BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/04/2004

Advanced Metal Roofing LLC

(800) 519-9944View Additional Phone Numbers183 B Route 125, BrentwoodNH 03833View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is engaged in the sales and installation of Metal roofing systems. They specialize in other remodeling projects such as garage additions, patios, siding, windows and gutters.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/04/2004

BBB has determined that Advanced Metal Roofing LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Advanced Metal Roofing LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Additional Complaint Information

The company president Wayne Wilusz requests that customers contact him at 603.234.5253 or by email, aswc@myfairpoint.net prior to submitting a complaint with the BBB as he is dedicated to resolving any issues/complaints.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Advanced Metal Roofing LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
07/31/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Door installed improperly, causing leak. Several attempts made,issue never corrected. Final attempt resulted in shoddy workmanship and increased leak.
In February 2012, contracted with ***** the owner of Advanced to install new siding and doors on our home. In all they installed 4 doors, a custom front entryway, a French back door and 2 standard outside doors. After the work was completed we noted water coming in around the base of the French door. I emailed Dave LaCroix, project manager for Advanced, on 10/12/12 to ask that he inspect and repair the issue. He sent a sub contractor, ****, to do the work. While here **** informed me that the door had not been wrapped properly and he believed this was the case with the other doors as well. I sent several e-mails, on October 17, 24, & 26 in an attempt to get someone back to inspect the other doors to see if that was the case. Dave responded on 10/26/12 and we eventually set an appointment. I'm not sure of the exact dates, but Dave and **** came back several times and were unable to stop the leak. On 12/14/12 **** used the hose on the door to see where the water was coming in and as a result, ***** contacted the door manufacturer, Harvey Building Supply, to have them inspect the door for defects. On 1/2/13 A technician from Harvey came out and determined the door was improperly installed and "missing pieces". After waiting for the parts to came in and the weather to warm up Dave and 2 other workers came on 4/18/13 removed the door and did an incredibly poor reinstall. They put a piece of plastic "wood" wrapped in aluminum under the door, creating not only a trip hazard but a funnel for more water to flow into our home. Additionally, Dave cut the siding short around the door and wrapped the brick mold in metal, using a rivet in one corner and a nail in an other, not only covering the architectural design of the door, but creating holes in the siding for insects to get in. He also drilled holes in the front of the door further marring its overall look. In the course of the days work they also managed to break 2 pieces of siding. After this we no longer wanted to have anything to do with Advanced other than to have them pay for someone to fix the work that they were unable to do properly in the first place. We attempted to have someone come and fix it in order to get an accurate number as to what it will cost to put the door back the way it should have been and replace the siding around the door that is now too short to stay once the door IS fixed. We have been unable to find someone thus far, further adding to our frustration as we are STILL getting water into our home. If the door itself can be saved, the best I can figure with parts and labor is it will cost us an additional $1500. If the door can not be saved that is an additional $2500.

Desired Settlement
I would like for Advanced to give us back $4000, to cover the cost of correcting their mistakes so that we can have our house the way we originally intended and put an end to what has been a very trying home improvement situation.

Business' Initial Response
We entered into an agreement with Mr.& Mrs. ********* on 2/27/12 to install new siding, a new custom front door and a custom front patio door as well as other items. We even installed doors the customer purchased on their own. We completed the job on 5/31/12. Mrs. ********* signed a completion certificate stating she had inspected the work and found it to be properly performed to her complete satisfaction. (Copy of Certificate on file) Anytime Mrs. ********* had an issue or concern regarding the project we addressed it immediately. We were aware there was an issue with the back patio door and were in the process of addressing it. We sent out one of our technicians ****, (an employee not a sub) to check for leaking around the door. As a result we contacted the manufacturer and requested their input for a possible fix. The manufacturer sent out additional pieces that weren't supplied with the door when it arrived. Once we recieved the additional pieces, we made an appointment with to take out and reinstall the door. We took extra additional measures to help prevent leaking by custom bending metal channel around the door. We also added new Azek trim board underneath to further help waterproof the sill underneath the door. Mrs. ********* was present during the installation and we kept her informed and requested her permission to do the additional changes. Because of the reinstallation of the door, the new vinyl siding was cut back temporarely. New siding was ordered and we were planning to reside the outside around the perimeter of the door. ***** our project manager who reinstalled the door, spoke with Mr. ********* when he arrived home to inspect the project and explained the steps he took to reinstall the door. We were informed by the *********'s shortly there after there was still a concern. I then made an appt. to do a water test with **** the following Monday at 9:00am. The following is a copied e-mail that Dave supplied to Mr. ********* reiterating his conversation with him regarding the process. " Hello ******
I would like to reiterate our conversation we had before I left last Thursday . The reason for the azek board underneath your door is azek is more dense than your pressure treated board that will dry out over time. The reason I kept the sill plate out 2" further is to allow the water to kick past your last 5 1/4 board against your house. The white metal you see is a pan that folds up your 2x6 jacks . I did not think any caulking was needed after I made the pan, but we can look at this again. I explained that I will get plugs for the screw holes on your brick mold. I believe it is quite often that screws are added with plugs to secure the plastic molding around doors because of our regions extreme weather. I explained to ******* I did not have enough siding to replace the other piece I found on the left lower deck side that was cracked also, but I will bring more when I return. The custom j- channel around your door is like that because it eliminates the small gap between the brick mold and siding j-channel. Nothing can ever get in between the molding or j-channel. I also ordered another weather stripping kit for around the door, since I had to take the original off to get to the screws that mounted the door frame to the header frame.

