BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

A Accurate Appliance Repair

Phone: (203) 357-8395 Fax: (203) 325-1115 PO Box 2212, Darien, CT 06820 http://www.aaccurateappliancerepair.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

A Accurate Appliance Repair offers appliance repair only.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A Accurate Appliance Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A Accurate Appliance Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A Accurate Appliance Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 25, 2001 Business started: 06/10/1989 Business started locally: 06/10/1989
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Marcia V. Braunstein, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Marcia V. Braunstein, Owner
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Service & Repair Appliances - Small - Service & Repair Dishwashing Machines - Service & Repair Washing Machines & Dryers - Service & Repair Ice Making Equipment & Machines Ice Machine Repair Water Heaters - Repairing Ranges & Ovens - Service & Repair Refrigerators & Freezers - Service & Repair Household Appliance Stores (NAICS: 443141)

Alternate Business Names
Mark Shelby Shelby, Mark

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 2212

    Darien, CT 06820

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An "A Accurate" serviceman came to our home to repair our dishwasher, which after 3.5 years without problems is suddenly leaving residue on dishes. On the first visit, he visually inspected the dishwasher and ran it (nothing else) and indicated that the water was too cold and we should call a plumber.We phoned back and indicated that this was not an acceptable diagnosis. A serviceman returned a week later, and this time actually measured the water temperature. He measured the intake water at 90 degrees. The dishwasher installation guide indicates any temperature above 60 degrees is acceptable. The serviceman nevertheless stood by the temperature claim and left.We phoned back again and asked that A Accurate either return to do a full and sensible diagnosis or refund our service fee. While they have agreed in principle to try again, after a week and three phone calls they remain unwilling to schedule an appointment or even to give a date when they will be able to schedule an appointment.Moreover, their pricing policy is deceptive. Competitors quoted us $135 for a service call. A Accurate indicated $85 for a service call, and left out that there would be an addition $50 for the first 30 minutes of service (i.e. having the repairman run the dishwasher) -- a total of $135.

Desired Settlement: At this point we have no confidence in A Accurate's willingness or ability to diagnose the problem. While they may be busy, it is not reasonable for them not to tell us when they will call back with an appointment. After a total of 2 visits and 6 phone calls, we'd like our $135 returned.

Business Response: When the complainant's wife called for service on or around November 8, 2013, her complaint was that her dishes were not clean in her dishwasher and that her gas range was not boiling water quickly enough.  I personally made her appointment for November 9th, told her precisely that our one-time trip charge for was $85.00 plus tax and $25.00 per quarter hour for labor.  I reiterated by stating that the labor charge is $100 per hour, and we charge by the quarter hour.  For at least the last fifteen years our labor charge has remained the same and for the same period of time we have been very carefully stating that the trip charge is to come to the house and the charge for the technician's time is by each 15 minutes or portion thereof.  This permits that when the problem is very simple, i.e., when the switch or plug is removed from the wall, the customer does not pay an exorbitant charge to turn a switch on.


I scheduled her for the afternoon and called her to let her know technician was on the way to her house.  The technician first checked her ****** range and watched her turn the burners on.  He then showed her the proper way to turn on her jets to achieve the desired result as she was getting a low flame because she turned the gas knob incorrectly.  Her answer was "oh well, let's forget about the gas stove and move to the dishwasher."

Technician used a calibrated infrared thermometer to check the dishwasher and found that the water temperature in the dishwasher was entirely too cold to do a proper cleaning.  It was not exactly a surprise as the water temperature had become cooler with the cooler weather.  At that point he called the customer over and suggested she feel with her hand the cool temperature of the water while he had also checked it with his hand.  The technician explained that the dishwasher was filling with water that was sitting in the pipes after coming from the home hot water tank.  He carefully went over with her the temperature of the water in the bottom of the tub that was considerably colder than it should be.  He then showed the customer how to speed the process by running the hot water in the nearby sink to empty the cold water from the pipes so that the incoming water will be hot enough. The technician checked  the heater in the dishwasher and found it to be working properly.  The heater raises the water not more than 10 degrees as it is a maintainer and not a true heater.  Technician recalls from memory that her water temperature in the dishwasher was approximately 89 degrees.  It needs to be a minimum of 115 degrees to do a proper cleaning with some cleaners and some hard water conditions.  He then went over the explanation and suggestion to run the sink water until it was hottest a second time to make certain she understood.  The technician charged the $85 trip charge and $50 for his time in the customer's home.  Tax is additional.

