BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/31/2010

Harvard Management Solutions, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (603) 429-2019Fax: (603) 424-5148636 D.W. Highway, MerrimackNH 03054

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a full service property management of residential and commercial properties. The company services condominium associates, resort properties, shopping centers, office buildings, and industrial buildings.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/31/2010

BBB has determined that Harvard Management Solutions, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Harvard Management Solutions, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Harvard Management Solutions, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
07/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
2 months behind on my condo fee $1000 and talking with them. They placed jersey bars in my driveway
I am 2 months behind on my condo fees (each are $500) and have been communicating with the management to pay this. This morning the mgmt called to tell me they are placing jersey barriers in my driveway and that I had 5 minutes to remove any car in the garage. I am at work and cannot do this. I would have appreciated a day in advance notice of this happening so that I could find a way to rectify the situation before this forced constraint happened.

Desired Settlement
Remove jersey barriers from my driveway and settle condo fee dispute right away

Business Response
This owner has been in arrears since November 2013. She had worked with the association attorney to work out a payment plan to get her account back to zero. She broke the signed agreement during this payback period with no notification.

The owner was notified through the association attorney that her balance which is $2099, not the $1000 she notes in her complaint and if not paid a barrier would be placed in her drive. Letters went unanswered.

I communicated to the owner that these directives come from the Board of Directors for her property, not management. This owner was given plenty of time and opportunity to pay her balance, stay on a payment plan, etc. she didn't follow through with this and the Board needed to act on their condominium documents which allows for termination of services for unpaid fees.

02/22/2013Problems with Product / Service
12/26/2012Problems with Product / Service
04/03/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Harvard Management Solutions charges for the parking fines without proof, supposedly related for not moving our vehicles during snow removal ops.
We received two $100 fines for "not moving two vehicles" (unclear which two, we have three vehicles) during the snow removal operations on Sunday January 25th. We've been living in the same condo unit since 2005, never had problems until this Winter, when apparently a new company was hired for snow removal. We were home on Sunday 1/25, there is no way I moved the third vehicle, but left the other two not moved. I asked for clarifications and proof related to which vehicles, and were not given satisfying proof.

Desired Settlement
Asking for one $100 charge to be waived. We were fined $200 for not moving two main vehicles on 1/25, I claim we moved the two main vehicles, so it can only be the third one that was not moved.

Business Response
The owner was fined for not moving their cars during snow clean-up. They have three cars and were provided the days and vehicle which were fined. We suggested they submit a letter to the Board asking them to waive the fines on two different occasions, the Board refused both requests. We have no authority to waive any fines.
This information has been shared with the owner via the phone, email and at an annual meeting of the association. All letters were provided of the dates when the fines took place as well as the cars which did not move.

The Board will not waive the fines, there is nothing more we can do for this owner.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The Board members do not walk around parking lots writing down which cars were not moved and when, Harvard Manangement Solutions employees billed us incorrectly. The first letter of 1/26 (that I faxed to BBB on 4/1) clearly shows no vehicle identification of any kind, nor mention of the second vehicle. The second letter of 1/26 was produced later on, not in a timely manner, and did not prove two violations either, the plates could have been taken from our condo owner information on file already. Harvard Management Solutions did not present our complaint to the Board as incorrect, double billing, or a clerical error. If a car is towed, the violation is clear. When they issue multiple $100 fines as they see fit without any proof, it should not be acceptable.

Final Business Response
These are the dates and cars which were tagged. This information is supplied by our snow contractor working on the property, plus the manager on site during snow removal process.

She was fined as follows:
1/26 NH XXX XXXX XXXX Gray Honda Accord $100.00
1/26 NH XXX XXXX XXXX Beige Chevy Malibu $100.00
1/30 NH 247 0973 2007 Green Toyota Yaris $100.00

We do not like to tow cars, but going forward if you would like we can tow the cars which would result in charges of $250 to $300.00 per tow.

Please let me know if any of the cars are not yours and we will speak to the Board about removing the fine as our records show these are all registered to your account.

The Board did vote on this and as I mentioned they voted not to remove the fines.

03/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Leaking roof not being repaired after 3 weeks of reporting issue. This has resulted in mold growth on flooring and continuing damage.
I was wondering if you could help us to get the property management company to fix the roof above our unit. We reported the damage over three weeks ago, on Sunday, February 15, 2015. We called the emergency number because my daughter's bedroom ceiling was wet and discolored and the carpet was wet throughout the entire room. To me this is an emergency. We were told that because of the amount of calls they could not help us until Tuesday, the 16th. It has now been 3 weeks and the damage is still not repaired.

