BBB Accredited Business since

Pro Tek Auto, Inc.

Phone: (860) 739-5729 315 Main St, Niantic, CT 06357 http://www.protekauto.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Pro Tek Auto Inc offers sales and service of used cars.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pro Tek Auto, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pro Tek Auto, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Pro Tek Auto, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 11, 2005 Business started: 04/19/1985 Business incorporated 04/19/1985 in CT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Transportation, State of CT Dept. of
2800 Berlin Tpke, Newington CT 06111
http://www.ct.gov/dot/site/default.asp
Phone Number: (860) 594-2820
steve.korta@po.state.ct.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Paul J. Cushing, President Mr. Daniel Collins, Administrative Assistant
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul J. Cushing, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Tire Dealers Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair & Service - Airbags Auto Repair - Suspension Auto Repair - Shocks Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Power Steering Auto Repair - Maintenance Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)

Service Area
South Eastern Connecticut
Industry Tips
Car repair

Additional Locations

  • 315 Main St

    Niantic, CT 06357 (860) 739-5729

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Four years ago, ****, the owner of Pro Tek Auto, attempted to find issues with starting the car. The car would start with the key in the ignition sometimes and often did not. **** installed a diagnostic wire from the starter wire and left the other end of the wire near the batter terminal area. If the car didn't start, I was able to use the diagnostic wire to start the car without using the ignition system. **** stated the issue of the car was the ignition control switch, which was estimated at around $800.00 to repair. I decided not to fix the issue since **** said he would leave the wire in place for future use should an issue arise. Since then, I have used the wire about 8-10 times within the 4-year term. Recently, I had the car towed to Pro Tek Auto and asked **** to take a look at it because the car acted like it was vapor locked when we applied the brakes. When **** called the next day, he said he took the car on a couple of test drives, but could not find any issues. I was billed $124.00. When I picked up the car (after garage hours), the car stalled the first time but stayed running the second time. However it was riding extremely rough which was not the case when I took it to the garage and the engine light came on. When I got home, I checked the oil, which was fine, but I noticed the "diagnostic wire" that ProTek had installed previously was missing. The next day, I stopped by the garage and asked to speak to **** outside. I explained the car was not working properly and needed several attempts to start it (new problem) and that I also noticed the wire was missing. **** said, "That is my wire and I pulled it out of your car because I need it for future diagnostics." I explained we sometimes use that wire to start the car and it was part of a previous repair that he had made which we paid for. He said he never intended for me to keep the wire. This is confusing to me because it contradicts the conversation we had four years ago AND he never asked for the wire to be returned. Now I have a bare wire coming from the starter because it was removed and not properly sealed. I was never informed about the wire being taken out in the first place. When I told **** I wasn't happy about the situation, he repeated that it was his wire and I should call **** at the **** dealer to fix the current problem. Then he walked back into the shop.

Desired Settlement: I am most upset that a wire I sometimes rely on- the installment of which I previously paid for - was removed from my car without my consent and then the owner of the garage never informed me that he had taken it out. I do not believe it is good practice to "undo" a repair that was previously made and paid for. Additionally, since I took the car to the garage on 1/15/15 it is not working properly even though **** said he could not find anything wrong with it. The car now does not start properly and rides very rough, which was not occurring before I brought the car in on 1/15/15. Bottom line: I paid $124. , no problem was diagnosed, no repair was made, a previous repair was dismantled without my knowledge or consent, and now my car is operating worse than before I had it looked at.

Business Response:

