BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Connecticut

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Aitoro Appliance & Electronics offers the retail sale of home appliances and electronics.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Aitoro Appliance & Electronics meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Aitoro Appliance & Electronics include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Aitoro Appliance & Electronics
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 05, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1948 Business started locally: 01/01/1948 Business incorporated: 09/08/1978 in CT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Aitoro, President Mr. Eric Aitoro, Operations Manager Mr. Phil Mahoney, Director of Sales
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Aitoro, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Eric Aitoro, Operations Manager
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers Appliances - Small - Dealers Household Appliance Stores (NAICS: 443141)

Alternate Business Names
Aitoro Appliance Co.

Additional Locations

  • 401 Westport Ave

    Norwalk, CT 06851 (203) 847-2471

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have made three payments via my **** Account to AITORO. These payments came after I made a payment by check in the amount of $95.72 for a repairman's visit. The problem was with my dishwasher, and a part was replaced so that on June 23 I paid $138.20 for a part that did not solve the problem. On August 4, I paid for another repair visit for the same problem in the amount of $95.72 through my **** Account. Again, I was advised that a different part had to be replaced at a cost of $138.20 and that was paid via my **** account. Still, the dishwasher did not work. The repairman who last arrived, informed me that the problem was not with the parts that had been replaced, but with a gasket problem that cannot be repaired. A new dishwasher is required. The owner refuses to make me whole by applying the total cost of repairs to the purchase of a new dishwasher. I wish to have AITORO reimburse me for all my previous expenditures so that I may go elsewhere to replace my dishwasher.

Desired Settlement: Refund in the amount of $467.84.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern, 

 We were called to service the ******** dishwasher on 6/13/14 for not starting. The tech told the customer the latch was broken and the inner door was bent, and recommended the unit should be replaced. The customer wanted to repair the unit so the latch was ordered. The unit could not be tested any further because the broken latch prevented it from functioning. When the latch came in we went back to install it and got the unit functioning. The first service call was for $95.72, the 2nd call was for $138.20. This was continued time/labor, part and tax. On 8/1/14 the ******** called back and said the latch broke again.  We went out to check unit and found latch was broken again. The ******** were charged a service call again $95.72 and reordered the latch. When it came in we went back to install the part and charged the customer for the part ($59.95), and continued time/labor and tax. The part should have not been recharged because of a 90 day part warranty; we will refund ($59.95). The ******** called back a couple weeks later saying unit was dead again. We when out and told the customer the reason the unit was dead was because water was leaking thru the bent door causing the board to short out. The service tech recommended again the unit should be replaced or they would need additional parts to repair. The parts would be inner door (bent), control board, and control panel. The ******** wanted a refund for all service done on the unit. Since all service performed was done correctly, and at the ******** request, we believe a mutually fair solution is to refund the cost of the part plus tax $59.95 plus tax $63.76 and a $200 gift card to Aitoro to purchase a new unit.


Thank you,

**** ******

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

******* ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

3/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/3/2011 Problems with Product/Service