BBB Accredited Business since

A Accurate Appliance Repair

Phone: (203) 357-8395 Fax: (203) 325-1115 PO Box 2212, Darien, CT 06820 http://www.aaccurateappliancerepair.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

A Accurate Appliance Repair offers appliance repair only.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A Accurate Appliance Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A Accurate Appliance Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A Accurate Appliance Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 25, 2001 Business started: 06/10/1989 Business started locally: 06/10/1989
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Marcia V. Braunstein, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Marcia V. Braunstein, Owner
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Service & Repair Appliances - Small - Service & Repair Dishwashing Machines - Service & Repair Washing Machines & Dryers - Service & Repair Ice Making Equipment & Machines Ice Machine Repair Water Heaters - Repairing Ranges & Ovens - Service & Repair Refrigerators & Freezers - Service & Repair Household Appliance Stores (NAICS: 443141)

Alternate Business Names
Mark Shelby Shelby, Mark

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 2212

    Darien, CT 06820

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted A Appliance Repair on Fri 8/21/15 to repair a dishwasher rack for my ********** Dishwasher. ********** had provided the parts to the repair/rack installation. I had 2 tech people from A Appliance come to my house. They suggested taking the rack to their offices to install the parts provided by ********** and promised to have it delivered on Saturday. After repeated phone calls to their number, I finally got in touch with one of the technicians who claimed that ********** had delivered the wrong part. I called ********** back who confirmed that the part was indeed correct and it needed a certified and knowledgeable Appliance company to do the installation. I subsequently texted the company secretary Marsha to return the my rack and the original parts provided by **********. Despite repeated phone calls, I am not getting any response from the company. They are basically dodging my calls. I am currently stuck without the parts and a non functional dishwasher.

Desired Settlement: I simply want them to return my rack and parts

Business Response: This customer begged us for service on his dishwasher rack on Friday, the 21st.  I explained that our calendar was full, but since technicians were in the area, I would have them stop by on their way to their next service call.
 
 He had called ********* to send a part, and they did so.
 
The technicians examined the parts ********* sent.   His dishwasher had a hook and hanger rack assembly.  The parts ********* sent were for a wheel and bearing assembly.  Our technicians wanted to call *********’s tech line which only opens Monday morning, and not Saturday.  Therefore it is impossible for our technician to say Saturday because they could not have spoken with the ********* tech line by then.  (Misstatement #1.)
 
This customer called at least four times over the weekend, and I answered his call every time.  At no time did I “dodge” his calls, despite his desire to control my scheduling when there was no possibility that techs could return at his requested time.  When not in the office, calls are forwarded to a cell phone so that we pick up as many calls as possible.  On Monday he called again and reached one of the technicians who was driving on the highway and explained he was in traffic and could not talk, and we would get back to him. (Misstatement #2.)
 
I spoke with the customer twice that day, and one of the technicians returned his rack and attempted to explain the problem with the part sent by *********, but the customer was disinterested and preferred to lodge a complaint.  He signed for the return, and he was never charged nor offered to pay in any fashion.
 
When the customer lodged his complaint with you on Tuesday, he already had his rack back, and we had a signed invoice from the customer with his signature.
 