During this time I have made several attempts to get this taken care of with the property manager. She is acting as if we are going through a minor inconvenience; this simply is not the case. On Tuesday, the 16th I sent her another email telling her about the mold and mildew coming up from the carpet. She suggested putting a fan and towels on the rug. I also sent her pictures of the damage. Still no one fixed the roof. By this point the smell was so bad I was concerned about my family's health so I ripped up the rug. Underneath the rug I found a soaking wet subfloor throughout most of the room. I again informed the manager of the damage and again was basically told to be patient.

At this point I really do not know what to do. My daughter can't sleep in her room, and I am extremely concerned with the continued damage my unit is sustaining. We are going to have to not only replace the carpet but also rip up the entire subfloor because of the mold concern. Meanwhile I have no idea how much damage is happening inside the walls. I do not feel that Harvard Management is protecting our investment and they definitely are not treating this like it is an emergency. In addition, she keeps referring me to my homeowner insurance, while meanwhile the problem is getting worse because of her company's negligence! If you have any suggestions as to what we can do to get this taken care of we would greatly appreciate it.

Desired Settlement
Replacement of damaged subfloor, carpet and any other property damage because of negligence.

Business Response
We have attempted to remove the ice dam which is affecting this unit. Unfortunately with the position of the building, it is impossible to completed it safely. We have attempted to relieve the dam via ladders and boom trucks, but have not been able to reach it. The damage in the interior of the unit should be filed under the homeowners H-06 coverage, so an adjustor can review it any make plans for restoration. The homeowner should contact a restoration company to dry her unit out. These instructions have been given to the homeowner.

Consumer Response
No one from Havard Management informed me of anyone trying to fix the ice dams. In fact I was told not to make any "improvements" until the "icy season" was over. If I have someone come and dry the unit out as I have now been informed via this site, won't I keep having to do it because the water is still coming in?

Final Consumer Response
As of 03/13/15 the ice dam is STILL on my roof. The email that you have copied onto this page just points out that we have been waiting a long time for this issue to be resolved. While I certainly do not want anyone to get hurt removing it I don't think that waiting for it to melt itself is a good solution. The restoration company came today and expressed concern that the ice dam is STILL on our roof. When I contacted the property manager on 02/17/15 asking if we could go ahead and make repairs this is the email I received back:

The leaking won't stop until all of the roof ice can be removed. You might
want to hold off making any improvements until the end of this snowy/icy
season. Please just keep the water soaked up, heat on and fans if you have
them to keep the air circulating. The roof cleaner is making his way to your
building as quickly as possible.
Thank you.
Regards,
****** ****
******** *******
Harvard Management Solutions, Inc.
**** *** **** ********** ** XXXXX
603.429.2019 fx. 603.424.5148
www.harvardmanagement.com
Did you know you can login to your homeowner

Any reasonable person would conclude that they should not make repairs inside if water is still leaking in from the outside. The restoration company said that we can not make repairs until the leaking stops. They think that the water has stopped coming in but they do not know for sure. AGAIN all we want is for the ice to be removed so we can make repairs AND the DAMAGE to stop. I think that if this was your personal roof you would have taken care of it by now. Your company is supposed to be protecting our investment.



Final Business Response
I would agree that the corrections of the effective areas should wait, but keeping the areas as dry as possible is very important.

03/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Harvard Management Solutions hired ***** Tree Services to remove snow from the Condo roof.
Harvard Management Solutions hired ******** Tree Services to remove snow from the roof of our Condominium. On 02/19/10 approximately 1:30pm an employer from ***** knocked my door to let me know that while they were working on top of my unit, a big chunk of snow felt from the roof hitting my central air conditioning causing a major damage to it. After I contacted Harvard Management solutions, I was told that pieces of ice were falling constantly and nothing tells them that ******** Tree Services shouldn't be responsible for the damage and they need to contact the Board to see who's fault was that.

Desired Settlement
All I want is my Central air conditioning unit to be replaced asap with no cost to me.

Business Response
It was determined by a witness from the Board of Directors that this a/c unit was not damaged by the removal of the snow, but as a result of unrelated ice falling from the roof and damaging this equipment.

The Board of Directors voted not to pay for this damage. The owner will need to file a claim under his H-06 homeowners insurance.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The destruction of my a/c unit was caused by a big chunk of ice that felt from the roof while ******** employer was applying salt on the roof. I have pictures and a video as a proof.

If Harvard Management hired ***** Tree Services, they are responsible for the damage.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I may do that but you represent the board. If a Board member witnessed the falling on the ice during ice removal from the roof, that proofs that the damage to my central air was caused by ***** Tree Removal employer. Why should I be held accountable for the damage?

Final Business Response
As mentioned in prior emails, you can file a small claim suit in small claims court against the association or the tree company, it is completely up to you. You can state your case in front of the judge and see where is goes. Both the Board and ***** Tree has stated they will not pay for the replacement of your unit as they feel they have no fault. Harvard Management does not have any say in the matter as we are a third party management company for the association with no authority to make decision on behalf of the association or its Board of Directors.

