BBB Accredited Business since


Phone: (203) 931-4700 Fax: (203) 931-4711 View Additional Phone Numbers 1 Main St, West Haven, CT 06516

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Hallock's offers major home appliances and HD TV.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hallock's meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hallock's include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hallock's
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1960 Business started: 01/01/1924 Business started locally: 01/01/1924 Business incorporated 06/14/1940 in CT
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Jack Fast, President Mr. Mel Mezoff Mr. Mark Pino, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jack Fast, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Mark Pino, General Manager
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers Household Appliance Stores (NAICS: 443141)

Alternate Business Names
H.P. Hallock Company, The

Additional Locations

  • 1 Main St

    West Haven, CT 06516 (203) 931-4700


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My mother bought a fridge from HALOOCKS and did not work from day one. They claim it 's **' s problem and not theirs. It has been 5 days and counting. Mom is ** years old. PLease help!

Desired Settlement: To have a running fridge that she paid for

Business Response: We exchanged the refrigerator first stop this morning. We confirmed with the drivers that all went OK and that the customer was satisfied. Sometimes working with the manufacturer to resolve an issue takes a little longer than we would like, however, we always strive to have each and every customer 100% satisfied.

1/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a $450 scratch and dent refrigerator, which had absolutely no visible dents on it. Two Hallocks employees looked it over with me and husband and we all couldn’t find anything wrong with it. I purchased this refrigerator as a second refrigerator for my basement. The refrigerator was scheduled to be delivered 2 weeks after I purchased it due to your holiday schedule. I was given a delivery time between 1-3pm on Saturday, January 10th. At 3:30 when no one had yet arrived, I had to call the store to find out the status. I was told the delivery people were running late and that they would be there soon since they were in my town and only had one other delivery. At 5:30, two hours later I received a call from the delivery people telling me they had one other delivery and they would be there by 7:00pm. I had dinner reservations so I had to decline. It is unacceptable for the delivery to be off by 4+ hours especially without a phone call from Hallocks providing me with an update and/or to make alternative arrangements. I had to call the next day to reschedule. Delivery was set for Monday January 12th at 7pm to accommodate my work schedule. The delivery people were very nice but noted a huge dent on the freezer door (which they documented on my receipt and theirs). Imagine my surprise when I saw this large dent which clearly wasn’t there before. The picture I took of the refrigerator on the Hallocks floor clearly is missing this dent. The refrigerator came unwrapped on a hand truck with straps directly on the refrigerator with no protection. It was covered in dirt and had other dents on it besides the unsightly one on the freezer door. I emailed my sales person*******, who was very kind and understanding. She connected me with**** who was completely unsympthatic. His solution was for me to return to Hallocks to pick a new refrigerator. This is not acceptable since the other scratch and dents were in bad shape. Hallocks has wasted hours of my time (5 hours waiting for a delivery that never happened, time on the phone and my time to write this complaint) and I won't allow them to waste any more of it having me drive to the store only to find nothing comparable to what I purchased.

Desired Settlement: I understand that I purchased a scratch and dent but the refrigerator delivered was clearly damaged in delivery or the wrong unit was delivered to my home. I would like Hallocks to either replace the freezer door or refund me the cost of a new door.

Business Response: Hallock's replaced the door with a new one and the customer is fully satisfied per our serviceman **** ******.  Service was done on Saturday 01/24/2015.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

One thing to note is that the replacement door was also damaged (seal around door was sliced) so the repairman had to essentially rebuild the door using parts from the damaged door.  The service technician was outstanding.  Hallocks not once apologized to me for the issues that I had with their company.  The customer service really needs to be addressed otherwise I won't be the only customer they will be loosing.  ****'s attitude was completely unacceptable. 

I consider my issue resolved but will not longer purchase anything from Hallocks.