3/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1. I was told that there was a crack in my water extraction pump on my dishwasher and that was why the water was not pumping out. I was charged for the time of that diagnosis. I later found out from a ****** service rep that there was a small piece of plastic that was covering the drain, and that was the only problem.2. I was told that a temperature control part was blown in my dryer. I would have to pay $120 for the part. I later found out from an authorized ******* service representative that the part was only $15-20 to replace. He also said that it didn't look like a new part. When I asked ****, service rep from A-Accurate, if he could please give me a copy of the invoice for the part, he refused. He said that in 30 years he had never given out wholesale prices for parts. Also, when I asked to have a receipt for the part or the exact name of the part, he also refused in a very unpleasant way.3. **** was supposed to clean the lint dust out of the dryer. They did a very poor job, according to the ******* service rep. There was still dust all over the machine after he "finished" the job and had been paid. **** did not check to see if the dryer was working before leaving. 4. The second time **** came to put in the "necessary part" on the dryer, I left him in my home with my parents because I needed to drive my children to school. When he was finished he wanted to be paid immediately. My father (81 years old) was verbally threatened by ****. He said that if he wasn't paid straight away he would be charged $25 extra for every half hour he had to wait until I returned.5. AAccurate proceeded to double-charge me for the $120 part. He charged me on the first and second visit. He said it was a mistake, however, it was very suspicious.6. A-Accurate states on their website that there is no call-out charge. However, on both visits I was charged $85 for the house call in addition to the labor time charge of $75/hour.7. **** was extremely unfriendly when I questioned these charges

Desired Settlement: 1. I would like to be refunded for my payment of $297.78 to A-Accurate on 8/17/14.2. Since I had to pay both a ****** representative and a ******* representative to come out and fix the problems that A-Accurate was not able to solve, I would also like to be compensated for their call-out charges. I paid the ****** rep, ******* Appliance Service, $180.75 on 8/19/14. I also had to pay ********* rep, *****, $100, on 9/4/14 to fix the dryer that was never fixed by A-Accurate.

9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A Accurate Appliance fixed my washer several months ago. They ended up removing it from my house promising it would be back in a few days, as good as new. Over a week later they brought it back and 3 men used a hand truck to bring it up my stairs. The hand truck had grease all over it and left grease marks the entire way up my stairway carpet. When I showed ****, the owner, and ****, his top fix it guy, they promised to clean it up for me. I had to leave the house to pick up my kids and when I returned in the evening the grease marks were no longer apparent. However, the next morning I noticed large white marks all the way up the stairway where the grease marks had been. When I called them to ask what they had used, they told me *** ***** from my laundry room. They bleached both sides of my entire stairway carpet. I sent **** and ****** pictures and **** and **** came back to see it. Turns out they fired the third man (who'd used the bleach,) and **** promised to replace the carpet since they'd damaged it. Now several months later, after repeated contacting, they are not returning my calls and texts and I'm left with a damaged stairway carpet. I'd only sought to have my washer repaired and they ended up doing expensive damage to my home.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to make good on their promise to replace my carpet and it was in excellent condition before they came and now is damaged beyond repair.

Business Response: **** ****** is correct.  One of the individuals contracted by us to return  her repaired appliance damaged/stained her carpet in the process.  The mover, a home improvement contractor, acknowledged the damage as a result of his equipment, and he agreed to replace the carpet runner.  He also supplied additional service to the customer, and the customer acknowledged his ability to perform many services to her satisfaction. Neither the customer nor our firm questioned his ability to complete the replacement.

Since that time, the gentleman has reneged on his agreement to provide the services required and has completely refused to cooperate, and we have promised the customer that we would take care of it.  I am somewhat unclear as to timing as the specific designer carpeting in question was not available until possibly March or April.  At that time we were  making an effort to contact the person who did the damage and reneged on the repair, and we made a strong effort  to re-negotiate with him.

Since that time for the following 2-3 months, we had great difficulty arranging for a carpet specialist to measure and lay the new carpeting.  We contacted two different individuals who are professional carpet layers.  They agreed to contact **** ****** to arrange for measuring and laying the carpet, entirely at our expense.  Unfortunately neither would follow through. In June we located and made an appointment with the new carpet specialist to measure the dimensions of the carpet runner, but unfortunately have been unable to contact the customer.  We have left several voicemails but have not heard back from her.  It is possible she has been away for the summer.

As it is our responsibility to replace the carpeting, we are not shirking our responsibility, only having some difficulty in completing the service in a timely fashion.