  I would like to respond to ** ******* letter dated 1/15/15 regarding his 2000 **** ***. This appointment with us was for an intermittent no start condition.  The starter circuit on the **** *** hosts many parts that could cause a no start symptom.  The part that I suspected was an expensive one, so ** ***** and myself agreed to postpone the repair.  If the symptom became more frequent this would allow us to isolate the failed component.  Hence this brings us to the issue of the "diagnostic" wire I installed in the car four years ago.  The wire was intended to be a temporary alternative method to start the car should the no start symptom reoccur.  I recall this as a short term solution until we could perform a permanent repair.  It was not intended to be a long term repair  for each time this starting sequence was to be utilized the operator would need to exit the car, lift the hood to gain access to the wire in question.  This is not a practical method to start a car.   Hence the expensive diagnostic wire (tool).  While on the subject of cost, I cannot find an invoice charging *** ***** for this initial diagnostic and temporary service.  I believe it was "let's try this , the wire will keep you from becoming stranded and if the problem becomes worse we can confirm our suspicions".  I am guilty of not informing *** ***** that I had removed my diagnostic wire.  I assumed after four years that the problem had gone away or another garage had repaired the no start condition.  For this I do apologize.                      With regard to the recent interaction this January.  ** ******* car was towed to the shop and after being given the description of the symptoms, I suspected an engine vacuum problem.  Upon inspection of the engine system, all components checked good.  I drove the car numerous times and drivability was perfect (another intermittent problem).  We suspected the ignition cassette which is a known problematic component on the **** *** and will display numerous drivability issues.  The only way to confirm this would be to install a new cassette.  *** ***** declined the recommendation.   We invoiced the job and charged *** ***** for our diagnostic time. I can empathize with *** *****'s frustrations.    Intermittent problems are very perplexing and unnerving.  I am sorry we were unable to give *** ***** a decisive diagnosis and we thank him for the opportunity to work on his ****.  I am available to answer any further questions on this matter.


**** * *******

 

 </

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Hi *** ******

Below is our response to the company. Thank you so much for helping us with this issue. ****** *****

 

The most significant issue with Pro-Tek Auto is that we were not notified that a wire, which was part of an earlier paid service visit, was removed without our consent or knowledge. We have used it several times in the past few years. We paid for the earlier work and were never asked to return the car or the wire.  How can a professional “undo” earlier work, especially without notifying the customer?

 

**** mentions in his response that he has no records indicating we were ever charged for the installation of the wire, but we can report, with certainty, that we have always received a bill for any work done by Pro-Tek Auto and have never had any complimentary service.

 

Additionally, when I questioned **** at the garage, I respectfully asked him to step outside so no other customers would be privy to our conversation. I simply asked **** why he removed the diagnostic wire, especially without notifying me.  ****** tone was very stern stating it was “his wire” and he “removed it” and then stated he could not find anything wrong with the vehicle and if I have an further questions I should “go to the **** dealer” and then walked back into the shop.  That was the extent of the conversation and explanation.

 

Furthermore, when I had called earlier about the status of the ****, which we had towed to Pro-Tek, the secretary explained all the codes were cleared and the car is ready to be picked up.  **** was not available because it was after hours when I picked up the car. However, when I attempted to start the car, it sputtered and stalled out.  After the second attempt, the car started, but hesitated the entire ride home (5 miles).   I feel that I should not be responsible for the diagnostic fee – he did not tell me about the wire being removed - and the secretary had stated all codes were cleared and there was nothing wrong with the vehicle.  Yet the car continues to sit in our driveway to this day because it is not drivable.

 

In ****** rebuttal, he mentioned his suggestion to install a new cassette which may fix the problem; I am not inclined to spend $700. dollars on a solution that might work.

 

I would not be writing this response if **** had a respectful conversation with me, which I attempted to initiate. It was my hope to resolve this problem with him directly. Unfortunately, that did not occur.

 

 



Sincerely,

******* *****

Business Response:

intermittent

adjective in·ter·mit·tent \?in-t?r-'mi-t?nt\

: starting, stopping, and starting again : not constant 

decline


verb de·cline \di-'klin, de-\

 

: to say that you will not or cannot do something


Intermittent is the type of problem the **** was displaying.  Decline was the customer the response to our suggested solution to the intermittent problem.

Produce a the document that removes all doubt that the service performed years ago, was in fact paid for as stated by the customer.

**** *******


Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: we do not have an invoice from work done  years ago. Even if we had a copy of the invoice in question, it is possible that the installation of the wire might not be itemized on the invoice, as removal of the wire was not itemized on our most recent invoice when the wire was removed without our knowledge before or after the fact.  

Sincerely,

******* *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Pro Tek Auto, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart