincerely,

***** ****
Unless we can at least meet in the middle this will be my last communication. The school has already begun the motions to either remove textbookx or create another way for us to get out text books.

Business Response: *** *****

We've already responded to your request and feel we've done enough as a company to assist you, we've spoke to your school about the incident and feel the issue has been closed.

Thank you,
****
CS Manager

1/30/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 12, 2015, I ordered books through my schools online bookstore which is distributed through Akademos Inc. For three weeks now I have been going back and forth emailing there customer service department about not receiving a product I purchased which is a ********* access code for $110.31. This was bought through a third party seller the company allows to do business through their website under the username ************** based out of*****, ******** . During this three weeks I have emailed them about my product not being delivered to me in a timely manner. Customer service has ignored some of my emails in attempt to seek a refund or replacement of the product with that justifies proof of no delivery. Through reading of the sellers comments I have also seen that I am not the only person complaining about not receiving products from this one seller through their website. They have not held the seller accountable for the handling of its sales practices thus far. Akademos customer service has sent maybe one or two emails but I have been of no help to retrieve my refund.

Desired Settlement: The customer service should be improved, and the improvement of third party sellers through this website.

Business Response: Hello,

 Mr. ***** purchased this item in our *********** from a 3rd party seller, the seller sends out their product this is not our inventory, we show that Mr. ***** did contact the seller and the seller has responded every time even providing the tracking number**********************. We show via the tracking that this item was shipped on 1/13 and delivered on 1/15 which is more than enough time for shipment since the order was placed on 1/12. If for some reason the item hasn't been delivered Mr. ***** would need to contact the seller and inform them of this so they can contact**** to file a claim and if they have an additional copy they can send a replacement. The last communication I show from the seller is from 1/29. We are very specific about our policies involving the*********** we will intervene if the seller has made an error on their part or if they ignore requests from a customer.

 The seller that Mr. ***** referenced has 1000s of orders that they have fulfilled and has a very good rating by customers on our site, 5 Stars to be exact so we see no reason to penalize this seller. We can issue a refund for this item as a one time courtesy however this is a one time courtesy as **** has established that this item was delivered. We have spoken with Mr. ***** more than once and have answered each and every one of his requests, my advice would be to look at the policies on our site and shopping in the *********** to educate himself on how this area of the site works and also to have items delivered to his school drop off location so that there is no threat of theft.

Thank you,
**** ******* ** *******

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. However if this item was actually delivered to my home I would not be complaining about not receiving the item. I have emails from the seller; that is sent to me in code (just a bunch of letters and numbers) and is non readable. I was told it was my web browser by the*********.com customer service but that is no way the case. I wouldnt have went out my way to purchase the same item again before the refund, because it was required for class. I have filed a claim with the post office because it was not delivered and have sent that claim to ********* customer service also. 

The resolution of this matter is important to me, so thank you. 
Sincerely,

****** *****

11/24/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a required textbook back on 8/29/2014. Two weeks later I received an indication that the book is on backorder- As of today November 13, 2014 only part of the shipment has been received but they are insisting that it has all been shipped and received. Their own website indicates that it had not shipped yet and provides no tracking number. Furthermore the customer service representative that contacted me states the order was shipped in four separate packages with 4 different tracking numbers via ***. However, he can only provide 3 tracking numbers for the order. I still have not received a completed order although it was paid for in full.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the product the company did not provide me with after receiving the full payment.

Business Response:   Hello,

  Ms. ****** has been spoken to several times by both our company and her school regarding this order, her order was shipped to her via the publisher ******* in separate packages shipped in 4 separate packages, ******************, ******************, also ****************** ******** ******: ****************** tracking for all components all of the tracking numbers show that the items were shipped and delivered. She has been given all of these tracking numbers in an email that was sent to her after she was emailed by me personally. We will not be issuing a refund or return on any of these items as we've already spoken to this student numerous times and she refuses to listen to any type of direction.

  Ms. ****** was also informed upon putting this item into her cart before payment that the item was on backorder by the publisher, we also informed her school who was to inform all professors connected to this book and the professors were to inform the students. We've done our part as the bookstore for her school there is not anymore that we can do, Ms. ****** can file a claim with *** but she has refused to follow instruction on doing that as well up until this point. We suggest she files a claim with *** as these items came directly from the publisher and not from our warehouse, *** is stating they were shipped and delivered it is Ms. ******** responsibility to file a claim if they were not indeed delivered. We will no longer be assisting her regarding this issue.

Thank you,
**** *******
** *******

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


" Ms. ****** was also informed upon putting this item into her cart before payment that the item was on backorder by the publisher, we also informed her school who was to inform all professors connected to this book and the professors were to inform the students."

1. The order was placed on August 29th, 2014 AFTER I was emailed by ********* that the product was in, AFTER A COMPANY REPRESENTATIVE  spoke to our class at the request of our professor and informed us that regardless of what the website said, the book we were required to have for the class, was NOT on back-order. The email is attached (********* Book Is In Stock) The order Confirmation is also attached. (********* Order Confirmation * * *) *********/Akademos debited my account on September 2,2014. Two weeks later, I received an email stating that the book was again on BACKORDER. The email is attached (Sept.15 textbook delay)


 
"...her order was shipped to her via the publisher ******* in separate packages shipped in 4 separate packages, ******************, ******************, also ****************** ******** ******: ****************** tracking for all components all of the tracking numbers show that the items were shipped and delivered. She has been given all of these tracking numbers in an email that was sent to her after she was emailed by me personally."

