BBB Accredited Business since

The Car Doctor LLC

Phone: (860) 747-4262 Fax: (860) 747-6653 195 Whiting St, Plainville, CT 06062

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers auto repair and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Car Doctor LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Car Doctor LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 05, 2010 Business started: 01/16/2008 Business started locally: 01/16/2008 Business incorporated 01/16/2008 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle, State of CT Dept. of
60 State St, Wethersfield CT 06109
Phone Number: (860) 263-5055

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jay Filipek, Manager Mr. Michael J. Faienza, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jay Filipek, Manager
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Lubricating Service - Automotive Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Radiators - Automotive Transmissions - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Services Clutches Heaters - Automotive Tire Dealers Auto Air Conditioning Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Inspection Stations General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In November of 2015 I placed a down payment on a vehicle with the Car Dr and ever since then I've been financing the vehicle and having major issues one after the other. I am very dissatisfied with the service I have received and what I have to go through to make ends meet. I have discussed the matters with the owner and a few of the workers there and they agreed to fix it at low cost, however, only after I had another mechanic look at it because several of the issues with the financed vehicle shouldn't have allowed the vehicle to be driven. I gave them a list of what was wrong with the vehicle and they supposedly fixed the issues. I drove off later that day hearing a clicking noise and to this day I still hear it. Also, I have an oil leak that wasn't present until I got the car back. I informed them and they basically want an arm and a leg from me. I have documents of what issues they have fixed but then again the description of what was fixed is partially vague. Why is there so many issues? One after the other and I have not been confident in driving the vehicle every since my first experience with troubles with it. Granted it is a 16 year old car and it will have its problems but not this many and in this short period of time.

Desired Settlement: My request is that you guys do an investigation not only into my issue but into the entire business. I have noticed beer on some of the workers breathe and I know that they have school students working with them throughout the week. Not only should they not be drinking in front or have any in their system in front of the children but to be drinking and doing their job. I believe that is a potential danger waiting to happen. Finally, my ultimate request would be not for a full refund of what I've paid and have been paying for the car back but a reasonable about of my money back. Let's say the $1,350 I placed in the beginning or $2,000. Also, I would like for them to take the vehicle back. I would like to part my ways with them, please. If not a refund of any kind, an exchange of vehicles for a one in a lot better condition. I am so close of going to the media to have them investigated if there is no course of action soon. Preferably a month or less. I look forward to speaking with you guys.

Business Response:

*** ********** purchased a **** ***** ******** with over 155,000 miles for $2000 and financed approximately $1400, on which he is still making payments.  It is an older car, but was safety checked prior to sale and ran and drove well.  About 4 months after he purchased the car, it had some problems.  The water pump had started leaking and some suspension components were loose.  The estimate for repairs was $1585.  It was unfortunate that the car needed such expensive repairs, however these problems were not present when the vehicle was sold.  They arose 4 months after the sale, and we were under no obligation to help him with these repairs; but we took care of it for him anyway.  We did the entire job at a cost to him of only $110.  That is a $1475 discount; nearly the price he paid for the vehicle!  Now, 6 months after the sale the car has an oil leak.  It needs a new oil pan gasket, which we gave him an estimate of $360 to repair.  He declined the repairs due to a lack of funds.  The car can still be driven while saving for the repair, as long as the oil level is checked and topped off as needed.

I understand *** **********’s frustration, but we’ve gone above and beyond what is customary for the sale of a 16 year-old, $2000 used car.  We really try to do everything we can to make things right for our customers, but we cannot be held responsible for everything that will ever go wrong with this vehicle. Cars need to be maintained and repaired.  This is common knowledge. It is a multibillion dollar industry that supports millions of jobs. He has owned the car for over six months.  Far too much time has passed to return the car for a refund or exchange. The only available option would be for *** ********** to trade the vehicle in toward the purchase of a different vehicle.

Lastly, I’d like to address some serious, baseless allegations that were made by *** **********.  The suggestion that any of our employees drink alcohol while working with vehicles or students is completely false and frankly offensive.  We do work with students here, helping them learn a trade and gain work experience. We take this responsibility very seriously, as we do the responsibility of ensuring families get around safely in their vehicles.  There is zero tolerance for this type of behavior at work.  Furthermore, we are an installation and service center for breathalyzer ignition interlock devices.  Our employees often take breathalyzer tests as part of their job installing and calibrating these devices. So no, *** *********** did not “notice beer on some of the workers breathe.”

If you were to investigate our business, you’d find that in our 8 years in business we’ve had zero BBB complaints, zero DMV complaints, and over 100 5 star reviews all around the internet.  I’m requesting that this complaint be removed due to the lack of any evidence to support such serious allegations.  This went beyond the bounds of a complaint about a business transaction to a slanderous attack on the character and integrity of our employees and our business.

Thank you for your careful consideration of this matter.


Jay F******


Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is reasonable. 


***** **********

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on The Car Doctor LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)