7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An "A Accurate" serviceman came to our home to repair our dishwasher, which after 3.5 years without problems is suddenly leaving residue on dishes. On the first visit, he visually inspected the dishwasher and ran it (nothing else) and indicated that the water was too cold and we should call a plumber.We phoned back and indicated that this was not an acceptable diagnosis. A serviceman returned a week later, and this time actually measured the water temperature. He measured the intake water at 90 degrees. The dishwasher installation guide indicates any temperature above 60 degrees is acceptable. The serviceman nevertheless stood by the temperature claim and left.We phoned back again and asked that A Accurate either return to do a full and sensible diagnosis or refund our service fee. While they have agreed in principle to try again, after a week and three phone calls they remain unwilling to schedule an appointment or even to give a date when they will be able to schedule an appointment.Moreover, their pricing policy is deceptive. Competitors quoted us $135 for a service call. A Accurate indicated $85 for a service call, and left out that there would be an addition $50 for the first 30 minutes of service (i.e. having the repairman run the dishwasher) -- a total of $135.

Desired Settlement: At this point we have no confidence in A Accurate's willingness or ability to diagnose the problem. While they may be busy, it is not reasonable for them not to tell us when they will call back with an appointment. After a total of 2 visits and 6 phone calls, we'd like our $135 returned.

Business Response: When the complainant's wife called for service on or around November 8, 2013, her complaint was that her dishes were not clean in her dishwasher and that her gas range was not boiling water quickly enough.  I personally made her appointment for November 9th, told her precisely that our one-time trip charge for was $85.00 plus tax and $25.00 per quarter hour for labor.  I reiterated by stating that the labor charge is $100 per hour, and we charge by the quarter hour.  For at least the last fifteen years our labor charge has remained the same and for the same period of time we have been very carefully stating that the trip charge is to come to the house and the charge for the technician's time is by each 15 minutes or portion thereof.  This permits that when the problem is very simple, i.e., when the switch or plug is removed from the wall, the customer does not pay an exorbitant charge to turn a switch on.


I scheduled her for the afternoon and called her to let her know technician was on the way to her house.  The technician first checked her ****** range and watched her turn the burners on.  He then showed her the proper way to turn on her jets to achieve the desired result as she was getting a low flame because she turned the gas knob incorrectly.  Her answer was "oh well, let's forget about the gas stove and move to the dishwasher."

Technician used a calibrated infrared thermometer to check the dishwasher and found that the water temperature in the dishwasher was entirely too cold to do a proper cleaning.  It was not exactly a surprise as the water temperature had become cooler with the cooler weather.  At that point he called the customer over and suggested she feel with her hand the cool temperature of the water while he had also checked it with his hand.  The technician explained that the dishwasher was filling with water that was sitting in the pipes after coming from the home hot water tank.  He carefully went over with her the temperature of the water in the bottom of the tub that was considerably colder than it should be.  He then showed the customer how to speed the process by running the hot water in the nearby sink to empty the cold water from the pipes so that the incoming water will be hot enough. The technician checked  the heater in the dishwasher and found it to be working properly.  The heater raises the water not more than 10 degrees as it is a maintainer and not a true heater.  Technician recalls from memory that her water temperature in the dishwasher was approximately 89 degrees.  It needs to be a minimum of 115 degrees to do a proper cleaning with some cleaners and some hard water conditions.  He then went over the explanation and suggestion to run the sink water until it was hottest a second time to make certain she understood.  The technician charged the $85 trip charge and $50 for his time in the customer's home.  Tax is additional.

The following week the complainant's wife called again and said that the dishes were still not coming clean.  I said we would be happy to return for no additional charge. I told the customer to please leave the dishwasher loaded with dishes so that the technician could check the washing cycle more completely.  When the technician returned, the dishwasher was not loaded with dishes as instructed, and the customer was not running the water in the nearby sink to achieve the desired water temperature for the dishwasher to run, and there was nothing else from him to see as there were no dishes to inspect.  He suggested the customers use a different cycle which uses more water to help maintain the heat of the water in the unit, and they flatly refused to try it since their comment was that during the summer (when the ambient water temperature is considerably warmer), they had no problem washing dishes. 