**** ******

1/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 7/7/14 we bought a new dishwasher from Hallock's. In late October it stopped working and has not worked since. They sent a repairman out on 11/19 to assess the problem, on 12/15 the repairman came back out to tell us he needs to order 2 parts, on 12/22 the parts were installed and it still didn't work so the factory had the repairman install a new float switch on 1/17, still not working. Now they want to send another repairman out to get a second opinion. This has been nothing but an inconvenience to both my wife and myself since every time 1 of us has to take off from work to meet the repairman. All we want is a new dishwasher so we can be at piece with each other, we have been very patient up until now and want some sort of resolution. We feel we have been treated like 2nd class consumers and need someone to help us out. I called the factory today and they offered me 6 months of free repair service, I said for what, it doesn't work. The factory,**********, has not been very nice about this since they just want to inconvenience us by avoiding the issue, we just want a new dishwasher. Hallock's won't take it back until it's deamed unrepairable since they don't sell used appliances, in the meantime what are we supposed to do, new dishwasher doesn't work, it's been 3 months now and could go on til ********** decides to give us what we deserve.

Desired Settlement: All we want is a replacement dishwasher.

Business Response:

We are sorry Mr. and Mrs. ****** have been experiencing trouble with this unit. 

Our customer service manager, ***********, has been communicating with the factory to get this unit exchanged.  She heard back from the factory today, 1/21/15 with the authorization for the exchange and immediately called the customer.  She arranged a date for this Saturday 1/24/15 to send our installation crew out to do the exchange. 

We also got the factory to pay for the re-installation of the unit even though the original install was done by the customer.  Normally when a customer does a self-install, most manufacturer warranties do not cover the re-installation or the costs involved.  Hallock's always goes the extra mile to get the manufacturer to take ownership of a problem to insure that the customer is fully satisfied.

I will have ****** follow up with the customer at the beginning of next week to make sure the re-install was satisfactory and that the new unit is working as expected.

I also am going to send Mr. and Mrs. ****** an extra year extended warranty on the new unit free of charge.


**** ********** ******** *********


Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


*** ******

6/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a new whirlpool washer. Delivery came and item was not in box and came with no manual. Delivery Company reporterd they did not receive item in box either. Likely sold a floor model when I bought brand new in box. Bait and switch.

Desired Settlement: Full refund requested Immediatley.

Business Response:

A Master Card credit in the amount of $749.77 was processed today at 1:50PM

A copy of the credit being mailed to the customer

3/11/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaint actually includes customer service, service, ans sales issues. I purchased a "scratch and dent" refrigerator before thanksgiving for an extra fridge/freezer in basement which is very common. The sales girl knew that was the purpose of our purchase.The unit was delivered in October but I did not put food in it until thanksgiving week after a huge trip to ******. When I went to the basement 2 days before thanksgiving to look at the turkeys I saw the doors wide open and liquid all over the floor from food defrosted in the freezer. The delivery men did not level the unit so that the doors would stay securely shut. The service men came to see the unit and told me the refrigerator is not even working and they advised me to show up at the store with my receipts to show them how much money I just lost.The "managers" who jerked me around denied anything was wrong and told me iI should call manufacturers for repairs. Repairs instantly said I should have a contraption on the unit if the basement is below 50's. it is not and I was then given several different temperatures the unit had to be at. No one wanted to take care of the problem or do anything to rectify it. They finally said they were delivering a new unit with the "contraption" at no additional charge. They called back immediately and said we are not delivering a unit but will pick up the damaged unit and refund my money. I lost hundreds of dollars in food and this was a day before I was having family from all over the country over for thanksgiving. The store did not want to reimburse me for losses. I spoke to many ppl and they finally offered me a $50 gift card to their store!!!! They do not know how to operate a business and have zero customer service skills!!!! I will never go there and will advise everyone I know to not give them any business.

Desired Settlement: $300 for lost food due to their products or installers.