We will do everything we can to rectify this issue and thank you again for your patience. In regards to Monday 9am that is perfect, we will see you then. If you have any questions, don't hesitate to give me a call.

Thank you,
***** *******
Project Manager

As a company Advanced has always and will always attempt to address any concerns that we may have with the *********'s. The following is an e-mail that I sent to Mrs. ********* letting her know we would do whatever is necessary to fix the issue with the door.

"Good morning *******: I am presently down in the DC area and will be returning Monday. **** removed and reinstalled the door according to manufacturer recommendations using the parts supplied. As you know, we have responded to your concerns every time. I will contact the Harvey rep again to gain his insight regarding the door. I would like to do another water test myself with Dave this coming Monday to see if we can pinpoint the problem. We have installed many doors and have not run into this problem before. **** has reordered new siding to replace the cracked pieces and we will replace them as soon as they come in. If the door is not working properly because of something we did, we will replace it for you. We have always tried to work with you amicably to resolve any issue or concern you have had. Let me know what time on Monday works best for you.

Best regards,
***** ** ******
Advanced Metal Roofing LLC

Mr. ********* sent over an e-mail to me requesting us not to show up on that coming Monday.

I have not heard from the *********'s since our last e-mail in late April until I recieved this notice from the BBB. The door in question was a custom Harvey Door. I would be happy to get them another Harvey Door and reinstall it for them at no charge. If not, I would be happy to purchase a new Harvey Door (exactly as they chose)and have Harvey deliver it to their home and reinburse them $1,000 (twice what it would cost someone to reinstall the new door) to help satisfy them.

We are a family run business and take pride in all the work we do. I would be happy to work with the *********'s fairly to resolve this issue.

I can be reached directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX or be contacted by e-mail at ****@myfairpoint.net
***** ** ******
Advanced Siding & Window Co.

12/26/2012Problems with Product / Service
12/05/2012Problems with Product / Service
05/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
MY ROOF STILL LEAKS AFTER SPENDING &18,860.00 IT IS ONLY 2 YEARS OLD. THE MOLD ISSUE SALESMAN SAID WOULD BE TAKEN CARE OF HAS GOTTEN WORSE.
1/28/13 OUR NIGHTMARE BEGAN WHEN I FELT SORRY FOR THE SALESMAN ***. I HAD EXPLAINED OUR ISSUE WITH OUR ROOF TO ***. AFTER THOUGHTFUL LISTENING *** ASSURED ME OUR TROUBLES WOULD BE OVER FOR GOOD. MY HUSBAND WOULD NEVER HAVE TO GET UP ON THE ROOF AGAIN, WE WOULD NEVER HAVE ICE DAMS AGAIN, WE WOULD BE ABLE TO RE-DO ALL OF OUR CEILINGS TO LOOK NICE. THEY WOULD NEVER SAG, CRACK OR LEAK AGAIN. I SHOWED HIM THE MOLD IN THE ATTIC. HE ASSURED ME IT WOULD BE TAKEN CARE OF.
HE EXPLAINED THERE WOULD BE A MAN NAMED DAVE (ROOFING EXPERT) WOULD BE BACK TO CHECK OUT ALL THAT NEEDED TO BE DONE. I ASKED IT THEY SUB-CONTRACTED *** SAID NO THIS WAS A FAMILY RUN BUSINESS AND THEY HAD BEEN AROUND FOR 40 YEARS OR BETTER. HE STATED, IF I HAD NO MORE QUESTIONS HE WOULD BEGIN MEASURING. I REMAINED INSIDE AND WORKED ON MY 3000 PIECE JIG SAW PUZZLE. *** RETURNED, AND I HAD HIM SIT IN THE DINING ROOM WITH MYSELF AND MY PUZZLE. *** HAD 4 CHILDREN AND WAS A *********, HE TALKED ABOUT HIS CHURCH HIS YOUNG FAMILY. HE STATED HIS CHILDREN LOVED PUZZLES, I SAID WHEN I FINISHED THEY COULD HAVE IT. WHICH I DID INDEED FOLLOW THROUGH ON MY WORD, JUST AS I BELIEVED HE WOULD DO, AND/OR I SHOULD SAY THE COMPANY HE REPRESENTED. WE WANTED TO STOP THE WORK ALMOST IMMEDIATELY UPON THE START AS ALL WAS NOT TRUE. THE CREW THAT BEGAN WORK WAS NOT ADVANCE METAL ROOFING BUT A + ROOFING WHICH I HAD HEARD MANY BAD THINGS ABOUT. AS TIME WENT ON I REALIZED WHAT I HEARD WAS ALL TRUE. THEY WERE CARELESS UNTHOUGHTFUL AND CRUDE. I CALLED *** TO SAY WHAT WAS GOING ON HE CAME WITH ***** (THE OWNER) AND THE MAN (DAVE). WHEN THIS CREW SHOVELED OFF THE ROOF THEY LEFT THE SNOW WHERE IT FELL, IN PATHWAYS, WINDOW WELLS THAT WE HAD KEPT CLEAR OF SNOW FOR FEAR OF LEAKS. WE WERE ALSO OBTAINING ESTIMATES FOR SIDING AND WINDOWS DURING THIS TIME FRAME. *** GAVE US QUOTES(TOO HIGH) A LADY FROM CLEAR CHOICE WAS AT MY HOUSE GIVING US A QUOTE. SHE WENT TO STEP OUT OUR BACK DOOR AND WITHIN AN INCH OF HER HEAD A 15 FOOT SECTION OF GUTTER WAS THROWN DOWN FROM THE ROOF. SHE SCREAMED I SCREAMED. THIS WAS WITHIN THE FIRST COUPLE OF DAYS. THE LANGUAGE, WAS UNBELIEVABLE(I SIGNED A CONTRACT WITH A *********) THE THREE MEN THAT REPRESENTED ADVANCE METAL ROOFING ASSURED US ALL WOULD BE TAKEN CARE OF. WE WERE NOT HAPPY WITH A COUPLE OF PLACES ON THE ROOF. THEY EXPLAINED THAT THIS WAS THE ONLY THING THAT COULD BE DONE BECAUSE OF THE VALLEYS. I THOUGHT THEY WERE GOING TO STRIP THE WOOD ON THE ADDITION SIDE (I KNOW NOTHING ABOUT ROOFS THE CONTRACT SAID STRIP THE ROOF *** SAID THE MOLD ISSUE WOULD BE TAKEN CARE OF. DAVE WENT INTO THE ATTIC AS I ASKED HIM TO. WHICH HE NOW DENIES, AND HAS JUST LEFT MY HOME BECAUSE HE FELT INTIMIDATED BY ME AND THE QUESTIONS I ASKED. HE WAS SIMPLY THERE TO CHECK OUT THE LEAKS. HE SAID YOU ARE COMPLAINING TWO YEARS AFTER THE WORK IS DONE, INSINUATING THAT IT IS TOO LATE FOR COMPLAINTS. I SAID NO YOU WERE HERE LAST YEAR FIXING LEAKS AS WELL. HE SAID HE FELT INTIMIDATED AND FOR ME TO ADDRESS ALL WITH WAYNE. WELL I KNOW WHERE THAT GETS YOU HE SAID THE MOLD ISSUE WAS NOT IN THE CONTRACT. I ASKED WHAT CREDENCE DOES HIS SALESMAN HAVE TO DO WITH ANY SALES. HIS ANSWER TO ME WAS I DO WHAT IS IN THE CONTRACT. MY NEW CEILINGS ARE NOW CRACKED AND STAINED, MY ROOF LEAKS, MY ATTIC HAS MOLD THAT IS WORSE THEN EVER AND DAVE LEFT. I HAVE NO IDEA WHERE LEE IS OR IF HE IS STILL EMPLOYED THERE. I BELIEVED THE SALES MAN WHOM I THOUGHT REPRESENTED THE COMPANY. I DID NOT KNOW WHAT TO DO AS I TOO FELT INTIMIDATED BY DAVE AND WAYNE. THEY ARE NOT VERY NICE WHEN ONE HAS AN ISSUE TO ADDRESS WITH THEM. THE SUB CONTRACTOR SHOWED K FOR THEM CAME LATER AFTER THE JOB WAS DONE ASKING WHY I HAD COMPLAINED ABOUT THEM, I TOLD THEM THEY GAVE ANOTHER SAD STORY AND I AM A SAP FOR SAD STORIES AS I TOO HAVE MY OWN. ADVANCE SUPPOSEDLY DID NOT PAY THEM FOR MY JOB AS WELL AS TWO OTHERS THEY HAD DONE FOR ADVANCE. AS IT STANDS NOW MY ROOF STILL LEAKS, THE MOLD IN THE ATTIC IS WORSE THEN EVER. SO BELIEVING IWE WOULD HAV

