Facebook Rolls Out New Options for the 'Like' Button
April 28, 2010

Facebook users worldwide have seen many changes to the social networking site over the last year. Just last week, Facebook made another change, allowing people to “like” certain things on web sites outside of Facebook. With the new changes, partner sites such as Pandora, ESPN, The New York Times, and many others will allow users to “like” posts, music, and various other things. The information that a user “likes” will automatically appear on Facebook, and other sites.

Mark Zuckerberg, the Founder of Facebook, blogged that, “This next version of Facebook Platform puts people at the center of the web. It lets you shape your experiences online and make them more social. For example, if you like a band on Pandora, that information can become part of the graph so that later if you visit a concert site, the site can tell you when the band you like is coming to your area. The power of the open graph is that it helps to create a smarter, personalized web that gets better with every action taken.”

Mr. Zuckerberg states that the new platform "shows no new information to anyone than was previously visible," For instance, a person visiting the music site Pandora might see information about bands his or her Facebook friends like -- but wouldn't see info from other web users unless they chose to make their Facebook info public.”

The Electronic Frontier Foundation lists instructions to fully opt out of these new changes. 

1. Go to the Instant Personalization privacy setting and uncheck the "Allow" button. Click confirm. Come back to this page.

2. Go to the page for Microsoft Docs, click Block Application on the page, click Block Application on the pop-up, and click Okay on the next pop-up. Come back to this page.

3. Go to the page for Pandora, click Block Application on the page, click Block Application on the pop-up, and click Okay on the next pop-up. Come back to this page.

4. Go to the page for Yelp , click Block Application on the page, click Block Application on the pop-up, and click Okay on the next pop-up. Come back to this page.

5. Optional: Go to the Facebook Site Governance page, and express your opinion in a comment.

To read more and watch a video click here.

Users also need to be aware that friends who don’t choose to opt out can also share information about their friends, unless a user sets their privacy settings through Privacy Settings- Applications and Settings- What Your Friends can share about you- Unclick the boxes.