2. The first time I received any tracking numbers for the packages was on November 13, 2014. The only reason I was even contacted by **** is because, I completed a survey regarding my experience with the company months after I should have received my order. (Attached as Email from **** at *********) The email insists that there were four packages each sent separately with four different *** tracking numbers. However as you will see in the attached emails from ****, I was only provided with three tracking numbers. Attached as (Email from **** at **********) Prior to that, I followed instructions and checked on the order  through the online bookstore website through the school. It still shows that the order has not shipped and there are NO TRACKING NUMBERS GIVEN. Attached as (**********) (**********) (********** I explained that I only received three of the alleged four packages and neither of those packages that were left in the secured front lobby by the *** delivery man included the actual hard copy of the book that I ordered and paid for. The *** delivery driver was made aware of the package that  I was expecting since I was under the impression that it would arrive as ONE COMPLETE ORDER and not "4 separate packages". However since I was not provided any tracking numbers I was NOT able to track the shipment and neither was he.

 
"We will not be issuing a refund or return on any of these items as we've already spoken to this student numerous times and she refuses to listen to any type of direction."

"...these items came directly from the publisher and not from our warehouse, *** is stating they were shipped and delivered it is Ms. ******** responsibility to file a claim if they were not indeed delivered. We will no longer be assisting her regarding this issue."

3. I have been forced to spend additional time to place several calls, send multiple emails, and request face to face meetings with the Dean and my professor in regards to the issue because they *********/Akademos and Mr. ******* never were assisting me regarding these issues in the first place. Due to their ridiculously juvenile blame passing I was not able to access the online course materials that are a requirement of the class for over two weeks. As a result, I missed quizzes and fell behind on homework assignments while I was being directed from one "blamee" to the other. It was not until September 29th (a month after the order was originally placed on August 29th, 2014 and 17 days after my temporary access code to the online course materials was revoked) that I was given an access code to log in to the online course materials from *** ********* *** ******** ********** ********** for *******. On the evening of Tuesday, September 30th, 2014 I received a single cardboard envelope that only included the online access code (I returned this access code to my professor as ***** directed me to do). The same day I also received a small cardboard box containing only the Supplemental information for CH 10.  (the *** Ground tracking number on the envelope is: ** *** *** ** **** **** the *** ****** tracking number for the small box is: ** *** *** ** **** ****). On the morning of Friday October 7th, 2014, I received the last and final delivery. A small box containing only the Coordinating Workbook for the textbook. (The*** **** *** *** tracking number for the last box received is ** *** *** ** **** ****). I STILL have NOT received the mysterious 4th package "******** ******: ******************" and I did not receive the textbook to complete my order.  According to the tracking number given to me by **** on November 13,2014 the package was never actually delivered to my home but to a *** ****** ***** and Ultimately back to the shippers loading dock and signed for by someone named **** on October 14th,2014. I have contacted all parties and attempted to file a claim with ***.   Unfortunately, **** ******* and *********/Akademos, Inc. have failed to uphold their end of our contract. Their actions left me no other choice than to report them to the BBB. I did not choose to use this company, I was forced to order the textbooks through the schools online website run by *********/Akademos, Inc.  I ordered required textbook materials on three occasions and twice I have experienced excessive delays.  The first incident, I ordered a textbook package on August 11,2014 it didn't ship until September 8,2014. The second incident being this absurd fiasco. It is unfair and unacceptable that they would be allowed to get away with taking the money of students and not fulfilling the order in its entirety. I ordered through *********/Akademos,Inc. directly, NOT the Publisher and certainly NOT ***. Therefore *********/Akademos should be held accountable for their inability to follow through. Eventually I was to pursue other avenues to secure the Math 99 textbook that I ordered, paid for and still have yet to receive from them. The semester will conclude in less than a month and the book will no longer be of use to me. The only way to resolve this is to issue a refund since I no longer need the book. If this is what can be expected from *********/Akademos and their "Customer Service Manager", I can only imagine the additional complaints that your office will need to address in the future. 

Sincerely,

****** ******

Business Response: Hello,

  Upon speaking with her school Ms. ****** will not receive a refund or replacement as she was given all of the information via automated email including the emails I sent to her. She was informed every step of the way including weekly backorder emails to her *** address what was going on.  We cannot give refunds on items that were clearly delivered and we've made this clear over and over again to Ms. ******. We have a great relationship with her school and have tried to accommodate all students however when tracking shows that an item was delivered the student must file a claim with *** and *** must handle that situation. We recommend next semester that Ms. ****** have all her textbooks shipped to her school for pickup which is something the school offers if she is unable to trust that her packages will get to her.

Thank you,
**** *******
** *******

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 
1. THE BOOK WAS NEVER DELIVERED TO MY HOME WHERE IT WAS TO BE SHIPPED TO.
2. SHIPPING NUMBERS WERE NOT SUPPLIED TO ME UNTIL NOVEMBER 13,2014. I CAN NOT TRACK THE SHIPMENTS VIA *** WITHOUT THE *** TRACKING NUMBERS.
3. THE SCHOOL WEBSITE WHERE I PLACED THE ORDER THROUGH *********/AKADEMOS STILL INDICATES THAT THE ITEMS HAVE NOT SHIPPED AND DO NOT PROVIDE ANY TRACKING NUMBERS EVEN TO THIS DAY.
4. I ONLY RECEIVED UPDATES REGARDING THIS ORDER VIA AN EMAIL IN RESPONSE TO A SURVEY DETAILING THE UNACCEPTABLE "CUSTOMER SERVICE" RECEIVED FROM THIS COMPANY THREE MONTHS AFTER THE ORDER WAS PLACED AND PAID FOR.
5. THE SEMESTER ENDS ON DECEMBER 13TH, 2014 AND THE BOOK WAS ORDERED ON AUGUST 29TH AND AS OF TODAY STILL HAS NOT ARRIVED.
6. *** SAID THE BOOK WAS DELIVERED TO THE SHIPPING DOCK FOR THE COMPANY AND SIGNED FOR BY ONE OF THEIR EMPLOYEES-NOT ME NOR MY HOME. I HAVE NOT RECEIVED THE TEXTBOOK I ORDERED. THE SCHOOL THAT ATTEND IS FULLY AWARE OF THIS ABSURD SITUATION AND NO, THERE IS NOT A "GOOD RELATIONSHIP".  I'D EXPECT THAT **** WOULD IMPLY THAT IT IS ALL WELL AND GOOD BUT, SINCE HE IS NOT THERE, HE CAN NOT BE A RELIABLE SOURCE OF INFORMATION. OBVIOUSLY, HIS INTEREST LIES IN RETAINING THE MONEY CHARGED-NOT CUSTOMER SERVICE. IF IT WERE, THERE WOULD BE NO NEED TO FILE THIS COMPLAINT. I HAVE PROVIDED FAR MORE EVIDENCE THAN NECESSARY TO PROVE THAT I DID NOT RECEIVE THE TEXTBOOK AND THAT THE BALL WAS DROPPED ON THEIR SIDE. **** NEEDS TO DO THE RIGHT THING AND OWN UP TO THEIR MISTAKE THEN CORRECT IT.
7. MY HOME IS A SECURE PLACE TO RECEIVE DELIVERIES AS I HAVE RECEIVED ALL OTHER PACKAGES AND MAIL WITH THE EXCEPTION OF THIS ONE. FURTHERMORE, I ATTEND TWO SCHOOLS AND DO NOT HAVE CLASSES EVERY DAY. THEREFORE, IT WAS NOT A FEASIBLE OPTION FOR ME. 
YOUR COMPANY HAS THE BOOK, IT IS PAST THE DEADLINE THAT ITSHOULD HAVE BEEN DELIVERED EVEN WITH THE BACK ORDER. THE EXPIRATION DATE TO RETURN THE BOOK WAS EXCEEDED BEFORE THE BOOK WAS EVEN ALLEGEDLY SHIPPED. I NO LONGER NEED THE BOOK BUT I AM DEMANDING THAT MY COSTS BE RETURNED TO ME. THIS IS RIDICULOUS.
 
 


Sincerely,

****** ******

11/18/2014 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sold some books through the website. The post office made a mistake and put a different tracking code. I have sent three emails to the company explaining what has happened and provided information confirming that the buyer had recieved the products and was satisfied with them. I also left a message on a voice mail requesting them to contact me back. So my complaint is no one has contacted me via phone, email, or mail. I have given weeks waiting to hear from someone, but no one has. There has been no reply at all.

Desired Settlement: I think customer service should at the very least contact a person when they send an inquiry. I would like the money back that I am owed and have been waiting for over a month. I would like for the company to take actions to regain my trust.

Business Response: Hello,

We have no emails from this person in our system, they must contact us directly for assistance, a valid tracking number must be on the order showing the item was delivered to be paid for the sale. Once we have the updated valid tracking and we see that the item has been delivered we can then manually mark it as delivered. Seller has not followed their membership agreement by contacting the BBB and not contacting us directly. During the back to school season emails and voicemails are answered in order they are received and by priority.

Thank you,
**** *******
CS Manager

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  They are either mistaken or lying.  I contacted them twice by email and heard nothing.  Despite on the website it said within 2 days.  It has been weeks.  The voice mail again nothing.   I would not be filing a complaint if I would have gotten a simple email saying anything.  I also don't appreciate the tone of the reply letter, nor am I the one that is breaking any contract.  Return the emails or the phone calls and their is no complaint.  I understand it can take time when things are not done properly, but I provided proof in the email that the buyer had received the products.  If that wasn't enough then the fact that the semester has been going on for over a month and these were weekly lectures yet no refund has been requested is further proof.  Ignoring emails and phone calls are not appropriate actions and then reacting unprofessionally to a legitimate complaint only further speaks to the problem with this company.  It would be nice if the company would have simply said we are sorry that you did not receive a reply but please contact us again so we can work out this issue.  That would have been professional and would have restored my confidence in the company.

Sincerely,

****** *********

Business Response: Hello,

 If the seller did not receive a reply they should contact Customer Service via the email form on the Help! tab on the main webpage, we have no prior emails from them regarding this issue. We can easily update the information with the new tracking number once we are given it to show that the item was indeed delivered and payment can be made manually but we must show the updated tracking before that can happen.

Thank you,
**** *******
CS Manager

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I once again went to help tab and contacted customer service just like the response said on that day, and now on Saturday still no response. 