The following week the complainant's wife called again and said that the dishes were still not coming clean.  I said we would be happy to return for no additional charge. I told the customer to please leave the dishwasher loaded with dishes so that the technician could check the washing cycle more completely.  When the technician returned, the dishwasher was not loaded with dishes as instructed, and the customer was not running the water in the nearby sink to achieve the desired water temperature for the dishwasher to run, and there was nothing else from him to see as there were no dishes to inspect.  He suggested the customers use a different cycle which uses more water to help maintain the heat of the water in the unit, and they flatly refused to try it since their comment was that during the summer (when the ambient water temperature is considerably warmer), they had no problem washing dishes. 

The technician could not see the dishes about which they were complaining, because immediately prior to the technician's arrival the mother/mother-in-law had very carefully taken the dirty dishes from the dishwasher and hand-washed each one, thereupon leaving only a few shiny, clean dishes for the technician to see.

Then the technician suggested checking for a problem with the water coming from the furnace and he asked to go into the furnace area to check the water temperature, and the customers said "no" because they claimed the technician was obviously fishing for an additional charge  to increase the size of the bill, and they wanted a complete repair for the price of the first check.  
 
The technician completely checked out the customer's range and dishwasher for functionality and found them to be working within the scope that they are designed.  The customer is angry because he was not satisfied with the technical response he was given and refused to follow the suggestions provided.  Just because an appliance worked differently 12 or 6 months ago does not indicate  that there is an internal part that is broken.  The complainant could not understand that the supply water temperature became 20 degrees colder or the water hardness coming from the ground has changed.  These customers are on a well and there has been considerable blasting for new wells in the area in the last 6 months,   however it does not indicate that the dishwasher is broken, only that other water conditioning has to be initiated.

Our statement can be easily validated by the two hastily installed (and partially hidden) video cameras in the kitchen to record any action or movement in the kitchen.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******
I am rejecting this response because:


The response from the business runs counter to the facts, misrepresents my position, and omits relevant information:

- The central argument that the water temperature is too low is nonsensical. As I note in the complaint, the installation guide for dishwasher notes a minimum input temperature of 60 degrees, lower than the 89 degree temperature approximately remembered by the technician. When queried on this point, the owner indicated that it "does not apply in my case" with no further explanation as to why. 
- The business states: "they flatly refused to try it since their comment was that during the summer (when the ambient water temperature is considerably warmer), they had no problem washing dishes." This is a falsehood. My comment is that in previous winters (when the ambient temperature has been considerably colder) we have had no problem washing dishes. The business has not addressed this. This is our fourth winter in this house. Unless they mean to represent that temperatures have been colder than at any time in the past three years, the ambient temperature argument is also spurious. 
 - The water hardness argument is similarly wrong. Had the technicians bothered to mention it, we would have shown them the filtration and softening equipment we have in our basement. This equipment is functioning normally. I'd be happy to produce a water test to this effect as well. The business did not check for water hardness but is happy to call it the problem and keep our money. 
- Not one of the three people present saw the technician check the heating element. If he did, he did so quickly and stealthily. Perhaps the business would be able to describe the test procedure in more detail?
- The business writes that "Our statement can be easily validated by the two hastily installed (and partially hidden) video cameras in the kitchen to record any action or movement in the kitchen." There is only one camera, unless the technician hastily installed a second. Mine was not particularly hastily installed, though it required little more than me standing on a chair. No effort at all has been made to conceal it, other than to hang an unsightly wire that would otherwise sit on the counter top. The camera is to watch our children. Any verification we can do is a happy coincidence; perhaps they will point out the part where the technician checks the heating element?

This is a business that represents itself as ******-authorized (but is not) and is in over its head when confronted with a problem that they do not understand and cannot fix. Rather than honestly admit that and refuse payment, they concoct stories and keep the check. That's dishonest.

Sincerely,

******** ******

Consumer Response: From: ****** ***
Sent: Monday, January 20, 2014 12:08 AM
To: complaints@ct.bbb.org
Subject: Update to complaint *******

Hello,

I would like to update the complaint ID *******, which I filed in late November.