11/20/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My condo in WaterVille Valley NH - Forest Knoll unit h3 suffered a water tank failure 1 month ago. Harvard still has not acted or planed to rebuild
I love Waterville Valley - being there since 2077 has been great for my family. For our 12 year old who suffers from asthma - skiing is a real confidence builder. And for our 7 year old - the ability to bike and get outside is wonderful. We come up almost every weekend.

But when our hot water tank leaked and caused serious water damage right before Columbus Day, we hoped to get things back up and rolling in a few months.


So, as you can imagine, telling my kids that we will not be going up for Thanksgiving was not easy. They asked me when would we be able to return, and I said I did not know. They asked why. While there was a temptation to share that the folks who's serve as our condo board, and the company they hired to make things better after the Stone debacle were refusing to speak or to meet, nor would they discuss plan to repair our condo I did not.

I find it difficult to understand Harvard's lack of empathy. I am also at loss to explain Harvard's lack of dialog. All I have asked is for them to come up with plan to rebuild our unit - and the refusal for them to do so hard to comprehend.

The other owner and I have attempted to put in place a plan with Harvard. Rather than ask how they can enable the repair, we get more excuses and delays...

They claim- the board - needs to authorize everything, and without that, we can do nothing. But the board told them to get mving, and not to bother them..

***** ******* responded to a valid question on the bylaws by my neighbor, ***** *********** by saying he was bringing in legal counsel. Because what was missing here - legal action. Oh, and he also implied that my family was to blame as this happen in our unit. And no one benefits if this goes to a legal fight. Also, I need to add that if Harvard had hired a reputable local plumbing firm last year to look at our heating systems, we might not be where we are today. After all, managing condos is what they do, right?


Both ***** and his family and my family and I want to get back to our condos. Rather than enable progress, the Harvard folks are tossing in delays and making us feel as if we are dishonest.

In fact they have sat on the insurance report for 6 hours without forwarding.

At issue is more than a power struggle here - it is clear that Harvard's wants their cut, and so they are attempting to control the process. If we manage this directly, we can insure that the funds cover costs, and get this done right.

No one returned my calls for 2 weeks, and I had to call the carpet company for the insurance company, I had to get a plumber to cut off the tank, after no one returned the inspector's call, I am getting a quote from a contractor... and now they have had the insurance quote - and no one has forwarded it...

Please, I need help - these guys refuse to do anything, it has been 4 weeks, and they have no pan, no contractor, no clue on getting us back into our condo.


Desired Settlement
I want my condo fixed, asap, no more excuses. No more delays!

Business Response
Good Afternoon,

This homeowner suffered an insurance loss to their unit. The cleanup process was handled immediately. The master insurance policy was notified. The insurance companies adjustor was sent, however the adjuostor's report was not sent to our office until November 5th, the day this complaint was filed. There is nothing (other then the cleanup) we can move forward with until we receive the adjustors report as we don't know what the insurance company will pay and there is usually some additional adjusting which will need to take place after the fact. This was communicated to the homeowner and documented via email.

There was also a questions as to how the claim would be handled as the association's documents contradict themselves with regards to this issue. The Board elected to have an attorney review the documents to ensure the claim was handled per the documents. This was also communicated to the homeowner.

The adjustors report was issued to the two homeowners affected in this claim on November 7th and restoration started immediately.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First, it took almost 2 weeks for them for reply to me. and, when they did they were rude and argumentative. I had to hire the contractors, get the quotes for the insurance company, and am still spending 4-3 hours per week on this. Yes it is moving forward, but it should have been further at this point. I comes down to poor organization, customer service, and business practice.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Real Estate, Real Estate - Commercial, Resorts, Property Management

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/14/1993Business started: 01/22/1985
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Real Estate Appraiser Board, State of NH
6 Chenell Dr., Ste. 290
Concord, NH03301
(603) 271-6186
http://www.nh.gov/nhreab

Real Estate Commission, State of N.H.
25 Capitol St.
Concord, NH03301
(603) 271-2701
http://www.state.nh.us/nhrec

BBB records show a license number of 047560 for this company, issued by Real Estate Appraiser Board, State of NH. Their web address is http://www.nh.gov/nhreab. Principal Broker License for Constance C. Garland.

BBB records show a license number of 044968 for this company, issued by Real Estate Commission, State of N.H.. Their web address is http://www.state.nh.us/nhrec. Firm License .

Contact Information
Principal: David Bongiovanni (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Scott Barbera (Director)
Number of Employees

40

Business Category

Real Estate, Real Estate - Commercial, Resorts, Property Management

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Harvard Management Solutions, Inc.

636 D.W. Highway

Merrimack, NH 03054

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Concord, NH. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Harvard Management Solutions, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Real Estate

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.