The technician could not see the dishes about which they were complaining, because immediately prior to the technician's arrival the mother/mother-in-law had very carefully taken the dirty dishes from the dishwasher and hand-washed each one, thereupon leaving only a few shiny, clean dishes for the technician to see.

Then the technician suggested checking for a problem with the water coming from the furnace and he asked to go into the furnace area to check the water temperature, and the customers said "no" because they claimed the technician was obviously fishing for an additional charge  to increase the size of the bill, and they wanted a complete repair for the price of the first check.  
 
The technician completely checked out the customer's range and dishwasher for functionality and found them to be working within the scope that they are designed.  The customer is angry because he was not satisfied with the technical response he was given and refused to follow the suggestions provided.  Just because an appliance worked differently 12 or 6 months ago does not indicate  that there is an internal part that is broken.  The complainant could not understand that the supply water temperature became 20 degrees colder or the water hardness coming from the ground has changed.  These customers are on a well and there has been considerable blasting for new wells in the area in the last 6 months,   however it does not indicate that the dishwasher is broken, only that other water conditioning has to be initiated.

Our statement can be easily validated by the two hastily installed (and partially hidden) video cameras in the kitchen to record any action or movement in the kitchen.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******
I am rejecting this response because:


The response from the business runs counter to the facts, misrepresents my position, and omits relevant information:

- The central argument that the water temperature is too low is nonsensical. As I note in the complaint, the installation guide for dishwasher notes a minimum input temperature of 60 degrees, lower than the 89 degree temperature approximately remembered by the technician. When queried on this point, the owner indicated that it "does not apply in my case" with no further explanation as to why. 
- The business states: "they flatly refused to try it since their comment was that during the summer (when the ambient water temperature is considerably warmer), they had no problem washing dishes." This is a falsehood. My comment is that in previous winters (when the ambient temperature has been considerably colder) we have had no problem washing dishes. The business has not addressed this. This is our fourth winter in this house. Unless they mean to represent that temperatures have been colder than at any time in the past three years, the ambient temperature argument is also spurious. 
 - The water hardness argument is similarly wrong. Had the technicians bothered to mention it, we would have shown them the filtration and softening equipment we have in our basement. This equipment is functioning normally. I'd be happy to produce a water test to this effect as well. The business did not check for water hardness but is happy to call it the problem and keep our money. 
- Not one of the three people present saw the technician check the heating element. If he did, he did so quickly and stealthily. Perhaps the business would be able to describe the test procedure in more detail?
- The business writes that "Our statement can be easily validated by the two hastily installed (and partially hidden) video cameras in the kitchen to record any action or movement in the kitchen." There is only one camera, unless the technician hastily installed a second. Mine was not particularly hastily installed, though it required little more than me standing on a chair. No effort at all has been made to conceal it, other than to hang an unsightly wire that would otherwise sit on the counter top. The camera is to watch our children. Any verification we can do is a happy coincidence; perhaps they will point out the part where the technician checks the heating element?

This is a business that represents itself as ******-authorized (but is not) and is in over its head when confronted with a problem that they do not understand and cannot fix. Rather than honestly admit that and refuse payment, they concoct stories and keep the check. That's dishonest.

Sincerely,

******** ******

Consumer Response: From: ****** ***
Sent: Monday, January 20, 2014 12:08 AM
To: complaints@ct.bbb.org
Subject: Update to complaint *******

Hello,

I would like to update the complaint ID *******, which I filed in late November.

Since the complaint, we hired a second appliance repair company to look at our dishwasher. After the experience with A Accurate, we took care to confirm that this company was in fact reputable and certified by the manufacturer. The technician diagnosed a malfunctioning heating element and fill valve. He helpfully mentioned that given the model and age, he expected these parts to be under manufacturer warranty, which will significantly reduce our repair costs. A Accurate was not able to do any of this.