Desired Settlement
I SIMPLY WANT A ROOF THAT IS FREE OF MOLD AND THAT DOES NOT LEAK. I WANT WHAT THE SALESMAN PROMISED. I DO NOT WANT MY HUSBAND UP ON THE ROOF NOR DO I WANT MOLD GROWING IN OUR ATTIC. I AM TIRED OF ARGUING WHAT IS OR IS NOT IN THE CONTRACT. ALSO *** HAD STATED THERE WOULD BE 5 THINGS THEY WOULD DO FOR FREE THAT WAS COVERED IN THE CONTRACT PRICE. FOR EXAMPLE ANYTHING THAT COULD NOT BE PREDICTED UNTIL THEY GOT INTO THE JOB. AFTER COMPLETION, I RECEIVED A BILL FOR $1860.00 FOR ADDITIONAL THINGS THEY HAD TO DO. *** TOLD ME NOT TO PAY IT, THAT THIS WAS WHAT WE DISCUSSED AND HE WOULD TAKE CARE OF IT. I NEVER SAW *** AGAIN AND DAVE WAS AN ARROGANT PUSHY MAN, THEY TOOK $200. OFF AND MY HUSBAND SIGNED THE PAPER, I WROTE SEVERAL THINGS ON THE BACK BECAUSE I THOUGHT FROM DAY ONE HONESTY IS DEFINITELY NOT THEIR POLICY. I DO NOT LIKE TO COMPLAIN NOR BE A PROBLEM TO ANYONE. HOWEVER THEIR BUSINESS PRACTICES ARE DECEITFUL AT BEST AND SHODDY AT WORSE. MY ROOF STILL LEAKS AFTER PAYING THEM $18,860.00 - $200. THE JOB WAS COMPLETED ON THE 31ST OF MARCH 2013. IT LEAKED THE FIRST YEAR 2014, THEY CAME OUT TO FIX IT AND WE BELIEVED THEM YET AGAIN THAT IT WAS A FLUKE, SOMEONE FORGOT TO SEAL AROUND THE STINK PIPE IN THE BATHROOM. WHEN IT LEAKED THIS TIME AND WE CALLED WAYNE IN JANUARY OF THIS YEAR. HE SAID ALL HE COULD DO WAS A PRESSURE TEST IN THE SPRING. WHEN I CALLED HIM AGAIN TO TELL HIM OF MORE LEAKS AND TO FIND OUT WHEN HE WAS DOING THE PRESSURE TEST, HE ASKED WHAT PRESSURE TEST? HE DID NOT REMEMBER MY HUSBAND CALLING. IT IS OBVIOUS THEY WANT TO OBTAIN THE SALES CONTRACT AND THEY DO NOT CARE WHAT THE SALESMAN SAYS TO GET SAID CONTRACT, HOWEVER THEY WILL ONLY REFER TO THE CONTRACT WHEN YOU HAVE A COMPLAINT. I REALIZE THE NUMBER OF SCREWS,THE AMOUNT OF MATERIAL, WHAT IS EXPECTED THE CREW, THE WORKMANSHIP, SUB-CONTRACTORS, CLEAN UP PROCESS, SUCH AS SNOW REMOVAL NOT BEING LEFT ON THE PATHWAY AND STEPS WHERE YOU MUST GET IN AND OUT OF YOUR FRONT DOOR ALSO SHOULD BE WRITTEN. THIS AND MUCH MORE SHOULD ALL BE IN THE CONTRACT. IN REALITY I HAVE RARELY SIGNED SUCH A DOCUMENT. A VERBAL CONTRACT AS WHAT IS DISCUSSED BETWEEN THE PERSON REPRESENTING THE COMPANY AS WELL AS A SIGNED CONTRACT SHOULD GO HAND IN HAND. *** EVEN STATED WHILE WAYNE AND **** WERE PRESENT THAT DAY THAT THE MOLD ON THE BOARDS SHOULD HAVE BEEN REPLACED AS WELL AS THE EXTRA AMOUNT OF MONEY SHOULD NOT COME INTO PLAY. HE WAS QUICKLY USHERED OUT THE DOOR. NEVER TO BE SEEN AGAIN BY US. ALSO THEY PUT IN WRITING THAT THEY REPLACED SOME PLYWOOD ON MY DR ROOF, WHICH I WOULD HAVE DEFINITELY HEARD AND PROBABLY SEEN AS THEY ARE CATHEDRAL CEILINGS AND AS I SAID BEFORE I WAS WORKING ON MY 3000 PIECE PUZZLE. THEY OUT RIGHT LIED ABOUT THIS AND WHEN I CONFRONTED THEM WITH THIS FACT THEY TOOK OFF $200. FROM THE PRICE. WE WERE SO DISGUSTED BY THIS COMPANY WE SIMPLY WANTED THEM GONE. WE NEVER EVEN CONSIDERED WHAT WOULD HAPPEN IF IT STILL LEAKED. IT WAS METAL AND IT WAS GOING TO END OUR PROBLEMS. THE ONLY THING THAT COMPANY DID FOR US WAS OVERCHARGE AND MAKE OUR SITUATION WORSE AS WE ARE $18, 860. POORER AND IN WORSE SHAPE NOW THEN WHEN THEY STARTED THE JOB. AS I STATED IN THE BEGINNING OUR NIGHTMARE BEGAN WHEN I FELT SORRY FOR AND BELIEVED IN A SALESMAN. THE CONTRACT IN ORDER IS ALL I EVER HEAR ABOUT FROM WAYNE, DAVE NOW STATES THAT TWO YEARS, WELL HE HAD TO LEAVE BECAUSE HE SAID HE HAD TO KEEP HIS TEMPER IN CHECK. I NEEDED TO TALK TO WAYNE, IT IS A VICIOUS CIRCLE WITH THEM WE ARE SO UPSET BY ALL OF THIS I JUST WANT TO SELL. WHICH WAS NOT OUR INTENT WHEN WE PUT ON A NEW METAL ROOF, NEW SIDING AND ALL NEW WINDOWS. MY NEICE IS A REALTOR AND ALTHOUGH SHE SYMPATHIZES WITH OUR STUPIDITY, SHE TOLD US THE REALITY, UNLESS WE ADDRESS THE ISSUES OF THE MOLD, THE LEAKS, AND THE CEILINGS, IT WOULD NEVER SELL. RESPECTFULLY YOURS ***** ********