Since the complaint, we hired a second appliance repair company to look at our dishwasher. After the experience with A Accurate, we took care to confirm that this company was in fact reputable and certified by the manufacturer. The technician diagnosed a malfunctioning heating element and fill valve. He helpfully mentioned that given the model and age, he expected these parts to be under manufacturer warranty, which will significantly reduce our repair costs. A Accurate was not able to do any of this.

The technician did not raise the input water temperature as an issue.

On one of our calls, A Accurate warrantied that they would refund our money if we could get a diagnosis different from theirs. We have now done that; perhaps they will honor that commitment?

Sincerely,

*** ******

Business Response: Both fill valve and heater were functioning when technician left.  The unit was filled with water and was obviously working as we emptied and refilled the dishwasher.  The dishwasher is against an uninsulated outside wall and between when our technician left the home and January, the weather was bitterly cold, which added to the decreased water temperature which may have frozen the water valve.  Such was not the case when we were there. If it had been indicated, we would have performed such repairs as the customer has suggested.   Customer has yet to supply a compeleted invoice from any other servicer showing completed work, and has chosen instead to publicly complain. 


Additionally the customer NEVER called us and said it was not working which would be the case with a faulty inlet valve.  When he supplies us with a proper, completed invoice, we will take it into consideration as we discussed three months ago.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
 

I will happily provide the invoice from the company that successfully repaired the dishwasher successfully. At that point, if they wish to refund my money, we can consider this closed.
 
Sincerely,

******** ******

Business Response: Following is my response to the above complaint.

Re: Complaint  #*******
 
*** ****** is the husband of the customer who called for service.  **** ****** made an appointment for our service for Saturday, November 9, 2013.  When she asked for us to return, we did so without charge the following week on Saturday, November 16, 2013.  

When I spoke with her husband the following week, I did extend the offer of some reimburse¬ment with a paid invoice and diagnosis.  After no response in December, I concluded that there was nothing additional.  Unfortunately *** ****** provided to you but not to me, such an invoice without a date.  After reaching the vendor who identified the invoice, it appears their service was provided on or about February 7 of 2014, approximately 3 months after our date of service.
 
We wanted to do additional diagnostic work which were prohibited from doing and did not receive the cooperation of the homeowner.  
 
In most houses with most repairs the situation needs to be resolved within the first week or two or at most within the first month.  Any repair for which there is a complaint three months after initial service is generally assumed by vendors that it is either a different problem or a different machine.
 
After 2 visits for which we charged less for service on two appliances than the amount on the undated invoice, three months have elapsed since the Lansons asked for service.  There is no proof that the customer is entitled to any refund.  In addition it is clear that they never completed the repair by February.
 
For our service charge on November 9, 2014, technician’s trip included service for the ****** range and the ****** dishwasher.  


If you have any question, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Marcia Braunstein
203 357-8395

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because this is not really a response at all. A Accurate Appliance keeps changing the story. We've now been through water temperature (shown to be in the range provided by the dishwasher manual according to A Accurate's measurements), water hardness (it's softened with a filtration system), to the "uninsulated outside wall" (it's insulated), to needing an invoice as proof of repair (we provided it), and now we're on to "sorry, too slow." The facts, though, haven't changed: A Accurate misrepresented themselves as ******-authorized. They came and did nothing. We called them back, and again they did nothing. They refused to schedule a third visit. We found an authorized and competent repair service, who diagnosed the problem, ordered the parts, and repaired the dishwasher. As a bonus they pointed out that our warranty would defray the cost. That's what honest and capable companies do.

 
As for the date, I cannot account for A Accurate's math. Our last contact was November 23rd. The initial date of service by the competent repairman was January 24th per my credit card bill. I cannot account for the February 7th date, but it is not correct. The time elapsed is almost exactly two months, not "approximately" three. 
 
In short, we've done everything reasonable, first to allow A Accurate to correct their error, then to allow them to put it right by refunding our money when we showed that a more capable service repaired the appliance. While the fact that they now won't honor their pledge to refund our money is hardly a surprise, it's still wrong.

Sincerely,

******** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service