BBB Accredited Business since

Hammonasset Ford, Inc.

Phone: (203) 245-8828 Fax: (203) 245-8837 191 Boston Post Rd, Madison, CT 06443 http://www.hammonassetford.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new/used car and truck sales and service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hammonasset Ford, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hammonasset Ford, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hammonasset Ford, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1982 Business started: 05/05/1982 Business started locally: 05/05/1982 Business incorporated 03/24/1982 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle, State of CT Dept. of
60 State St, Wethersfield CT 06109
http://www.ct.gov/dmv
Phone Number: (860) 263-5055
mail@dmvct.org

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Dana Fordyce, Vice President Mr. Albert Mantilia, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Dana Fordyce, Vice President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Industry Tips
Car repair

Additional Locations

  • 191 Boston Post Rd

    Madison, CT 06443 (203) 245-8828

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/10/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hammonasset Ford advertised and told me I was eligible to purchase a specific vehicle at a price, which when I arrived they would not honor.

Desired Settlement: Sell me the vehicle at the originally advertised price.

Business Response: I personally spoke to ******* and we resolved the issues. He removed all of his other bad reviews that he had initially posted on ****** and the such and said he would remove this one as well.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I would also support removing this record from the BBB system as the business was ultimately very accommodating.

Sincerely,
******* ******

6/23/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On APRIL 18,2015 I TOOK MY CAR FOR THE OIL CHANGE AND EMISSION TEST.THE SERVICE CONSULTANT SAID THAT I ALSO NEEDED SOME OTHE WORK INCLUDING SPARK PLUGS CHANGE.I HAVE BEEN A CUSTOMER FOR ABOUT 10 YEARS TAKING MY 3 CARS TO HOMMONASSET FORD.HOWEVER IN DOUBT I ASKED IF THEY REALLY NEED THE CHANGE BECAUSE I FELT THAT THE PLUGS WERE CHANGED QUITE RECENTLY.HE ASSURED ME THAT THE PLAGS ARE BAD.I BELIEVED HIM, HOWEVER WHEN I CAME HOME AND LOOK AT THE HISTORY OV THE VEHICLE I SAW THET THE SPARK PLUGS WERE CHANGED ON 8/26/2014. THE WARRANTY DISCLIMER ON THE STATEMENT IS SAYING “WE GUARANTEE OUR SERVICE WORK FOR 12 MONTHS OR 12,000 MILES. THE ODOMETER IN MY CAR WAS SHOWING 112,708 ON APRIL 18,2015 AND THE READING OF 08/22/2014 WAS 111,154. THAT MEANS THAT THE WORK SHOULD BE COVERED BY THE GUARANTEE BECAUSE IT WITHIN 12 MONTHS AND 12,000 MILES.I CONTACTED HOMMONASSET **** THE NEXT DAY. SINCE THEN I CALLED 6 TIMES AND VISITED THE STORE 5 TIMES.I SPOKE TO THE MANAGER 3 TIMES. I WAS GIVEN UNSERS FROM “TOO MUCH HUSSTLE TO “**** IS NOT GIVING THE REFUNDS ON THE CREDIT CARD. I AM REQUESTING THE CREDIT OF $376.00 PLUS TAX (TOTAL OF $399.87) FOR THE WORK THAT SHOULD BE COVERED BY THE STORE GUIRAMEE AS STATED ON THE INVOICE.

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE THE BUSINES TO LIVE UP TO THEIR OWN POLICY AND GIVE ME A CREDIT $376.00 PLUS TAX (TOTAL OF $399.87) FOR THE WORK THAT SHOULD BE COVERED BY THE STORE GUIRAMEE AS STATED ON THE INVOICE

Consumer Response: Consumer called to say all issues have been resolved and to close complaint.

5/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my truck towed in through my AAA insurance on April 10th, 2014 to be serviced because my steering became unsafe. The steering wheel would intermittently pull left and right viciously at any speed and after taking a sharp turn. But after receiving my truck back for the first of THREE times on April 17th, 2014 from being supposedly fixed I almost crashed into a guardrail going 65mph on route nine coming home from school. After a near death experience, replacing many parts totaling up an outrages bill of $2,513.71 and using now two of my three free tows from my AAA insurance I am thoroughly disappointed with their customer service which of whom the leading technician called me a liar, stating that the vehicle is "safe" enough to be driven back to the shop which consequently could have taken my life. I am also disappointed that these professionals could not diagnose the problem correctly and the fact that I am without a vehicle for multiple weeks and having to pay a friend to borrow their car due to the fact that they will not give me a loaner car nor any of my family members. All in all I am very disappointed and I will never go back to Hammonassett Ford after this repair because it has been nothing but a hassle in their ability to repair a vehicle safely.

Desired Settlement: My truck was not fixed correctly the first time therefore I would like compensation for the money I had to pay to drive a loaned car. Along with a refund of the money that it would have cost me to tow the car from my AAA free tow, as I only have a limited amount of free tows each year. Also I would like my truck fixed at Hammonssett Fords expense because they diagnosed the problem wrong to begin with, and $2,513.71 should have been enough to correct the issue.

Business Response: To whom it may concern, I am responding to an open BBB case id# 1*******. ******* ***** grandson of our very good customer ****** ***** had his vehicle towed to our facility on 04/10/2014. We then proceeded to diagnosis his concern, he stated that when driving his vehicle it will pull hard left and right but worse after 35 mph and up. We road tested the vehicle and it did not act as the customer stated. However we did inspect the vehicle and found an excessive amount of play in the steering box and right front outer tie rod end. This vehicle has 137124 miles on it so this would not be uncommon. The customer authorized those repairs totaling $1730.28. We performed those repairs and road tested the vehicle and found the vehicle operating as designed. The customer then paid the bill and picked up the vehicle on April 17th 1 week later. The very next day I got a call from ******* and ****** very upset stating the vehicle did it again. I opened an additional repair order that day and advised to have the vehicle brought back. ******* had the vehicle towed back in as he felt it was unsafe to be driven. At this time the vehicle had not acted in the manner to which they described. The customer asked about a loaner vehicle due to his age he would not qualify, however I did offer one to either his father or grandfather and they could let him use their vehicle, that was not acceptable. We then proceeded to test drive the car several times. We were still unable to confirm the concern. I ended up driving it home myself and only after aggressive driving on both the highway and back roads did the truck act abnormally for me. The next morning my lead tech and I inspected the vehicle and found the right front axle u joint binding at times. I contacted the customer and advised that we will be replacing both left and right axle u joints. At this time customer was very happy that we were repairing his vehicle at no charge. I then road test the customer’s vehicle myself again and found it to be operating correctly. During the second repair we put 191 miles on the vehicle in order to confirm the customer concern. It was a concern that did not happened every time the vehicle was driven. After receiving the BBB complaint from my General Manager I then contacted the customer. He advised that he posted this claim before we repaired his vehicle the second time and it very satisfied with our service. He would like to remove this complaint but does not know how. If he could be contacted again he would like to close out this complaint due to the fact that he is satisfied with our handling of the situation. ******* ********r Service Manager Hammonasset Ford, Inc. ###-###-#### ###-###-#### Fax

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 1*******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Hammonasset Ford, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)