Business Response
Advanced entered into an agreement with the ********'s on 1/28/13 to install a new metal roof over their existing asphalt shingles. The project began on 3/20/13 and was installed according to the exact details written out on the contractual agreement. During the installation I made several visits to see the progress and spoke with both homeowners to address any of their concerns. No issue of mold removal was discussed. We did everything they requested of us. After everything was complete according to the contract, the homeowners signed a completion certificate which states that they have inspected the work performed under contract with Advanced Metal Roofing and found it to be properly performed and to their complete satisfaction (copy on file). The crew that we had perform the work on their house was working exclusively for us. After the job was complete, the homeowners hired them directly to install siding and windows on their house.

In 2014, the homeowners called us with a concern of a leak around one of their pipes. We came out immediately and resolved the issue.

This past winter during the February snow storms we received a call from the homeowners wondering why the snow wasn't coming off the roof. The homeowner sent a picture of the roof with almost 3 feet of snow on top. The excess snow had created a large ice dam which was connected directly to snow bank below. Because of the large amount of snow they received, I suggested to them to have the snow removed to prevent the ice from backing up and coming into the house. I then stated I would be happy to do a water test in the spring to make sure the roof was working properly.

At the end of April we received a call to perform a routine inspection and perform the water test. Two days later our project manager arrived at the house to check on areas where the homeowners stated it was leaking. The outside addition was inspected and we found that the siding installers cut back and dented one of the metal caps. There were gaps between the siding and house where water could potentially infiltrate. Pictures were taken and given to the homeowner. Our manager tried to go up in the attic and check inside to further investigate. Once he got up inside the attic and started taking pictures, the homeowner became upset, grabbed his leg and asked him to come down. To prevent any hostilities, our manager left the premises.

On 4/24/15 I personally met with the homeowner in person at his house. He should me areas where water had come in. We agreed to meet again to do a thorough water test on several areas of the house.

On 5/8/15 I met with the homeowner again and performed an extensive water test on several areas of the house. We put a hose on top the areas spraying water at different increments to duplicate severe weather. While the test was being performed on the outside, the homeowner and myself were up in the attic with a flood light trying to determine if water was seeping in through the siding or through the roofing area. After spraying water for over an hour, we could not find a leak on the addition. We then sprayed water on the back side of the house and found water coming in around the vent pipe. More than likely this was from the weight of the snow crushing the boot cover. Two days later we came back to the house to refit the boot cover and added 2 additional snow stops above the vent pipe to help prevent large snow fall from crushing the cover. In addition, we cut open several ridge caps to allow additional breathing on the newer addition. Previously there were only small gable vents that were cut out improperly from the siding installers.

I left my business card and personal cell number with the homeowners. I suggested they contact me immediately if had any additional concerns.

This past winter was the worst winter on file for snow fall. I pointed out several areas of the house to the homeowners were snow may have to be removed in the future to help prevent the same issues.

Advanced Metal Roofing LLC takes great pride in all the work we do and works immediately to address any roofing concerns. We completed the contract in detail with the homeowners in 2013. They approved the work and sign a completion certificate stating their satisfaction. We immediately addressed their concern in 2014 and followed up with our service this spring. We will be happy to address any concern they may have again.

Wayne C. Wilusz
Advanced Metal Roofing LLC



09/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Since Feb 14 we have been trying to get Advanced to fix a panel on our roof; last contact from them was 5 Jun where new panel was to be ordered.
Due to a major snow fall this winter, a vent pipe in our roof broke off and caused damage to one of our roof panels. We contacted Advanced in Feb 14 in order to have the panel replaced. Since then we have left numerous messages with Mr. ***** ******** and as of today, 8 Aug 14, our roof panel has still not been replaced. On 2 Jun 14, we sent an email to Advanced notifying them or our intent to file a complaint through the BBB. Shortly after that email we received a call from Mr. ***** C. ******. We made him aware of the lack of communication and service from Mr. Lacroix. Not once did Mr. ****** apologize for the severe lack of customer service. The email follow up from him stated they would try to fix our issue sometime that week. We responded that because this issue was supposed to have been fixed in Feb 14, we wanted to have a specific day and time as to when someone would come to our house in order to fix our roof. We also let him know that we had left a very detailed voicemail message from Mr. Lacroix on 5/21/14 making him aware of our intent to file a complaint with the BBB due to the lack of follow-up as well as the no-call on 15 May 14 and the no-show on 16 May 14. The last response we had from Mr. ****** was an email message stating that the roofing panel will be ordered and installation will take place once the panel comes in. As of today, 8 Aug 14, we have not had any contact from any employee of Advance Metal Roofing letting us know when the new panel will be placed on our roof.