The technician did not raise the input water temperature as an issue.

On one of our calls, A Accurate warrantied that they would refund our money if we could get a diagnosis different from theirs. We have now done that; perhaps they will honor that commitment?

Sincerely,

*** ******

Business Response: Both fill valve and heater were functioning when technician left.  The unit was filled with water and was obviously working as we emptied and refilled the dishwasher.  The dishwasher is against an uninsulated outside wall and between when our technician left the home and January, the weather was bitterly cold, which added to the decreased water temperature which may have frozen the water valve.  Such was not the case when we were there. If it had been indicated, we would have performed such repairs as the customer has suggested.   Customer has yet to supply a compeleted invoice from any other servicer showing completed work, and has chosen instead to publicly complain. 


Additionally the customer NEVER called us and said it was not working which would be the case with a faulty inlet valve.  When he supplies us with a proper, completed invoice, we will take it into consideration as we discussed three months ago.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
 

I will happily provide the invoice from the company that successfully repaired the dishwasher successfully. At that point, if they wish to refund my money, we can consider this closed.
 
Sincerely,

******** ******

Business Response: Following is my response to the above complaint.

Re: Complaint  #*******
 
*** ****** is the husband of the customer who called for service.  **** ****** made an appointment for our service for Saturday, November 9, 2013.  When she asked for us to return, we did so without charge the following week on Saturday, November 16, 2013.  

When I spoke with her husband the following week, I did extend the offer of some reimburse¬ment with a paid invoice and diagnosis.  After no response in December, I concluded that there was nothing additional.  Unfortunately *** ****** provided to you but not to me, such an invoice without a date.  After reaching the vendor who identified the invoice, it appears their service was provided on or about February 7 of 2014, approximately 3 months after our date of service.
 
We wanted to do additional diagnostic work which were prohibited from doing and did not receive the cooperation of the homeowner.  
 
In most houses with most repairs the situation needs to be resolved within the first week or two or at most within the first month.  Any repair for which there is a complaint three months after initial service is generally assumed by vendors that it is either a different problem or a different machine.
 
After 2 visits for which we charged less for service on two appliances than the amount on the undated invoice, three months have elapsed since the Lansons asked for service.  There is no proof that the customer is entitled to any refund.  In addition it is clear that they never completed the repair by February.
 
For our service charge on November 9, 2014, technician’s trip included service for the ****** range and the ****** dishwasher.  


If you have any question, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Marcia Braunstein
203 357-8395

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because this is not really a response at all. A Accurate Appliance keeps changing the story. We've now been through water temperature (shown to be in the range provided by the dishwasher manual according to A Accurate's measurements), water hardness (it's softened with a filtration system), to the "uninsulated outside wall" (it's insulated), to needing an invoice as proof of repair (we provided it), and now we're on to "sorry, too slow." The facts, though, haven't changed: A Accurate misrepresented themselves as ******-authorized. They came and did nothing. We called them back, and again they did nothing. They refused to schedule a third visit. We found an authorized and competent repair service, who diagnosed the problem, ordered the parts, and repaired the dishwasher. As a bonus they pointed out that our warranty would defray the cost. That's what honest and capable companies do.

 
As for the date, I cannot account for A Accurate's math. Our last contact was November 23rd. The initial date of service by the competent repairman was January 24th per my credit card bill. I cannot account for the February 7th date, but it is not correct. The time elapsed is almost exactly two months, not "approximately" three. 
 
In short, we've done everything reasonable, first to allow A Accurate to correct their error, then to allow them to put it right by refunding our money when we showed that a more capable service repaired the appliance. While the fact that they now won't honor their pledge to refund our money is hardly a surprise, it's still wrong.

Sincerely,

******** ******