Sincerely,

****** *********

10/28/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 8/19/14 I bought a book, $171 from this company for a class that I was going to take. On 8/22/14, I dropped the class and I contacted, the company, through email trying to cancel the purchased. I got a response back stating that I need to wait for the book to arrive and then I could send it back for a full refund. For the past three weeks I've been in contact with this company asking about the arrival of the book and they said that the book was in back order and as soon as they have it, they will be sending it. Yesterday, 9/22/14, I got an email saying that they company is not responsible for back orders and I won't be able to be refund it. They also said that my school should have told me about this policy and there is nothing they can do.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get my money back. I will send book as soon as I get it.

Business Response: Hello,

 We state at checkout when a book is on backorder so that the student can decide whether or not they'd like to continue with their purchase. Each school year we get a booklist from the schools listing every book that has been adopted for each class and we go through each one to see what is available and what is not, we then put together a spreadsheet with "problem" books that the school must decide whether to keep or change. The school had decided to keep the books that were not currently available to get from the publisher and to wait until they were made available. Both our company and the publisher has been in contact with the school about this since July of 2014 well before the syllabuses were given out to students. After an order is confirmed by the publisher we cannot cancel it is not technically possible and in this case it is a bulk order that the publisher is now shipping out directly to the students to cut down on ship time when it becomes available. We told this particular customer numerous times that we could not cancel the order but that he is more than welcome to return the book for a refund. We are not standing in his way from getting his money back, once he receives the item he can send it right back and we'll issue a refund when it's returned. Unfortunately due to the special agreement between the school, ourselves and ******* Education we cannot cancel the items at this point in the order.

Thank you,
**** *******
CS Manager

Consumer Response: Dear Better Business Bureau,


I do understand that this agreement was done between this company and the school that I go to. My complaint is that this company did not explicit explain to me that this transaction would take more than five weeks to resolve. I had to drop this class because I do not have the book and all my assignments for this class were all late. At the same time I already lost $600, the cost of this class, because I do not have a book. 

I will accept this complaint as settle until I get my money back. If it takes a whole year for me to get the book then this company will have to wait, just like they are making me wait for this book. 

Sincerely,
****** ********

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

****** ********

Business Response: Hello,

As we've stated repeatedly, we cannot cancel the order because it has already been confirmed so once the order is delivered it can be returned for a refund so while we cannot immediately solve the issue we have to wait for the publisher to ship the item in order for the customer to return it and then we can refund the customer. If they do not need the book any longer we offer a return policy ******************************** clearly listed on our site that states we will accept back the items for a refund. We are not holding their money and we have no plans to hold their money, the student should issue a complaint with their school if they are unhappy with the books that were chosen for class not the bookstore that sells them.

Thank you,
**** *******
CS Manager

Consumer Response: I don't know if you were able to read my previous email where I stated that not until I get the book on my hands, send it back, and I get my money on my bank, I will accept this complaint as resolve. You can complaint with the school, not me. I paid you, not them. 

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

****** ********

9/22/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order through my College website to buy my Fall semester books. The college online bookstore is managed by this company (Akademos)My orde rinformation is as follows:Order *******Placed on: 08/18/14I contacted the customer service line during teh last week of August and after a long conversation with a supervisor they offered to shipp the book 3 bussines days after. The supervisor told me that I was advised about teh delay by a message showed on teh computer during the purchasing process. After I explained to her that this is not correct and no message was there, she proceeded to tell me that I am lying because in fact she placed an order for the exact same book a week ago! I requested a refund so that I can go ahead and buy the book at a different website and get it ASAP, they informed me that in order to get a refund I will have to wait untill I send them the book back. However, what book am I suposed to send if I am requesting the refund exactly because of not having it on time? After not receiving the shipping confirmation I went ahead and tried contacting them again and "due to a high volume of calls" i was directed to an answer machine that offer return the call between 24 hours. This didnt happen.Again I tried contacting them on the phone today and after another over 18 minutes waiting time, I got offered to wait 3 bussines days for shippment. I am already into two weeks of my class without a book and this company still playing the "3 bussines day" game.

Desired Settlement: I need to get my book inmediately or a refund inmediately in order to be able to buy at a different place and overnight the shippment.

Business Response: This item was on backorder with the publisher and at checkout before you submit your order there is a note in RED that states the item is on Backorder and can take up to an additional two weeks to receive, this however is an estimate. We do not know how long a backorder can take to be released because it is the publisher who has them held up it could be because the item needs to be reprinted or it's a bundle that needs to be assembled. The Account Manager for the student's school, **** ******** ** ******* informs the school of all items on backorder with the publisher and it is the school's responsibility to inform the professors they can at that time choose a different book to adopt or wait for the item to be released. This student's school chose to wait for the item's release from the publisher, when the student called to ask to cancel the item had already been confirmed by the publisher for shipment and we are unable to cancel an order at that time therefore the student must wait to receive the book and they can then return to us for a refund. Backorders are standard practice in our industry our company is no different than any other, the student should do their due diligence and read the cart notes before they checkout so they can decide whether or not they want to wait the additional time. I've attached a screenshot of what the screen would have looked like at checkout for the student.

Thank you,
**** *******
CS Manager

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

There was not message during teh checkout process informing about a backorder on the book. Just as an FYI I just received a shipping notification indicating that the book is on its way to me. However It seems like a ground deliver service was used to do so (*** ******) and it is scheduled to be delivered tomorrow even that it shipped last thursday.

Sincerely,

****** *******

Business Response: Hello,

As you can see from the reference screenshot we always place a message when an item is put into the cart if the item is on backorder. The seven campuses of **** ******* ** ******* were all notified of the books that were not readily available from the publisher and were to inform their professors. Almost every professor chose to wait for the item to become available, students should be contacting their school for assistance and not the BBB.

Thank you,
**** *******
CS Manager

Consumer Response:

 
I am rejecting this response because:

I totally understand that you place a note when the books are in back order. I also understand that you notify the school. Again, At the time I placed my order there was no messages or notes notifying about a back order. As for you guys notifying the school, let me remind you that you are doing bussiness with me and my money, not with the school. I am the one who should of been notified and you did not. I received the book  way over a month after I placed my order. With that said and based on the fact that all I wanted was to receive my book I can tell you that I dont need any more answers or responses to my emails.

 

Thank you,

 

****** ******* ********** ********



9/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered my book through my school, *** and they use this company where we purchase books and pay with our voucher money. I ordered the book on the 13th of August, expecting to receive the book on the 18th (free shipping). The reason why I ordered my book 12 days ahead of the time is to prep before class, needless to say I'm going into my 3rd week and still no book. When I called initially on the 20th of August, I also spoke with the CS Supervisor ******, who I explained to several times that waiting was not an option. She advised the only thing I could do is wait until the 27th of August or order another book. August 29th no book, I spoke with a *** who told me to call the postal office to find out where the book is, I did it because I was desperate. However, I realized they all are unprofessional, I spoke via email to another CS Manager named ****, who argued with me instead of helping me. I requested for a refund and the guy *** called me told me to contact the post office, to no avail they were helpless. He advised that he will order me another book and that it would come sometime in September basically 2 more weeks. However, he never satisfied me because I requested in writing for my money back. They have already charged my account and there is no reason why the books should be backordered because the school provides them the list of books months ahead of time. This book company is suppose to be for students but its actually causing me a lot of unnecessary stress and I'm and tired of them. Despite the fact that I don't have my book the customer service was the worst and I absolutely don't want to spend my money ever again. The school should really look into a bookstore that "serves" the student body by having the books available before we order them.Also, too I have talked to several students in various classes of mine and it's not an isolated event this is effecting at least 30 students for different subjects. The customer service for this company *****.

Desired Settlement: I would like for my money back ASAP and to receive written documentation from the company they will be returning my funds.

Business Response: Customer chose our FREE Economy shipping method for her order which is 3-10 business days for delivery, she placed her order on 8/13 and it was shipped out on 8/13 ************************** the customer called in on 8/21 to complain that she had not received her package yet. We attempted to explain to her that the item is going **** and can take 3-10 business days therefore the 21st was the 6th business day and she was still within the allotted time frame. Customer was demanding we send out the item again going *** **** *** *** which is unacceptable as our company did not make any errors, the customer chose the cheapest and slowest shipping and decided to buy their books last minute, our company is not responsible for that. Once a package leaves our warehouse it is the student's responsibility to track it's progress and if they see any issues they should contact **** with their tracking number so that they can intercept it or pick it up at the post office if possible. When she called in again on the 29th *** spoke with her and initiated a replacement order for her since it was well past the due date of arrival, if we see that a package has not arrived on time we initiate a replacement immediately. The book is on order however it is now on backorder with the publisher and is awaiting arrival to our warehouse, we no longer had stock on the item therefore could not send it out immediately. Unfortunately these things do happen, **** does lose packages and we can only do so much to rectify the situation. I have gone ahead and cancelled the replacement order and issued a full credit on the original order it should go back onto her financial aid in 2-5 days. Had the student contacted us back we would have done the refund over the phone for her rather than contacting the BBB.

We had to inform the Account Manager for her school of her belligerent attitude and use of foul language when she called into our customer service department and they needed to contact the school regarding her behavior. My email to her was in response to the representatives complaints and the recorded call that we had of her talking to our representatives unfortunately those are the emails I dislike sending the most. My staff handled themselves very well considering how they were treated and now that this student has been refunded the issue should be over. We are new to working with her school and some students have not gotten the hang of online shopping for textbooks we understand the frustration but we do not condone the behavior that was displayed by this young lady. Thank you.

August 21st

Hello,
 Thank you for contacting ************* customer service. It has come to my attention that you called into our customer service line upset that your book has not arrived yet.

 Upon investigation of your order I show that you placed your order on 8/13 at 2:48pm EST and it was confirmed 8/13 at 3:03pm EST. The shipping method you chose on this order was Economy **** which has an estimated ship time of 3-10 business days via ****. At checkout you are given an estimated date range of when the item may arrive, we specially say the ship time is estimated because we cannot guarantee a specific date as we are not the ones delivering the product, **** is. Please see attached screenshots of the checkout page where our estimated ship times are listed.

 If your order has not arrived by at least the 10th day we would suggest calling us because there may be a problem with the shipment.

************************** as of now however your shipment is on track with no known issues. You can continue to track this via ****.com.

 In the future when calling into our customer service department we expect a specific type of decorum that does not involve cursing or yelling at our representatives, we'd hope that you would treat our employees how you would treat a professor at your college. If this does happen again we will be forced to inform your school of the indiscretion. Please keep in mind we record all calls.
 
 
T************ ** **** ************* *** **** ***** ****** *** *******.


 
Kind Regards,
 
**** **
CS Manager
textbookX Team
 


August 26th From Student

Who are you? Why are you contacting me? I was not given the right to speak with someone else. Please under no circumstance do you think "threating" me will be tolerated. In addition, this is not a good way to contact me. Therefore don't ever reach out to me on this email. You guys have my telephone number. First of all what kind of customer service is this, with the rate you guys are going you will be out of business and I will be putting this tacky email on BBB to show how unprofessional you guys are. It explains why I never gotten an apology you haven't even spoken with me but you felt the need to send me an email. Who is your boss or are you going to be reluctant like the previous two people I spoke with who refused to give me "management". This is the worst customer service I have ever experienced. You really need to get some additional training because you guys suck and I did share my experience with the appropriate parties. Maybe I should start a ******** page to not solicit your business, matter of fact I see me doing a *** **** review. This is horrible.

 

Also, in the event if you are wondering where you guys went wrong, no one ever apologized even it was my fault or not, and no on ever offered appropriate solutions. The young lady advised that I purchase another book  ($265.00), that would upset any normal person, and as you are doing you guys are continuing to blame without acknowledging that it could be confusing or trying to accommodate or reason with the customer. Therefore this is poor service, I am so glad that I had this experience because I will never spend another dime here and will be speaking with the Board of Directors, because they need to end their contract with you guys. It terrible and you are so uneducated you thought it would be "wise" to confirm how unprofessional you guys are by sending this email from "management".

 

You send me a random email and don't even take the time to disclose who you are, who trained you guys? What kind of management is this? Then you take the time to threatened me, so is that your way of saying don't  report us, because I am and matter of fact I had forgotten about it, this email is a reminder of how important this topic is and needs to be escalated.

 

Thanks for the lack of "customer service", never ever again...horrible  service.

 

P.S. If you continue to work with the public, sharpen your skills as the customer service for this company is dull and dry.

 

Lack of Customer Service will take you out of business, I have shared with 30 people yesterday and provided other companies they should utilize. I could actually forward you an email from ****** on how professional they are, I ordered books from them and they messed my order up twice, they offered reasonable solutions and I spent more money, but due to great customer service skills, I felt like they were worth it. They followed up and even when the gentlemen couldn't help me and gotten someone else, not management but another co-worker. How about that my book is still coming late and I spent more money but because of the customer service I referred them. I understand business but right now I feel like I'm being robbed, you guys don't deserve my $265.00 that's what I'm trying to get you guys to understand. Quite ironically this happened the same day I contacted you guys, maybe you should figure out what they are doing that you are not. One things for certain they are making money and you guys will be going out of business if the customer service doesn't take a radical transformation.

 

Sincerely,

 

I require great customer service!

 

******** ********

 

August 27th

Hello,
 Thank you for contacting ************* customer service. ******** I am the Customer Service Manager and was informed by my customer service representatives of the incident involving your call. After listening to the recorded messages we felt it was necessary to email you regarding what had happened, we've also forwarded on the recorded call and this email to the Account Manager for your college so that they can take the appropriate steps in notifying whatever party necessary. Both representatives gave you the information that you asked for and a Manager contacted you with the information you asked for, the email that we are provided is the one that is on your order which is the *** email address, that is the one we will always contact you on.

 We are very happy to be working with your school and to have saved students $300,000 already in one month however we cannot do it alone, it takes a very large team and teamwork between us, the school and the students to accomplish this. We look forward to a very long partnership and one that will save you as well as your classmates significant amounts of money, after all that is what we are here for. If you need anything further please do not hesitate to ask, but as I said in the future please be aware of how you treat the customer service representatives who are trying to assist you we will not tolerate yelling, cursing or otherwise belligerent behavior.
 
 
************* is your one-stop-shop for New, Used, eBook, and Rentals.


 
Kind Regards,
 
**** *******
CS Manager

textbookX Team

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:My rights have been violated by recording conversation without consent and sharing unauthorized recordings, therefore invading my privacy. I do appreciate the refund but don't appreciate my rights being violated.
This has caused unnecessary duress.
Sincerely,

******** ********

Business Response: Hello,

When customers call into our call center we state via recording, "Your call may be recorded for quality and training purposes." We inform the customer before they even reach a representative that their call is being recorded mainly because of these false type claims we've had to start recording our call center calls. It is legal in CT where our company is based and we did put the recording on the welcome message when people call in as instructed by the state of Connecticut. By calling into our customer service queue and holding on past that recording the customer has agreed to our terms. 

Thank you,
**** *******
CS Manager

Consumer Response:  The recording never played and I have called numerous times where the suggested recording never played and I even called back after I filed the complaint and it doesn't have the suggested recording. I noticed this on several calls. What is written is not true at all. 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