Desired Settlement
We just want the new roof panel, as well as the agreed to snow stops, put onto our roof. Due to the severe lateness of the installation and the incredible lack of appropriate customer service we want any and all work, supplies, etc. to be appropriately completed free of charge within the next two weeks.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** C. ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@myfairpoint.net
We installed a metal roof for the ******'s in May of 2012. We received a call from the ******'s in February 2014 after a severe snow. The snow and ice sliding off the roof sheered off a vent pipe causing a minor crack in one of the roof panels down below. This is considered storm damage and not a fault of our products or installation. Our project manager told the homeowners to have a plumber install a new vent pipe. He then informed the homeowners there would be a nomimal charge to order a new panel, come out and remove the cracked panel and replace with the new one. The homeowner refused to pay for the service work feeling their should be no charge for the work. We could not fix or change anything if the vent pipe was not replaced by her plumber. On June 2nd, I spoke with Mrs. ****** and followed up with an email. She stated she had the vent pipe replaced. In addition she requested to have some snow stops added over the front door way entrance to help prevent snow from coming off in the future. I explained to her that there would be a nominal charge for the service work and for the additional snow stops. Two days later I spoke with Mr. ****** and followed up in writing with an email. We were ordering a new panel with snow stops charging a nominal fee of $125 for the replacement panel and labor and $75 for the additional snow stops that were not on the original contract. I stated that I would bill them once the work was complete. In addition I wrote in an email that they were under no obligation to have the work done by us as it is considered storm damage. They could have the work completed by anyone.

The panel has been in for some time now but the snow stops have been back ordered. I would be happy to install the replacement panel as agreed for the replacement cost of $125. Since the snow stops are back ordered and not yet in, I would be happy to install them at no charge while we are there. However, I would like to do the work together at the same time instead of making an additional trip for the snow stops.

This is additional work from their original contract of 2012 and not warranty work. The damage to their roof was not caused by our products or our installation. The ******'s have not signed an addendum with us and can have the work performed by any metal roofing contractor. We do appreciate the opportunity to be of service to them again, but would like to be reimbursed for the time and materials once they come in.

We are a family business and take pride in all the work we do. If anyone has any questions, I can be contacted directly.

Sincerely,
***** ** ******
Advanced Metal Roofing LLC
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We do not accept this response for several reasons. First, we totally understand that the damage is no fault of the company. The past winter's snowfall sheared our vent pipe off and ripped the metal roof tile. I told them several times that this was not their fault. When they did come out initially in February we DID have a new vent pipe installed by our plumbing company and a tape job done by Advanced was put around the hole that did not work well. The ceiling drywall cracked and we have a large hole in our kitchen ceiling due to leakage from this tape job. Second, there was absolutely no refusal to pay for anything. I said we would pay the $125 for the new tile. That is simply a misunderstanding between them and us that I am truly baffled about.
In May (maybe, it's been so long) someone came out and put a "boot" around the vent pipe which has worked well. That worker came out quickly after we said we were considering contacting the BBB. The owner said he prides himself on service. Unfortunately, it took a threat to go to the BBB to actually call us back. He assured me that he wanted this remedied. Also at this time, the worker who installed the boot said they are ordering the tile and again I assured them I would pay for it. They said it would take about a week. Close to 3 weeks later we filed our complaint to the BBB after not getting the tile. There was never a phone call, email, text message, or letter in the mail telling us why they were not out a week later to install said tile. I am not a business owner but if you tell someone you'll be back out in a week to fix the problem and get no information for close to 3 months then a complaint to the BBB seems very reasonable. That is bad business. No one spoke with me about the snow stops being on back order. When I was assured that they wanted to remedy the problem for us, I specifically requested phone calls for any change in plans or for any other reason. The owner assured me this would happen. If they had simply called and said they were waiting on these snow stops, I would have understood. The fact remains that there was no telephone contact with me as I requested and I still have a 2X2 square foot hole in my kitchen ceiling. For not calling back before and after talk of going to the BBB, telling you we refused to pay for services, and simply not fixing the problem, I DO NOT accept their response. I just want a roof that I can be confident in so I can finally fix the hole in my kitchen. This complaint through the BBB is nothing I wanted to do but it just seems that Advanced Roofing has some inadequacies that needed and still need to be addressed.

Final Business Response
As owner of the company I take full responsibility for any misunderstanding that may have occurred. When we originally received a call in February, we responded immediately to ***** the situation and help the homeowners. We made suggestions to them to help them get the pipe fixed. We spoke to them about the nominal charge to reorder and replace the snow damaged panel. They refused to pay. Since talking and emailing the customers back in June, they agreed to pay for the replacement panel and to have snow stops placed in a new area that was not on the 2012 agreement. The replacement panel has come in and we are waiting for the snow stops that will be arriving from back order the third week in September. Once we have everything together, we would like to make one trip out to do everything together that they have requested.

