BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/23/2006

Cruise Travel Outlet, Inc.

Phone: (603) 894-7245Fax: (603) 894-7244View Additional Phone Numbers39 Main Street, SalemNH 03079

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers travel packages.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/23/2006

BBB has determined that Cruise Travel Outlet, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Cruise Travel Outlet, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
05/23/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I requested my cruise reservation (#XXXXXXXX) be canceled on 4/21/2016. It was not canceled until 4/25/2016@1:20 pm., causing me to loose my deposit.
I booked a Boston-Bermuda Cruise with ***** **** @ Cruise Travel Outlet on 2/20/2016 and paid a deposit of $250.00 @ The Boston Travel Show. On 4/21/2016, I emailed and texted ************ Agent) to please cancel my reservation D/T my mother's ill health. I did not receive a response as of 4/22/2016. On 4/22/2016, I emailed and texted ***** again, asking if she had canceled the cruise. Her response was " Not yet, I was giving you time to discuss with ******* ( my husband) and decide based on your circumstances right now."I responded via email with " I sent you an email and text yesterday stating we discussed it and had decided it is best to cancel." On 4/23/2016 @ 12:42, ***** responded with " Thank You for letting me know, I will cancel your reservation although we are unable to process a refund of your deposit because it is within 90 days of sail date and it would be best to submit your claim through insurance policy that I understand you purchased directly with Travel Guard." I did inform her that I had canceled my insurance and asked her to please speak to **** (owner ) concerning this issue. On 4/27/2016@ 9:00 am ***** responded , stating that **** will be out of the country until 5/ 2 or 3,2016 and deposit was paid directly to Norwegian Cruise Line. She also said said she would speak to NCL to reinstate my reservation if possible(I didn't want my reservation reinstated). She also stated should you decide to pursue a deposit of your refund, it is best you contact NCL directly @ X-XXX-XXX-XXXX." Per ******** request, I did contact NCL on on 4/26/2016 @ 11:26am and spoke to ****** reservations) and explained the situation to her. I was told by ***** that my deposit was not returned because the cruise was canceled with in the penalty period. When I asked further questions, I was told, that if the cruise was canceled prior to 4/24/2016(due date of final payment)I would have had the deposit ************** also told me that Cruise Travel Outlet did not cancel the cruise until 4/25/2016 @ 1:20pm. I do believe my deposit of $250.00 should be returned to me by Cruise Travel Outlet because they did not cancel my cruise reservation # XXXXXXXX in a timely manner.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting the return of my $250.00 deposit from Cruise Travel Outlet because they did not cancel my cruise in a timely manner ,causing me to fall in the penalty period with NCL.
I last sent an e-mail to ***** **** (Travel Agent) and **** ***** (Owner) on 5/2/2016 @ 12:03 pm and have had no response from either. I also sent Kathy a text on 5/2/2016 letting her know I sent an email.

Business Response
After reviewing the situation the client is correct and the agent was negligent in cancelling the reservation prior to the penalty date. I spoke to the client and advised we would be processing a refund of $250.

Consumer Response
Happy with resolution.Waiting for refund check

05/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

This travel agent planned airline reservations and two hotels very poorly with little consideration for us.
On four airline reservations the times of flights were ridiculous the seats poor for tall people, which they knew we were. Out seats were window and middle with me 6'5". We asked for Jet Blue and got American. One hotel had us in a room facing away from the ocean with construction out the window. The travel agent had us leaving Boston at 7 a.m. and arriving in LA at 10:30 with us having to wait till 2:oo p.m. to check into the hotel. Got off Boat at 8:00 a.m. then had to
wait at the airport till 4:00 p.m. to get on the air plane. Once we signed up with Norweigen online for the cruise we were sent at least two ads a week for 8 months touting lower costs and amenities that we didn't have. A travel agent should know the above things and plan a trip with reasonable consideration for the people traveling. The man we bought the trip from from this business didn't talk or write to us after we agreed to the trip. Only his clerks in the office.

Desired Settlement
$500.00 for the real pain and suffering we endured
due to their very poor scheduling of an $8,500. trip and cruise. He was willing to give us a $200. credit on a future trip. What a sport. Like we would ever use them again.

Business Response
Dear ******

We have taken great pride in the fact that we have had 0 complaints with the Better Business Bureau since we have been a member, and that is no small feat in our business being the size we are and the fact that we are limited by the customer service provided by the vendors we sell. We have been in business for 25 years and owe our success to our exceptional customer service policies. I have listened to every one of the recorded calls that I and any of my assistants had with Mr. ******, to try to determine if we actually dropped the ball on anything. There were close to 3 hours in telephone conversations, which I am more than happy to share with you or him.

Mr. ****** states that the travel agent planned the airline reservations and hotels with little consideration for him, however that was just the opposite. Mr. ****** was involved in every decision made, we offered 3 different hotels and Mr. ****** chose the Hilton, he stated in the recorded telephone conversation, that price was an issue, quote "he didn't want to break the bank", and that a friend told him that the view was not as important as staying in a hotel on the ocean. Mr. ****** admitted in an email that he was well aware and was advised by us months in advance that the hotel was under construction at the time of his stay.

Regarding the flights, as I mentioned to Mr. ****** when we made the reservations, I personally like JetBlue also, but they don't fly to Hawaii and I would never recommend that you use 2 different carriers on a trip if you can help it, because the other carrier **** not take responsibility for another carriers cancellation or delayed flight and usually the rate is more when you use multiple air carriers. Mr. ****** had the option to upgrade the seats on the plane to more legroom seats for a fee. American is one carrier who tends to hold most aisles seats to force passengers ** pay a fee for them, again something we cannot control. The seats were assigned and Mr. ****** knew what seats he had been assigned almost a year in advance, he never once mentioned he was not happy with the seats assigned in any recorded conversation I listened to, and again I would be happy to provide those conversations and any emails to and from him. He was sent a detailed invoice with every single detail of the trip including seat assignments, the fact that the hotel was under construction, the flight times etc. Never once did he call to complain about a single thing until he got back and wanted us to give him $500 back.

Regarding the continuous promotions sent by the cruise line, this is something we have absolutely no control over, however if Mr. ****** never once called us to enquire whether he was entitled to these promotions or not, we would have gladly try to re-price it as we do constantly for clients. However due to the incredible contracted rates Cruise Travel Outlet has on Norwegian Cruise Lines to Hawaii, I have never seen a better deal offered direct from Norwegian for the Hawaii cruise. When we initially quoted Mr. ****** he requested AARP rates and our exclusive rates beat AARP by $334.

It's very disappointing for a client to accuse us of poor service when in fact he received exceptional service from us as every recorded call and email **** prove. I challenge Mr. ****** to provide solid proof that we did not do everything within our control to make sure his vacation exceeded his expectations. He signed off on all the details and never once said he was not happy with them, there isn't anything he was dissatisfied with that could not have been corrected by a simple phone call to me prior to the trip, there were no surprises whatsoever.

******* *****
Cruise Travel Outlet

Industry Comparison| Chart

Travel Clubs, Travel Agencies & Bureaus

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 08/23/2006Business started: 01/01/1986
Type of Entity


Incorporated: January 1986, NH

Contact Information
Principal: William Walsh (President)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Travel Clubs, Travel Agencies & Bureaus

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Cruise Travel Outlet, Inc.

39 Main Street

Salem, NH 03079

To | From


1 Locations

  • 39 Main Street 

    Salem, NH 03079(603) 894-7245
    (800) 498-7245
    Fax: (603) 894-7244

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Concord, NH. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Cruise Travel Outlet, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 498-7245

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.


Industry Tips for Travel Clubs


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.