******** ********

4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Akademos Website for books being purchased by private seller and company is Textbookx.com. Starting in late February,I purchased a Business Law book: international by ******. The seller on this website, Discount_Books or ********* ********* falsely described the book and also changed the shipment type when sending the book to Standard shipping when I paid for faster shipping; it arrived a week after the date exactly, On March 5th of 2014, when original date was February 29th.I emailed the seller multiple times and no reply. I emailed the company Akademos recently and Textbookx multiple time(mostly textbookx, Akademos once) and they never replied to me. Finally I got one reply because I threatened to sue and they continued to tell me to contact seller because they cant refund me since the seller is a private seller on their websites. I have been emailing them ever since and its been 2 months since I have been dealing with this issue. The seller has received the book I recently sent back last month at the end of March but has not replied to my emails for my refund when **** confirms seller got the item. Emailed Textbookx again and no reply yet. Seller made me pay $18 to return book. Also Textbook X negligence is the cause of this. I did not look at reviews before I purchased the book, but many buyers from this seller say that the seller doesn't return emails, puts in false information on the computer,and sends the wrong books to people. A lot of customers have also complained about paying for faster shipping and their items getting late. It is Akademos/Textbookx fault for not shutting this sellers account down when numerous evident of bad reviews were presented and their ability to not to return customer emails as well as have communication with their sellers to prevent theft and fraud. I send the book back and still have not received my $77 back to my account.

Desired Settlement: I want my $77 dollars that I paid for the book + shipping of $17.76 for the shipping I paid to send the book back. If further documents of emails to Textbookx, Akademos, or seller needs to be presented I have them. I also have the receipt from **** of the shipping label I paid for at **** via Kiosk.

Consumer Response: From: ******* *******
Sent: Friday, April 11, 2014 11:33 PM
To: ***************
Subject: Retract Complaint

I would like to retract my complaint towards Akademos Inc. They have resolved my problem and have issued my refund as of 4/11/14 around 8pm. Although I did not get $96 back I am satisfied and no longer with to continuously deal with this dispute. If i need to call and make retraction of my complaint, please notify me in email if needed.

 Thank You.

10/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered The ************ ******* ** ***** *** ***** on 08/20/2013. Three or four days later I got the wrong book. I emailed the "company" that was suppose to be *********** but if I look it up nothing comes up for them. I told them that I got the wrong book and I would send the book back. Which I did. I also said that I would like my money back. I have to yet to see that money. The total was $71.65. I am very upset.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $71.65 back!

Business Response: Hello,

 
This customer purchased a book in our Marketplace from a 3rd party seller ******************* when the customer alerted them that they had sent the wrong book the seller was very responsive and apologized and also gave the return address to send the book to. They also asked for the ISBN of the incorrect book that the customer received so they could confirm the book was indeed incorrect however the customer did not supply that information and ignored the request instead asking for a refund. This can all be seen below in the Buyer/Seller Communication, also the customer just sent the book back on the 12th of September and USPS postal service even standard mail takes 3-10 business days to arrive. As far as we can see the seller nor our company has done anything wrong and in fact this complaint is baseless upon the fact that the customer has not contacted us to ask that we intervene on their behalf which violates our site policies. Once the seller receives the book back into their warehouse they will issue a refund, not before. 
 
This is also quite telling as this is one of our institutional accounts and as a student their school gives them explicit instructions on how to shop on our site and they are also given detailed explanations on the Help tab at the top of their bookstore page on who and where to contact if they need assistance. We will pass this information along to the school so they are aware that this complaint has been filed with the school's bookstore. (********** ********* ** ******** *******). If you need any other information from us please do not hesitate to ask as we will have a full history and email trail of this order.
 