Since this is storm damage they have the opportunity to work with any contractor as this was explained to them by phone and email. In order to accomplish what they have requested, in good faith we have ordered a new replacement panel, and additional snow stops to apply in a new area different from the original order back in 2012. We have not asked for upfront payment of any kind. They are free to use any contractor of their choice. Unfortunately, we are still waiting for the snow stops to be delivered from the manufacturer. Once they arrive, we can install everything the same day.

Again, as owner of the company, I take full responsibility for any misunderstanding that may have occurred. The snow damage that occurred is not a fault of our company. The homeowners are not obligated to use our company to fix the issues nor are we obligated to do the additional work they requested. However, we are trying our best to assist them in getting this resolved. Once the back ordered products have arrived, I will personally contact the homeowners and arrange a date for installation if they would still like us to perform the work.

Sincerely,
***** C. ******
Advanced Metal Roofing LLC
XXX-XXX-XXXX

01/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
my complaint with advanced roofing is not committing to there contract date, followed by delays and not refunding deposit of cash advance due on date.
advanced roofing was put into contract on october 21st and was told roof would be done 4 weeks out starting on november 18th no work on that day, called the 19th was told would call next monday the 25th job would be done that week. the next following week and no call or work i canceled the contract with them. due to heavy winds and rain i had to hire another roofer to repair my roof

Desired Settlement
just want my deposit refunded

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@myfairpoint.net
Advanced Metal Roofing LLC entered into a contract with **** ******** on 10/21/2013 to install a new metal roof on his garage. **** paid us the first third in cash and received a reciept for the transaction. The roof was in bad shape and leaking. To save money, **** was going to strip the garage roof ahead of time before we came. The roof brand, color, and details of the roof installation are all outlined specifically on the contract that was signed. I told **** on 10/21/13 that we were approximately 6 to 8 weeks out (weather dependant) for the installation. Once the material arrived, we were going to call him so he could strip the existing material and cover it with a tarp before we arrived. Our office recieved a call just before Thanksgiving from **** that he would like to cancel the contract. I tried calling **** back immediately to speak with him but his phone number did not have an answering service set up. I did not have an email address for him. I tried calling him several times on different occasions to touch base with him with the same frustration of not being able to leave a message.

**** called our office on December 12th, 2013 to request a refund. I answered the phone and told him I was trying to reach him and thanked him for calling back. **** told me that the salesman had told him the roof would be installed in four weeks. I told **** I was the salesperson and would never tell him four weeks as it usually takes this long just to get the material from the manufacturer. **** requested his money back. I told him the material was going to arrive next week and we could proceed with his roof. He told me he had cancelled the contract several weeks ago and just wanted his money back. I explained to **** that we had gone through the expense of measuring the roof, ordering the material, and would be billed once the material arrived. **** stated angrily again that he wanted his money refunded and hung up the phone. I called **** back immediately and told him to look at the order form he signed and explained to him that if he wanted to cancel the contract before the installation date, he would owe us 50% of the balance of the contract. **** stated that he was going to contact his lawyer and hung up the phone.

As a family business, it is extremely important to us to make sure everything is understood properly when entering into an agreement. Our contracts specifically spell out very clearly exactly what we are going to do and what we are not going to do. When planning a project, we try to give a projected time frame (in this case 6 to 8 weeks) when the project will begin, weather dependant. Nowhere in the contract does it state that the roof will be done in four weeks.

As stated earlier, we will be ready to install ****'s roof shortly. As a family business we try to make sure all our customers are happy and as a compromise, I would be willing to strip the roof for **** (at no charge) to save him the expense and time of doing it himself. This would allow us to do the job properly from start to finish without him having to prep the roof ahead of time in bad weather.

We are trying our best to honor the contract that was written between **** and Advanced Metal Roofing LLC. Unfortunately, we cannot just cancel the contract after we have incurred a considerable expense.

I would be happy to supply the written contract if needed and can be available to answer any questions. Please feel free to contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ***** ** ******

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
***** ****** was at my house to take a deposit asap will a 4 week out look, i called 4 weeks and 1 day to contact david is project manager saying they were sorry for the delay and would call me next day. did not happen so i called ***** to get told the same and he would call me that next monday,for a start date that week. no one from there office called and i soon called and canceled. they had not even had the materials to do my roof at that point. i feel i was mislead from day one. and they have lied to me on the phone to delay the job. i wish to have my deposit back and not do business with them

Final Business Response
Advanced Metal Roofing LLC entered into a contract with **** ******** to put a metal roof on his garage. The roof was in bad shape and **** was going to strip the roof ahead of time to have it prepped to put a new custom made metal roof on. **** called 4 weeks later and wanted to cancel his order. I tried calling **** back to let him know the material would arrive shortly and we would be able to begin his installation. We do not put time frames on our order forms as our installations are very weather dependant. We did not recieve ample notice of cancellation from ****. We have incurred a considerable expense in measuring, ordering and taking delivery of the product.