Business Response: We're sending Ms. ****** a check for $300 to cover food loss.  We're very sorry for her experience, and that the refrigerator did not work in her basement.   The refrigerator worked properly, and tested 100% when it came back to the store.  A refrigerator will not work in an unheated basement or garage if it gets too cold.  The contraption mentioned is a factory heater kit accessory that the factory recommends for some unheated spaces, however if it's too cold  no refrigerator will work.  Our delivery people are professionals, and they follow a protocol when they deliver a refrigerator.  Refrigerator doors will not open even if a refrigerator is not leveled properly.  If a refrigerator is jammed with food and not loaded correctly  it's possible that  heavy items  piled up may move and push open the doors. It's also possible the doors were not closed.  We try to give good service and we're sorry this happened.  Sincerely,  **** **** -  Hallock's


Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


***** ******

12/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have had noting but troubles with Hallocks of New Haven since the first day. We gave the sales person all the dimentions for the door ways and picked out a Fridge that he suggested would fit. Upon delivery, the delivery people tell me they cannot get the fridge up based on their measurements, which were the same as my own. We have to pick out a new fridge. We pick out a new fridge which costs more, paid the difference and had it delivered. I hook up the water line, and theres water all over my kitchen. ** comes out and claims that the fridge was red flagged by them to be fixed or destroyed in may of 2013. Here it is Nov-Dec and they sell me the fridge without fixing it. They set up another appointment for ** to replace the door that was faulty. They were supposed to come today 12-13-13 to fix it. We get an email from ** informing us that they will not be coming out. Hallocks would like us to come and pick out yet another fridge and go through the whole process again. All I want is the this one fixed or replaced with the same one. Why should I have to go through the setup process and and waiting period all over again and possibly have to pay more because chances are they will not have something we like for the same price and they get to make more money from me while I have to suffer.

Desired Settlement: I would like Hallocks to fix this fridge or replace it with the same exact model. If I have to pick out another fridge I refuse to pay anymore money to them after everything we have been put through. They broke the law sold us a product that was supposed to be fixed or destroyed per **** REDFLAG policy. Fix it or replace it with the same model. Their gross neglect should not be my problem.

Business Response:

**** **** has had communication with the customer and offered the following to resolve the issue:


A. He offered to pick up the unit and issue a full refund.

B. He offered to replace the unit with one of comparable quality from our boxed inventory at no additional cost.

C. Customer called back and asked if they might select a different brand and (OK with us) they are researching what unit will meet their needs.


Hallock's was not aware the unit sent to us by ** was a red-flagged piece, this unit was shipped to us by ** in error on a scratch and dent load. 





6/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased GE window ac (12,000 btu) 08/12/2012, used for approximately 2 months, put back in window 5/13, not working. Hallocks will not exchange. On August 12, 2012, we purchased a GE 12,000 btu window ac unit. We used it for approximately two months, took it out of the window and stored it inside our house for the winter. The end of May, 2013, we reinstalled it, turned it on and the fan works, but not the compressor. We tried it again during the high temperatures of 95 and it still did not work. Therefore, we took it out of the window, again in 95 degree weather and took it to Hallocks, thinking there would be absolutely no problems for an exchange. It looks perfectly new and we had all the parts, manuals and receipt. Again, we are talking realistically it working for two months. At Hallocks many phone calls were made to the General Manager, Mark in West Haven, and he stated we needed to bring it home, call GE and wait for them to come out and assess it in 95 degree weather. We wanted and deserved an exchange, we also would have even paid any difference. Mark would not budge. We left the ac at Hallocks, went out to another store and purchased another one. We paid $286.08 including tax.

Desired Settlement: Since we went out and bought another unit, We would like a refund.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/05) */ Please provide a copy of your Hallock's bill of sale showing the XXXXXBTU unit purchased. Our records indicate you bought a GE 8000 BTU window unit on 8/12/2012 model AEM08LQ, serial DZXXXXXX The unit you returned is in fact a GE XXXXX BTU model AEW12AQ serial AZXXXXXX, which our records show we never received or sold that model/serial. GE tells me it was sold at Walmart. By the way, we plugged it in to test it and the compressor kicked right on and it is cooling fine. I checked with Bill in our Branford store who you spoke with when returning the unit and he never received the book or other parts, only the A/C. Unit is here in West Haven, you may pick up here or we will bring it back to Branford for you to pick up there. Please advise.. **** **** XXX-XXX-XXXX