Buyer Seller Communication by Order Line ID

Message Sent Date OrderID From To Message Read Date Subject Refund Requested Message
2013-08-23 *************** ********* Buyer ******************* Unread Re: Other No I received the wrong book today. I was suppose to get The Psychosocial aspects of death and dying but i got ECG Interpretation instead. Could you please send me the right book. Thanks.
2013-08-24 *************** ******************* ********* Buyer Unread Re: Other No Dear Customer,=0A=A0=0AThank you for your=0Aemail. We very disappointed to = know that you have received a wrong book=0Athough it is rare but not a nice= experience for us. We request you to please provide us the ISBN of the boo= k you have received so we may be able to check the error.=0A=0A=0ASincere r= egards=0ACustomer Support=0A=0A=0A________________________________=0A From:= "*************@********.com" <*************@********.com>=0ATo: mail@****** *****.com =0ASent: Friday, August 23, 2013 4:06 PM=0ASubject: **********com= /******* *********** message regarding order # *************** (******* * ** *********) #* 41fd2c8632836511e8fb642bad6a3be6-1678753 #*=0A =0A=0AYou have= a new message from ********* Buyer regarding order # ***************(****** ** * **********):=0A=0ASubject: Other=0A=0AMessage:=0A---------------------= -----------=0AI received the wrong book today. I was suppose to get The **** ********* ******* ** ***** *** ***** but i got *** ************** instead. = Could you please send me the right book. Thanks.=0A------------------------= --------=0A=0AYou can reply via your email client. Please do not alter the = subject line, or your message will not be delivered.
2013-08-26 *************** ********* Buyer ******************* Unread Re: ************* marketplace message No Is there anyway i can just send the book back and get my money back for it?
2013-08-27 *************** ******************* ********* Buyer Unread Re: ************* marketplace message No Dear Customer,=0A=0AOur Retrun Address:=0A**** ******=0A33228 W 12 MILE RD = * **************** ***** **=A0 48334-3309 =0ASincere regards=0A****** *****= =0A=0A=0A________________________________=0A From: ****** ********** ******* ********************* **************@akademos.com" <************r@akademos.= com> =0ASent: Tuesday, August 27, 2013 5:34 AM=0ASubject: Re: *********.com= /******* *********** message regarding order # *************** (******* * ** *********) #* bd31ab10e4e84aca63bec6192b12ea36-1682264 #*=0A =0A=0A=0ADear = Customer,=0A=A0=0AThank you for=0Ayour email. We request you to please send= it back ASAP=A0through a reliable=0Acourier or mail it and provide us the = return tracking #. Make sure that the=0Abook return to us within next 7 day= s.=0APlease find the return shipping address:-=0A=0A***** ************ ***** *** **** * ************* ** *****=0A=A0=0ASincere Regards,=0ACustomer Supp= ort=A0=0A=A0=0A=0A=0A________________________________=0A From: "************ **@akademos.com" <*************@akademos.com>=0ATo: mail@**********.com =0A= Sent: Monday, August 26, 2013 9:37 AM=0ASubject: **********com/******* ***** ******* message regarding order # *************** (******* # 51377634-2) #*= bd31ab10e4e84aca63bec6192b12ea36-1682264 #*=0A =0A=0AYou have a new messag= e from ********* Buyer regarding order # ***************(******* # 51377634= -2):=0A=0ASubject: ************* marketplace message=0A=0AMessage:=0A------= --------------------------=0AIs there anyway i can just send the book back = and get my money back for it? =0A--------------------------------=0A=0AYou = can reply via your email client. Please do not alter the subject line, or y= our message will not be delivered.
2013-08-27 *************** ******************* ********* Buyer Unread Re: ************* marketplace message No Dear Customer,=0A=A0=0AThank you for=0Ayour email. We request you to please= send it back ASAP=A0through a reliable=0Acourier or mail it and provide us= the return tracking #. Make sure that the=0Abook return to us within next = 7 days.=0APlease find the return shipping address:-=0A=0ASolvo Books=0A1707= Post Oak Blvd # 293=0AHouston TX 77056=0A=A0=0ASincere Regards,=0ACustomer= Support=A0=0A=A0=0A=0A=0A________________________________=0A From: "******* ********************* ********************************** ***************.co= m =0ASent: Monday, August 26, 2013 9:37 AM=0ASubject: **********com/*******= marketplace message regarding order # *************** (******* # 51377634-= 2) #* bd31ab10e4e84aca63bec6192b12ea36-1682264 #*=0A =0A=0AYou have a new m= essage from ********* Buyer regarding order # ***************(******* # 513= 77634-2):=0A=0ASubject: ************* marketplace message=0A=0AMessage:=0A-= -------------------------------=0AIs there anyway i can just send the book = back and get my money back for it? =0A--------------------------------=0A= =0AYou can reply via your email client. Please do not alter the subject lin= e, or your message will not be delivered.
2013-09-12 *************** ********* Buyer ******************* Unread Re: ************* marketplace message No I would like the money for the book I sent back since it was wrong.
Totals (6 rows)              
Averages (6 rows)              
Thank you,
 
**** *******
** Manager
 

9/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I found textbookx.com through a website sent from my state university. I ordered a textbook needed for class through them but from a private seller on their website. I recieved a book quickly but it was the wrong one. I went to textbookx.com website and was instructed to contact the seller directly. I emailed the seller but recieved no response. Not only does the seller have no phone number but neither does the website. I them proceeded to read the sellers reviews. The seller has only 3.3 stars out of 5 because it seems they do this a lot. Out of the 50 reviews I read, over half of them stated they were in the same situation. They recieved the wrong book and the seller refused to refund their money. I sent an email to textbookx.com about the situation and again, recieved no response. I am extremely livid that a company can willing still work with a shady seller like this! I demand a refund and that textbookx.com address this issue! Product_Or_Service: Textbook Order_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: I want a refund for the book: $25.78 plus the $4.96 in shipping. The seller knew the were sending the wrong material and arent willing to correct it.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/27) */ Ms. ******* purchased the International Edition of the textbook which is listed in the Seller Comments and that is exactly what she received. She emailed her seller after the purchase and the seller responded with the exact same message that she had purchased the International Edition which is exactly what she was sent. Ms. ******* like many other customers either fail to read the seller comments or have buyer's remorse afterwards and want a refund either way we cannot force a seller to accept a return or refund on a book they clearly marked as an "International Edition" Here are the seller comments under the description of the book "Principles of Instrumental Analysis Seller Condition: New/Like New Seller Comments: New softcover International Edition. Same contents as US edition. It is legal to use International editions. We Ship to PO BOX Address also. EXPEDITED shipping option available for certian weight packets only." We received no communication from Ms. ******* regarding this order I've searched by her email and by her name and order number and have not one email from her. She did not give our company a chance to resolve this issue with her therefore at this point she must go through her seller to resolve the issue. If she decides to contact us via our Help tab on the site we can contact the seller for her to see if we can persuade the seller to accept the return however they are not obligated. They did not misrepresent the item. Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/08/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) I assure you this is not buyers remorse. I am not sure where you recieved that product description from but that was not the description from the book I purchased. I did contact your company, I sent two separate emails through your help link and received no responses. Second, if that was the product description then the seller is falsely advertising. They may state that the international version is legal in the US but the book itself even states that is NOT true. I am willing to pay the shipping to send it back but I still want a refund. Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/09/05) */ Please contact your seller to provide shipping instructions once they receive the item a refund will be issued.

8/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/12/2013 Delivery Issues
2/8/2013 Delivery Issues
9/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service