The material that was ordered was a unique color that is not usually used. Fortunatley, I was able to resell the material to a new customer. I spoke directly to **** and because we could resell the material, we have refunded **** his money.

As a family business, we work hard to insure complete satisfaction. Please feel free to contact me directly if anyone has any further questions. ***** ** ******

11/15/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Roof was paid for before work began 100%
Company promised roof would take 3-4 days to complete.
Roof is still unfinished a month later.
Unhappy!
Simple.... Please refer to Complaint summary above.
Roof paid for...Over 10K $$$
Promised to be done in 3-4 days maximum, (I asked, maximum 3-4 days?? Wow!!) They said "Yes, 3-4 days !! Really !!"
The guys working on the roof left for the weekend, and didn't come back. No call, no show, just gone for over a week. No communication what so ever.
I called THEM, then the job foreman called days later, with excuse after excuse for the job not being done... Very poor communication practices, and very poor customer service after the sale..My son has been in contact with "Dave" and has gotten excuse after excuse as well. We are still waiting for the roof to be finished. I feel as though I have been taken advantage of and am very unhappy with the services that we purchased.

Desired Settlement
After the entire roof has been finished per the contract in effect, and due to the lack of communication, and due to the company not fulfilling its verbal contract to perform the job in a timely manner, I feel that it would be more than appropriate to discount the entire job, and refund an amount equal to, the labor for the job, or a refund of 25% of the total price of the project.
Also, to protect the investment of the home against substandard work, due to fears of retaliation, written proof of double any guarantee/warrantee that may be in effect.
Refund payment should be made upon the final inspection of the roof by an impartial 3rd party expert hired by the homeowner, and at Advanced Metal Roofing & Siding's expense. Any and all changes deemed necessary by the expert to bring the roof to a common and reasonable condition shall also be paid for by Advanced Metal Roofing & Siding, and performed by another company specializing in the installation and service of Metal Roofing chosen by the homeowner.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Wayne C. Wilusz, Pres.
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@myfairpoint.net
The complaint listed was written by ***** ******* the son of **** *********. We entered into a contract agreement with ***** on April 20, 2013. ***** was approved for financing through our vendor but wanted to go with his own financing. **** ********* wrote a good faith check for $250 towards the contract. ***** decided not to go forward with the original agreement. On August 30, 2013 we entered into an agreement with **** *********. We applied the original $250 good faith deposit towards the new contract. **** paid the majority of the contract up front in order to get special pricing. There is still $1,000 due upon completion. We never accept the entire amount before the work is started. During the installation we noticed that several of the panels that were special ordered did not come in the correct size. Our crew finished everything they could, leaving a small section of the house unfinished. ***** was told by our project manager that new panels were ordered and would be installed as soon as they arrived. At *****'s request we allowed him to keep some of the metal that did fit instead of sending it back. **** called our office approximately a week later and requested an update on her project. I politely explained to her that new panels had been ordered and would be installed in approximately 3 weeks. I gave **** my cell phone number so she could call me directly if she had any concerns or needed additional updates. I was under the impression that **** understood exactly what was taking place. Once a complaint was received from the BBB I called **** several times a day for 5 days to see if I could be of assistance. I even stopped in at her house to meet her in person and gave her my business card assuring her that we would be back to finish the installation as soon as the new panels arrived.

We have done everything properly and professionally according to our contract. We don't make verbal agreements with customers especially when it comes to installation. A professional job cannot be rushed. Everything we agree to upfront we put in writing so there are no misunderstanding. The new panels should be arriving this week and weather permitting we will be finishing the complete job.

Once the job is complete, like every job, we will walk around the job with the homeowner ****. Once satisfied, the final balance of $1,000 will be due. I would be more than happy to extend or double the warranty in writting for the labor end of the contract. We do not agree to a 25% discount or refund. I have kept **** informed every step of the way. We do not agree to have an impartial 3rd party expert hired by the homeowner at our expense. The roof is professionally installed and does not need to be brought up to a certain condition.

Finally, we apologize that we were not able to complete the installation with the original materials. Due to an error on the manufacturer's part, we were not able to use all the panels we recieved. At the present time the roof is not in any danger. As soon as the new panels arrive, we will install them immediately and complete the installation.

As a family business at Advanced Metal Roofing LLC, we pride ourselves on customer satisfaction. We will continue to work hard to make sure our customers never have to replace their roof again.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you have any questions. I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Wayne C. Wilusz

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Siding Contractors, Metal Roofing

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/27/1996Business started: 01/01/1964
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 1996, NH

Contact Information
Principal: Wayne Wilusz (President)
Number of Employees

7

Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Siding Contractors, Metal Roofing

Alternate Business Names
Advanced Siding and Window Co. Inc., Advanced Window, Advanced Sunroom & Patio
Industry Tips
Home Remodeling Tips

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Advanced Metal Roofing LLC

183 B Route 125

Brentwood, NH 03833

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Concord, NH. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Advanced Metal Roofing LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (603) 773-9944
  • (603) 679-2466
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

Home Remodeling Tips
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.