BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/04/1992

Woodstock Soapstone Company, Inc

(800) 866-4344View Additional Phone Numbers66 Airpark Rd, West LebanonNH 03784

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a manufacturer of woodstoves made of cast iron, soapstone, and steel. They also manufacture gas stoves.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/04/1992

BBB has determined that Woodstock Soapstone Company, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Woodstock Soapstone Company, Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Woodstock Soapstone Company, Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
12/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Delay in the production and the delivery of the product that was ordered without any notification.
On 9/4/14 I placed and order with the woodstock soapstone company for the purchase of the progress hybrid soapstone wood stove for the price of $3,514.00. A downpayment of $250.00 was required for the order to be placed. At the time of downpayment I was informed that the stove would be to my doorstep at the end of October or begining of November. On 9/29/14 I made another downpayment of $1,000.00 and while on the phone with the sales representative I asked about the progress of the stove that was ordered. The sales representative informed me that everything was in motion and it will be to your doorstep at the end of October or begining of November. Apon the end of the conversation with the sales representative he/she informed me that my credit card will be billed for the remainder of the balance at the time of delivery. I promptly said "thats fine" and we hung up. The end of October and the begining of November has now come and gone with no email, phone call, or letter of the cause of delay. It is currently an average of 30 degrees where I live and my wife and I are still waiting for our source of heat to arrive at our doorstep. I've heard and seen lots of great things about the soapstone wood stoves from this company. Currently my father and brother-in-law and their families enjoy the warmth and comfort of these soapstone woodstoves. I too would like to do the same for many years to come.

Desired Settlement
The following would be very much appreciated:

Free shipping

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *********, *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@woodstove.com
Our customer is correct that there has been a production delay in the woodstove model that he ordered from us. One of our most important suppliers, a 100 year old foundry in Belgium and our primary cast iron supplier for the last 26 years, went bankrupt and closed in June 2014, after struggling financially for almost a year.

In July 2014 we moved all of our foundry tooling to another European foundry, approved sample castings in early September, and anticipated receipt of our first container shipments by early October. Instead the first container arrived November 17. There were agonizing (for us) delays at the shipper, the steamship line, the port of New York, and customs.

We were unable to purchase cast iron parts at what is normally the busiest time of year, and the business interruption has cost us dearly. We are back in production with our cast iron/soapstone stoves, but we have hundreds of backordered stoves due to the various delays.

We will be able to ship our customer's stove in the next 10 days. I understand his frustration and admit that we haven't been as communicative as possible with all of our backordered customers. In consideration of the distress we have caused, we are willing to split the freight charges that we quoted earlier.

If our customer is willing to wait until after mid-January for delivery, we would be willing to pay the full freight quoted. We are offering larger rewards to customers who are willing and/or able to wait longer.

We are also willing to immediately refund any and all money paid to us for any customer who wants to cancel their order.

We are doing the very best we can, and are trying to keep everyone happy (including our employees, who are working nights and weekends to gradually catch up).

I will send a copy of this response to our customer.

Very truly yours,

****** *********, President
Woodstock Soapstone Company



Industry Comparison| Chart

Stoves-Wood, Coal, Etc., Counter Tops

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/28/1992Business started: 09/01/1978
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1978, VT

Contact Information
Principal: Thomas P. Morrissey (President)Customer Contact: Laura Scott
Number of Employees

28

Business Category

Stoves-Wood, Coal, Etc., Counter Tops

Products & Services

Woodstock Soapstone Co., Inc manufactures highly efficient wood stoves and gas stoves. Their steel woodstove won the coveted Alliance for Green Heat award for design and efficiency. All stoves are manufactured on site in NH.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMSat: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMSun: Closed
Refund and Exchange Policy

All stoves have a 6 month return policy. For example: Purchase a stove, use it for up to 6 months, return it and they will refund the purchase price and pay the return shipping.

Alternate Business Names
Woodstock Soapstone Company

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Woodstock Soapstone Company, Inc

66 Airpark Rd

West Lebanon, NH 03784

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Concord, NH. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Woodstock Soapstone Company, Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (603) 298-5955
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Stoves-Wood, Coal, Etc.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.