BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Snowy Owl Inn

Phone: (603) 236-8383Fax: (603) 236-4890

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
12/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I attempted to change or cancel a reservation during the time outlined in my purchase receipt and was allowed to do so. I have not received a refund.
This complaint is concerning a reservation Confirmation Number :XXXXX for **** ***** *********, 4 adults. The original reservation was set for 10/23-10/25, but due to unforeseen circumstances had to be rescheduled on October 15,2015. The representative was able to change the reservation to 12/11-12/13 and sent a second confirmation receipt showing that there was a balance of $34.60 due to us since the second weekend was a lower night rate than the original reservation. On Saturday 12/5, I called to attempt to cancel the reservation. According to the cancellation policy stated in the two confirmation receipts, if cancelled 7 days or more in advance we would be charged 15%, and if it was within 7 days that I would be charged one night's stay. The representative told me that since it has been changed once already, I could not cancel but had until, December 8th to reschedule the reservation a final time. On December 8th, I called to rescheduled and have been told that there is nothing that can be done, and that I could neither cancel not reschedule the reservation. The representative claims to not know why someone from the hotel would give me this information and said that the only way it was rescheduled the first time was because someone there did a favor for me. The reservation has now been cancelled without a refund. I have the receipts showing the cancellation policy which is not being followed.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of my reservation.

Business Response
The original reservation booked by this guest was a special promotional rate that was understood by the guest to be non-changable and non-refundable. When they called the first time and explained that there were supposed "unforseen circumstances" we waived the booking policy and allowed them to push the dates of the reservation forward to another date. When they called the second time to cancel and request a refund we refused. We waived the policy the first time, but are not willing to continue to extend indefinitely. Further, we do not owe any money back to the guest, as the terms and conditions of the original reservation were clear in that it was a non-refundable stay.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There is nothing stated that this reservation was any sort of promotional rate or that it is non-changeable or non-refundable. During the first conversation there was no conversation about any booking policy that had to be waived. In fact, we were given a credit because the second dates were cheaper than that first reservation. In the second conversation a representative explicitly said that since it had been changed once, then we had a chance to change it one more time. The representative also gave a deadline date in which I had to call with the new dates. There is no way one business can have multiple reservation and booking policies that change depending on who you are speaking to. I also have the 2 receipts that I can submit that write out their booking and cancellation policies.

Final Business Response
Again, this reservation was originally made under specific terms and conditions that did not allow it to be modified or refunded. This was in return for a discounted promotional rate.

I think the guest is being confused because there may have been other terms shown on the confirmation letter sent when the date was changed.

These conditions do not apply, as the only terms and conditions appropriate are those accepted at the time of the original reservation.

As such no refund will be issued in this case.

11/07/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The hotel promised me on the phone that I would have a room with queen beds, but what I got is only a room with 2 double beds.
On 09/13/2014, I booked a one night room of Snowy Owl Inn And Resort from Priceline.com. The Priceline website said I need to contact the hotel to request certain bed type, then I called the hotel. I first asked if they have king bed available, they said no. Then I asked if queen bed is available, they said yes but told me I need call Priceline to request bed type change. Then I asked what bed type is currently reserved for me, they told me queen bed. I said that's good, queen bed is what I want. Then I double checked with them again, if I want queen bed, I do not need to do anything else, I'm all set. They said yes.
On 09/07/2014, I arrived at the hotel, they gave me the key, but the room only had 2 double bed. I went back to the receptionist to request for changing to queen bed. She pulled out the notes about my reservation from their computer system, saying that the notes only said they told me to call Priceline to make changes, nothing else. I told her I did not call Priceline because on the phone, I was confirmed I already had a queen bed and did need to change. She said there was no other room available, I had to take the double bed, but I can complain with Priceline for refund afterwards. So I lived in the double bed room that night.
On 10/04/2014, I called Priceline to ask for refund, and Priceline called the hotel staff. But Priceline told me the hotel refuse to refund anything and their is no explanation, and Priceline cannot do anything because they do not guarantee the bed type.
Below is the reservation info from Priceline:
Check-In: Sat, Sep 27, 2014 / After 04:00 PM
Check-Out: Sun, Sep 28, 2014 / 11:00 AM
Rooms: 1 room / 1 night
Priceline Trip #: XXX-XXX-XXX-XX
Hotel Confirmation #: LXXXXXAIWODFN
Price: $107.00
Taxes & Fees: $17.45
Total Charged to Card: $124.45

Desired Settlement
I request at least 60% refund due to the hotel's bad altitude toward this issue. They could have solved this issue in a much better way but they didn't.

Business Response
We are in receipt of Mr. ***'s complaint. Mr. *** booked his hotel reservation through a third party. In this case Priceline.com. He is subject to the terms and conditions of Priceline, and Priceline took payment from the guest for the stay. The program that he booked under with Priceline gave him a low rate but in exchange does not guarantee the bedding type in the room booked.

Mr. *** did call the hotel before arrival and tried to secure a specific bed type. We did inform him that in order to make a change to his reservation he would have to speak to Priceline.

At no time did we verbally promise a specific bed type.

Upon arrival he complained about the bed type he was given. We were unable to change the room or bedding for the guest as the property was 100% sold out on the night of the guests stay.

After the fact we were not contacted by Priceline.

There is nothing we can do for this guest. We understand he is upset, but his contractual relationship is with Priceline, not the hotel.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My original complaint includes all details of my conversation with the hotel staff on the phone. At 07:43 pm on 09/13/2014, I talked to the hotel staff for 4 minutes on the phone. The hotel staff did tell me my reservation was a room with queen beds. The hotel can verify the phone call recording if they have it.

Final Business Response
We have stated previously that this guest's issues are with the contractual party with which he made the reservation. We would not have given him the information that he is claiming. The only thing we told this guest is that in order to make changes to his reservation he needed to speak to the organization he booked through originally.

We can not assist this guest further and will not be commenting further on this issue.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Resorts

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.